DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-3 and 12-15) in the reply filed on September 1, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 1, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jiao et al. (CN110729451A). The English machine translation of Jiao et al. is attached and is referenced below.
Regarding Claim 1, Jiao et al. teaches a positive electrode sheet comprising a lithium replenishment material (Para. [0006]) (i.e. a positive electrode additive used to prepare a positive electrode) for a lithium-ion battery (Para. [0028]), the lithium replenishment material comprises a core comprising lithium-ion compound and a coating layer on the surface of the core (i.e. a coating layer formed on a surface of the additive core) (Para. [0006]) wherein the lithium-ion compound is one or more of Li2NiO2 and Li2CuO2 (Para. [0010]) (i.e. a lithium (Li)-based additive core) and the coating layer comprises metal carbides (Para. [0006]) such as NbC (i.e. a coating layer of NbOxCy wherein x = 0 and y = 1).
Regarding Claim 2, Jiao et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Jiao et al. further teaches the core comprising lithium-ion compound (Para. [0006]), wherein the lithium-ion compound is one or more of Li2NiO2 and Li2CuO2 (Para. [0010]) (i.e. the additive core is formed of Li2MO2 wherein M = Ni, Cu).
Regarding Claim 12, Jiao et al. teaches a positive electrode sheet (i.e. a positive electrode) for a lithium-ion battery (Para. [0028]), comprising a lithium replenishment material (Para. [0006])(i.e. including a positive electrode additive) the lithium replenishment material comprises a core comprising lithium-ion compound and a coating layer on the surface of the core (i.e. a coating layer formed on a surface of the additive core) (Para. [0006]) wherein the lithium-ion compound is one or more of Li2NiO2 and Li2CuO2 (Para. [0010]) (i.e. a lithium (Li)-based additive core) and the coating layer comprises metal carbides (Para. [0006]) such as NbC (i.e. a coating layer of NbOxCy wherein x = 0 and y = 1).
Regarding Claim 13, Jiao et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 12 as explained above.
Jiao et al. further teaches at least one conductive agent and at least one binder (Para. [0069]) (i.e. further comprising a conductive material and a binder).
Regarding Claim 14, Jiao et al. teaches all of the elements of the positive electrode in claim 12 as explained above.
Jiao et al. further teaches a lithium-ion battery (i.e. a lithium secondary battery) comprising the positive electrode (Para. [0028]).
Regarding Claim 15, Jiao et al. teaches all of the elements of the lithium secondary battery in claim 14 as explained above.
Jiao et al. further teaches the lithium-ion battery (i.e. lithium secondary battery) includes a negative electrode (Para. [0083]) including negative electrode active material (Para. [0090]) and a non-aqueous electrolyte (i.e. electrolyte) (Para. [0083]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiao et al. (CN110729451A). The English machine translation of Jiao et al. is attached and is referenced below.
Regarding Claim 3, Jiao et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Jiao et al. further teaches the mass ratio of the lithium-ion compound (i.e. the additive core), the carbon in the coating layer, the metal carbide in the coating layer is 80-95:1-10:2-10 (i.e. the coating layer ranges from about 3 wt% based on 100 wt% of the additive core to about 25 wt% based on 100 wt% of the additive core, overlapping with the claimed range). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).” See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Conclusion
/ARMINDO CARVALHO JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729