DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-2, 11, 13-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cariou; Laurent et al. US PGPUB 20230025172 A1.
Regarding claim 1. Cariou teaches A wireless multi-link device (MLD) comprising: a controller configured to generate a frame that comprises a multi-link (ML) information element (IE), ([0245] In some demonstrative aspects, controller 124 may be configured to cause the wireless communication device implemented by device 102 to generate an information element including mmWave channel information, e.g., as described below.) wherein the ML IE comprises at least one profile of at least one millimeter wave (mmWave) link ([0246] In some demonstrative aspects, the mmWave channel information may be configured to identify an mmWave wireless communication channel in an mmWave wireless communication frequency band, e.g., as described below.) between the wireless MLD and a second wireless MLD; (Fig. 2, STA1.1 and STA 2.1) and
a wireless transceiver configured to transmit the frame to the second wireless MLD through a non-mmWave link between the wireless MLD and the second wireless MLD. ([0249] In some demonstrative aspects, controller 124 may be configured to cause the wireless communication device implemented by device 102 to transmit a frame over a sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel, e.g., as described below. [0250] In some demonstrative aspects, the frame may include the information element, e.g., including the mmWave channel information and the version information.)
Regarding claim 2. Cariou teaches The wireless MLD of claim 1, wherein the frame further comprises an element that defines Basic Service Set (BSS) information of the non-mmWave link between the wireless MLD and the second wireless MLD. ([0087] For example, the DS may include a system used to interconnect a set of basic service sets (BSSs) and integrated local area networks (LANs) to create an extended service set (ESS). In one example, a multi-link logical entity may allow STAs within the multi-link logical entity to have the same MAC address. The multi-link entity may perform any other additional or alternative functionality.)
Regarding claim 11. Cariou teaches The wireless MLD of claim 1, wherein the wireless MLD comprises an access point (AP) MLD that comprises a wireless AP, ([0078] In some demonstrative aspects, device 102 and/or device 140 may be configured to operate as, perform the role of, and/or perform one or more functionalities of, an access point (AP), e.g., an EHT AP STA.) wherein the wireless AP comprises the controller and the wireless transceiver, (see Fig. 1, 100) and wherein the second wireless MLD comprises a non-AP MLD that comprises a non-AP station (STA). ([0079] In some demonstrative aspects, device 102 and/or device 140 may be configured to operate as, perform the role of, and/or perform one or more functionalities of, a non-AP STA, e.g., an EHT non-AP STA.)
Regarding claim 13. Cariou teaches The wireless MLD of claim 1, wherein the non-mmWave link comprises one of a 2.4 Gigahertz (GHz) link, a 5 GHz link, or a 6 GHz link, and wherein the mmWave link comprises a 45 GHz link or a 60 GHz link. ([0027] Some demonstrative aspects may be used in conjunction with a wireless communication network communicating over a sub-10 Gigahertz (GHz) frequency band, for example, a 2.4 GHz frequency band, a 5 GHz frequency band, a 6 GHz frequency band, and/or any other frequency band below 10 GHz.
[0028] Some demonstrative aspects may be used in conjunction with a wireless communication network communicating over an Extremely High Frequency (EHF) band (also referred to as the “millimeter wave (mmWave)” frequency band), for example, a frequency band within the frequency band of between 20 Ghz and 300 GHz, for example, a frequency band above 45 GHz, e.g., a 60 GHz frequency band, and/or any other mmWave frequency band.)
Regarding claim 14. Cariou teaches The wireless MLD of claim 1, wherein the wireless MLD is compatible with an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 protocol. ([0084] In some demonstrative aspects, devices 102 and/or 140 may be configured to operate in accordance with one or more Specifications, for example, including one or more IEEE 802.11 Specifications, e.g., an IEEE 802.11-2020 Specification, an IEEE 802.11be Specification, an IEEE 802.11ay Specification and/or any other specification and/or protocol.)
Regarding claim 15. Cariou teaches A wireless access point (AP) of an AP multi-link device (MLD) comprising: a controller configured to generate a frame that comprises a multi-link (ML) information element (IE), ([0245] In some demonstrative aspects, controller 124 may be configured to cause the wireless communication device implemented by device 102 to generate an information element including mmWave channel information, e.g., as described below.)
wherein the ML IE comprises at least one Per station (STA) profile of at least one millimeter wave (mmWave) link ([0246] In some demonstrative aspects, the mmWave channel information may be configured to identify an mmWave wireless communication channel in an mmWave wireless communication frequency band, e.g., as described below.) between the AP MLD and a non-AP MLD, (Fig. 2, STA1.1 and STA 2.1)
wherein the mmWave link comprises a 45 Gigahertz (GHz) link or a 60 GHz link; ([0050] In some demonstrative aspects, radios 114 and/or 144 may be configured to communicate over a sub-10 Ghz band, for example, 2.4 GHz band, a 5 GHz band, a 6 GHz band, and/or any other sub-10 GHz band; and/or an mmWave band, e.g., a 45 Ghz band, a 60 Ghz band, and/or any other mmWave band; and/or any other band, e.g., a 5G band, an S1G band, and/or any other band.) and
a wireless transceiver configured to transmit the frame to the non-AP MLD through a non-mmWave link between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD, (Fig. 2, and Fig. 3) wherein the non-mmWave link comprises one of a 2.4 GHz link, a 5 GHz link, or a 6 GHz link. (0050] In some demonstrative aspects, radios 114 and/or 144 may be configured to communicate over a sub-10 Ghz band, for example, 2.4 GHz band, a 5 GHz band, a 6 GHz band, and/or any other sub-10 GHz band; and/or an mmWave band, e.g., a 45 Ghz band, a 60 Ghz band, and/or any other mmWave band; and/or any other band, e.g., a 5G band, an S1G band, and/or any other band.)
Regarding claim 20. Cariou teaches A method for wireless communications, the method comprising: at a first wireless multi-link device (MLD), (Fig. 2, STA 1.1 and 2.1) generating a frame that comprises a multi-link (ML) information element (IE), ([0245] In some demonstrative aspects, controller 124 may be configured to cause the wireless communication device implemented by device 102 to generate an information element including mmWave channel information, e.g., as described below.)
wherein the ML IE comprises at least one profile of at least one millimeter wave (mmWave) link ([0246] In some demonstrative aspects, the mmWave channel information may be configured to identify an mmWave wireless communication channel in an mmWave wireless communication frequency band, e.g., as described below.) between the wireless MLD and a second wireless MLD; (Fig. 2, STA1.1 and STA 2.1) between the first wireless MLD and a second wireless MLD; (Fig. 2, STA1.1 and STA 2.1) and
from the first wireless MLD, transmitting the frame to the second wireless MLD through a non-mmWave link between the first wireless MLD and the second wireless MLD. ([0249] In some demonstrative aspects, controller 124 may be configured to cause the wireless communication device implemented by device 102 to transmit a frame over a sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel, e.g., as described below. [0250] In some demonstrative aspects, the frame may include the information element, e.g., including the mmWave channel information and the version information.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-8, 10, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cariou as applied to claim 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Cariou; Laurent et al. US PGPUB 20210120599 A1 (hereinafter Cairou-599).
Regarding claim 3. Cariou teaches The wireless MLD of claim 2, but it does not teach wherein no inheritance of the element is applied to the at least one profile of the at least one mmWave link.
However, Cariou-599 teaches
no inheritance of the element is applied to the at least one profile of the at least one mmWave link. ([0154] In some demonstrative aspects, controller 124 may be configured to cause the reporting AP, e.g., AP STA 135, to include a non-inheritance element in the profile subelement corresponding to the reported AP, e.g., as described below.)
in order to simplify configuration messaging.
Cariou and Cairou-599 are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Cairou with the technique of non-inheritance element in Cairou-599 in order to simplify configuration messaging.
Regarding claim 4. Cariou and Cariou-599 teach The wireless MLD of claim 3, and Cariou teaches
wherein the at least one profile of the at least one mmWave link comprises at least one per station (STA) profile of the at least one mmWave link. ([0246] In some demonstrative aspects, the mmWave channel information may be configured to identify an mmWave wireless communication channel in an mmWave wireless communication frequency band, e.g., as described below.
[0247] In some demonstrative aspects, the information element may include version information configured to identify an mmWave PPDU version of a PPDU to be communicated over the mmWave wireless communication channel, e.g., as described below.)
Regarding claim 5. Cariou and Cariou-599 teach The wireless MLD of claim 4, but Cariou does not teach wherein the at least one per STA profile of the at least one mmWave link does not inherit the element.
However, Cariou-599 teaches
the at least one per STA profile of the at least one mmWave link does not inherit the element. ([0134] In some demonstrative aspects, a non-inheritance element may be included in an AP/STA profile of a multilink element.)
in order to simplify configuration messaging.
Cariou and Cairou-599 are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Cairou with the technique of non-inheritance element in Cairou-599 in order to simplify configuration messaging.
Regarding claim 6. Cariou and Cariou-599 teaches The wireless MLD of claim 5, Cariou does not teach wherein the controller is further configured to set a non-inheritance subfield of the at least one per STA profile to a predefined value to indicate that no inheritance is applied to the at least one per STA profile.
However, Cariou-599 teaches
wherein the controller is further configured to set a non-inheritance subfield of the at least one per STA profile to a predefined value to indicate that no inheritance is applied to the at least one per STA profile. ([0165] In some demonstrative aspects, controller 154 may be configured to cause STA 155 to process a non-inheritance element in the profile subelement corresponding to the reported AP, e.g., as described below.
[0166] In some demonstrative aspects, controller 154 may be configured to cause STA 155 to identify, for example, based on the non-inheritance element, one or more elements, which are not to be inherited from the other AP to which the non-transmitted BSSID profile element corresponds, e.g., as described below.)
in order to simplify configuration messaging.
Cariou and Cairou-599 are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Cairou with the technique of non-inheritance element in Cairou-599 in order to simplify configuration messaging.
Regarding claim 7. Cariou teaches The wireless MLD of claim 2, but it does not teach wherein an inheritance of the element is applied to the at least one profile of the at least one mmWave link.
However, Cariou-599 teaches
wherein an inheritance of the element is applied to the at least one profile of the at least one mmWave link. ([0044] In some demonstrative aspects, radios 114 and/or 144 may be configured to communicate over a 2.4 GHz band, a 5 GHz band, a 6 GHz band, and/or any other band, for example, a directional band, e.g., an mmWave band, a 5G band, an S1G band, and/or any other band.)
in order to simplify configuration messaging.
Cariou and Cairou-599 are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Cairou with the technique of non-inheritance element in Cairou-599 in order to simplify configuration messaging.
Regarding claim 8. Cariou and Cariou-599 teaches The wireless MLD of claim 7, but Cariou does not teach wherein the at least one profile of the at least one mmWave link comprises at least one per station (STA) profile of the at least one mmWave link.
However, Cariou-599 teaches
wherein the at least one profile of the at least one mmWave link comprises at least one per station (STA) profile of the at least one mmWave link. ([0044] In some demonstrative aspects, radios 114 and/or 144 may be configured to communicate over a 2.4 GHz band, a 5 GHz band, a 6 GHz band, and/or any other band, for example, a directional band, e.g., an mmWave band, a 5G band, an S1G band, and/or any other band.)
in order to simplify configuration messaging.
Cariou and Cairou-599 are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Cairou with the technique of non-inheritance element in Cairou-599 in order to simplify configuration messaging.
Regarding claim 10. Cariou and Cariou-599 teaches The wireless MLD of claim 1, and Cariou teaches
wherein the at least one profile of the at least one mmWave link between the wireless MLD and the second wireless MLD comprises a plurality of profiles of a plurality of mmWave links between the wireless MLD and the second wireless MLD, ([0144] In some demonstrative aspects, as shown in FIG. 4, the mmWave channelization scheme 401 and/or the mmWave channelization scheme 403 may be configured to define a plurality of mmWave channels, e.g., a plurality of non-overlapping 320/640/1280/2560 mmWave channels and/or any other mmWave channels.)
But Cariou does not teach wherein a second profile of a first mmWave link between the wireless MLD and the second wireless MLD inherits an element in a first profile of a first mmWave link between the wireless MLD and the second wireless MLD.
However, Cariou599 teaches
wherein a second profile of a first mmWave link between the wireless MLD and the second wireless MLD inherits an element in a first profile of a first mmWave link between the wireless MLD and the second wireless MLD. ([0192] In some demonstrative aspects, an inheritance rule may define that, if an element E is included in the AP/STA profile for an AP1 with a specific linkID, in the non-transmitted BSSID ID profile describing an AP2 with a specific BSSID-index, that element E explicitly describes this AP1.
[0193] In some demonstrative aspects, another inheritance rule may define that, if an element E is not included in the AP/STA profile for an AP1 with a specific linkID, in the non-transmitted BSSID ID profile describing an AP2 with a specific BSSID-index, that element E is inherited from AP2. This may mean, for example, that the AP2 is considered to have the same element E as AP2, for example, unless the element E is listed in the non-inheritance element (if present) in the AP/STA profile of AP1 (in which case the element E of AP1 is not known).)
in order to simplify configuration messaging.
Cariou and Cairou-599 are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Cairou with the technique of non-inheritance element in Cairou-599 in order to simplify configuration messaging.
Regarding claim 16. Cariou teaches The wireless AP of claim 15, wherein the frame further comprises an element that defines Basic Service Set (BSS) information of the non-mmWave link between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD, (([0087] For example, the DS may include a system used to interconnect a set of basic service sets (BSSs) and integrated local area networks (LANs) to create an extended service set (ESS). In one example, a multi-link logical entity may allow STAs within the multi-link logical entity to have the same MAC address. The multi-link entity may perform any other additional or alternative functionality.)) and
but it does not teach wherein no inheritance of the element is applied to the at least one Per STA profile of the at least one mmWave link.
However, Cariou-599 teaches
wherein no inheritance of the element is applied to the at least one Per STA profile of the at least one mmWave link. ([0154] In some demonstrative aspects, controller 124 may be configured to cause the reporting AP, e.g., AP STA 135, to include a non-inheritance element in the profile subelement corresponding to the reported AP, e.g., as described below.)
in order to simplify configuration messaging.
Cariou and Cairou-599 are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Cairou with the technique of non-inheritance element in Cairou-599 in order to simplify configuration messaging.
Regarding claim 17. Cariou and Cariou0599 teaches The wireless MLD of claim 16, Cariou does not teach wherein the controller is further configured to set a non-inheritance subfield of the at least one per STA profile to a predefined value to indicate that no inheritance is applied to the at least one per STA profile.
However, Cariou-599 teaches
wherein the controller is further configured to set a non-inheritance subfield of the at least one per STA profile to a predefined value to indicate that no inheritance is applied to the at least one per STA profile. ([0165] In some demonstrative aspects, controller 154 may be configured to cause STA 155 to process a non-inheritance element in the profile subelement corresponding to the reported AP, e.g., as described below.
[0166] In some demonstrative aspects, controller 154 may be configured to cause STA 155 to identify, for example, based on the non-inheritance element, one or more elements, which are not to be inherited from the other AP to which the non-transmitted BSSID profile element corresponds, e.g., as described below.)
in order to simplify configuration messaging.
Cariou and Cairou-599 are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Cairou with the technique of non-inheritance element in Cairou-599 in order to simplify configuration messaging.
Regarding claim 18. Cariou teaches The wireless AP of claim 15, wherein the frame further comprises an element that defines Basic Service Set (BSS) information of the non-mmWave link between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD, ([0087] For example, the DS may include a system used to interconnect a set of basic service sets (BSSs) and integrated local area networks (LANs) to create an extended service set (ESS). In one example, a multi-link logical entity may allow STAs within the multi-link logical entity to have the same MAC address. The multi-link entity may perform any other additional or alternative functionality.)
But it does not teach and wherein an inheritance of the element is applied to the at least one profile of the at least one mmWave link.
However, Cariou-599 teaches
wherein an inheritance of the element is applied to the at least one profile of the at least one mmWave link. ([0044] In some demonstrative aspects, radios 114 and/or 144 may be configured to communicate over a 2.4 GHz band, a 5 GHz band, a 6 GHz band, and/or any other band, for example, a directional band, e.g., an mmWave band, a 5G band, an S1G band, and/or any other band.)
in order to simplify configuration messaging.
Cariou and Cairou-599 are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Cairou with the technique of non-inheritance element in Cairou-599 in order to simplify configuration messaging.
Regarding claim 19. Cariou teaches The wireless AP of claim 15, wherein the at least one Per STA profile of the at least one mmWave link between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD comprises a plurality of Per STA profiles of a plurality of mmWave links between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD, ([0144] In some demonstrative aspects, as shown in FIG. 4, the mmWave channelization scheme 401 and/or the mmWave channelization scheme 403 may be configured to define a plurality of mmWave channels, e.g., a plurality of non-overlapping 320/640/1280/2560 mmWave channels and/or any other mmWave channels.)
But it does not teach wherein a second Per STA profile of a first mmWave link between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD inherits an element in a first Per STA profile of a first mmWave link between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD.
However, Cariou599 teaches
wherein a second profile of a first mmWave link between the wireless MLD and the second wireless MLD inherits an element in a first profile of a first mmWave link between the wireless MLD and the second wireless MLD. ([0192] In some demonstrative aspects, an inheritance rule may define that, if an element E is included in the AP/STA profile for an AP1 with a specific linkID, in the non-transmitted BSSID ID profile describing an AP2 with a specific BSSID-index, that element E explicitly describes this AP1.
[0193] In some demonstrative aspects, another inheritance rule may define that, if an element E is not included in the AP/STA profile for an AP1 with a specific linkID, in the non-transmitted BSSID ID profile describing an AP2 with a specific BSSID-index, that element E is inherited from AP2. This may mean, for example, that the AP2 is considered to have the same element E as AP2, for example, unless the element E is listed in the non-inheritance element (if present) in the AP/STA profile of AP1 (in which case the element E of AP1 is not known).)
in order to simplify configuration messaging.
Cariou and Cairou-599 are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Cairou with the technique of non-inheritance element in Cairou-599 in order to simplify configuration messaging.
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cariou as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CHOI; Junsu et al. US PGPUB 20230120818 A1.
Regarding claim 12. Cariou teaches The wireless MLD of claim 1, but it does not teach wherein the frame comprises an association response frame.
However, Choi teaches
wherein the frame comprises an association response frame. ([0110] In some embodiments, the multi-link element 900 in the probe request frame, the probe response frame, the association request frame, or the association response frame set forth in FIG. 8 may include two per-STA profile fields 970.)
in order to reduce latency and increase throughput. ([0004])
Cariou and Choi are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Cariou with the technique of association response frame in Choi in order to reduce latency and increase throughput.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ZHAOHUI YANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468