DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and species of 1,4,7-triazacyclononane-N,N',N"-triacetic acid (NOTA) and gallium-68 (Ga-68) in the reply filed on June 2, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 Indefiniteness
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 6, the term “contrast excipient” renders the scope of the claim vague and ambiguous. In the pharmaceutical and medical imaging arts, the terms “contrast (agent)” and “excipient” possess mutually exclusive, contradictory definitions. A “contrast agent” is universally understood as an active pharmaceutical ingredient or diagnostic substance designed to actively alter the visual contrast of tissues or fluids during medical imaging. Conversely, an “excipient” is defined as an inactive or inert substance formulated alongside an active ingredient to serve as a carrier, stabilizer, or vehicle. By concatenating theses contradictory terms into a single phrase “contrast excipient”, it is unclear to a person of ordinary skill in the arte whether the claimed “contrast excipient” is intended to function as an active imaging contrast medium in addition to the multivalent glyco-complex according to claim 1, an inactive formulation carrier that is merely used within a contrast composition, or a hybrid substance performing the dual function. A review of the specification reveals that “contrast excipient” is not a standard term of art, nor has any distinct, specialized definition been provided within the specification for the term to act as its own lexicographer. Because the boundary of what a “contrast excipient” cannot be reasonably ascertained from the disclosure, the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are indefinite.
Clarification and/or amendment is required.
For the purposes of applying art, “contrast excipient” is being interpreted as a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient or an inactive substance formulated alongside the active ingredient of a medication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 10,925,981, 2021; cited on PTO-892) in view of Narayanan et al. (US 9,051,418, 2015; cited on PTO-892).
Regarding claims 1-5, Lin discloses a hexa-lactoside-NOTA derivative conjugate comprising NOTA (chelating group) and Ga-68 (radioactive nuclide) as a positron emission tomography (PET) imaging agent (abstract). Lin discloses the derivative can have a structure of
(claim 1). Both the conjugate of Lin and the conjugate of Formula (3) of instant claims represent dendritic molecular scaffolds coordinating a radioactive nuclide complex, conjugated to sugar moieties for targeted molecular imaging. Both structures have identical chelating moieties. However, the conjugate of Lin features a hexavalent architecture displaying 6 disaccharide units (lactose) arranged in pairs at the end of each branch, linked via alkyl chains. Formula (3) of instant claim features a trivalent architecture containing 3 monosaccharide (glucose derivative) subunits, linked via polyethylene glycol (PEG) chains. Both structures utilize central nitrogen-based core composed of multi-functional amino acids like lysine, but the conjugate of Lin requires an extended, complex poly-lysine dendrimeric core to bifurcate the branches thereby doubling the valency from 3 to 6. Regarding claim 6, Lin discloses that the imaging agent can be prepared with sodium acetate buffer (claim 3; column 8, lines 59-62). It can be expected that the imaging agent comprises the radio-labeled compound and sodium acetate buffer (excipient).
Lin does not disclose the conjugate comprising trivalent glucose-PEG moiety.
Narayanan discloses a linear glucose-PEG conjugate such as glucose-PEG-BODIPY ® and glucose-PEG-OH (FIGs 1 and 2). Narayanan discloses that such glucose-PEG conjugate can carry a detectable label such as a PET label (Ga-68), and that the conjugate can be useful for the imaging of hyper-proliferative cells, such as cancer cells (column 2, lines 40-43; column 6, lines 23-33) because a high rate of glucose uptake and increased glucose metabolism are involved in maintaining that proliferation of tumor cells (column 1, lines 34-36).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conjugate of Lin by replacing the hexavalent lactose moiety with a trivalent glucose moiety in order to prepare an effective imaging agent for cancer cells. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications and reasonably would have expected success because Narayanan teaches that the glucose-PEG moiety can be useful for an imaging agent for cancer cells. Specifically, A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select a trivalent structure rather than a lower-valency or higher-valency alternative. A trivalent presentation of glucose may maximize the multivalent binding affinity to glucose transporters overexpressed on cancer cells, while strictly avoiding the excessive steric hindrance and prolonged blood circulation time typically associated with higher-valency structures, thereby achieving an optimal target-to-background ratio. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to conjugate the PEG linker to the C-2 position of glucose (glucosamine) to ensure that the molecule is still recognized by cancer cells as glucose via glucose transporter, while utilizing an amide bond to provide in vivo stability. It would have been customary for a person of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the binding position and number of the glucose-PEG moieties in order to achieved the desired performance characteristics. The length of PEG linkers is a result-effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize in order to achieve the effective agent activity. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize smaller trivalent monosaccharide with hydrophilic PEG linkers instead of a complex hexavalent disaccharide structure with hydrophobic alky linkers in order to achieve higher contrast imaging, rapid renal clearance, reduced steric hindrance, improved synthetic yield, and reduced cost.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. US 10,925,981 (cited on PTO-892) in view of Narayanan et al. (US 9,051,418, 2015; cited on PTO-892).
Regarding claims 1-5, claim 1 of the ‘981 recites a hexa-lactoside-NOTA derivative conjugate, having a structure of
. Both the conjugate of the ‘981 and the conjugate of Formula (3) of instant claims represent dendritic molecular scaffolds coordinating a radioactive nuclide complex, conjugated to sugar moieties for targeted molecular imaging. Both structures have identical chelating moieties. However, the conjugate of the ‘981 features a hexavalent architecture displaying 6 disaccharide units (lactose) arranged in pairs at the end of each branch, linked via alkyl chains. Formula (3) of instant claim features a trivalent architecture containing 3 monosaccharide (glucose derivative) subunits, linked via polyethylene glycol (PEG) chains. Both structures utilize central nitrogen-based core composed of multi-functional amino acids like lysine, but the conjugate of the ‘981 requires an extended, complex poly-lysine dendrimeric core to bifurcate the branches thereby doubling the valency from 3 to 6.
Regarding claim 6, claim 3 of the ‘981 recites that the imaging agent can be prepared with sodium acetate buffer. The imaging agent would comprise the radio-labeled compound and sodium acetate buffer (excipient).
The claims of the ‘981 do not recite the conjugate comprising trivalent glucose-PEG moiety.
As discussed above, Narayanan discloses a linear glucose-PEG conjugate such as glucose-PEG-BODIPY ® and glucose-PEG-OH (FIGs 1 and 2). Narayanan discloses that such glucose-PEG conjugate can carry a detectable label such as a PET label (Ga-68), and that the conjugate can be useful for that imaging of hyper-proliferative cells, such as cancer cells (column 2, lines 40-43; column 6, lines 23-33) because a high rate of glucose uptake and increased glucose metabolism are involved in maintaining that proliferation of tumor cells (column 1, lines 34-36).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conjugate of the ‘981 by replacing the hexavalent lactose moiety with a trivalent glucose moiety in order to prepare an effective imaging agent for cancer cells. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications and reasonably would have expected success because Narayanan teaches that the glucose-PEG moiety can be useful for an imaging agent for cancer cells. Specifically, A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select a trivalent structure rather than a lower-valency or higher-valency alternative. A trivalent presentation of glucose may maximize the multivalent binding affinity to glucose transporters overexpressed on cancer cells, while strictly avoiding the excessive steric hindrance and prolonged blood circulation time typically associated with higher-valency structures, thereby achieving an optimal target-to-background ratio. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to conjugate the PEG linker to the C-2 position of glucose (glucosamine) to ensure that the molecule is still recognized by cancer cells as glucose via glucose transporter, while utilizing an amide bond to provide in vivo stability. It would have been customary for a person of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the binding position and number of the glucose-PEG moieties in order to achieved the desired performance characteristics. The length of PEG linkers is a result-effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize in order to achieve the effective agent activity. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize smaller trivalent monosaccharide with hydrophilic PEG linkers instead of a complex hexavalent disaccharide structure with hydrophobic alky linkers in order to achieve higher contrast imaging, rapid renal clearance, reduced steric hindrance, improved synthetic yield, and reduced cost.
Conclusion
/JONG HWAN BAEK/Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618