DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to application No. 18/384,551 filed on 04/30/2026. Claim(s) 1-20 have been cancelled. Claim(s) 21-40 is/are pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21-40 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-24, 26-34, and 36-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vandichalrajan (US 2015/0304727), in view of Shannon et al. (US 2008/0092169), and further in view of Sanders et al. (US 2023/0396854).
Consider claims 21, 31, and 40, Vandichalrajan teaches a method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having computer-executable instructions stored thereon which, when executed by at least one computer processor, cause operations to be performed, the operations comprising/including: at least one computer processor; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one computer processor, wherein the at least one memory has computer-executable instructions stored thereon which, when executed by the at least one computer processor, cause operations to be performed, the operations (Fig.2, Paragraph 0030-00031, 0085-0088) including:
electronically determining, by the at least one computer processor, whether a particular user of a plurality of users is viewing or listening to a presentation device; automatically detecting, by the at least one computer processor, which language of a plurality of languages is preferred by the particular user in response to the electronic determination whether the particular user is viewing or listening to the presentation device; and based on the automatic detection of which language of the plurality of languages is preferred by the particular user, electronically presenting, by the at least one computer processor, media to the particular user that is in the detected language; wherein: the electronically determining whether a particular user of a plurality of users is viewing or listening to a presentation device includes: user profile of a user of the plurality of users; the automatically detecting which language of a plurality of languages is preferred by the particular user includes: in response to electronically determining that the particular user of a plurality of users is viewing or listening to the presentation device, electronically retrieving data from the user profile of the particular user indicating a language preference of the particular user; the electronically presenting media to the particular user that is in the detected language comprises automatically switching to information of a program being displayed on the presentation device that is in the detected language (Paragraph 0017 teaches the user profile of each of the detected one or more viewers may be determined based on a face recognition, a speech recognition, and/or a proximity detection of one or more other electronic devices associated with the one or more viewers. Paragraph 0024 teaches the electronic device 102 may be operable to detect the one or more viewers, such as the viewer 112 and the viewer 114, associated with the electronic device 102. The electronic device 102 may be operable detect such one or more viewers, based on user profiles stored in the database server 106. In an embodiment, the user profiles of each of the detected viewers 112 and 114, may be determined based on a face recognition, a speech recognition, and/or a proximity detection of one or more other electronic devices associated with the viewers 112 and 114. Paragraph 0026 teaches the electronic device 102 may be further operable to dynamically translate the received metadata from a first language to one or more other languages based on the detected one or more viewers. Paragraph 0027 teaches the electronic device 102 may determine the one or more other languages based on a user profile of each of the detected viewers 112 and 114. Paragraph 0037 teaches the sensing device 214 may comprise one or more sensors to confirm recognition, identification and/or verification of a viewer. Paragraph 0043 teaches the metadata may comprise one or more of EPG information, subtitle information, closed caption information, and/or the like. Paragraph 0046 teaches the sensing device 214 may be operable to detect the one or more viewers, such as the viewers 112 and 114, based on biometric data. Paragraph 0047 teaches based on the retrieved one or more biometric parameters of the viewers 112 and 114, the processor 202 may determine the user profiles of the viewers 112 and 114, from a pre-stored set of user profiles. Each user profile of the respective viewer may comprise viewer data, such as preferred language. Paragraph 0048 teaches the language detection unit 204 may be operable to determine one or more other languages associated with the viewers 112 and 114, based on the user profiles determined for the viewers 112 and 114. Paragraph 0052 teaches based on the one or more other languages determined by the language detection unit 204, the language translation unit 206 may be operable to dynamically translate the received metadata from a first language to the one or more other languages. Paragraph 0054 teaches translated metadata may be rendered in the one or more other languages. Paragraph 0061 teaches based on the determined user profile, the language detection unit 204 may determine a second language, such as Spanish language, associated with the viewer 112. Paragraph 0062 teaches in response to the determined second language, the language translation unit 206 may translate the metadata from the English language to the Spanish language. The processor 202 may display the metadata in the Spanish language in the first sub-region 302a, the second sub-region 302b and the third sub-region 302c in the EPG information 302 rendered on the display screen 110).
Vandichalrajan does not explicitly teach electronically determining a current time window of a plurality of time windows associated with the presentation device, wherein each time window of the plurality of time windows is associated with a respective user profile of a user of the plurality of users;
electronically retrieving data indicating which respective user profile of the plurality of users is associated with the current time window;
electronically determining that the current time window is associated with a user profile of the particular user; and
electronically determining that the particular user of a plurality of users is viewing or listening to the presentation device based on the determination that the current time window is associated with the user profile of the particular user; and
automatically switching to an audio track of a program being displayed on the presentation device that is in the detected language; and
the plurality of time windows comprise scheduled viewing periods pre-configured for different users sharing the same presentation device at different times.
In an analogous art, Shannon teaches electronically determining a current time window of a plurality of time windows associated with the presentation device, wherein each time window of the plurality of time windows is associated with a respective user profile of a user of the plurality of users; electronically retrieving data indicating which respective user profile of the plurality of users is associated with the current time window; electronically determining that the current time window is associated with a user profile of the particular user; and electronically determining that the particular user of a plurality of users is viewing or listening to the presentation device based on the determination that the current time window is associated with the user profile of the particular user; the plurality of time windows comprise scheduled viewing periods pre-configured for different users sharing the same presentation device at different times (Abstract, Paragraph 0008-0009, 0104, 0106, 0108, 0115).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Vandichalrajan to include electronically determining a current time window of a plurality of time windows associated with the presentation device, wherein each time window of the plurality of time windows is associated with a respective user profile of a user of the plurality of users; electronically retrieving data indicating which respective user profile of the plurality of users is associated with the current time window; electronically determining that the current time window is associated with a user profile of the particular user; and electronically determining that the particular user of a plurality of users is viewing or listening to the presentation device based on the determination that the current time window is associated with the user profile of the particular user; the plurality of time windows comprise scheduled viewing periods pre-configured for different users sharing the same presentation device at different times, as taught by Shannon, for the advantage of automatically identifying the current user and display personalized content for the identified user, creating personalized interfaces and home pages for each user (Shannon – Paragraph 0004), allowing the system to better manage and keep track of user(s) preferences, in order to quickly facilitate and timely execute on tailored entertainment experience for user(s).
Vandichalrajan and Shannon do not explicitly teach automatically switching to an audio track of a program being displayed on the presentation device that is in the detected language; and
In an analogous art, Sanders teaches automatically switching to an audio track of a program being displayed on the presentation device that is in the detected language (Paragraph 0189 teaches electronic device stores any number of preferred language settings for respective users 622A, 622B, and 622C. Electronic device optionally stores preferred language settings, which include language C as a first preferred language for user 622A. Paragraph 0190 teaches electronic device determines that a certain user is currently active based on facial recognition information of the user. Paragraph 0192, 0224 teaches adjusting an audio track of the content item according to the preferred language settings of user 622A. Because current default audio track language 614 is language A rather than preferred language of user 622A, electronic device adjusts the audio track such that audio track language 624 is a preferred language of user 622A, such as first preferred language, e.g. language C. Electronic device may automatically, e.g., without user input, change the audio track to an audio track in the first available preferred language of the user 622A. In some embodiments, in response to receiving a confirmation input from user 622A, the electronic device changes the audio track to an audio track in the first available preferred language of user 622A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Vandichalrajan and Shannon to include automatically switching to an audio track of a program being displayed on the presentation device that is in the detected language, as taught by Sanders, for the advantage of providing efficient ways for consuming content items according to certain language settings, e.g. preferred languages, when a user may wish to consume content items associated with audio tracks in various languages (Sanders – Paragraph 0003), allowing the system to quickly provide preferred audio that the user can understand and/or prefer.
Consider claims 22 and 32, Vandichalrajan, Shannon, and Sanders teach wherein the presentation device comprises a television (Vandichalrajan – Paragraph 0019).
Consider claims 23 and 33, Vandichalrajan, Shannon, and Sanders teach wherein the presentation device comprises a personal computer (Vandichalrajan – Paragraph 0019).
Consider claims 24 and 34, Vandichalrajan, Shannon, and Sanders teach wherein the presentation device comprises a smartphone or tablet (Vandichalrajan – Paragraph 0019).
Consider claims 26 and 36, Sanders further teaches wherein presentation device receives selected programming from a receiving device (device 500, display 514 - Fig.5A, Paragraph 0166, 0185).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Vandichalrajan, Shannon, and Sanders to include wherein presentation device receives selected programming from a receiving device, as further taught by Sanders, for the advantage of allowing for another device to receive and process content to be provided for display, providing a dedicated receiving device that can be easily swapped out if needed, providing users with greater flexibility and control.
Consider claims 27 and 37, Vandichalrajan, Shannon, and Sanders teach wherein the receiving device interconnects to one or more communications sources (Sanders – Fig.4, Paragraph 0049-0052).
Consider claims 28 and 38, Vandichalrajan, Shannon, and Sanders teach wherein the communications sources comprise a cable head-end (Sanders – Paragraph 0052), a satellite antenna, a telephone company switch, an Ethernet portal, or an off-air antenna.
Consider claims 29 and 39, Vandichalrajan, Shannon, and Sanders teach wherein the receiving device receives the selected programming through a downlink signal from a satellite (Sanders – Paragraph 0045, 0049, 0052).
Consider claim 30, Vandichalrajan, Shannon, and Sanders teach wherein the satellite receives the selected programming from a television distributor through an uplink connection (Sanders – Paragraph 0045, 0049, 0052).
Claim(s) 25 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vandichalrajan (US 2015/0304727), in view of Shannon et al. (US 2008/0092169), in view of Sanders et al. (US 2023/0396854), and further in view of Rhoads et al. (US 2020/0236414).
Consider claims 25 and 35, Vandichalrajan, Shannon, and Sanders teach the presentation device (Vandichalrajan – Paragraph 0019), but do not explicitly teach wherein the presentation device is configured for display in a senior living center.
In an analogous art, Rhoads teaches wherein presentation device is configured for display in a senior living center (Paragraph 0034-0035, 0050).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Vandichalrajan, Shannon, and Sanders to include wherein presentation device is configured for display in a senior living center, as taught by Rhoads, for the advantage of configuring use of television that has become ubiquitous worldwide and is familiar to the majority of the population, including the elderly (Rhoads – Paragraph 0005), providing elderly with convenience and entertainment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON K LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425