DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Due to communications filed 9/11/25, the following is a final office action. Claims 1, 4, 7 are amended. Claims 1-9 are pending in this application and are rejected as follows. The previous Office action has been modified to reflect claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU ET AL (CN 110443923 A), and further in view of SAKON (JP 2017182326 A), and further in view of (JP 4521086 B2), and further in view of (JP 2020524850 A).
As per claim 1, XU ETAL discloses:
at least one memory storing one or more instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the one or more instructions, (XU ET AL: the self-service subsystem comprises: a processor... the processor is connected with the server... The security management system of the invention at least comprises a hotel reservation system, an information collecting system, a hotel management system, intelligent access management control system, a face detection and recognition system, a database storage system, a visitor management system sub-system module, and a central server, said each sub- system is connected with the central server.);
to: obtain a first face image of a user using a check-in terminal at a facility, (See claim 1 of XU et al: “at the hotel entrance, based on monitoring video intelligent terminal collects entering all the human face data hotel, wherein said video intelligent monitoring terminal is an active face detection, it at least includes a face detection module, a face image collecting module human face image data);
identify the user by a first face authentication using the first face image of the user and a pre- stored image, and perform a check-in process of the user, (See claim 1 of XU et al: human face image data of the video intelligent terminal transmits the collected is sent to the server for further processing and stored in the face database... the first information collecting point is set at least comprises human face
image collecting module on the hotel foreground area, face detecting identifying module of the foreground self-service terminal device extracting face image information field and comparing the human face image within a predetermined information face database stored in the reservation system by face detecting identifying module, according to the similarity judging whether it is the same human face, by matching, configured guest and granted by the system based on the access right of the face”);
register the first face image of a user who has succeeded the check-in process as a face image of a permitted user who is allowed to use one or more services of a predetermined equipment at the facility, (Xu: “step $1: the registration check-in stage: the first information acquisition point for face recognition and stores the face data. the hotel foreground region, using at least a human face image collecting module, a human face detection and recognition module of foreground self-service terminal device, collecting at least comprises information of the field face image and for identification and comparison with the subscription information... human face image if the subscription information in the human face image matching the current obtained through the configured room and granted by the system based on the access right of the face, at the same time the human face information of the current acquisition associated with the subscription information stored in the face database”):
XU et al doesn’t disclose the following limitations, however SAKON (JP 2017182326 A) discloses: (SAKON (JP 2017182326 A) discloses in:
and register age information of the user who has [succeeded] the check-in process as age information of the permitted user; and the age information of the permitted user meets the use conditions of the services, (SAKON (JP 2017182326 A): SOLUTION: An authentication system comprises: a portable mobile
terminal 13 that has a camera and communication functions; and a register DB (database) server 7 that is connectable to the mobile terminal via a network. In the register DB server, information about a qualification to be authenticated, and face information on a legitimate proprietary of the qualification are registered. The mobile terminal includes: a reception unit that receives the information about the qualification and the face information from the register DB server via the network; a storage unit that stores a face image of an authenticated person shot by using the camera function; and a collation unit that implements processing of collating the face information transmitted from the register DB server with the shot face image within the terminal. As a result of the collation processing in the collation unit, when the face information and the face image coincide with each other and the information about the qualification is judged valid, the authenticated person is authenticated to be the legitimate proprietary of the qualification, and a right to be granted by the qualification is given to the authenticated person), ALSO SEE “perform a matching operation based on the face image of the first user obtained from the second camera and the checked-in user images in the second collection of images”); ALSO SEE: “In FIG. 5A, a purchaser who has purchased a credential such as a ticket takes a picture of his / her face at the time of purchase (or after purchase) ($1), and this face information and ticket information (ticket number, The registration is completed by transferring the purchase store information and the purchase date) to the designated server (S2). The face may be photographed using a camera installed at a purchase place or using a smartphone owned by the purchaser. At this time, personal information such as the name, date of birth, and age of the purchaser (that is, the qualification holder) and biometric information such as a signature and voiceprint (here, the autograph is regarded as a part of the biometric information)...When such registration is completed, the registered face owner is stored in the server as a valid qualification holder. For example, when a ticket is purchased for gifts, a registration number or a server address may be separately acquired as important information ($4) and registered
with the user himself / herself (SS)’. [Here, Examiner interprets that the age is registered as part of the credential/qualification].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include the above limitations as taught by SAKON in the systems of XU et al, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Xu et al does not disclose the following limitations, however, (JP 4521086 B2) discloses:
obtain a second face image of a user who uses the one or more services, and send a signal to a barrier to permit use of the one or more services based on an age verification being successful and a second face authentication being successful ((JP 4521086 B2): [0016] Further, according to the present invention, the step of inputting the image of the person to be recognized, the step of extracting the face area of the person to be recognized in the image, and the individual difference of the face of the person to be recognized based on the information related to the face area. A step of calculating a feature amount indicative of a feature amount, a step of previously storing a feature amount indicative of individual differences in the faces of a plurality of recognition target persons, a feature amount of the face of the recognition target person, and the pre-registered feature amount The step of recognizing the person to be recognized, the step of controlling whether or not to permit a predetermined operation based on the recognition result, In order to estimate each age group, a step of preliminarily storing a reference feature amount calculated for each age group from a plurality of face images, an extracted feature amount, and a pre-stored reference feature amount for each age group And the age group with the
highest similarity is determined as the age of the subject, and when it is determined that the recognition target person includes at least a person over the predetermined age Controlling to allow the operation; ) [0024]: FIG. 1A shows a face image recognition device applied to control the opening and closing of a door such as a passage door or a safe (hereinafter referred to as a door control type); [0047] When the person recognizing unit 15 identifies that the person is a specific person, the device control unit 18 permits the operation of the control target device if the person has previously obtained permission for a predetermined operation. Send a signal. For example, in the door control type that is the application example described above, it is possible to control the drive so that the door is unlocked and the door can be opened, or to allow a specific object to be taken in and out; [0048] In addition, when authentication is performed to obtain permission for an operation for a specific |D using a card, registration number, personal identification number, key, etc., it corresponds to personal information such as the card and number of each person. If the degree of similarity with the recognition data to be exceeded exceeds a predetermined threshold, the operation is permitted. [0093] FIG. 1A is a diagram showing a configuration when the face image recognition apparatus according to the first embodiment is applied to control of opening / closing of a door such as a passage door).
wherein the age verification is based on the age information, (JP 4521086 B2): [0016] In order to estimate each age group, a step of preliminarily storing a reference feature amount calculated for each age group from a plurality of face images, an extracted feature amount, and a pre-stored reference feature amount for each age group And the age group with the highest similarity is determined as the age of the subject);
and a term of use of the one or more services, (((JP 4521086 B2): [0060] In this way, it is determined whether or not the time table can be ended (step $7). If the time table ends, all registrations are ended.
If not, the face output direction 17 is designated from the guidance output unit 17 according to the next time table. At the same time, the time Count is initialized to 0 (step $11), the process returns to step 82, and the same operation is repeated);
wherein the second face authentication is based on the first face image and the second face image, (((JP 4521086 B2): The step of recognizing the person to be recognized, the step of controlling whether or not to permit a predetermined operation based on the recognition result, In order to estimate each age group, a step of preliminarily storing a reference feature amount calculated for each age group from a plurality of face images, an extracted feature amount, and a pre-stored reference feature amount for each age group And the age group with the highest similarity is determined as the age of the subject, and when it is determined that the recognition target person includes at least a person over the predetermined age Controlling to allow the operation);
and wherein based on the second face authentication being successful, and the age verification being unsuccessful, the barrier is controlled to prevent the user to use the one or more services, (((JP 4521086 B2): [0090] (2) Effects on age estimation: By estimating the age of the person who is trying to operate, even when a person below a predetermined age appears, the operation can be prevented from being permitted unless there is a companion above the predetermined age).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include the above limitations as taught by (JP 4521086 B2) in the systems of XU et al, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Xu et al does not disclose the following limitations, however, (JP 2020524850 A) discloses:
who has succeeded...wherein the age information is registered after the check-in process is successful,
However, (JP 2020524850 A) disclsoes: [0024] At block 106, a new patient may enter and/or approach the pre-waiting area (or areas) 102 after check-in (not shown) at the reception desk. At block 108, the new patient may be enrolled. Registration may include collecting information about the patient, such as the patient's name, age, gender, health information, and reason for the visit.;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include the above limitations as taught by (JP 2020524850 A) in the systems of XU et al, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 2, XU et al does not disclose the following:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to register gender information of the user who performed the check-in process as gender information of the permitted user.
However, SAKON (JP 2017182326 A) discloses: “Here, when the authentication side can know in advance the visit of the person to be authenticated, the information on the qualification holder to be received from the registration DB server 7 can be easily specified from the qualification information (for example, ticket number). On the other hand, if the person to be authenticated is uncertain about the visit and the person to be brought brings his / her credential (ticket) at the time of arrival, the specific information (eg, ticket number) specified in the credential will be used. You may make it access the registration DB server 7 and receive the information of a corresponding qualified holder. In addition, when an unspecified number of persons to be authenticated are targeted, depending on the nature of the qualification to be authenticated, qualification holders corresponding to this may be collectively received. In the case where a large number of users visit at the same time, in consideration of the memory capacity of the mobile terminal, each certifier (person in charge) is assigned to each terminal (for example, alphabet, age, gender, birth”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include the above limitations as taught by SAKON in the systems of XU et al, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 3, XU et al discloses: wherein the predetermined equipment includes at least one of a guest room, each facility, a large public bath and a facility where alcohol is provided, (step S6-3: Further, according to (i.e., respondent access of the guest room intelligent terminal permits the visitor through face recognition into), that is to say, in the hotel, visitor with access in the period passing authority of same with the tenant after obtaining the respondent agrees, hotel management system may also grant the visitor enters the appointed room access by face recognition).
As per claim 4, this claim recites limitations similar to those disclosed in independent claim 1 and is therefore rejected for similar reasons.
As per claim 5, please see the rejection for claim 2.
As per claim 6, please see the rejection for claim 3.
As per claim 7, this claim recites limitations similar to those disclosed in independent claim 1 and is therefore rejected for similar reasons.
As per claim 8, please see the rejection for claim 2.
As per claim 9, please see the rejection for claim 3.
Prior Art Considered
The following is prior art considered relevant by the examiner, however has not been used in the Office Action:
HASEGAWA WO 2020053953 A1
GRESSEL WO 2006030410 A2
BOWEN UA 128367 C2 A
GARDEN WO 2021034309 A1
KONG CN 110335377 A
CUI (CN 109147104 A)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see arguments/remarks, filed 9/11/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) Claim(s) 1-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU ET AL (CN 110443923 A), and further in view of SAKON (JP 2017182326 A), and further in view of (JP 4521086 B2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of (JP 2020524850 A).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Resha Desai can be reached on 571-270-7792. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (703) 305-3900.
December 15, 2025
/Akiba K Robinson/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit