DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Cheon et al. (US 20230/245607 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2010/0050081 A).
As in Claim 1, Cheon teaches a display apparatus, comprising:
a display, configured to display images and/or a user interface, wherein the user interface comprises one or more windows (FIGS. 6 and 12-17, at least pars. 137-139, an electronic device 600 can display a user interface or content including windows (e.g., main content or first content)) and
at least one processor, connected with the display, and configured to execute instructions to cause the display apparatus to (FIG. 5, at least pars. 106-107, the electronic device 600 (the electronic device 500 in FIG. 5) includes a processor 510, connected with the display, configures to execute instructions stored in a memory 520):
establish a connection with a first projection device in response to a first projection request from the first projection device (at least pars. 7-8, 51, 138-140, 190-191, the device 600 can establish a connection with an external device 690 from an input or request from the external device);
receive projection content from the first projection device (FIGS. 6and 12-17, at least pars. 120-126, the device 600 receives content (shared content or second content) from the external device);
based on determining projection content from the first projection device is vertical media resource, control the display to show a top-level application of a user interface displayed when the first projection request is received and the projection contents from the first projection device (pars. 131, 157, 160-161, 174, 184-185, the device can determine/identify display orientation of the shared content of the external device, then determine display/layout of the main content and the shared content);
based on determining the top-level application supports split screen display, display two windows on the display, wherein the top-level application is displayed in a first window of the two windows, and the projection content from the first projection device is displayed in a second window of the two windows (FIGS. 7, 9, and 12-17, pars. 128, 136, 142-143, 145-146, 182, 190, the display can be divided into multiple areas for displaying the main content (e.g., broadcast) and the shared content).
Cheon does not appear to explicitly teach that based on determining the top-level application does not support split screen display, display two windows on the display, wherein the top level application after scaling is displayed in either window of the two windows, and the projection content from the first projection device is displayed in the other window of the two windows.
However, in the same field of the invention, Lee teaches that based on determining the top-level application does not support split screen display, display two windows on the display, wherein the top level application after scaling is displayed in either window of the two windows, and the projection content from the first projection device is displayed in the other window of the two windows (pars. 47-48, 63-70, a digital TV 100 is connected to a PC 200, and content of the PC screen and TV application can concurrently displayed in a PIP type arrangement after adjusting size of the windows; further see pars. 19, 59) .
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system and method for simultaneously displaying contents of the device and external device in the dived areas, as taught by Cheon, and to provide the way to display contents of the TV and external device in the PIP manner, as taught by Lee. The motivation is to maintain visibility of the content while allowing the user to interact with other windows or perform other tasks simultaneously.
Claim 9 is substantially similar to Claim 1 and rejected under the same rationale.
3. Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Cheon et al. (US 20230/245607 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2010/0050081 A) and further in view of Nagano et al. (US 2014/0115528 A1).
As in Claim 8, Cheon-Lee teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Cheon further teaches that in a case where the multiple windows display the projection contents of the multiple projection devices respectively, the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the display apparatus to (see FIGS. 8 and 14, pars. 150-154, 201-202, more than one external device (e.g., first external device 890 and second external device 895 of FIG. 8 or first external device 1490 and second external device 1495 of FIG. 14 ) can be connected to the device (e.g., device 800 of FIG. 8 or device 1400 of FIG. 14) to display the contents of the external devices, respectively).
Cheon-Lee does not teach receiving an selection operation on a media resource control in one of the multiple windows, wherein the media resource control is configured to display a corresponding multimedia resource; and displaying the corresponding multimedia resource in the window to which the media resource control belongs in full screen according to the selection operation, in a case where the corresponding multimedia resource is a horizontal media resource.
However, in the same field of the invention, Nagano receiving an selection operation on a media resource control in one of the multiple windows, wherein the media resource control is configured to display a corresponding multimedia resource (FIGS 15 and 19, pars. 226-227); and
displaying the corresponding multimedia resource in the window to which the media resource control belongs in full screen according to the selection operation, in a case where the corresponding multimedia resource is a horizontal media resource (FIG. 19, pars. 226-227, the selected window 51C can be displayed in a single-window full screen; further see pars. 39-40).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system and method for simultaneously displaying contents of the device and external device in the dived areas, as taught by Cheon, in view of Lee ‘s teachings, and to provide the selected content in the full screen, as taught by Nagano. The motivation is to enhance focus by display the selected content or image in full screen.
Claim 16 is substantially similar to Claim 8 and rejected under the same rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in an independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 10 is substantially similar to claim 2 and objected to under the same rationale.
Claims 3-7 are dependent of claim 2 and the references are not provided for claims 3-7.
Claims 10-15 are dependent of claim 10 and the references are not provided for claims 3-7.
Conclusion
/RINNA YI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179