DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
It is noted that the KR 10-2020-0056715 A reference has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ahn (US 20210203029 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
Ahn discloses a battery pack, comprising:
a plurality of battery cells in a row in a direction Z1 in Figure 2 below, i.e. a first direction, and in a plurality of rows in a direction Z2 in Figure 2 below, i.e. a second direction intersecting the first direction.
a cell holder in which the plurality of battery cells are assembled under the upper holder, i.e. at a first side thereof (150 in Figure 2 below, [0027] lines 1-3, [0054] lines 1-5).
in Figure 2 below, a bus bar 160, i.e. a first conductive line, of the cell holder 150, is necessarily plated and patterned on top of the upper cell holder 150a, i.e. at a second side opposite to the first side, electrically connecting different battery cells to each other ([0050 lines 5-6]) and extending in the direction Z2, i.e. in the second direction ([0056] lines 1-3).
Ahn also discloses a battery pack as set forth above, further comprising a second conductive line, i.e. a flexible line 180 in Figure 2 above, that is necessarily plated and patterned at the second side of the cell holder, i.e. on top of the upper cell holder 150a in Figure 2 above, to collect state information about different battery cells ([0069] lines 5-7).
Ahn further discloses in Figure 2 above a bus bar 160, i.e. a first conductive line, and a flexible line 180, i.e. a second conductive line, on the cell holder 150.
Although Ahn does not disclose laser direct structuring, it is noted that “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Further, “although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983). See MPEP 2113.
Therefore, absent evidence of criticality regarding the presently claimed process and given that Ahn meets the requirements of the claimed battery pack, Ahn clearly meets the requirements of the present claims.
Regarding claim 5:
Ahn discloses a flexible line, i.e. a second conductive line, comprising a main body arranged at an edge of a cell region in which the plurality of battery cells is arranged, and a first branch portion to detect voltage and a second branch portion to detect temperature which branch from the main body toward the cell region ([0007] lines 3-8). Ahn also discloses the flexible line may be configured to detect state information of the battery cell, such as the voltage and temperature of the battery cell ([0069] lines 5-7) and that it is electrically connected to the bus bar, i.e. the first conductive line ([0056] lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 6:
Ahn discloses a cell region C in Figure 2 above, which shows a plurality of battery cells that are arranged such that battery cells in adjacent rows in the second direction are alternately staggered with each other at front and rear positions in the first direction.
Regarding claim 7:
Ahn discloses in Figure 7 below a first conductive line, i.e. a bus bar 160, that includes a plurality of first conductive lines, i.e. first and second bus bars 161 and 162, electrically connecting the battery cells to each other ([0050 lines 5-6]), and each of the plurality of first conductive lines extends between a first group of battery cells, marked as G1, and a second group of battery cells, marked as G2, the first group of battery cells and the second group of battery cells being adjacent to each other in a direction Z1, i.e. a first direction, and being arranged in a direction Z2, i.e. a second direction.
Regarding claim 8:
Ahn discloses in Figure 7 above a parallel module P1, P2, or P3 may be formed between the base portions 161b and 162b of the first and second bus bars 161 and 162 ([0062] lines 10-13), i.e. the first group of battery cells and the second group of battery cells are arranged in the second direction and are connected to each other in parallel. Ahn also discloses that the bus bar 160 may form a serial connection while connecting different first and second electrodes and to each other in the battery cells belonging to different parallel modules P1, P2, and P3 arranged adjacent to each other with respect to a boundary of the base portions 161b and 162b ([0062] lines 22-27), i.e. the first group of battery cells and the second group of battery cells are connected to each other in series in the first direction.
Regarding claim 9:
Ahn discloses in Figure 7 above that each of the plurality of first conductive lines, i.e. bus bars, extends in a zigzag pattern and has a curved portion surrounding an outer circumferential surface of an electrode at a center position of the first and second groups of battery cells, G1 and G2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn (US 20210203029 A1) in view of Kim J. (US 10367180 B2).
Regarding claim 4:
Ahn teaches a battery pack as set forth above.
However, Ahn does not teach a first conductive line having a greater width than a width of a second conductive line.
Kim J. teaches a second bus bar can have a cross-section area greater than that of the first bus bar. For example, the second bus bar can be wider than the first bus bar (Column 9 line 65-Column 10, line 1).
Kim J. also teaches that if the second bus bar is wider than the first bus bar, the second bus bar can have sufficient mechanical strength for stably protecting the cell holder (Column 10 lines 1-4).
In light of the motivation for using a second bus bar that is wider than the first bus bar disclosed by Kim J. as set forth above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a second bus bar that is wider than the first bus bar in the battery pack of Ahn in order to have sufficient mechanical strength for stably protecting the cell holder.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn (US 20210203029 A1) in view of Seon (WO 2021256631 A1). It is noted that the disclosures of Seon are based on a machine translation of the reference included in the prior action of record.
Regarding claim 10:
Ahn teaches a battery pack as set forth above.
However, Ahn does not teach an end of the second conductive line that is connected to a battery management system, extends in the second direction, and includes a plurality of branch lines.
Seon teaches that voltage information of the secondary battery cells within the battery module is transmitted to the battery management system (BMS) through a voltage sensing member, i.e. second conductive line, connected to each busbar ([0007] lines 5-6). The voltage sensing member includes a main body part extending along the longitudinal direction of the cell stack from the top of the cell stack, and a plurality of sensing parts located at both ends of the main body part and extending in multiple directions, i.e. plurality of branch lines in at least a second direction ([0049]).
Seon also teaches that the BMS monitors the status of battery cells and controls the charging and discharging of battery cells ([0047] lines 1-3) and that the plurality of voltage sensing members are for sensing the node voltage of series-connected battery cells and transmitting voltage information of each battery cell to the BMS ([0047] lines 3-4).
In light of the motivation for using a BMS connected to a voltage sensing member, i.e. second conductive line, with a plurality of sensing parts, i.e. plurality of branch lines, which are further connected to each bus bar disclosed by Seon as set forth above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a BMS connected to a voltage sensing member, i.e. second conductive line, with a plurality of sensing parts, i.e. plurality of branch lines, which are further connected to each bus bar in the battery pack of Ahn in order to monitor the status of battery cells and control the charging and discharging of battery cells and sense the node voltage of series-connected battery cells and transmit voltage information of each battery cell to the BMS.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn (US 20210203029 A1) in view of He et al. (KR 20210006940 A). It is noted that the disclosures of He et al. are based on a machine translation of the reference included in the prior action of record.
Regarding claim 11:
Ahn teaches a battery pack as set forth above.
Ahn further teaches in Figure 5 below, first and second electrodes 11 and 12 at an end of a battery cell are exposed to outside of the cell holder through first and second electrode holes EH1 and EH2 in the cell holder 150 and are connected to the first conductive line 160, i.e. a bus bar, through a connection member 21 ([0051]).
However, Ahn does not teach a second electrode extending to another end of the battery cell.
He et al. teaches in Figure 3 below, the first electrode terminal (101) of the cell (100) extends from the first end of the cell (100), and the second electrode terminal (102) of the cell (100) extends from the second end of the cell (100). In other words, the direction of the first dimension of the cell (100) is the direction of the current inside the cell (100), that is, the direction of the current inside the cell (100) can be the direction of the first dimension, i.e. a second electrode extends to another end of the battery cell ([0054] lines 5-13).
He et al. also teaches that since the current direction is the same as the first dimension direction of the cell (100), the cell (100) has a larger effective heat dissipation area and a higher heat dissipation efficiency ([0054] lines 11-13).
In light of the motivation for using a second electrode extending to another end of the battery cell disclosed by He et al. as set forth above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a second electrode extending to another end of the battery cell in the battery pack of Ahn in order to have a larger effective heat dissipation area and a higher heat dissipation efficiency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 10th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the Ahn reference and in response to the Applicant’s argument that Ahn’s flexible line 180, i.e. second conductive line, is not necessarily plated and patterned on top of the upper cell holder 150a, i.e. at the second side of the cell holder, in Figure 2 above, the Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
It is agreed that Ahn does not explicitly disclose plating and patterning any conductive line. However, “plate” (verb) is defined as “to deposit (something such as a layer) on a surface” (see Merriam Webster Dictionary). Additionally, “pattern” (verb) is defined as “to furnish, adorn, or mark with a design” (see Merriam Webster Dictionary). Ahn’s flexible line 180, i.e. second conductive line, is therefore plated and patterned on top of the upper cell holder 150a, i.e. at the second side of the cell holder, in Figure 2 above.
Applicant argues that formation of the first conductive line and the second conductive line on the cell holder through laser direct structuring ("LDS") defines a structure of the resulting battery pack rather than merely indicating a method of manufacture. In particular, a conductive line formed on the cell holder through LDS is a conductive pattern directly formed on, and integral with, the surface of the cell holder, and is structurally distinguishable from a separately manufactured bus bar plate or flexible line merely seated on or assembled to a holder, as in the Ahn reference. Applicant further argues that the instant Specification confirms this structural distinction by describing the process and its advantages.
However, although Ahn does not disclose laser direct structuring, it is noted that “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Further, “although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983). See MPEP 2113.
Therefore, absent evidence of criticality regarding the presently claimed process and given that Ahn meets the requirements of the claimed battery pack, Ahn clearly meets the requirements of the present claims.
Further, while applicant points to the instant specification to support their position regarding the claimed process, applicant provides no evidence, i.e. data, to support their position that the claimed process results in a structural difference or that the battery pack of Ahn is in fact structurally different than the battery pack presently claimed. Additionally, given the examiner's position that the battery pack of Ahn is the same as presently claimed, one would expect it to have the same advantages as the present invention absent evidence to the contrary.
Applicant argues that Kim J. does not cure the deficiencies of Ahn.
However, as set forth above, Ahn does not have any deficiencies. Further, note that while Kim J. do not disclose all the features of the present claimed invention, Kim J. is used as teaching reference, and therefore, it is not necessary for this secondary reference to contain all the features of the presently claimed invention, In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973), In re Keller 624 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981). Rather this reference teaches a certain concept, namely that the second bus bar can be wider than the first bus bar, and in combination with the primary reference, discloses the presently claimed invention.
Applicant argues that Seon does not cure the deficiencies of Ahn.
However, as set forth above, Ahn does not have any deficiencies. Further, note that while Seon do not disclose all the features of the present claimed invention, Seon is used as teaching reference, and therefore, it is not necessary for this secondary reference to contain all the features of the presently claimed invention, In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973), In re Keller 624 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981). Rather this reference teaches a certain concept, using a battery management system connected to a voltage sensing member, i.e. second conductive line, with a plurality of sensing parts, i.e. plurality of branch lines, which are further connected to each bus bar, and in combination with the primary reference, discloses the presently claimed invention.
Applicant argues that He et al. does not cure the deficiencies of Ahn.
However, as set forth above, Ahn does not have any deficiencies. Further, note that while He et al. do not disclose all the features of the present claimed invention, He et al. is used as teaching reference, and therefore, it is not necessary for this secondary reference to contain all the features of the presently claimed invention, In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973), In re Keller 624 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981). Rather this reference teaches a certain concept, namely using a second electrode extending to another end of the battery cell, and in combination with the primary reference, discloses the presently claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim H. (US 20170054126 A1) discloses a second bus bar, i.e. second conductive lines, of a battery pack having the width W1, which is greater than widths of the first bus bars, i.e. first conductive lines. Kim H. also discloses that the resistance of the second bus bar in a series-connected portion on which the flow of current concentrates may be selectively reduced, thereby preventing a voltage drop and heat generation. In addition, since the first bus bars and in a parallel-connected portion on which the flow of current does not concentrate are not formed to have relatively large thicknesses, material costs may be reduced ([0070]).
/MADISON ELIZABETH BROWN/Examiner, Art Unit 1787
/CALLIE E SHOSHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1787