DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-8 & 21-32 of which claims 1 & 5 are amended, claims 21-32 are newly added and claims 9-20 are cancelled.
In view of the amendments to the claims, the previous rejection is withdrawn in favor of the new ground of rejection presented below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 & 5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-8, & 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US20170049284A1) in view of Baan (US20070056138A1) and Hirakawa (US20160296982A1).
As to claim 1, Wang discloses a cleaning apparatus for a load port (abstract) comprising: a housing (Fig.2 ref 31) that provides an inner space; a cleaner (best seen by Fig.4 ref 30) configured to clean a substrate loader (e.g., see Fig.10), wherein the cleaner is at least partially disposed within the inner space (see Figs.4 & 7); wherein the housing comprises: a slit (see Fig.5 ref 3126 and ref 334, reads on slit as one dimension of the opening is larger than another dimension thereby providing a relatively narrow opening) that is upwardly recessed from a bottom surface of the housing and is connected to the inner space (see Figs.3-5 & 7); and a plurality of placement holes (Figs.3-4 ref 3124) that upwardly extend from the bottom surface of the housing, wherein one or more of the plurality of placement holes is configured to receive a support pin fixed to a substrate loader (see Fig.4 ref 142 of ref 14), and wherein the cleaner comprises: an intake device (Figs.4 & 7 ref 32) disposed within the inner space; and an intake pipe (see Fig.5 ref 331) comprising a first end and a second end, wherein the first end is connected to the intake device and the second end is connected to the slit (see Figs.4-5 & 7). Assuming arguendo that Wang does not explicitly state the opening is slit shaped, the use of a slit shaped opening for suctioning purposes is known in the art, as seen by Baan and Hirakawa.
Baan discloses an art related cleaning apparatus for use in the substrate field [0002], wherein suction is produced via slots (abstract, synonymous with slit). Baan indicates that by utilizing a slot shape allows for suction with high volume and high velocity [0018].
Hirakawa discloses an art related suction cleaning apparatus (abstract) for use in the substrate field [0003-0004], wherein it is known that providing the suction opening as a slit to prevent clogging of the suction port [0061 & 0064].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Wang to provide the suction opening as an upwardly recessed slit in order to allow for high volume and high velocity suction (Baan [0018]) and prevent clogging (Hirakawa [0061 & 0064]).
As to claim 3, Modified Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least one of the placement holes does not overlap the slit (see Wang Figs.3-4). Further, at least one slot extends horizontally in a first direction (see Wang Fig.3 slot which would extend in region of ref 3128).
As to claim 4, Modified Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the width of the slit decreases in an upward direction, the second direction being a horizontal direction that intersects the first direction (Baan Figs.1 & 3 refs 22a-22d having tapered ends and thus decreasing widths or Fig.4A refs 22a-22d showcasing decreasing widths).
As to claim 7, Modified Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein Wang showcases the plurality of placement holes are three in number and disposed to constitute a triangular shape when view in plan (Fig.4).
As to claim 8, Modified Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein Wang indicates that the intake device is a pump and an electric motor to drive the pump (Wang [0030]). A skilled artisan understands that the inlet end of the intake pipe is connected to the pump (see also Wang Fig.5).
As to claim 23, Modified Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein Wang shows the cleaner comprises a coupling member (Fig.2 ref 317) configured to combine with an overhead hoist transport (Fig.1 ref 22, see also [0022 & 0024]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US20170049284A1) in view of Baan (US20070056138A1) and Hirakawa (US20160296982A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Seo (US20230200602A1).
As to claim 2, Modified Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not disclose the presence of a nozzle cover. However, the use of a plate which covers an opening (i.e., a nozzle cover) for suction openings installed at the bottom of a load port cleaning device is known in the art, as seen by Seo.
Seo disclose an art related cleaning module for use with semiconductor equipment (abstract & [0002-0007]), wherein a housing (Fig.4 ref 30) is provided with a suction device (ref 340) for cleaning of a surface onto which the housing is placed in order to clean the surface via suction through holes (Fig.5 ref 331 & 332). Seo further indicates that the bottom of the housing has a plate installed with said holes [0076-0077] intended to cover an opening at the bottom of the housing, thereby reading on a nozzle cover with a nozzle hole. The nozzle plate allows effective collection of contaminants [0077].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Wang to include a nozzle cover with a plurality of openings installed in the openings in order to allow for effectively collecting contaminants (Seo [0077]). It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize one known suction configuration in place of another with a reasonable expectation of success. As it is understood that utilizing slit shaped outlets allow for high volume and high velocity suction (Baan [0018]) and prevents clogging (Hirakawa [0061 & 0064]) a skilled artisan would provide the shape of the outlet holes on the nozzle plate as slits.
Claim(s) 5-6 & 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US20170049284A1) in view of Baan (US20070056138A1) and Hirakawa (US20160296982A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kowalski (TW200416775A).
As to claim 5, Modified Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not disclose the presence of a sensor receiving hole which receives a sensor of an external apparatus. However, Wang does indicate the housing is provided with a sensor in order to detect placement of the cleaning apparatus onto the substrate loader (Wang Fig.3 ref 3125 & [0059 & 0027]), and said sensor is provided at a location that does not overlap with the placement holes of the suctions outlets (i.e., slits). A skilled artisan would reasonably expect that the feature of providing a hole in the housing for receiving the sensor placed on the substrate loader would merely be an obvious rearrangement of parts that would not affect the operation of detecting the presence of the cleaning apparatus on the substrate loader (see MPEP 2144.04). Thus, a skilled artisan would find any rearrangement of the sensor location to be obvious so long as the presence of the cleaner on the substrate loader is capable of being detected. One of ordinary skill in the art would also recognize that the feature of the housing having a hole to receive such a sensor is merely a design choice regarding the receipt arear for a sensor (see MPEP 2144.04) that a skilled artisan could make based on the dimension of the coupling pins (see Wang Fig.4 ref 142) to ensure fitment of the pins the corresponding holes is achieved. Further, the usage of a sensor on a substrate loader port is a well-known feature in the art, as seen by Kowalski.
Kowalski discloses an art related load port apparatus for FOUPs (abstract), wherein it is shown that a substrate loader (Fig.6 ref 230) can have protruding probes and sensor (Fig.6 ref 231-1, 232-1, & 233) which are indicated to be provided within a recessed portion of the FOUP housing (see Fig.6 refs 231-1, 232-1, & 233 extend into bottom of ref 210). Thus, Kowalski indicates that sensors and probes can located on the substrate loader and a corresponding recessed receiving sections can be provided in bottom a housing provided on the substrate loader.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Wang to provide the sensor located on the substrate loader as such is a known alternative location for a sensor for detecting the presence of a housing on the substrate loader (Kowalski Fig.6). Further, a skilled artisan would also find obvious the feature of providing a recessed hole for receiving said sensor, as such is also a known configuration for a receiving sensor which detects the presence of a housing on the substrate loader. It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize one known sensor configuration in place of another with a reasonable expectation of success.
As to claim 6, Modified Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 5, but does not disclose the dimensions of the receiving hole. However, a skilled artisan recognizes that the thickness of the sensor hole can be selected in order to effectively position the sensor therein. Thus, a skilled artisan would find any size of thickness for the sensor receiving hole to be obvious, including the claimed range, in order to fit the sensor of associated size therein. Such a modification would merely amount to a change in the dimensions of the sensor receiving hole without affecting the operation of the cleaning apparatus (see MPEP 2144.04).
As to claim 21, Modified Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the external apparatus is a substrate loader (see Wang Figs.1 & 4 & Kowalski Fig.6).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US20170049284A1) in view of Baan (US20070056138A1) and Hirakawa (US20160296982A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen (US20150068554A1) and Wang (US20220032347A1, hereafter W1).
As to claim 22, Modified Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not disclose the presence of a brush or brush driver. However, the use of brushes for the cleaning of a substrate loader surface is known in the art, as seen by Chen.
Chen discloses an art related substrate loader port cleaning apparatus (abstract), wherein horizontally rotatable brushes (Fig.4 ref 158) that extend horizontally in a first direction are known to be utilized with suction cleaning ports (Fig.4 ref 164) to facilitate the removal of contaminants [0048]. As the brushes are provided as rotatable brushes, a skilled artisan would reasonably expect that a driver would be provided for rotating the brushes. However, assuming arguendo that the Chen reference does not explicitly disclose a driver for rotating the brushes, such a feature is well-known in the art as seen by W1.
W1 discloses an art related cleaning system for semiconductor equipment (abstract), wherein it is seen that multiple rotating brushes (Fig.11 ref 221) can be rotated by a driver (Fig.11 ref 231 or 232).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Wang to include horizontally rotating brushes that extend in a first direction in order to facilitate contaminant removal (Chen [0048]). A skilled artisan would also provide a driver for rotating the brush as desired as such is a well-known element for doing so.
Claim(s) 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US20170049284A1) in view of Baan (US20070056138A1), Hirakawa (US20160296982A1), and Kowalski (TW200416775A).
As to claim 24, Wang discloses a cleaning apparatus for a load port (abstract) comprising: a housing (Fig.2 ref 31) that provides an inner space; a cleaner (best seen by Fig.4 ref 30) configured to clean a substrate loader (e.g., see Fig.10), wherein the cleaner is at least partially disposed within the inner space (see Figs.4 & 7); wherein the housing comprises: a slit (see Fig.5 ref 3126 and ref 334, reads on slit as one dimension of the opening is larger than another dimension thereby providing a relatively narrow opening) that is upwardly recessed from a bottom surface of the housing and is connected to the inner space (see Figs.3-5 & 7); and wherein the cleaner comprises: an intake device (Figs.4 & 7 ref 32) disposed within the inner space; and an intake pipe (see Fig.5 ref 331) comprising a first end and a second end, wherein the first end is connected to the intake device and the second end is connected to the slit (see Figs.4-5 & 7). Assuming arguendo that Wang does not explicitly state the opening is slit shaped, the use of a slit shaped opening for suctioning purposes is known in the art, as seen by Baan and Hirakawa.
Wang does not disclose the presence of a sensor receiving hole which receives a sensor of an external apparatus. However, Wang does indicate the housing is provided with a sensor in order to detect placement of the cleaning apparatus onto the substrate loader (Wang Fig.3 ref 3125 & [0059 & 0027]), and said sensor is provided at a location that does not overlap with the placement holes of the suctions outlets (i.e., slits). A skilled artisan would reasonably expect that the feature of providing a hole in the housing for receiving the sensor placed on the substrate loader would merely be an obvious rearrangement of parts that would not affect the operation of detecting the presence of the cleaning apparatus on the substrate loader (see MPEP 2144.04). Thus, a skilled artisan would find any rearrangement of the sensor location to be obvious so long as the presence of the cleaner on the substrate loader is capable of being detected. One of ordinary skill in the art would also recognize that the feature of the housing having a hole to receive such a sensor is merely a design choice regarding the receipt arear for a sensor (see MPEP 2144.04) that a skilled artisan could make based on the dimension of the coupling pins (see Wang Fig.4 ref 142) to ensure fitment of the pins the corresponding holes is achieved. Further, the usage of a sensor on a substrate loader port is a well-known feature in the art, as seen by Kowalski.
Baan discloses an art related cleaning apparatus for use in the substrate field [0002], wherein suction is produced via slots (abstract, synonymous with slit). Baan indicates that by utilizing a slot shape allows for suction with high volume and high velocity [0018].
Hirakawa discloses an art related suction cleaning apparatus (abstract) for use in the substrate field [0003-0004], wherein it is known that providing the suction opening as a slit to prevent clogging of the suction port [0061 & 0064].
Kowalski discloses an art related load port apparatus for FOUPs (abstract), wherein it is shown that a substrate loader (Fig.6 ref 230) can have protruding probes and sensor (Fig.6 ref 231-1, 232-1, & 233) which are indicated to be provided within a recessed portion of the FOUP housing (see Fig.6 refs 231-1, 232-1, & 233 extend into bottom of ref 210). Thus, Kowalski indicates that sensors and probes can located on the substrate loader and a corresponding recessed receiving sections can be provided in bottom a housing provided on the substrate loader.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Wang to provide the suction opening as an upwardly recessed slit in order to allow for high volume and high velocity suction (Baan [0018]) and prevent clogging (Hirakawa [0061 & 0064]). One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to provide the sensor located on the substrate loader as such is a known alternative location for a sensor for detecting the presence of a housing on the substrate loader (Kowalski Fig.6). Further, a skilled artisan would also find obvious the feature of providing a recessed hole for receiving said sensor, as such is also a known configuration for a receiving sensor which detects the presence of a housing on the substrate loader. It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize one known sensor configuration in place of another with a reasonable expectation of success.
As to claim 25, Modified Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 24, wherein the external apparatus is a substrate loader (see Wang Figs.1 & 4 & Kowalski Fig.6).
Claim(s) 26-27 & 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US20170049284A1) in view of Baan (US20070056138A1), Hirakawa (US20160296982A1), Chen (US20150068554A1), and Wang (US20220032347A1, hereafter W1).
As to claims 26-27, Wang discloses a cleaning apparatus for a load port (abstract) comprising: a housing (Fig.2 ref 31) that provides an inner space; a cleaner (best seen by Fig.4 ref 30) configured to clean a substrate loader (e.g., see Fig.10), wherein the cleaner is at least partially disposed within the inner space (see Figs.4 & 7); wherein the housing comprises: a slit (see Fig.5 ref 3126 and ref 334, reads on slit as one dimension of the opening is larger than another dimension thereby providing a relatively narrow opening) that is upwardly recessed from a bottom surface of the housing and is connected to the inner space (see Figs.3-5 & 7); and a plurality of placement holes (Figs.3-4 ref 3124) that upwardly extend from the bottom surface of the housing, wherein one or more of the plurality of placement holes is configured to receive a support pin fixed to a substrate loader (see Fig.4 ref 142 of ref 14), and wherein the cleaner comprises: an intake device (Figs.4 & 7 ref 32) disposed within the inner space. Assuming arguendo that Wang does not explicitly state the opening is slit shaped, the use of a slit shaped opening for suctioning purposes is known in the art, as seen by Baan and Hirakawa. Wang does not disclose the presence of a brush or brush driver. However, the use of brushes for the cleaning of a substrate loader surface is known in the art, as seen by Chen.
Baan discloses an art related cleaning apparatus for use in the substrate field [0002], wherein suction is produced via slots (abstract, synonymous with slit). Baan indicates that by utilizing a slot shape allows for suction with high volume and high velocity [0018].
Hirakawa discloses an art related suction cleaning apparatus (abstract) for use in the substrate field [0003-0004], wherein it is known that providing the suction opening as a slit to prevent clogging of the suction port [0061 & 0064].
Chen discloses an art related substrate loader port cleaning apparatus (abstract), wherein horizontally rotatable brushes (Fig.4 ref 158) that extend horizontally in a first direction are known to be utilized with suction cleaning ports (Fig.4 ref 164) to facilitate the removal of contaminants [0048]. As the brushes are provided as rotatable brushes, a skilled artisan would reasonably expect that a driver would be provided for rotating the brushes. However, assuming arguendo that the Chen reference does not explicitly disclose a driver for rotating the brushes, such a feature is well-known in the art as seen by W1.
W1 discloses an art related cleaning system for semiconductor equipment (abstract), wherein it is seen that multiple rotating brushes (Fig.11 ref 221) can be rotated by a driver (Fig.11 ref 231 or 232).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Wang to provide the suction opening as an upwardly recessed slit in order to allow for high volume and high velocity suction (Baan [0018]) and prevent clogging (Hirakawa [0061 & 0064]). A skilled artisan would also find it obvious to modify Wang to include horizontally rotating brushes that extend in a first direction in order to facilitate contaminant removal (Chen [0048]). A skilled artisan would also provide a driver for rotating the brush as desired as such is a well-known element for doing so.
As to claim 32, Modified Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 26, wherein Wang shows the cleaner comprises a coupling member (Fig.2 ref 317) configured to combine with an overhead hoist transport (Fig.1 ref 22, see also [0022 & 0024]).
Claim(s) 28-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US20170049284A1) in view of Baan (US20070056138A1), Hirakawa (US20160296982A1), Chen (US20150068554A1), and Wang (US20220032347A1, hereafter W1) as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Kowalski (TW200416775A).
As to claim 28, Modified Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 27, but does not disclose the presence of a sensor receiving hole which receives a sensor of an external apparatus. However, Wang does indicate the housing is provided with a sensor in order to detect placement of the cleaning apparatus onto the substrate loader (Wang Fig.3 ref 3125 & [0059 & 0027]), and said sensor is provided at a location that does not overlap with the placement holes of the suctions outlets (i.e., slits). A skilled artisan would reasonably expect that the feature of providing a hole in the housing for receiving the sensor placed on the substrate loader would merely be an obvious rearrangement of parts that would not affect the operation of detecting the presence of the cleaning apparatus on the substrate loader (see MPEP 2144.04). Thus, a skilled artisan would find any rearrangement of the sensor location to be obvious so long as the presence of the cleaner on the substrate loader is capable of being detected. One of ordinary skill in the art would also recognize that the feature of the housing having a hole to receive such a sensor is merely a design choice regarding the receipt arear for a sensor (see MPEP 2144.04) that a skilled artisan could make based on the dimension of the coupling pins (see Wang Fig.4 ref 142) to ensure fitment of the pins the corresponding holes is achieved. Further, the usage of a sensor on a substrate loader port is a well-known feature in the art, as seen by Kowalski.
Kowalski discloses an art related load port apparatus for FOUPs (abstract), wherein it is shown that a substrate loader (Fig.6 ref 230) can have protruding probes and sensor (Fig.6 ref 231-1, 232-1, & 233) which are indicated to be provided within a recessed portion of the FOUP housing (see Fig.6 refs 231-1, 232-1, & 233 extend into bottom of ref 210). Thus, Kowalski indicates that sensors and probes can located on the substrate loader and a corresponding recessed receiving sections can be provided in bottom a housing provided on the substrate loader.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Wang to provide the sensor located on the substrate loader as such is a known alternative location for a sensor for detecting the presence of a housing on the substrate loader (Kowalski Fig.6). Further, a skilled artisan would also find obvious the feature of providing a recessed hole for receiving said sensor, as such is also a known configuration for a receiving sensor which detects the presence of a housing on the substrate loader. It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize one known sensor configuration in place of another with a reasonable expectation of success.
As to claim 29, Modified Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 28, wherein the external apparatus is a substrate loader (see Wang Figs.1 & 4 & Kowalski Fig.6).
As to claim 30, Modified Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 28, wherein the cleaner further comprises an intake pipe (see Wang Fig.5 ref 331) comprising a first end and a second end, wherein the first end is connected to the intake device and the second end is connected to the slit (see Wang Figs.4-5 & 7).
As to claim 31, Modified Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 29, wherein Wang shows the cleaner comprises a coupling member (Fig.2 ref 317) configured to combine with an overhead hoist transport (Fig.1 ref 22, see also [0022 & 0024]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAIR CHAUDHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711