DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The replacement drawings were received on 6/12/26; these drawings are accepted and overcome the previous objection(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James (US 8671957) in view of Serrat (US 3747610).
Claims 1-5: James discloses a flexible (Col 1, 40-50) hair curling device (10, see Figs 1-5) comprising: a hollow stem (12) having a central bore (see Fig 2), a top end and a bottom end with an opening (22) at the bottom end providing access to the bore (see Fig 2). A bowl portion (14) having a frusto-conical wall (18) extending upwardly from the top end of the stem (see Figs 1-2) in an open position (see Fig 2) with the frusto-conical wall having a top edge (30) and a flange (32) extending from the top edge (see Figs 1-2). The curling device also includes a flexible (Col 1, 40-50) flat base portion (20) having an outer edge and a bottom (see Figs 1-2). The frusto-conical wall is adapted to be folded over in position around the stem so as to enclose the stem and the base portion in a folded position where the flange extends around the outer edge of the base portion and is aligned with the bottom of the base portion (see Figs 1-5). The thickness of the frusto-conical wall is greater adjacent to the stem than along the rest of the wall (Col 3, 30-55). The bowl portion has a transition region between its bottom and the top end and a concavity (40, Fig 2 & 34, Fig 3) is defined adjacent to the transition region (see Figs 1-3). The thickness of the wall adjacent the transition region is less than the thickness of the wall adjacent to the top of the bowl (Col 3, 50-55, see Fig 4). The curler can be impregnated with a phosphorescent pigment (Col 2, 60-67).
James discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for the flexible base being a separate second piece and having a circular hub/projection extending from its center and having an annular neck receiving an annular ridge to removably snap fit the base to the rest of the curler via a bore of the stem.
Serrat, however, teaches a hollow hair curling device, or curler (see Figs 1-2) including a hollow stem (1+11) including a hollow central bore (interior of 1) housing an endcap (11) and having a removable flat base (6) detachably connected to the hollow stem via a circular hub/projection (8) extending upward from a center of the base removably joined to an opening (9) of the hollow stem (see Figs 1-2). The circular hub (8) extends through the opening at the bottom of the hollow stem via the endcap (11) and is completely received within the bore of the stem via the stem’s endcap (11). The circular hub (8) is provided with an annular recessed neck (see Figs 1-2) which receives an annular ridge from an inner wall inside the bore to form the snap fit (see Figs 1-2). In other words, both Serrat and James disclose spool shaped hair curlers having enlarged ends for holding hair on the curler. Serrat teaches that making the bases of spool shaped curlers with enlarged bases removable via a snap fitting annular ridge and annular neck arrangement is old and well-known. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing (or the time of invention if Pre-AIA ) to modify the curler of James by providing the flexible base removable from the central bore via the snap fit arrangement taught by Serrat since Serrat teaches this to be old and well-known in hair curlers.
Claim 6: James discloses a hair curling device (10, see Figs 1-5) comprising: a first piece having a hollow stem (12) having a central bore (see Fig 2), a top end and a bottom end with an opening (22) at the bottom end providing access to the bore (see Fig 2). A bowl portion (14) having a frusto-conical wall (18) extending upwardly from the top end of the stem (see Figs 1-2) in an open position (see Fig 2) with the frusto-conical wall having a top edge (30) and a flange (32) extending from the top edge (see Figs 1-2). The curling device also includes a flexible (Col 1, 40-50) flat base portion (20) having an outer edge and a bottom (see Figs 1-2). The frusto-conical wall is adapted to be folded over in position around the stem so as to enclose the stem and the base portion in a folded position where the flange extends around the outer edge of the base portion and is aligned with the bottom of the base portion (see Figs 1-5). The thickness of the frusto-conical wall is greater adjacent to the stem than along the rest of the wall (Col 3, 30-55). The bowl portion has a transition region between its bottom and the top end and a concavity (40, Fig 2 & 34, Fig 3) is defined adjacent to the transition region (see Figs 1-3). The thickness of the wall adjacent the transition region is less than the thickness of the wall adjacent to the top of the bowl (Col 3, 50-55, see Fig 4). The curler can be impregnated with a phosphorescent pigment (Col 2, 60-67).
James discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for the flexible base being a separate second piece and having a circular hub/projection extending from its center and having an annular neck receiving an annular ridge to removably snap fit the base to the rest of the curler via a bore of the stem.
Serrat, however, teaches a hollow hair curling device, or curler (see Figs 1-2) including a hollow stem (1+11) including a hollow central bore (interior of 1) housing an endcap (11) and having a removable flat base (6) detachably connected to the hollow stem via a circular hub/projection (8) extending upward from a center of the base removably joined to an opening (9) of the hollow stem (see Figs 1-2). The circular hub (8) extends through the opening at the bottom of the hollow stem via the endcap (11) and is completely received within the bore of the stem via the stem’s endcap (11). The circular hub (8) is provided with an annular recessed neck (see Figs 1-2) which receives an annular ridge from an inner wall inside the bore to form the snap fit (see Figs 1-2). In other words, both Serrat and James disclose spool shaped hair curlers having enlarged ends for holding hair on the curler. Serrat teaches that making the bases of spool shaped curlers with enlarged bases removable via a snap fitting annular ridge and annular neck arrangement is old and well-known. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing (or the time of invention if Pre-AIA ) to modify the curler of James by providing the flexible base removable from the central bore via the snap fit arrangement taught by Serrat since Serrat teaches this to be old and well-known in hair curlers.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/12/26 have been fully considered but amount to asserting that the newly presented limitations are allowable, which is not persuasive. The new limitations have been addressed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER GILL/
Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/NICHOLAS D LUCCHESI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772