DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 08/10/2026is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites a limitation suggesting that no laser is applied during second laser pulse which suggests it is not a laser pulse.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cheng et al. (US 12509346B2).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Cheng discloses in reference to claim:
1. A method of sealing a venthole 18 of a micromechanical device 10, the method comprising: applying a first laser pulse to a venthole of a substrate of a micromechanical device for a first time period (implied by pulse), wherein the first laser pulse has a first laser intensity spatial distribution, and wherein the venthole leads to a chamber 14 configured to contain a device 16; and then applying a second laser pulse to the venthole for a second time period, wherein the second laser pulse has a second laser intensity spatial distribution that is different than the first laser intensity spatial distribution.
Cheng discloses wherein the laser pulse is applied with a first intensity, and then subsequently a second intensity less than the first intensity, wherein the second intensity is between ten and thirty percent of the first intensity.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the second time period is different than the first time period. Note that since the lasers are applied in at least two different pulses, the time periods are different by nature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be made explicit.
EXEMPLARY RATIONALES
Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 3-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Cheng et al. (US 12509346B2) in view of Brookhyser et al. (US 2022/0048135A1)
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Cheng discloses the claimed invention except in reference to claims 3-11
Brookhyser teaches that when a beam of laser energy has a non-uniform spatial intensity profile (e.g., as with a Gaussian-type spatial intensity profile), different regions of the beam will heat different parts of the transmissive optical component to different temperatures. As such one of skill in the art would understand the shape of the laser intensity spatial distribution for the first and second lasers can be adjusted to achieve the desired effect from each laser, including providing a Gaussian shape, a donut shape, a top hat shape, a volcano shape as claimed in claims 3-11.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 14-18 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art of record fails to explicitly disclose or reasonably suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art the wherein the first laser pulse has a first laser intensity spatial distribution with a first laser pulse intensity at a center of the first laser pulse; and applying a second laser pulse to substrate at the venthole for a second time period, wherein the second laser pulse has a second laser intensity spatial distribution that is different than the first laser intensity spatial distribution, and wherein the second laser intensity spatial distribution has a second laser pulse intensity at a center of the second laser pulse that is less than the first laser pulse intensity at the center of the first laser pulse.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/THOR S CAMPBELL/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3761
tsc