DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12, and Species A in the reply filed on 12/10/2025 is acknowledged.
Upon further consideration the species election requirement is withdrawn in part such that Species A-C (Figs. 1-3) can be examined together. Non-elected Species D (Fig. 5) corresponds to claims 11-12 and is withdrawn.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/10/2025.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: paragraph [0024] of the filed specification recites the phrase “BDB applicator 302,” which should read “DBD applicator 302.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1, in line 4, should read “a continuous carbon fiber composite” to establish proper antecedent basis for the remaining limitations referring to this element. Claim 3 should read “and the continuous carbon fiber composite” in the last line. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The examined claims are directed to a system that is interpreted as a device/apparatus. The examiner notes that recitations directed toward a manner of operating a device do not differentiate apparatus claims from the prior art. MPEP 2114 (II). Furthermore, materials or articles worked upon by an apparatus in its intended use do not impart patentability to the apparatus claims. MPEP 2115.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "wherein the dielectric barrier comprises a dielectric disc and the second electrode forms part of a nozzle tube that extends through the dielectric disc." Claim 1 recites that the first electrode is disposed with the dielectric barrier. Accordingly, claim 5 corresponds to the configuration of Fig. 2, where the nozzle 210 serves as the second/ground electrode and passes through the first electrode/conductor 206. Claim 1 requires that “the first and second electrodes are configured to allow the continuous carbon fiber composite to pass therebetween to cure the carbon fiber composite” (last clause). Unless the intended meaning of “to pass therebetween” is different from the ordinary meaning, it is unclear how a configuration according to claim 5 or Fig. 2, with the second electrode extending through the first electrode, can also allow the continuous carbon fiber composite to pass between the electrodes. For further examination and the application of prior art, a configuration according to Fig. 2 would be considered to meet the claim language.
The indicated dependent claims are rejected for the reasons provided above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sweeney et al., US 20200070416 A1 (“Sweeney ‘416”) in view of Sweeney et al., Dielectric Barrier Discharge Applicator for Heating Carbon Nanotube-Loaded Interfaces and Enhancing 3D-Printed Bond Strength, Nano Letters 2020 (“Sweeney Nano Letters”).
Regarding claim 1, Sweeney ‘416 discloses a system (Fig. 2) for free-form fabrication of continuous carbon fiber composites (for additive manufacturing of polymer/continuous fiber composites, [0035], and therefore capable of working on continuous carbon fiber composites), the system comprising:
A plasma applicator (plasma applicator apparatus 130, Fig. 2, which includes a high voltage electrode 134 encapsulated by a dielectric insulator 136, [0036]) configured to create an electric field (creates plasma field 140, Fig. 2, [0036]) proximal to the continuous carbon fiber composite (proximal to the composite layers 131, Fig. 2), the plasma applicator comprising:
A first electrode (high voltage electrode 134, Fig. 2, [0036]) disposed within a dielectric barrier (encapsulated by dielectric insulator 136, Fig. 2, [0036]); and
A second electrode (print head nozzle 122 and/or part carrier 124, both of which are grounded, Fig. 2, [0036]) spaced apart from the first electrode (Fig. 2),
Wherein the first and second electrodes are configured to allow the continuous carbon fiber composite to pass therebetween (configuration allows for printed material to pass between at least first electrode 134 and part carrier 124; furthermore, the head configuration is analogous to instant Fig. 2, which is apparently encompassed by claim 1 based on claims 5-7, such that the configuration can be considered to analogously allow for the material to pass between the first electrode 134 and the nozzle 122).
Sweeney ‘416 discloses the high voltage electrode encapsulated in the dielectric insulator and the configuration to apply a plasma across an air gap with no pressurization requirements. Accordingly, the disclosure at least strongly implies the plasma applicator is a DBD applicator. See MPEP 2144.01 regarding implicit disclosure. Sweeney ‘416 further suggests that the invention intends to address prior issues related to strength and heating of 3D parts ([0005]-[0006]). Still, the reference is silent as to the plasma being a dielectric barrier discharge and the effect of the system being for curing.
In the analogous art of 3D printing (Abstract), Sweeney Nano Letters discloses a DBD applicator configuration having substantially the same structure (Fig. 1A below and associated caption) wherein the first and second electrodes (conductor within dielectric disc and grounded nozzle, respectively, Fig. 1A) are configured to apply a DBD plasma to a 3D printed part to cure the printed composite material (Fig. 1A, in line with instant Fig. 2, configured such that the 3D printed part passes through the generated electric field, where the material is heated, p. 2311). Sweeney Nano Letters teaches that DBDs involve a low temperature plasma gas which does not damage temperature-sensitive substrates (p. 2310), and the configuration can achieve Joule heating in the printed layers below the surface and eliminate cumbersome postprocessing treatments and produce parts ready for functional end-use applications (p. 2311).
In case such configuration was not already present, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plasma applicator of Sweeney ‘416 to adopt the configuration of Sweeney Nano Letters such that the plasma was a DBD plasma and the first and second electrodes were configured to allow the printed composite material to pass therebetween to cure the material in order to achieve non-destructive localized heating in the printed layers below the surface and thereby reduce or eliminate the need for further postprocessing as taught by Sweeney Nano Letters.
Regarding claim 3, the combination discloses the system of claim 1, and Sweeney ‘416 discloses the first electrode, the second electrode, and the dielectric barrier are configured to generate a plasma between the first electrode and the uncured carbon fiber composite (plasma field, [0007], [0036]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination discloses the system of claim 1, and Sweeney ‘416 discloses an alternating current generator electrically coupled to the first and second electrodes (signal generator, [0007], that outputs a high potential electromagnetic signal comprising an alternating current signal, [0008]-[0009]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination discloses the system of claim 4, and Sweeney ‘416 discloses the dielectric barrier comprises a dielectric disc (the plasma field applicator has a disc-like shape, [0013], Fig. 2) and the second electrode forms part of a nozzle tube (the nozzle 122 being grounded, Fig. 2, [0036]) that extends through the dielectric disc (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, the combination discloses the system of claim 5. Sweeney ‘416 discloses the deposited material is heated ([0035]) but is silent as to a heater block disposed around the nozzle tube and configured to heat the continuous carbon fiber composite as it flows through the nozzle tube.
Sweeney Nano Letters further discloses a heater block (heater block, Fig. 1A) disposed around the nozzle tube (around nozzle, a tube, Fig. 1A) and configured to heat the composite material as it flows through the nozzle tube (Fig. 1A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further specify the system of Sweeney ‘416 included a heater block disposed around the nozzle tube and configured to heat the continuous carbon fiber composite as it flows through the nozzle tube in order to implement a known structure suitable for heating the 3D printed materials for deposition, as shown by Sweeney Nano Letters.
Regarding claim 7, the combination discloses the system of claim 6, and Sweeney ‘416 discloses the dielectric disc comprises a conductor (high voltage electrode 134, Fig. 2, [0036]) disposed within the dielectric disc (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, the combination discloses the system of claim 1, and Sweeney ‘416 discloses the second electrode forms at least part of a plate (the grounded part carrier 124, Fig. 2, [0036]) that is configured to move relative to the first electrode (capable of relative movement, [0035]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination discloses the system of claim 1, and Sweeney ‘416 discloses the first electrode is configured to move relative to the continuous carbon fiber composite (the print head nozzle 122, to which the first electrode 134 is attached, Fig. 2, is capable of moving relative to the part carrier 124 supporting the printed object, [0035]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination discloses the system of claim 1, and Sweeney ‘416 discloses a conductive substrate (part carrier 124, which grounds the part to complete the conduction pathway, Fig. 2, [0036]) upon which the continuous carbon fiber composite rests after being extruded by a print head (configured to receive extruded composite print material, Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sweeney et al., US 20200070416 A1 (“Sweeney ‘416”), in view of Sweeney et al., Dielectric Barrier Discharge Applicator for Heating Carbon Nanotube-Loaded Interfaces and Enhancing 3D-Printed Bond Strength, Nano Letters 2020 (“Sweeney Nano Letters”), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tsai et al., US 20160271874 A1.
Regarding claim 2, the combination discloses the system of claim 1. Sweeney ‘416 exemplifies the high potential electromagnetic signal output by the signal generator comprises an AC signal ([0007]-[0009]) but further discloses that the signal can comprise a short duration pulse signal, a rectified signal, etc. ([0033]) and the controller can modify the frequency, voltage, current, and waveform shape ([0032]).
Sweeney ‘416 does not explicitly disclose a direct current generator electrically coupled to the first and second electrodes.
In the analogous art of 3D printing ([0024]), Tsai discloses a 3D printing device including a plasma applicator for dielectric barrier discharge ([0024]). Tsai teaches the plasma applicator includes electrodes connected to one or more high voltage power sources ([0037]), including a pulsed DC or an AC supply ([0027]). Accordingly, Tsai supports that a pulsed DC power supply was a known alternative to an AC supply as a high voltage power source for plasma applicators.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the high voltage power source provided as a DC generator as taught by Tsai for the AC generator of Sweeney ‘416 as a substitution of one known element for another yielding predictable results of providing power to the electrodes. Sweeney ‘416 teaches the system can use pulsed or rectified signals and Tsai teaches the pulsed DC supply was a known alternative to an AC supply for powering plasma applicators.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20200298479 A1, Sweeney et al. disclose atmospheric plasma application to 3D printed parts.
US 20190344502 A1, Sweeney et al. disclose various embodiments of electrical field applicators for 3D printing systems, some of which include electrodes mounted in a dielectric matrix.
US 20170259501 A1, Gandhiraman et al. disclose a 3D printer with integrated dielectric barrier discharge plasma deposition.
/J.L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754