DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwasaki US 2011/0128634.
Regarding claim 1, Iwasaki teaches an image capture device (see Figs. 2 and 3 and para 0001: camera) comprising:
an optical system (Figs. 2 and 3) comprising: a rearward lens assembly (16); a forward lens assembly (15) axially aligned with the rearward lens assembly along an optical axis (see Figs. 2 and 3: 15 and 16 coaxially arranged); and a bias device (spring 23) located between the rearward lens assembly (16) and the forward lens assembly (15) and configured to allow the forward lens assembly to move relative to the rearward lens assembly (see para 0074).
Regarding claim 3, Iwasaki further teaches the image capture device of claim 1, wherein the bias device is a spring (see para 0074: compression spring 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Bingle et al. US 2011/0249120.
Regarding claim 2, Iwasaki teaches the image capture device of claim 1, but fails to teach further comprising: a lens module located axially forward of the forward lens assembly, wherein the lens module and the forward lens assembly are free of direct contact and the bias device permits movement of the forward lens assembly relative to the lens module.
Bingle teaches a lens module located axially forward of the forward lens assembly, wherein the lens module and the forward lens assembly are free of direct contact (Figs 7, 9-11: teaches a camera module … includes a housing and a transparent cover at a portion of the housing. The transparent cover 22 provides a transparent wall of the housing for the lens 24 (i.e., a separate from direct contact between cover lens 22 and lens 24). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the front lens module as taught by Bingle to improve robustness and sealing of the optical device.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Nakamoto US 2025/0277957.
Regarding claim 4, Iwasaki teaches the image capture device of claim 3, but fails to teach wherein the spring is a wave washer.
Nakamoto teaches that a wave washer is a known compact form of biasing spring providing axial preload in optical system (see para 0097, 0132). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Iwasaki by utilizing the claimed wave washer because both serve the same biasing function along the optical axis. Moreover, wave washers are well-known to provide uniform preload with less axial space, prevents loosening/rattle and also improve assembly compactness.
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Diao CN 2879224 Y.
Regarding claim 5, Iwasaki teaches the image capture device of claim 1, but fails to each wherein the bias device is one or more magnets.
Diao teaches that magnets are known in compact lens units to generate axial force (see para 0014 of attached machine English translation of Diao). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute magnetic bias for a spring to achieve compliant preload with low friction.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Iwasaki teaches the image capture device of claim 5, Diao further teaches wherein a first of the one or more magnets is in communication with the forward lens assembly and a second of the one or more magnets is in communication with the rearward lens assembly (see para 0014 of attached machine English translation of Diao: “when current is applied to the first coil, the first magnetizer provides a magnetic force to drive the first permanent magnet, thereby driving the first lens group to perform axial displacement within the hollow sleeve” and “when current is applied to the second coil, the second magnetizer provides a magnetic force to drive the second permanent magnet. This in turn drives the second lens group to perform axial displacement in the hollow sleeve”).
Regarding claim 7, Iwasaki teaches the image capture device of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the bias device is a forward bias device and a rearward bias device that located axially opposite one another.
In the same field of endeavor, Diao teaches wherein the bias device is a forward bias device and a rearward bias device that located axially opposite one another (para 0014 of Diao teaches: each magnetic field acts along the same optical axis and can generate opposing force depending on current direction). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Iwasaki by recognizing that the same centering and shock-absorption function of opposing springs could be achieved magnetically by placing magnet at opposite axis ends as taught by Diao.
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Niwa et al. US Patent No. 4,659,203.
Regarding claim 16, Niwa teaches an image capture device (see abstract teaches camera main body) comprising: an optical system (see Figs. 7 and 8) comprising:
a forward lens assembly (Figs 7 and 8) comprising a forward housing having an exterior surface having clocking surfaces (bayonet clows 12a formed around the outer periphery of the mount portion 12); and
a connector that receives all or a portion of the forward lens assembly (the camera body has a mount base 11 with bayonet recesses 11b, it receives the lens mount portion with claws 12/12a when inserted/rotated),
wherein the connector includes an interior surface having compression alignment surfaces that form a locked position when the compression alignment surfaces are aligned with the clocking surfaces to create a friction fit that prevents the forward lens assembly from moving relative to the connector (Fig. 9: pressure ring 14 is disposed inside between mount base 11 and front frame 13, with spring portion 14a positioned to press on the bayonet interface. As the claws align/engages the spring urges the parts into axis/radial contact, eliminating play and keeping seat faces 11c/12c tightly contacting i.e., compression-biased friction lock preventing movement).
Regarding claim 17, Niwa further teaches the image capture device of claim 16, wherein the connector and the forward housing have an unlocked position where the clocking surfaces and the compression alignment surfaces are offset relative to one another and the exterior surface of the forward housing is complementary in shape to the interior surface of the connector (Fig. 7: unlocked position: lens mount portion 12 inserted into mount base 11, claws 11a/12a offset (not yet rotated to lock), Figs. 8-9: outer lens mount 12 with claws 12a/12b fits complementary inner body mount 11 with claws 11a/11b, Fig. 9: locked state: pressure spring 14 keeps seat faces 11c/12c tightly contacted).
Regarding claim 18, Niwa teaches the image capture device of claim 16, wherein the compression alignment surfaces are non-axisymmetric lobes (see Figs. 8-9: connectors mount base 11 has interior bayonet claws/recesses 11a/11b that are non-axisymmetric lobes, when rotated into position, pressure spring 14 compresses the mated faces 11c/12c to a friction fit lock).
Regarding claim 19, Niwa teaches the image capture device of claim 18, wherein the non-axisymmetric lobes are rotatable into contact with the clocking surfaces to create the friction fit (Fig. 9: pressure ring 14 is disposed inside between mount base 11 and front frame 13, with spring portion 14a positioned to press on the bayonet interface. As the claws align/engages the spring urges the parts into axis/radial contact, eliminating play and keeping seat faces 11c/12c tightly contacting i.e., compression-biased friction lock preventing movement).
Regarding claim 20, Niwa teaches the image capture device of claim 16, wherein the clocking surfaces and the compression alignment surfaces, in an unlocked position, are aligned so that the connector and the forward housing are movable along an axis with respect to one another (Fig. 7: depicts that when it is unlocked, aligned state for axial movement: in the regular insertion position, the bayonet claws/recesses (11a/11b on body 12a/12b on lens) are aligned, allowing the lens mount portion 12 to slide axially into the mount base 11 before any locking rotation. Similarly, clocking surfaces (lens-side claws) and the connector’s “compression alignment surface” (body-side mating faces) are offset from the load faces yet geometrically aligned for straight axil travel).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-15 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art is Naka US 2022/0334341
Regarding claim 8, Naka teaches an image capture device (see Fig. 1: camera 1) comprising:
a forward lens assembly (Fig. 4B: depicts plurality of lenses L1 to L7 mounted in a frame/holder: therefore, L1 is considered to be front lens assembly) comprising two or more connector fingers (Figs 6-7: lens L having 3 A1 is mounted in 51);
a rearward lens assembly aligned with the forward lens assembly along an optical axis (see Fig. 4B: L2); and
a connector receiving all or a portion of the forward lens assembly (Fig. 6 depicts many body 51 receiving lens L),
wherein the connector (see Fig. 6 and 8: connector 52) comprises two or more guides that align with and are configured to receive the two or more connector fingers so that when the two or more connector fingers are inserted into the two or more guides, the forward lens assembly is removably connected to the connector (see Figs. 5-8: three guide/grooves which receives protrusion A1, Fig. 6 depicts front lens assembly 51+L inserted in connector 52), and wherein the forward lens assembly floats within the connector (see Fig. 6: forward lens assembly L + 51 mounted on connector 52).
Naka fails to teach: a connector simultaneously receiving forward lens assembly and all or a portion of the rearward lens assembly and the forward lens assembly is movable relative to the rearward lens assembly.
Dependent claims 9-15 are also allowable because they all depend upon allowable base claim 10.
Conclusion
/EPHREM Z MEBRAHTU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872