DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/27/2023, 3/14/2025, & 11/19/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner has considered the information disclosure statements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 12-13, & 15-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Belligotti (Italian Patent Application Publication # ITBO20110225A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Belligotti discloses an energy supply device for a piece of furniture (i.e. furniture/cabinet 1) with a furniture carcass and a movable furniture part (i.e. drawer/door) for supplying an electrical consumer (i.e. light source 8) with electrical energy, the energy supply device comprising:
a current supply rail (i.e. electrified bars 16/17), wherein the current supply rail can be arranged on the furniture carcass or on the movable furniture part; and
a contacting device (i.e. first contacts 13 & second contacts 14) to be arranged at least partially on the movable furniture part or on the furniture carcass, the contacting device including:
a contact element for galvanically conductively contacting the current supply rail; and
a switchable load-switching element (i.e. control 18) for enabling a current supply from the current supply rail to the electrical consumer via the contacting device (Fig. 1-3; Page 2-7).
Regarding Claim 2, Belligotti discloses that through a movement (i.e. opening and closing) of the movable furniture part (i.e. drawer/door) relative to the furniture carcass, the current supply rail (i.e. electrified bars 16/17) is galvanically conductively contactable by the contact element (i.e. first contacts 13 & second contacts 14) and/or the load-switching element (i.e. control 18) is switchable (Fig. 1-3; Page 2-7).
Regarding Claim 3, Belligotti discloses that through a movement (i.e. opening and closing) into a predefined or predefinable position of the movable furniture part (i.e. drawer/door) relative to the furniture carcass, preferably through a movement into or out of an end position of the movement of the movable furniture part, the current supply rail (i.e. electrified bars 16/17) is galvanically conductively contactable by the contact element (i.e. first contacts 13 & second contacts 14) and/or the load-switching element (i.e. control 18) is switchable (Fig. 1-3; Page 2-7).
Regarding Claim 4, Belligotti discloses that the load-switching element has a measuring contact and, with the measuring contact, a galvanically conductive contacting of the contact element with the current supply rail is measurable (i.e. through a sensor, rectifier, transformer, and regulator) (Fig. 1-3; Page 2-7).
Regarding Claim 5, Belligotti discloses that the galvanically conductive contacting of the contact element with the current supply rail is measurable, using the measuring contact, through reaching a predefined or predefinable position of the movable furniture part relative to the furniture carcassmeasuring a voltage applied to the current supply rail (i.e. through a sensor, a rectifier, transformer, and regulator) (Fig. 1-3; Page 2-7).
Regarding Claim 6, Belligotti discloses that a current supply (i.e. electric generator) from the current supply rail (i.e. electrified bars 16/17) to the electrical consumer (i.e. light source 8) can be enabled in a substantially power-free manner by the load-switching element (i.e. control 18) (Fig. 1-3; Page 4-7). Control 18 can control the supply of current or power to light source 8 through bars 16/17.
Regarding Claim 7, Belligotti discloses that the load-switching element is a first load-switching element for a first electrical consumer, the energy supply device further comprising a second load-switching element for a second electrical consumer, and the second load-switching element is switchable depending on the switching state of the first load-switching element (Fig. 1-3; Page 4-7). Light source 8 can comprise a plurality of light sources that can be independently electrically powered by means of control 18.
Regarding Claim 8, Belligotti discloses that the contact element (i.e. first contacts 13 & second contacts 14) and the load-switching element (i.e. control 18) are arranged in a common modular unit (i.e. luminous/light media 4) (Fig. 1-3; Page 2-7).
Regarding Claim 12, Belligotti discloses that the current supply rail (i.e. electrified bars 16/17) has at least two galvanically conductive contact surfaces or contact points (Fig. 1-3; Page 4-5).
Regarding Claim 13, Belligotti discloses that the energy supply device comprises a voltage source (i.e. power supply 9 or electrical source), in particular a direct current voltage source (i.e. rectifier, transformer, and/or regulator which converts the alternating electrical source to direct current voltage) and/or an alternating current voltage source (i.e. alternating electrical source), for supplying the electrical consumer (i.e. light source 8) with electrical energy (Fig. 1-3; Page 4-7).
Regarding Claim 15, Belligotti discloses a piece of furniture (i.e. furniture/cabinet 1) comprising a furniture carcass, a furniture part (i.e. drawer/door) movable relative to the furniture carcass, in particular in the form of a drawer, wherein the furniture part is to be arranged at least partially in an interior of the furniture carcass, and the energy supply device according to claim 1 (Fig. 1-3; Page 2-7).
Regarding Claim 16, Belligotti discloses that the contacting device (i.e. first contacts 13 & second contacts 14) of the energy supply device is arranged on a back wall, facing an interior of the furniture carcass, of the movable furniture part (Fig. 1-3; Page 2-7).
Regarding Claim 17, Belligotti discloses that the current supply rail (i.e. electrified bars 16/17) of the energy supply device is arranged on a back wall of the furniture carcass facing an interior of the furniture carcass (Fig. 1-3; Page 2-7).
Regarding Claim 18, Belligotti discloses that the movable furniture part has an interface (i.e. luminous/light media 4) preferably formed on the contacting device to which the electrical consumer is to be detachably coupled (Fig. 1-3; Page 2-7).
Regarding Claim 19, Belligotti discloses an electrical consumer (i.e. light source 8) (Page 4-7).
Regarding Claim 20, Belligotti discloses an electrical consumer (i.e. light source 8) in the form of a light source is arranged in or on the furniture carcass, and the light source is arranged above the movable furniture part, based on an installed position (Fig. 1-3; Page 2-7).
Regarding Claim 21, Belligotti discloses a method for supplying an electrical consumer (i.e. light source 8) that can be arranged in or on a piece of furniture (i.e. furniture/cabinet 1) with electrical energy by the energy supply device according to claim 1 one a piece of furniture, the method comprising:
galvanically conductively contacting the current supply rail (i.e. electrified bars 16/17) with the contact element using a contacting device (i.e. first contacts 13 & second contacts 14); and
enabling a current supply from the current supply rail to the electrical consumer via the contacting device and the load-switching element (i.e. control 18) (Fig. 1-3; Page 2-7).
Regarding Claim 22, Belligotti discloses that a predefined or predefinable position of the movable furniture part (i.e. drawer/door) relative to the furniture carcass
Regarding Claim 23, Belligotti discloses that in a contact-measuring method step, a galvanically conductive contacting of the contact element with the current supply rail is measured with a measuring contact of the load-switching element (i.e. through a sensor, rectifier, transformer, and regulator) (Fig. 1-3; Page 2-7).
Regarding Claim 24, Belligotti discloses that the galvanically conductive contacting of the contact element with the current supply rail is measurable, using the measuring contact, through reaching a predefined or predefinable position of the movable furniture part relative to the furniture carcass
Regarding Claim 25, Belligotti discloses that the load-switching element is a first load-switching element for a first electrical consumer, and the energy supply device further comprising a second load-switching element for a second electrical consumer, and a switching of the second load-switching element is effected depending on a switching state of the first load-switching element (Fig. 1-3; Page 4-7). Light source 8 can comprise a plurality of light sources that can be independently electrically powered by means of control 18.
Regarding Claim 26, Belligotti discloses a use of the energy supply device according to claim 1 for supplying the electrical consumer (i.e. light source 8) to be arranged in or on a piece of furniture (i.e. furniture/cabinet 1) with electrical energy (Fig. 1-3; Page 2-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belligotti (Italian Patent Application Publication # ITBO20110225A1) in view of Hettich (German Patent Application Publication # DE202006006185).
Regarding Claim 9, Belligotti does not explicitly disclose that the contact element has a spring contact for galvanically conductively contacting the current supply rail.
Hettich teaches that the contact element (i.e. contact element 14/14’) has a spring contact (i.e. spring-loaded contact pins 15’) for galvanically conductively contacting the current supply rail (i.e. conductor track 13) (Fig. 5, 6A-6B; Paragraphs 0010, 0023, 0024).
Hettich teaches that it is well known in the art of power supplies for use in furniture to use a spring contact in order to keep the contact element pre-tensioned and pressed against a conductor track or current supply rail which maintains a permanent electrical connection and compensates for assembly tolerances. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use a spring contact for the contact elements of Belligotti, as taught by Hettich, in order to keep the contact element pre-tensioned and pressed against a conductor track or current supply rail which maintains a permanent electrical connection and compensates for assembly tolerances.
Regarding Claim 10, Belligotti in view of Hettich discloses that the spring contact (i.e. spring-loaded contact pins 15’) has a pivotable spring finger (i.e. spring 16) (Hettich: Fig. 5, 6A-6B; Paragraphs 0010, 0023, 0024).
Regarding Claim 11, Belligotti in view of Hettich discloses that the load-switching element (i.e. Belligotti: control 18/ Hettich: one line of conductor tracks 13 which functions as a data line for a control system) is switchable by a movement of the pivotable spring finger (i.e. spring-loaded contact pins 15’) (Hettich: Fig. 6A; Paragraph 0019, 0023, 0024).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belligotti (Italian Patent Application Publication # ITBO20110225A1) in view of Karg (US Patent Application Publication # 2011/0193454).
Regarding Claim 14, Belligoti does not explicitly disclose a rechargeable energy storage device, from which, at least when the load-switching element is open, the electrical consumer is to be supplied with electrical energy, at least for a limited duration.
Karg teaches a rechargeable energy storage device (i.e. chargeable current storage means 11), from which, at least when the load-switching element is open, the electrical consumer (i.e. current consumer 4) is to be supplied with electrical energy, at least for a limited duration (Fig. 1-5, 14-16, 20-23; Paragraphs 0007, 0024-0032).
Karg teaches that it is well known in the art of furniture with a power supply to include a rechargeable energy storage device or current storage means in order to supply energy to the electrical/current consumer when the drawer is open and the electrical/current consumer is disconnected from the power supply unit. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to include a rechargeable energy storage device in the device of Belligotti, as taught by Karg, in order to continue supplying energy to the electrical/current consumer when the drawer is open and the electrical/current consumer is disconnected from the power supply unit.
Relevant Cited Art
The cited art in PTO-892 was found during the examiner's search, but was not relied upon for this office action. However, it is still considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure.
Conclusion
/RJA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847