DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li ( CN-109285200).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a method for training a neural network with three-dimensional (3D) image data by a processor(page 8, computer), the method comprising:
selecting at least one key frame image from 3D image data(Page 2, (1a) … medical image of the second mode corresponding to the first mode; (1b) pre-processing the training data );
training a first neural network with two-dimensional (2D) images, wherein the first neural network comprises a plurality of 2D convolutional layers(Page 3, (2a) training the training neural network model with the prepared image block) ;
training a second neural network with the at least one key frame image(Page 3, (3)… inputting the pre-processed first mode medical image into the trained deep convolutional neural network model for forward calculating and outputting the medical image of the second mode ),
wherein the second neural network comprises the plurality of 2D convolutional layers, and an aggregator combining outputs of the 2D convolutional layers( Page 3, each layer of training image are divided into a plurality of 2 D image blocks ) , and
wherein the 2D images used for training the first neural network comprise the at least one key frame image selected from the 3D image data(Page 3, if each layer of image of different modes in each group of data image are matched with each other, then the corresponding each layer of training image are divided into a plurality of 2 D image blocks (patch); if each layer of image of different modes in each group of data images is not completely matched with each other, then …), and/or additional 2D images obtained from a different domain from the 3D image data.
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the 3D image data comprises at least one of a digital breast tomosynthesis (DBT) image or a computed tomography (CT) image(Page 3, the medical image is: nuclear magnetic image, CT image, PET image or ultrasonic image), and the additional 2D image comprises at least one of a full-field digital mammography (FFDM) image or an X-ray image.
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches the method of claim 1, wherein parameters of one or more 2D convolutional layers among the 2D convolutional layers are fixed during the training of the second neural network, and parameters of one or more remaining 2D convolution layers among the 2D convolutional layers are trained with the at least one key frame image during the training of the second neural network( Page 3, in the training process, dividing the corresponding position of the region of interest in the medical image of different modes in each image block… (2b) when the image similarity LOSS value of the verification data set is less than or equal to the set threshold value, the model stops the iteration, storing the model ).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one key frame image comprise at least one randomly selected image from the 3D image data comprising a plurality of 2D images, at least one center frame image selected from the 3D image data, at least one suspicious frame image selected from the 3D image data(Page 5, step 213 … matching refers to each group of medical image, the organs in each layer slice of different modes), or at least one annotated frame image selected from the 3D image data.
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: obtaining a prediction for 3D inference image data using the trained second neural network( page 3, (3)… outputting the medical image of the second mode).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches a method for training a neural network with three-dimensional (3D) image data by a processor, the method comprising:
selecting at least one key frame image from 3D training image data comprising a plurality of two-dimensional (2D) images(Page 2, (1a) … medical image of the second mode corresponding to the first mode; (1b) pre-processing the training data );
training a neural network using the at least one key frame image and at least one additional 2D image to output a prediction(Page 3, (2a) training the training neural network model with the prepared image block),
wherein the additional 2D image is obtained from a different domain from the 3D training image data( Page 3, each layer of training image are divided into a plurality of 2 D image blocks ).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the selecting at least one key frame image comprises to select the at least one key frame image randomly from the plurality of 2D images(Page 3, if each layer of image of different modes in each group of data image are matched with each other, then the corresponding each layer of training image are divided into a plurality of 2 D image blocks (patch); if each layer of image of different modes in each group of data images is not completely matched with each other, then …).
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the selecting at least one key frame image comprises to select at least one center frame image from the plurality of 2D images, as the at least one key frame image(Page 3, each layer of image of different modes in each group of data image).
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the selecting at least one key frame images comprises to select at least one suspicious frame image from the plurality of 2D images, as the at least one key frame image Page 5, step 213 … matching refers to each group of medical image, the organs in each layer slice of different modes).
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the 3D image data comprises at least one of a digital breast tomosynthesis (DBT) image or a computed tomography (CT) image, and the additional 2D image comprises at least one of a full-field digital mammography (FFDM) image or an X-ray image(Page 3, the medical image is: nuclear magnetic image, CT image, PET image or ultrasonic image).
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches the method of claim 6, further comprising: obtaining a prediction for 3D inference image data using the trained neural network ( page 5, training picture into a plurality of 3 D image blocks).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the neural network comprises the plurality of 2D convolutional layers, and an aggregator combining outputs of the 2D convolutional layers( Page 3, each layer of training image are divided into a plurality of 2 D image blocks ).
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the plurality of 2D convolutional layers are pre-trained using a plurality of 2D training images ( page 5, step 212, pre-processing the training data).
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches the method of claim 14, wherein, during the training the neural network, parameters of one or more 2D convolutional layers among the 2D convolutional layers are fixed and parameters of one or more remaining 2D convolution layers among the 2D convolutional layers are trained with the at least one key frame image( Page 3, in the training process, dividing the corresponding position of the region of interest in the medical image of different modes in each image block… (2b) when the image similarity LOSS value of the verification data set is less than or equal to the set threshold value, the model stops the iteration, storing the model ).
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the plurality of 2D training images comprise the at least one key frame image selected from the 3D image data, and/or 2D images obtained from a different domain from the 3D image data(Page 5, step 213 … matching refers to each group of medical image, the organs in each layer slice of different modes).
Claims 17-20 recite the device for the method in claims 1-9, 11-16. Since Li also teaches a device (Page 8, computer), claims 17-20 are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li.
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches the method of claim 6.
Li does not expressly teach wherein the selecting at least one key frame image comprises to select at least one annotated frame image from the plurality of 2D images, as the at least one key frame image.
However, official notice is taken it is routine and conventional to use annotated images for training neural networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose frames in Li with annotated data set, with motivation to carry out supervised neural network training.
Conclusion
JIANGENG SUN
Examiner
Art Unit 2661
/Jiangeng Sun/Examiner, Art Unit 2671