DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II (Fig. 6B) in the reply filed on 08/07/2026 is acknowledged. All claims 71-106 are directed to Species II and thus, no claims are being found non-elected.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the non-relief portions must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 7 reading “the piston” should read –the distal piston--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 9 reading “the barrel flange” should read –the proximal barrel flange--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 10 reading “the housing” should read –the at least partially hollow housing--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 10-11 reading “the housing” should read –the at least partially hollow housing--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 16 reading “during axial translation” should read –during an axial translation--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 17 reading “when in syringe” should read –when the syringe--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 18 reading without teeth” should read –without the teeth--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 19-20 reading “during axial translation when in the syringe” should read –during the axial translation when the syringe--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 79 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2 reading “a free state” should read –the free state--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 81 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 1-2 reading “the neck” should read ----the distal reduced-diameter neck--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 83 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 83 Line 2 recites the limitation “a syringe-vial assembly” whereas Claim 83 Lines 2-3 recite “the syringe-vial adapter assembly.” These terms are inconsistent with one another. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 71-106 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 71 recites the limitation "the facets" in Line 15 and again in Line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claims 73-106 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 73 recites the limitation “a free facet” in Line 2. However, Claim 71, upon which Claim 73 depends, recites the limitation “a free facet” in Line 18. It is unclear whether “a free facet” in Claim 73 Line 2 is the same free facet or a different free facet from that recited in Claim 71 Line 18. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim 78 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 78 recites the limitation “wherein two facets” in Line 1. However, Claim 71, upon which Claim 78 depends, recites the limitation “at least two of the facets” in Lines 14-15. It is unclear whether “two facets” in Claim 78 Line 1 is the same two facets or different two facets from that recited in Claim 71 Line14-15. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claims 95-96 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 95 recites the limitation “wherein the medial shaft comprises a bias member relief.” However, Claim 72, which Claim 95 depends from, recites a similar limitation. The “relief” in Claim 72 is being treated as the same structure as the “bias member relief” in Claim 95. Therefore, Claim 95 fails to further limit the claimed subject matter. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claims 98-106 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 98 refers to “a clip or a pin” in Line 6. It is unclear if “pin or clip” is referring to the bias member (Claim 71) or spring clip (Claim 75) or some new alternate structure. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claims 105-106 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Lines 1-2 of Claim 105 recite the limitation “wherein the gripping ribs are configured to permit rotational movement.” The term “the gripping ribs” lack antecedent basis in the claims. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 71 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verhoeven et al. (USPGPub 2019/0111211) in view of Kaal et al. (USPGPub 2008/0208143).
Re Claim 71, Verhoeven teaches injection system comprising a syringe (1), the syringe (1) comprising: a barrel portion (2) and a plunger portion (3) at least partially received within the barrel portion (2) (Verhoeven ¶ 0029-0030; Fig. 1A); the barrel portion (2) comprising a proximal barrel flange (25) (Verhoeven ¶ 0031), a medial cylinder having a consistent diameter (as seen in Verhoeven Fig. 1A), and a distal reduced-diameter neck (22) (Verhoeven ¶ 0030); the plunger portion (3) comprising a proximal plunger flange (34) (Verhoeven ¶ 0031), a medial shaft, and a distal piston (36) (as seen in Verhoeven Fig. 1A); the piston (36) comprising a resilient material and configured to provide a seal with an interior surface of the medial cylinder (Verhoeven ¶ 0030 – flexible material); the barrel flange (25) comprising an at least partially hollow housing (24) with a bias member (28) retained within the housing (24) and with an end (27) of the bias member (28) free to translate in position within the housing (24) (Verhoeven ¶ 0031; Figs. 1A and 2); and, the medial shaft comprising a four-faceted configuration with adjacent facets disposed at right angles to one another (wherein the plunger 3 has a three-dimensional shape), wherein the syringe (1) is configured to be in a metered state (as seen in Verhoeven Fig. 5B) or a free state (as seen in Verhoeven Fig. 2), wherein at least one fact is a rack facet (31) comprising teeth (33) configured to consistently and progressively engage with the end (27) of the bias member (28) during axial translation in a periodic fashion when the syringe (1) is in the metered state (Verhoeven ¶ 0036).
However, Verhoeven fails to teach wherein at least two of the facets are rack facets, and wherein at least one of the facets is a free facet without teeth and is configured to consistently and without interruption contact the end of the bias member during axial translation when the syringe is in the free state. Kaal teaches a syringe (10) comprising a plunger portion (20) (Kaal Fig. 1), said plunger portion (20) comprising a four-faceted configuration with adjacent facets disposed at right angles to one another (as seen in Kaal Fig. 2), wherein at least two of the facets are rack facets (23A, 23B), and wherein at least one of the facets is a free facet without teeth (as seen in Kaal Fig. 2) and is configured to consistently and without interruption contact the end of a bias member (40, 50) during axial translation when the syringe (10) is in a free state (Kaal Fig. 6), the configuration for retaining the plunger portion does no slip from alignment with the bias member during an injection and preventing reuse of the syringe (Kaal ¶ 0006; Figs. 1 and 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the plunger portion of Verhoeven to have at least two of the facets that are rack facets, and wherein at least one of the facets is a free facet without teeth and is configured to consistently and without interruption contact the end of the bias member during axial translation when the syringe is in the free state, the configuration as disclosed by Kaal for retaining the plunger portion does no slip from alignment with the bias member during an injection and preventing reuse of the syringe (Kaal ¶ 0006; Figs. 1 and 6).
Claims 72-81 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verhoeven et al. (USPGPub 2019/0111211) in view of Kaal et al. (USPGPub 2008/0208143) as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell (USPN 5,328,476).
Re Claims 72-74, Verhoeven in view of Kaal teach all of the limitations of Claim 71. Verhoeven in view of Kaal fail to teach wherein the medial shaft further comprises a relief to avoid engagement of the end of the bias member with non-relief portions of the medial shaft when the plunger portion is fully advanced within the barrel portion; wherein the relief is provided on a free facet; and wherein the relief is configured to maintain the bias member in an unbiased or low biased state when the free end of the bias member is engaged with the relief. Bidwell teaches a syringe (Bidwell Figs. 1 and 2) comprising a plunger portion (2) with medial shaft, wherein the medial shaft further comprises a relief (Bidwell Fig. 2 - sides of plunger not including first side 22 or second side 26) to avoid engagement of the end of the bias member (34) with non-relief portions of the medial shaft when the plunger portion (2) is fully advanced within a barrel portion (4) (Bidwell Col. 3 Line 14 to Col. 4 Line 64); wherein the relief is provided on a free facet (Bidwell Fig. 2 - parts of facet not including first side 22 or second side 26); and wherein the relief is configured to maintain the bias member (34) in an unbiased or low biased state when the free end of the bias member (34) is engaged with the relief, the configuration for permitting or preventing withdrawal of the plunger portion (Bidwell Col. 3 Line 14 to Col. 4 Line 64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the medial shaft of the plunger portion of Verhoeven to comprise a relief to avoid engagement of the end of the bias member with non-relief portions of the medial shaft when the plunger portion is fully advanced within the barrel portion; wherein the relief is provided on a free facet; and wherein the relief is configured to maintain the bias member in an unbiased or low biased state when the free end of the bias member is engaged with the relief, the configuration as disclosed by Bidwell for permitting or preventing withdrawal of the plunger portion (Bidwell Col. 3 Line 14 to Col. 4 Line 64).
Re Claim 75, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above and further in view of Bidwell teach all of the limitations of Claim 74. Verhoeven further teaches wherein the bias member (28) is a spring clip (as seen in Verhoeven Fig. 2).
Re Claim 76, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above and further in view of Bidwell teach all of the limitations of Claim 75. Verhoeven further teaches wherein the spring clip is an S-shaped spring clip (as seen in Verhoeven Fig. 2). Furthermore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above and further in view of Bidwell to include the spring clip being an S-shaped spring clip since applicant has not disclosed that having the spring clip being an S-shaped spring clip solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with a non-S-shaped spring clip. Furthermore, absent a teaching as to the criticality of the spring clip being an S-shaped spring clip, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
Re Claim 77, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above and further in view of Bidwell teach all of the limitations of Claim 76. Verhoeven teaches wherein the S-shaped spring clip is composed of a resilient material (Verhoeven ¶ 0009, 0038). However, Verhoeven fails to teach said resilient material being composed of plastic. However, the examiner notes that the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use is a design consideration well within the ordinary skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Re Claim 78, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above and further in view of Bidwell teach all of the limitations of Claim 77. Verhoeven fails to teach wherein two facets of the plunger portion define two free states. Bidwell teaches wherein two facets of the plunger portion (2) define two free states (Bidwell Fig. 2 - sides of plunger not including first side 22 or second side 26), the configuration for permitting or preventing withdrawal of the plunger portion (Bidwell Col. 3 Line 14 to Col. 4 Line 64). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the plunger portion of Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above and further in view of Bidwell such that two facets of the plunger portion define two free states as disclosed by Bidwell for permitting or preventing withdrawal of the plunger portion (Bidwell Col. 3 Line 14 to Col. 4 Line 64).
Re Claim 79, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above and further in view of Bidwell teach all of the limitations of Claim 78. Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above and further in view of Bidwell fail to teach wherein only one facet of the plunger portion defines a free state and three facets define the metered state. However, as described above, Bidwell teaches wherein two facets of the plunger portion define two free states. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above and further in view of Bidwell to include only one facet of the plunger portion defining a free state and three facets defining the metered state since applicant has not disclosed that having only one facet of the plunger portion defining a free state and three facets defining the metered state solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either design. Furthermore, absent a teaching as to the criticality of only one facet of the plunger portion defining a free state and three facets defining the metered state, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
Re Claim 80, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above and further in view of Bidwell teach all of the limitations of Claim 79. Verhoeven teaches wherein the plunger portion (3) includes a distal-most tip configuration to closely fit within an interior surface the neck (22) (Verhoeven ¶ 0035).
Re Claim 81, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above and further in view of Bidwell teach all of the limitations of Claim 81. Verhoeven teaches wherein an exterior of the neck (22) is configured with a luer-lock interface (Verhoeven ¶ 0032).
Claims 82-102 and 105-106 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verhoeven et al. (USPGPub 2019/0111211) in view of Kaal et al. (USPGPub 2008/0208143) as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell (USPN 5,328,476) as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev et al. (USPGPub 2012/0220978).
Re Claim 82, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell teach all of the limitations of Claim 81. Verhoeven teaches a needle element comprising a luer-lock interface complementary to the luer-lock interface of the neck (Verhoeven ¶ 0032). However, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell fail to teach the injection system further comprising a vial adapter, wherein the vial adapter comprises a luer-lock interface complementary to the luer-lock interface of the neck. Lev teaches a syringe (10) with Luer-lock interface (13) on a neck, and a vial adapter (30) (Lev Fig. 1), wherein the vial adapter (30) comprises a luer-lock interface (39) complementary to the luer-lock interface (13) of the neck for configuring the syringe to securely connect directly with a vial (Lev ¶ 0020-0021). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the injection system of Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell to include a vial adapter, wherein the vial adapter comprises a luer-lock interface complementary to the luer-lock interface of the neck as disclosed by Lev for configuring the syringe to securely connect directly with a vial (Lev ¶ 0020-0021).
Re Claim 83, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev teach all of the limitations of Claim 82. Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell fail to teach wherein the syringe is connected to the vial adapter and forms a syringe-vial assembly, and wherein the syringe-vial adapter assembly has a near-zero dead volume. Verhoeven further teaches, in the modified device of Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev, wherein the syringe is connected to the vial adapter and forms a syringe-vial assembly, and wherein the syringe-vial adapter assembly has a near-zero dead volume (Verhoeven ¶ 0030; Fig. 1A).
Re Claim 84, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev teach all of the limitations of Claim 82. Verhoeven further teaches, in the modified device of Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev, wherein the syringe (1) is connected to the needle (as described in Verhoeven ¶ 0032) and forms a syringe-needle assembly, and wherein the syringe-needle assembly has a near-zero dead volume (Verhoeven ¶ 0030; Fig. 1A).
Re Claim 85, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev teach all of the limitations of Claim 84. Verhoeven further teaches a near-zero dead volume (Verhoeven ¶ 0030; Fig. 1A). However, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev fail to teach the syringe-needle assembly has a near-zero dead volume of about 0.01 mL to about 0.025 mL. Verhoeven does not teach the exact same proportions as recited in the instant claim. However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the compositional proportions taught by Verhoeven likely overlap the instantly claimed proportions and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. Particularly in view of the fact that; “The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Re Claim 86, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev teach all of the limitations of Claim 85. Verhoeven further teaches a near-zero dead volume (Verhoeven ¶ 0030; Fig. 1A). However, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev fail to teach wherein the syringe-needle assembly has a near-zero dead volume of about 0.016 mL. Verhoeven does not teach the exact same proportions as recited in the instant claim. However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the compositional proportions taught by Verhoeven likely overlap the instantly claimed proportions and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. Particularly in view of the fact that; “The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Re Claim 87, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev teach all of the limitations of Claim 84. Verhoeven further teaches a near-zero dead volume (Verhoeven ¶ 0030; Fig. 1A). However, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev fail to teach wherein the syringe-needle assembly has a near-zero dead volume of less than about 0.02 mL. Verhoeven does not teach the exact same proportions as recited in the instant claim. However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the compositional proportions taught by Verhoeven likely overlap the instantly claimed proportions and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. Particularly in view of the fact that; “The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Re Claim 88, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev teach all of the limitations of Claim 84. Verhoeven further teaches a near-zero dead volume (Verhoeven ¶ 0030; Fig. 1A). However, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev fail to teach wherein the syringe has a near-zero dead volume of about 0.009 mL to about 0.02 mL. Verhoeven does not teach the exact same proportions as recited in the instant claim. However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the compositional proportions taught by Verhoeven likely overlap the instantly claimed proportions and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. Particularly in view of the fact that; “The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Re Claim 89, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev teach all of the limitations of Claim 88. Verhoeven further teaches a near-zero dead volume (Verhoeven ¶ 0030; Fig. 1A). However, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev fail to teach wherein the syringe has a near-zero dead volume of about 0.015 mL. Verhoeven does not teach the exact same proportions as recited in the instant claim. However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the compositional proportions taught by Verhoeven likely overlap the instantly claimed proportions and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. Particularly in view of the fact that; “The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Re Claim 90, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev teach all of the limitations of Claim 89. Verhoeven teaches wherein the teeth (33) are uniformly spaced apart (as seen in Verhoeven Fig. 2).
Re Claim 91, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev teach all of the limitations of Claim 90. Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev fail to teach wherein the teeth are spaced apart about 0.045 inches from each other. Verhoeven does not teach the exact same proportions as recited in the instant claim. However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the compositional proportions taught by Verhoeven likely overlap the instantly claimed proportions and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. Particularly in view of the fact that; “The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Re Claim 92, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev teach all of the limitations of Claim 91. Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev fail to teach wherein each tooth has a depth of about 0.02 inches. Verhoeven does not teach the exact same proportions as recited in the instant claim. However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the compositional proportions taught by Verhoeven likely overlap the instantly claimed proportions and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. Particularly in view of the fact that; “The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Re Claim 93, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev teach all of the limitations of Claim 92. Verhoeven fails to teach wherein each tooth comprises a proximal-facing surface and a distal-facing surface, wherein the distal-facing surfaces comprises a 90-degree angle. Bidwell teaches wherein each tooth (42) comprises a proximal-facing surface and a distal-facing surface, wherein the distal-facing surfaces comprises a 90-degree angle (as seen in Bidwell Fig. 7) for engaging the bias member (34) and preventing further distal movement of plunger member (2) (Bidwell Col. 3 Line 47 to Col. 4 Line 3; Fig. 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the teeth of Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev be configured such that each tooth comprises a proximal-facing surface and a distal-facing surface, wherein the distal-facing surfaces comprises a 90-degree angle as disclosed by Bidwell for engaging the bias member and preventing further distal movement of the plunger member (Bidwell Col. 3 Line 47 to Col. 4 Line 3; Fig. 7).
Re Claim 94, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev teach all of the limitations of Claim 93. Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev fail to teach wherein the proximal-facing surfaces comprises a tooth angle of about 135 degrees. Bidwell does not teach the exact same proportions as recited in the instant claim. However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the compositional proportions taught by Bidwell likely overlap the instantly claimed proportions and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. Particularly in view of the fact that; “The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Re Claim 95, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev teach all of the limitations of Claim 94. Verhoeven fails to teach wherein the medial shaft comprises a bias member relief. Bidwell teaches the syringe (Bidwell Figs. 1 and 2) comprising the plunger portion (2) further comprising a bias member relief (Bidwell Fig. 2 - sides of plunger not including first side 22 or second side 26), the configuration for permitting or preventing withdrawal of the plunger portion (Bidwell Col. 3 Line 14 to Col. 4 Line 64). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the medial shaft of Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev to comprise a bias member relief as disclosed by Bidwell for permitting or preventing withdrawal of the plunger portion (Bidwell Col. 3 Line 14 to Col. 4 Line 64).
Re Claim 96, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev teach all of the limitations of Claim 95. Verhoeven fails to teach wherein the depth of the bias member relief is greater than the depth of the teeth. Bidwell teaches wherein the depth of the bias member relief (Bidwell Fig. 2 - sides of plunger not including first side 22 or second side 26) is greater than the depth of the teeth (42) (as seen in Bidwell Figs. 6-8), the configuration for preventing the bias member (34) from interfering with the plunger portion (2) during distal/proximal movement of the plunger portion (Bidwell Col. 3 Line 14 to Col. 4 Line 64). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the bias relief member of Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev to have a depth greater than the depth of the teeth as disclosed by Bidwell for preventing the bias member from interfering with the plunger portion during distal/proximal movement of the plunger portion (Bidwell Col. 3 Line 14 to Col. 4 Line 64).
Re Claim 97, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev teach all of the limitations of Claim 94. Verhoeven fails to teach the injection system further comprising an anti-rotation mechanism. Bidwell teaches an anti-rotation mechanism (6) to prevent the plunger member from being rotated during an injection and withdrawn (Bidwell Col. 4 Lines 24-64). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to include with the injection system of Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev an anti-rotation mechanism as disclosed by Bidwell to prevent the plunger member from being rotated during an injection and withdrawn (Bidwell Col. 4 Lines 24-64).
Re Claim 98, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev teach all of the limitations of Claim 97. Verhoeven fails to teach wherein the anti-rotation mechanism is configured to prevent rotation of the plunger portion relative to the barrel portion by applying resistance to the plunger portion, wherein the anti-rotation mechanism is further configured to permit the rotation of the plunger portion relative to the barrel portion by application of at least a threshold amount of torque to the plunger portion, and wherein the anti-rotation mechanism does not require any additional steps by a user to activate a clip or a pin after rotation to prevent rotation.
Bidwell teaches wherein the anti-rotation mechanism (6) is configured to prevent rotation of the plunger portion (2) relative to the barrel portion (4) by applying resistance to the plunger portion (2), wherein the anti-rotation mechanism (6) is further configured to permit the rotation of the plunger portion (2) relative to the barrel portion (4) by application of at least a threshold amount of torque to the plunger portion (2), and wherein the anti-rotation mechanism (6) does not require any additional steps by a user to activate a clip or a pin after rotation to prevent the plunger member from being rotated during an injection and withdrawn (Bidwell Col. 4 Lines 24-64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the anti-rotation mechanism of Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev be configured to prevent rotation of the plunger portion relative to the barrel portion by applying resistance to the plunger portion, wherein the anti-rotation mechanism is further configured to permit the rotation of the plunger portion relative to the barrel portion by application of at least a threshold amount of torque to the plunger portion, and wherein the anti-rotation mechanism does not require any additional steps by a user to activate a clip or a pin after rotation to prevent rotation as disclosed by Bidwell to prevent the plunger member from being rotated during an injection and withdrawn (Bidwell Col. 4 Lines 24-64).
Re Claim 99, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev teach all of the limitations of Claim 98. Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev fail to teach wherein the at least a threshold amount of torque is between about 0.1 lbf-in to about 1.0 lbf-in. Bidwell does not teach the exact same proportions as recited in the instant claim. However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the compositional proportions taught by Bidwell likely overlap the instantly claimed proportions and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. Particularly in view of the fact that; “The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Re Claim 100, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev teach all of the limitations of Claim 99. Verhoeven fails to teach wherein the anti-rotation mechanism comprises one or more pairs of cooperating gripping ribs and a channel between the gripping ribs, and wherein the one or more pairs of gripping ribs are configured to apply resistance to the plunger portion to prevent the plunger portion from rotational movement. Bidwell teaches wherein the anti-rotation mechanism (6) comprises one or more pairs of cooperating gripping ribs (6-1) and a channel (6-2) between the gripping ribs (6-1) (Bidwell Annotated Fig. 6 below), and wherein the one or more pairs of gripping ribs (6-1) are configured to apply resistance to the plunger portion (2) to prevent the plunger portion (2) from rotational movement to prevent the plunger member from being rotated during an injection and withdrawn (Bidwell Col. 4 Lines 24-64). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the anti-rotation mechanism of Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev comprise one or more pairs of cooperating gripping ribs and a channel between the gripping ribs, and wherein the one or more pairs of gripping ribs are configured to apply resistance to the plunger portion to prevent the plunger portion from rotational movement as disclosed by Bidwell to prevent the plunger member from being rotated during an injection and withdrawn (Bidwell Col. 4 Lines 24-64).
Re Claim 101, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev teach all of the limitations of Claim 100. Verhoeven fails to teach wherein the anti-rotation mechanism further comprises two pairs of cooperating gripping ribs. Bidwell teaches wherein the anti-rotation mechanism (6) further comprises two pairs of cooperating gripping ribs (6-1) (as seen above in Bidwell Annotated Fig. 6) to prevent the plunger member from being rotated during an injection and withdrawn (Bidwell Col. 4 Lines 24-64). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the anti-rotation mechanism of Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev further comprise the anti-rotation mechanism further comprises two pairs of cooperating gripping ribs as disclosed by Bidwell to prevent the plunger member from being rotated during an injection and withdrawn (Bidwell Col. 4 Lines 24-64).
Re Claim 102, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev teach all of the limitations of Claim 101. Verhoeven fails to teach wherein the anti-rotation mechanism is integrated with the bias member to form an anti-rotation-bias assembly. Bidwell teaches the anti-rotation mechanism (6) is integrated with the bias member (34) to form an anti-rotation-bias assembly (Bidwell Fig. 6). The use of a one piece construction is merely a matter of obvious engineering choice (MPEP 2144.04-V-A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the anti-rotation mechanism of Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev be integrated with the bias member to form an anti-rotation-bias assembly as disclosed by Bidwell wherein the use of a one piece construction is merely a matter of obvious engineering choice (MPEP 2144.04-V-A).
Re Claim 105, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev teach all of the limitations of Claim 101. Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev fail to teach wherein the gripping ribs are configured to permit rotational movement of the plunger portion when at least a threshold amount of torque of between about 0.1 lbf-in to about 1.0 lbf-in is applied to the plunger portion to overcome the anti-rotational resistance. However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the compositional proportions taught by Bidwell likely overlap the instantly claimed proportions and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. Particularly in view of the fact that; “The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Re Claim 106, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev teach all of the limitations of Claim 105. Verhoeven teaches wherein the bias member (28) is configured to strain in two primary areas when under load (Verhoeven Fig. 2).
Claims 103-104 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verhoeven et al. (USPGPub 2019/0111211) in view of Kaal et al. (USPGPub 2008/0208143) as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell (USPN 5,328,476) as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev et al. (USPGPub 2012/0220978) as applied to Claim 102 above, and further in view of Despa et al. (USPGPub 2020/0121857).
Re Claim 103, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev teach all of the limitations of Claim 102. Verhoeven fails to teach wherein the anti-rotation mechanism further comprises a first leg portion and a second leg portion, wherein the first leg portion forms a first pair of the two pairs of cooperating gripping ribs and the second leg portion forms a second pair of the two pairs of cooperating gripping ribs. Despa teaches a syringe (10) (Despa Figs. 1A-B) comprising an anti-rotation mechanism (40) (Despa Fig. 5A) comprising a first leg portion (42-1) and a second leg portion (42-2) (Despa Annotated Fig. 5A below), wherein the first leg portion (42-1) forms a first pair of two pairs of cooperating gripping ribs (42-3) and the second leg portion (42-2) forms a second pair of two pairs of cooperating gripping ribs (42-4) for providing tactile feedback during dose progression (Despa Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the anti-rotation mechanism of Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev to further comprise a first leg portion and a second leg portion, wherein the first leg portion forms a first pair of the two pairs of cooperating gripping ribs and the second leg portion forms a second pair of the two pairs of cooperating gripping ribs, the configuration as disclosed by Despa for providing tactile feedback during dose progression (Despa Abstract).
Re Claim 104, Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev as applied to Claim 102 above, and further in view of Despa teach all of the limitations of Claim 103. Verhoeven fails to teach wherein the first leg portion and the second leg portion are connected together by a bridge portion, wherein the first leg portion and the second leg portion extend radially from a top surface of the bias member to form the channel. Despa teaches wherein the first leg portion (42-1) and the second leg portion (42-2) are connected together by a bridge portion (43) (Despa Annotated Fig. 5A above), wherein the first leg portion (42-1) and the second leg portion (42-2) extend radially from a top surface of a bias member (42) to form a channel (as seen above in Despa Annotated Fig. 5A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the first leg portion and the second leg portion of Verhoeven in view of Kaal as applied to Claim 71 above, and further in view of Bidwell as applied to Claim 81 above, and further in view of Lev as applied to Claim 102 above, and further in view of Despa to be connected together by a bridge portion, wherein the first leg portion and the second leg portion extend radially from a top surface of the bias member to form the channel as disclosed by Despa for providing tactile feedback during dose progression (Despa Abstract).
Conclusion
/WILLIAM R FREHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KEVIN C SIRMONS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783