DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2021/0159926, hereinafter Kim), and in view of Shin et al (US 2011/0096815, hereinafter Shin).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses an electronic device comprising: a plurality of antennas (multiple antennas, Fig. 2); a first radio-frequency (RF) front-end module comprising a third switch configured to select one or more signals to be transmitted to or to be received from the plurality of antennas and a plurality of switches configured to select one or more transmission paths and one or more reception paths established with the plurality of antennas, wherein the plurality of switches include a first switch and a second switch (front end unit 304, Fig. 2, with antenna switching module 346 connected to different antennas, Fig. 2, switching module is used to configure a transmission/reception path to the antennas, claim 3/Fig. 2, front end unit has multiple switches, 331, 332, 337, 339, Para [0102]/Fig. 3, there are different paths within the front end unit, Fig. 3); a second RF front-end module (front end unit 303, Fig. 3); a radio-frequency integrated circuit (RFIC) connected to the first RF front-end module and the second RF front-end module (components implemented as integrated circuitry, Para [0016], transceiver and controller connected to both front end units, Fig. 2); and a processor (controller, Fig. 2), and wherein the processor is configured to: determine whether to transmit the signal simultaneously with a signal generated in the first RF front-end module by using one antenna among the plurality of antennas (electronic device can communicate simultaneously with the front end unit and antenna, claim 4, diplexer can combine signals of the front end unit for transmission, Para [0055]); and based on a determination to simultaneously transmit the signal and the signal by using the one antenna, adjust the third switch and the plurality of switches to simultaneously transmit the signal and the signal generated by the first RF front-end module by using the one antenna (diplexer can combine signals and transmit with an antenna, Para [0055], there are a plurality of switches in the front end units that are involved in transmitting a signal, Para [0098/102]); but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first RF front-end module is configured to receive a signal from the second RF front-end module (diplexer 306 can combine signals received from both front end units and transmit the signal, Para [0089], obvious variation to one of ordinary skill the diplexer component could be placed in the “first” front end unit, meaning the “first” front end receives a signal from the “second” front end unit); nor discloses transmitting SRS simultaneously. Shin discloses simultaneous SRS transmission over antennas, Para [0073]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Shin in the system of Kim in order to signal control information to support transmission of DL and UL transport channels.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the third switch is connected to a port configured to receive the SRS from the second RF front-end module, and wherein, based on a determination to transmit the SRS, the processor is configured to adjust the third switch to select the SRS received from the second RF front-end module (diplexer can combine signals and transmit with an antenna, Para [0055], there are a plurality of switches in the front end units that are involved in transmitting a signal, Para [0098/102], switch 346, obvious variation to one of ordinary skill, where there is a slight configuration change in Fig. 3, the output of one front end unit is inputted into the last switch of the other front end unit).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Kim discloses the electronic device/circuit of claim 1/11, but not wherein the SRS is used for a frequency band in which time division duplexing (TDD) is supported (TDD is known in the art to one of ordinary skill).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Kim discloses the electronic device/circuit of claim 1/11, wherein the signal generated by the first RF front-end module is transmitted in a frequency band in which frequency division duplexing (FDD) is supported (FDD is known in the art to one of ordinary skill).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Kim discloses the electronic device/circuit of claim 1/11, wherein the third switch is a multi-on switch (front end unit has multiple switches, 331, 332, 337, 339, Para [0102]/Fig. 3, a switch able to simultaneously select two signals is known in the art).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein a port configured to receive the SRS from the second RF front-end module is connected to the second switch, and wherein, based on a determination to transmit the SRS, the processor is further configured to adjust the plurality of switches and the third switch to select the SRS received from the second RF front-end module (obvious variation to one of ordinary skill, where there is a slight configuration change in Fig. 3, the output of one front end unit is inputted into the switch of the other front-end unit).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the third switch is connected to another antenna among the plurality of antennas, and wherein, based on a determination to transmit the SRS simultaneously with the signal by not using the one antenna, the processor is further configured to adjust the third switch to transmit the SRS by using the one antenna and transmit the signal generated by the first RF front-end module by using the another antenna (Kim discloses diplexer can combine signals and transmit with an antenna, Para [0055], there are a plurality of switches in the front end units that are involved in transmitting a signal, Para [0098/102], Shin also discloses transmitting SRS with multiple antennas, Para [0073]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the electronic device is configured to support an E-UTRA NR dual connectivity (ENDC) network in which both a long-term evolution (LTE) network and a fifth-generation (5G) network are accessible (communication system using LTE frequency and 5G frequency, Para [0003]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the electronic device is configured to support carrier aggregation in a fifth-generation (5G) network (5G communication system, Para [0002], carrier aggregation, Para [0003]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 1, but not wherein the electronic device is configured to support beamforming by using the plurality of antennas. Shin discloses beamforming, Para [0048].
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses a communication circuit (device, Fig. 2/3 with circuits/ASIC, Para [0151]) comprising: a first radio-frequency (RF) front-end module comprising: a third switch configured to select one or more signals to be transmitted to or to be received from a plurality of antennas, and a plurality of switches configured to establish one or more transmission paths and one or more reception paths with the plurality of antennas, wherein the plurality of switches comprise a first switch and a second switch (front end unit 304, Fig. 2, with antenna switching module 346 connected to different antennas, Fig. 2, switching module is used to configure a transmission/reception path to the antennas, claim 3/Fig. 2, front end unit has multiple switches, 331, 332, 337, 339, Para [0102]/Fig. 3, there are different paths within the front end unit, Fig. 3); a second RF front-end module (front end unit 303, Fig. 3); a radio-frequency integrated circuit (RFIC) connected to the first RF front-end module and the second RF front-end module (components implemented as integrated circuitry, Para [0016], transceiver and controller connected to both front end units, Fig. 2); and wherein the third switch and the plurality of switches included in the first RF front-end module are adjusted to simultaneously transmit the signal and a signal generated by the first RF front-end module by using one antenna among the plurality of antennas (diplexer can combine signals and transmit with an antenna, Para [0055], there are a plurality of switches in the front end units that are involved in transmitting a signal, Para [0098/102]); but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first RF front-end module is configured to receive a signal from the second RF front-end module (diplexer 306 can combine signals received from both front end units and transmit the signal, Para [0089], obvious variation to one of ordinary skill the diplexer component could be placed in the “first” front end unit, meaning the “first” front end receives a signal from the “second” front end unit); and does not disclose simultaneously transmit the SRS. Shin discloses simultaneous SRS transmission over antennas, Para [0073]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Shin in the system of Kim in order to signal control information to support transmission of DL and UL transport channels.
Regarding claims 12 and 20, Kim discloses the communication circuit of claim 11/19, wherein the third switch is connected to a port configured to receive the SRS from the second RF front-end module, and wherein the third switch is adjusted to select the SRS received from the second RF front-end module (obvious variation to one of ordinary skill, where there is a slight configuration change in Fig. 3, the output of one front end unit is inputted into the last switch of the other front end unit).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses a communication circuit (device, Fig. 2/3 with circuits/ASIC, Para [0151]) comprising: a first radio-frequency (RF) front-end module comprising: a first switch configured to select a first element to establish a first transmission path with a plurality of antennas or a second element to establish a first reception path with the plurality of antennas, and a second switch configured to select a third element to establish a second transmission path with the plurality of antennas or a fourth element to establish a second reception path with the plurality of antennas (front end unit 304, Fig. 2, with antenna switching module 346 connected to different antennas, Fig. 2, switching module is used to configure a transmission/reception path to the antennas, claim 3/Fig. 2, front end unit has multiple switches, 331, 332, 337, 339, Para [0102]/Fig. 3, there are different paths within the front end unit, Fig. 3); a second RF front-end module (front end unit 303, Fig. 3); a radio-frequency integrated circuit (RFIC) connected to the first RF front-end module and the second RF front-end module (components implemented as integrated circuitry, Para [0016], transceiver and controller connected to both front end units, Fig. 2); and wherein the first switch and the second switch included in the first RF front-end module are adjusted to simultaneously transmit the signal and a signal generated by the first RF front-end module by using one antenna among the plurality of antennas (diplexer can combine signals and transmit with an antenna, Para [0055], there are a plurality of switches in the front end units that are involved in transmitting a signal, Para [0098/102]); but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first RF front-end module is configured to receive a sounding reference signal (SRS) from the second RF front-end module (diplexer can combine signals and transmit with an antenna, Para [0055], there are a plurality of switches in the front end units that are involved in transmitting a signal, Para [0098/102]); and does not disclose simultaneously transmit the SRS. Shin discloses simultaneous SRS transmission over antennas, Para [0073]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Shin in the system of Kim in order to signal control information to support transmission of DL and UL transport channels.
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses the communication circuit of claim 16, wherein the first element or the third element is a power amplifier (power amplifier modules, Para [0053]).
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses the communication circuit of claim 16, but not wherein the second element or the fourth element is a low-noise amplifier (low-noise amplifiers are known in the art to one of ordinary skill).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses the communication circuit of claim 16, further comprising a third switch configured to select a set of signals to be transmitted to or to be received from the plurality of antennas (switching module is used to configure a transmission/reception path to the antennas, claim 3/Fig. 2, front end unit has multiple switches, 331, 332, 337, 339, Para [0102]/Fig. 3, there are different paths within the front-end unit, Fig. 3).
Conclusion
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461