Election/Restrictions
Claims 5, 6, 11, 12, and 14-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected speices, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 06/12/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of species A and 1 in the reply filed on 06/12/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that none of the claims recite or encompass the training resistance. This is not found persuasive because although not claimed the application contains multiple embodiments of the training resistance and therefore would be a search burden if amendments were made to further claim the different species.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein the closed curve forms an ellipse, wherein a deviation of a length of the first and second main axes from one another corresponds to less than 25%, or less than 15%, or less than 10%, or less than 5%” of Claim 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “securing system” in claims 1-4, 7-10, 13, 17, and 18.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Paragraph [0052]:” The securing system 103 includes at least one tension and/or compression component 108, in the present case multiple tension and/or compression component 108, for adjusting a circumference of the closed curve of the securing system 103. In the illustrated example, the securing system 103 includes a BOA closure with a BOA dial and BOA cords as tension and/or compression component 108. In a simple case, the securing system 103 can also be formed as a band, in particular an elastic band such as a headband, or as latch, wherein the tension and/or compression component 108 is then formed as a latching closure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites “the coupling elements”, however only at least one coupling element has been claimed in Claim 2 and therefore it is unclear if there are multiple coupling elements or at least one coupling element. In order to proceed, “the coupling elements” has been interpreted as --the at least one coupling element--.
Claim 18 Line 1 recites “the coupling elements” and “ear cups” in line 3, however only at least one coupling element has been claimed in Claim 2 and therefore it is unclear if there are multiple coupling elements or at least one coupling element. In order to proceed, “the coupling elements” has been interpreted as --the at least one coupling element are formed as ear cups--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Casali (US 5984836).
Regarding Claim 1, Casali teaches a device to support a head of a person, the device comprising: at least two lips 50,52 that are placed around a first main axis and around a second main axis oriented substantially perpendicular to the first main axis, the at least two lips form, together with at least one securing system 62,68,76,80,82 a closed curve with a hollow space formed therein for supporting the person's head, wherein the securing system is designed, by matching a circumference of the curve, to form a homogeneously acting positive engagement or frictional engagement between the lips and the person's head (Refer to Fig. 4 Col 6 Lines 10-16:” As can be seen, the harness ring 68 attaches to each of the side pieces 50,52 in two places including the rear and front. The harness ring 68 is attached to the rear ends of the side pieces 50,52 by two bolts 76. When assembled, the bolts 76 extend through holes 62 of the side pieces 50,52 and slots 70 of the harness ring 68. The slots 70 enable the position of the side pieces 50,52 to be adjusted horizontially to fit the head of the user, as described previously.”).
Regarding Claim 2, Casali continues to teach further comprising at least one coupling element 40,44 to couple to a structural body and/or to a training apparatus 10 (Refer to Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 4, Casali continues to teach wherein the securing system has at least one tension and/or compression component 80,82 to adjust the circumference of the closed curve, and wherein a change in the circumference of the closed curve brought about by the tension and/or compression component 80,82 causes an application of force to the lips 50,52 (Refer to Fig. 4 Col 6 Lines 17-28:” The harness ring 68 attaches to the front of the side pieces 50,52 by two spring loaded pin assemblies 80. Each of the assemblies 80 include a spring 82, a threaded pin 84, a washer 85 and a knob 86, as shown. When assembled, each of the pins 84 extend through holes 72 of the harness ring 68 and are screwed into holes 60 of the side pieces 50,52 in order to attach the harness ring 68 to the side pieces 50,52. The knobs 86 attach to the pins 84 which are utilized to rotate the pins 84 relative to the harness ring 68. The pins 84 being rotated either in or out respectively tightens or loosens the wrap 48 on the head of the user. This enables the head harness 46 to be further adjusted to fit a variety of head sizes.”).
Regarding Claim 17, Casali teaches a combination of a training apparatus 10 and the device according to claim 2 to support a head, wherein the device is adapted to be coupled to the training apparatus via the coupling elements 44 (Refer to Figs. 1&5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casali (US 5984836).
Regarding Claim 3, Casali teaches that the closed curve forms an ellipse (Refer to annotated Fig. 4 below) but fails to expressly disclose wherein a deviation of a length of the first and second main axes from one another corresponds to less than 25%, or less than 15%, or less than 10%, or less than 5%. The Office takes the position that Applicant does not provide criticality for less than 25%, 15%, 10% or 5% and that since the closed curve of Casali is meant to be positioned around a user’s head it would have been obvious to come to the claimed ranges through routine experimentation and such ranges lacking criticality over other possible ranges such as that shown by Casali and therefore does not patentably distinguish the invention over prior arts. Refer to MPEP 2144.05 Obviousness of Similar and Overlapping Ranges, Amounts, and Proportions [R-01.2024].
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casali (US 5984836) in view of Purnell (US 6557186).
Regarding Claim 13, Casali teaches the claimed invention as noted above but fails to teach wherein an ear cup is provided for surrounding an associated ear. Purnell teaches a lightweight head support comprising an ear cup 8. Purnell is analogous with Applicants invention in that they both teach supports on a user’s head and therefore it would have been obvious to modify the device of Casali to comprise ear cups to protect the ears during exercise as taught by Purnell and therefore such modification does not patentably distinguish the invention over prior arts.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Casali is the closest prior art to the claimed invention but fails to teach the claimed invention as a whole being a device to support a head of a person, the device comprising: at least two lips that are placed around a first main axis and around a second main axis oriented substantially perpendicular to the first main axis, the at least two lips form, together with at least one securing system, a closed curve with a hollow space formed therein for supporting the person's head, wherein the securing system is designed, by matching a circumference of the curve, to form a homogeneously acting positive engagement or frictional engagement between the lips and the person's head and further comprising wherein the lips are grippers that are connected to the securing system, wherein the grippers each have two curved, mutually converging, outer sidewalls that are connected to one another via struts and that are in operative connection with one another such that a force exerted on at least one of the outer sidewalls in a direction of force causes a deflection of the gripper opposite the direction of force to create a positive engagement between the grippers and the person's head. And/or wherein the device is adapted to be coupled to the training apparatus via the at least one coupling element and wherein the at least one coupling element are formed as an ear cups, and wherein the training apparatus is adapted to be coupled to the ear cups via a connecting element such that a coupling axis running along the connecting elements approximately coincides with an auditory canal axis running between the auditory canals.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to attach list of references cited for prior arts pertinent to claimed and unclaimed subject matter.
/NYCA T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784