Response to Amendment and Arguments
The amendment filed 12/30/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 18-22, filed 12/30/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and/or 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant states "… None of the cited prior art disclose the feature II. (1) Yamaki discloses the absolute value of the difference between the refractive index n1 of the binder and the refractive index n2 of the light scattering microparticles is preferably 0.1 or higher (see paragraph [0062]). However, in Examples 1-3 of Yamaki, the refractive index of the binder (1.68, 1.59, or 1.49) is less than the refractive index of the dispersed particles (2.40) to give a clear image. In Comparative Examples 1 and 2, the refractive index of the resin matrix (1.68) is greater than the refractive index of the dispersed particles (1.49, 1.45), resulting in a blurry image. Therefore, Yamaki teaches that the refractive index of the continuous phase (i.e., the substrate) needs to be less than the refractive index of the dispersed particles, in order to prevent the resulting optical film from malfunctioning…”. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, since nothing in the specification of Yamaki is taught to limit that a refractive index of the substrate can ONLY be greater than a refractive index of the light diffusion particles, Yamaki does not teach away from the claimed limitation that “a refractive index of the substrate is greater than a refractive index of the light diffusion particles” (MPEP, 2144.05.III.B.). In fact, the Table 3 and Paragraph [0120, 0123, 0126, 0129, 0140, 0143] of Yamaki teaches that the binder/substrate is corresponding to PET with a refractive index of 1.68, PC with a refractive index of 1.59, PMMA with a refractive index of 1.49 in Table 3, and the Table 1 and Paragraph [0064, 0074] of Yamaki teaches that the inorganic light scattering microparticles having a low refractive index include, for example, particles by atomizing silica (silicon oxide, n=1.45), or the like, which have a refractive index n2 of preferably from 1.35 to 1.80, and the microparticles consisting of metal materials, such as aluminum (Al) has a refractive index of 0.62~1.49 and silver (Ag) has a refractive index of 0.12~0.15. Therefore, since Yamaki teaches that (a) the refractive index of the binder is 1.68/1.59/1.49, (b1) the refractive index of the inorganic light scattering microparticles is 1.35 to 1.8, (b2) the Table 1 shows the refractive index of microparticles consisting of metal materials, such as aluminum (Al) has a refractive index of 0.62~1.49 and silver (Ag) has a refractive index of 0.12~0.15, Yamaki does not teach away from the claimed limitation that “a refractive index of the substrate is greater than a refractive index of the light diffusion particles”.
Second, per MPEP 2143.01 I, the disclosure of desirable alternatives does not necessarily negate a suggestion for modifying the prior art to arrive at the claimed invention. Even the Examples 1-3 and the Comparative Examples 1 and 2 of Yamaki does not teaches that “a refractive index of the substrate is greater than a refractive index of the light diffusion particles”, the examples 4 and 5 in Table 3 clearly teaches that the refractive index of the PET binder/substrate being 1.68 is greater than a refractive index of the aluminum (Al) light diffusion particles being 0.62~1.49 as shown in Table 1.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the references Matsuo (US 2017/0351009), Hiraishi (US 2008/0310171) and Matsuo (US 2019/0224942) have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Regarding limitations of the instant case in view of the amended Claims and upon further considerations, a new ground(s) of rejection, necessitated by the amendments is made in view of different interpretation of the previously applied references and/or new prior art as presented in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaki (US 2018/0180982) in view of Yin (CN116520465A).
Regarding claim 1, Yamaki teaches a light diffusion film (the transparent light scattering layer 11/21 in Fig. 1-2, [0013-0173], Tables 1-3), comprising:
a substrate (the substrate corresponding to the binder 12 in Fig. 1); and
light diffusion particles (the microparticle 13 in Fig. 1, [0021], the microparticles are light scattering microparticles or light reflecting microparticles) dispersed in the substrate (Fig. 1);
wherein a mass fraction of the light diffusion particles (the microparticle 13 in Fig. 1) in the substrate is less than 3% ([0066], The content of the light scattering microparticles in the light diffusion layer is preferably from 0.0001 to 2.0% by mass, more preferably from 0.001 to 1.0% by mass, further preferably from 0.005 to 0.5% by mass, still more preferably from 0.01 to 0.3% by mass, based on the binder), a refractive index of the substrate (the refractive index of the binder 12 in Fig. 1, which is corresponding to PET with a refractive index of 1.68, PC with a refractive index of 1.59, PMMA with a refractive index of 1.49 in Table 3, [0120, 0123, 0126, 0129, 0140, 0143]) is greater than ([0064, 0120, 0123, 0126, 0129, 0140, 0143], Table 1, Table 3, since Yamaki teaches that (a) the refractive index of the binder is 1.68/1.59/1.49, (b1) the refractive index of the inorganic light scattering microparticles is 1.35 to 1.8, (b2) the Table 1 shows the refractive index of microparticles consisting of metal materials, such as aluminum (Al) has a refractive index of 0.62~1.49 and silver (Ag) has a refractive index of 0.12~0.15, Yamaki teaches that a refractive index of the substrate is greater than a refractive index of the light diffusion particles, and a difference in refractive index between the substrate and the light diffusion particles is greater than or equal to 0.1. For example, as shown in the examples 4 and 5 in Table 3, the refractive index of the PET binder/substrate being 1.68 is greater than a refractive index of the aluminum (Al) light diffusion particles being 0.62~1.49 as shown in Table 1) a refractive index of the light diffusion particles (the refractive index of the microparticle 13 in Fig. 1, [0064, 0074], Table 1, the inorganic light scattering microparticles having a low refractive index include, for example, particles by atomizing silica (silicon oxide, n=1.45), or the like, which have a refractive index n2 of preferably from 1.35 to 1.80, and the Table 1 shows the refractive index of microparticles consisting of metal materials, such as aluminum (Al) has a refractive index of 0.62~1.49 and silver (Ag) has a refractive index of 0.12~0.15), and a difference in refractive index between the substrate and the light diffusion particles is greater than or equal to 0.1 ([0023, 0063]); and
the light diffusion particles (the microparticle 13 in Fig. 1, [0021], the microparticles are light scattering microparticles or light reflecting microparticles) comprise first light diffusion particles (the microparticle 13 in Fig. 1, [0021], the microparticles are light scattering microparticles or light reflecting microparticles).
Yamaki teaches that an absolute value of the difference between the refractive index of the substrate and the refractive index of the light diffusion particles is preferably 0.1 or higher ([0063]) and the shape of the light diffusion particles is not particularly limited ([0074]). Yamaki does not teach that the first light diffusion particles are selected from at least one of a first subtype light diffusion particle, a second subtype light diffusion particle, a third subtype light diffusion particle, and a fourth subtype light diffusion particle having different shapes from each other, wherein a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections of the first subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 0.3 um along an extension direction of a major axis of the first subtype light diffusion particle; a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a middle portion of the second subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 1 um along an extension direction of a major axis of the second subtype light diffusion particle; in a direction away from the middle portion of the second subtype light diffusion particle, a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a first end portion of the second subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease, and a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a second end portion of the second subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 1 um; a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a middle portion of the third subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 1 um along an extension direction of a major axis of the third subtype light diffusion particle; in a direction away from the middle portion of the third subtype light diffusion particle, a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a first end portion of the third subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease, and a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a second end portion of the third subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease; and a first end portion of the fourth subtype light diffusion particle is connected to a second end portion of the fourth subtype light diffusion particle, and diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections of the fourth subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease in a direction from the first end portion of the fourth subtype light diffusion particle to the second end portion of the fourth subtype light diffusion particle.
Yin teaches that (Fig. 1-9, Abs, Pages 1-22 of English translation of CN116520465A) an absolute value of the difference between the refractive index of the substrate (1011 in Fig. 1-4, Page 15, Paragraph 2) and the refractive index of the light diffusion particles (1012a/1012b/1012c in Fig. 1-4, Page 15, Paragraph 2) is preferably 0.1 or higher (Fig. 1-4, Page 15, Paragraph 2), and first light diffusion particles (1012a/1012b/1012c in Fig. 1-4, Page 15, Paragraph 2) are selected from at least one of a first subtype light diffusion particle, a second subtype light diffusion particle, a third subtype light diffusion particle, and a fourth subtype light diffusion particle having different shapes from each other (Page 3, Paragraph 5-9), wherein a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections of the first subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 0.3 um along an extension direction of a major axis of the first subtype light diffusion particle (Page 3, Paragraph 6, Page 4, Paragraph 2); a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a middle portion of the second subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 1 um along an extension direction of a major axis of the second subtype light diffusion particle; in a direction away from the middle portion of the second subtype light diffusion particle, a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a first end portion of the second subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease, and a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a second end portion of the second subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 1 um (Page 3, Paragraph 7, Page 4, Paragraph 2); a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a middle portion of the third subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 1 um along an extension direction of a major axis of the third subtype light diffusion particle; in a direction away from the middle portion of the third subtype light diffusion particle, a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a first end portion of the third subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease, and a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a second end portion of the third subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease (Page 3, Paragraph 8, Page 4, Paragraph 2); and a first end portion of the fourth subtype light diffusion particle is connected to a second end portion of the fourth subtype light diffusion particle, and diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections of the fourth subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease in a direction from the first end portion of the fourth subtype light diffusion particle to the second end portion of the fourth subtype light diffusion particle (Page 3, Paragraph 9, Page 4, Paragraph 2).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Yin for the system of Yamaki such that in the system of Yamaki, the first light diffusion particles are selected from at least one of a first subtype light diffusion particle, a second subtype light diffusion particle, a third subtype light diffusion particle, and a fourth subtype light diffusion particle having different shapes from each other, wherein a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections of the first subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 0.3 um along an extension direction of a major axis of the first subtype light diffusion particle; a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a middle portion of the second subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 1 um along an extension direction of a major axis of the second subtype light diffusion particle; in a direction away from the middle portion of the second subtype light diffusion particle, a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a first end portion of the second subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease, and a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a second end portion of the second subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 1 um; a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a middle portion of the third subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 1 um along an extension direction of a major axis of the third subtype light diffusion particle; in a direction away from the middle portion of the third subtype light diffusion particle, a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a first end portion of the third subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease, and a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a second end portion of the third subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease; and a first end portion of the fourth subtype light diffusion particle is connected to a second end portion of the fourth subtype light diffusion particle, and diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections of the fourth subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease in a direction from the first end portion of the fourth subtype light diffusion particle to the second end portion of the fourth subtype light diffusion particle. The motivation is to improve the optical performance, avoid the optical defects such as molar lines or white points caused by the light diffusion film, and improve the chroma visual angle and contrast of the display device using the light diffusion film (Yin, Abs).
Regarding claim 10, as stated in the rejection of claim 1, Yamaki in view of Yin teaches already that a light diffusion film, comprising: a substrate; and light diffusion particles dispersed in the substrate; wherein a mass fraction of the light diffusion particles in the substrate is less than 3%, a refractive index of the substrate is greater than a refractive index of the light diffusion particles, and a difference in refractive index between the substrate and the light diffusion particles is greater than or equal to 0.1, and the light diffusion particles comprise first light diffusion particles, and the first light diffusion particles are selected from at least one of a first subtype light diffusion particle, a second subtype light diffusion particle, a third subtype light diffusion particle, and a fourth subtype light diffusion particle having different shapes from each other, wherein a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections of the first subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 0.3 um along an extension direction of a major axis of the first subtype light diffusion particle; a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a middle portion of the second subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 1 um along an extension direction of a major axis of the second subtype light diffusion particle; in a direction away from the middle portion of the second subtype light diffusion particle, a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a first end portion of the second subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease, and a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a second end portion of the second subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 1 um; a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a middle portion of the third subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 1 um along an extension direction of a major axis of the third subtype light diffusion particle; in a direction away from the middle portion of the third subtype light diffusion particle, a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a first end portion of the third subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease, and a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a second end portion of the third subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease; and a first end portion of the fourth subtype light diffusion particle is connected to a second end portion of the fourth subtype light diffusion particle, and diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections of the fourth subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease in a direction from the first end portion of the fourth subtype light diffusion particle to the second end portion of the fourth subtype light diffusion particle.
Yamaki does not teach a polarizer comprising the light diffusion film.
Yin teaches that (Fig. 1-9, Abs, Pages 1-22 of English translation of CN116520465A) teaches that a polarizer (the polarizer 100 in Fig. 5-8, Abs) comprising the light diffusion film (the polarizing plate 300/100 in Fig. 5-8, Abs).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Yin for the system of Yamaki in view of Yin such that in the system of Yamaki in view of Yin, a polarizer comprising the light diffusion film. The motivation is to provide a polarizer with improved the optical performance (Yin, Abs, Page 22, Paragraph 10).
Regarding claim 17, as stated in the rejection of claim 1, Yamaki in view of Yin teaches already that a light diffusion film, comprising: a substrate; and light diffusion particles dispersed in the substrate; wherein a mass fraction of the light diffusion particles in the substrate is less than 3%, a refractive index of the substrate is greater than a refractive index of the light diffusion particles, and a difference in refractive index between the substrate and the light diffusion particles is greater than or equal to 0.1, and the light diffusion particles comprise first light diffusion particles, and the first light diffusion particles are selected from at least one of a first subtype light diffusion particle, a second subtype light diffusion particle, a third subtype light diffusion particle, and a fourth subtype light diffusion particle having different shapes from each other, wherein a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections of the first subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 0.3 um along an extension direction of a major axis of the first subtype light diffusion particle; a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a middle portion of the second subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 1 um along an extension direction of a major axis of the second subtype light diffusion particle; in a direction away from the middle portion of the second subtype light diffusion particle, a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a first end portion of the second subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease, and a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a second end portion of the second subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 1 um; a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a middle portion of the third subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 1 um along an extension direction of a major axis of the third subtype light diffusion particle; in a direction away from the middle portion of the third subtype light diffusion particle, a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a first end portion of the third subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease, and a variation value of diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at a second end portion of the third subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease; and a first end portion of the fourth subtype light diffusion particle is connected to a second end portion of the fourth subtype light diffusion particle, and diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections of the fourth subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease in a direction from the first end portion of the fourth subtype light diffusion particle to the second end portion of the fourth subtype light diffusion particle.
Yamaki does not teach a display device, comprising a polarizer, wherein the polarizer comprises the light diffusion film.
Yin teaches that (Fig. 1-9, Abs, Pages 1-22 of English translation of CN116520465A) teaches that a display device(the display device 10 in Fig. 9, Abs, Page 22, Paragraph 10), comprising a polarizer, wherein the polarizer (the polarizer 100/300 in Fig. 5-9, Abs) comprising the light diffusion film (the polarizing plate 100/300 in Fig. 5-9, Abs).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Yin for the system of Yamaki in view of Yin such that in the system of Yamaki in view of Yin, a display device, comprising a polarizer, wherein the polarizer comprises the light diffusion film. The motivation is to provide a display device with improved the optical performance (Yin, Abs, Page 22, Paragraph 10).
Regarding claims 2-7, 9, 11-14, 16 and 18-19, Yamaki does not teach the following elements.
Yin teaches the following elements (Fig. 1-9, Abs, Pages 1-22 of English translation of CN116520465A):
(Claim 2) the first light diffusion particles have a plurality of first cross-sections, each of the first cross-sections has a first circumcircle, a ratio of a length of a major axis of the first light diffusion particle to a diameter of a greatest first circumcircle of the first light diffusion particle is greater than or equal to 5, and less than 100, and the first cross-section is perpendicular to an extension direction of the major axis of the first light diffusion particle (Page 3, Paragraph 3, Page 7, Paragraph 7, Page 8, Paragraph 2-3 and 5, MPEP 2144. 05 I.).
(Claim 3) the first light diffusion particles further comprise a fifth subtype light diffusion particle (Page 3, Paragraph 5), a first end portion of the fifth subtype light diffusion particle is connected to a second end portion of the fifth subtype light diffusion particle, diameters of first circumcircles of first cross- sections at the first end portion of the fifth subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease in a direction away from the second end portion of the fifth subtype light diffusion particle, and diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at the second end portion of the fifth subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease in a direction away from the first end portion of the fifth subtype light diffusion particle (Page 3, Paragraph 10, Page 4, Paragraph 2).
(Claim 4) he light diffusion particles further comprise second light diffusion particles (the particles corresponding to the second type of the light diffusion particles and/or the third type of the light diffusion particles, Page 3, Paragraph 2, Page 4, Paragraph 2-4); wherein the second light diffusion particles have a plurality of second cross-sections, each of the second cross-sections has a second circumcircle, a ratio of a length of a major axis of the second light diffusion particle to a diameter of a greatest second circumcircle is greater than or equal to 1, and less than 5, and the second cross-section is perpendicular to an extension direction of the major axis of the second light diffusion particle (Page 3, Paragraph 4-5, Page 4, Paragraph 2).
(Claim 5) the second light diffusion particles (the particles corresponding to the second type of the light diffusion particles and/or the third type of the light diffusion particles, Page 3, Paragraph 2, Page 4, Paragraph 2-4) are selected from at least one of a sixth subtype light diffusion particle (Page 3, Paragraph 5), a seventh subtype light diffusion particle (Page 3, Paragraph 5), an eighth subtype light diffusion particle (Page 4, Paragraph 2-4), a ninth subtype light diffusion particle (Page 4, Paragraph 2-4), and a tenth subtype light diffusion particle (Page 4, Paragraph 2-4) having different shapes from each other; wherein a variation value of diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections of the sixth subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 0.3 um along an extension direction of a major axis of the sixth subtype light diffusion particle (Page 3, Paragraph 11, Page 4, Paragraph 2); a first end portion of the seventh subtype light diffusion particle is connected to a second end portion of the seventh subtype light diffusion particle, diameters of second circumcircles of second sections at the first end portion of the seventh subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease in a direction away from the second end portion of the seventh subtype light diffusion particle, and diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections at the second end portion of the seventh subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease in a direction away from the first end portion of the seventh subtype light diffusion particle (Page 3, Paragraph 12, Page 4, Paragraph 1-2); a variation value of diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections at a middle portion of the eighth subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 1 um along an extension direction of a major axis of the eighth subtype light diffusion particle; in a direction away from the middle portion of the eighth subtype light diffusion particle, a variation value of diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections at a first end portion of the eighth subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease, and a variation value of diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections at a second end portion of the eighth subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 1 um (Page 4, Paragraph 2-4, Page 3); a variation value of diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections at a middle portion of the ninth subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 1 um along an extension direction of a major axis of the ninth subtype light diffusion particle; in a direction away from the middle portion of the ninth subtype light diffusion particle, a variation value of diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections at a first end portion of the ninth subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease, and a variation value of diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections at a second end portion of the ninth subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease (Page 4, Paragraph 2-4, Page 3); and a first end portion of the tenth subtype light diffusion particle is connected to a second end portion of the tenth subtype light diffusion particle, and diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections of the tenth subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease in a direction from the first end portion of the tenth subtype light diffusion particle to the second end portion of the tenth subtype light diffusion particle (Page 4, Paragraph 2-4, Page 3).
(Claims 6 and 13) the first subtype light diffusion particle is selected from a rod-shaped particle, the second subtype light diffusion particle is selected from an acicular particle having reduced diameters from middle to an end, the third subtype light diffusion particle is selected from an acicular particle having reduced diameters from middle to both ends, the fourth subtype light diffusion particle is selected from a long cone- shaped particle, the fifth subtype light diffusion particle is selected from a bicone-shaped particle and/or an ellipsoid-shaped particle, the sixth subtype light diffusion particle is selected from a cubic particle or a cuboid-shaped particle, the seventh subtype light diffusion particle is selected from a spherical particle or an ellipsoid-shaped particle, the eighth subtype light diffusion particle is selected from an acicular particle having reduced diameters from middle to an end, the ninth subtype light diffusion particle is selected from an acicular particle having reduced diameters from middle to both ends, and the tenth subtype light diffusion particle is selected from a long cone-shaped particle (Page 4, Paragraph 2-4).
(Claims 7 and 14) a mass fraction of the fifth subtype light diffusion particles in the light diffusion particles is greater than or equal to 20%, and a mass fraction of the fifth subtype light diffusion particles in the light diffusion particles is less than or equal to 100% (Page 12, Paragraph 1, the fifth sub-type of light diffusion particles in the first type of light diffusion particles ranges from 45% to 55%, for example, it may be 46%, 47%, 48%, 49%, 50%, 51%, 52%, 53%, 54%, or the like).
(Claims 9 and 16) the substrate comprises a first sub- substrate selected from at least one of an unmodified polyester, an unmodified acetate fiber (Page 2, Paragraph 12 and 15-17), and/or a second sub-substrate selected from at least one of a modified polyester, a modified cellulose acetate (Page 2, Paragraph 12 and 15-17); wherein a mass fraction of the first sub-substrate in the substrate is greater than or equal to 65%, and the mass fraction of the first sub-substrate in the substrate is less than or equal to 100%; and a mass fraction of the second sub-substrate in the substrate is greater than or equal to 0%, and the mass fraction of the second sub-substrate in the substrate is less than or equal to 35% (Page 2, Paragraph 14, Page 4, Paragraph 5, 8-9 and 11, Page 16, Paragraph 7-8).
(Claims 11 and 18) the first light diffusion particles have a plurality of first cross-sections, each of the first cross-sections has a first circumcircle, a ratio of a length of a major axis of the first light diffusion particle to a diameter of a greatest first circumcircle of the first light diffusion particle is greater than or equal to 5, and less than 100, and the first cross-section is perpendicular to an extension direction of the major axis of the first light diffusion particle (Page 3, Paragraph 3, Page 7, Paragraph 7, Page 8, Paragraph 2-3 and 5, MPEP 2144. 05 I.), wherein the first light diffusion particles further comprise a fifth subtype light diffusion particle (Page 3, Paragraph 5), a first end portion of the fifth subtype light diffusion particle is connected to a second end portion of the fifth subtype light diffusion particle, diameters of first circumcircles of first cross- sections at the first end portion of the fifth subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease in a direction away from the second end portion of the fifth subtype light diffusion particle, and diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at the second end portion of the fifth subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease in a direction away from the first end portion of the fifth subtype light diffusion particle (Page 3, Paragraph 10, Page 4, Paragraph 2).
(Claims 12 and 19) he light diffusion particles further comprise second light diffusion particles (the particles corresponding to the second type of the light diffusion particles and/or the third type of the light diffusion particles, Page 3, Paragraph 2, Page 4, Paragraph 2-4); wherein the second light diffusion particles have a plurality of second cross-sections, each of the second cross-sections has a second circumcircle, a ratio of a length of a major axis of the second light diffusion particle to a diameter of a greatest second circumcircle is greater than or equal to 1, and less than 5, and the second cross-section is perpendicular to an extension direction of the major axis of the second light diffusion particle (Page 3, Paragraph 4-5, Page 4, Paragraph 2), wherein the second light diffusion particles (the particles corresponding to the second type of the light diffusion particles and/or the third type of the light diffusion particles, Page 3, Paragraph 2, Page 4, Paragraph 2-4) are selected from at least one of a sixth subtype light diffusion particle (Page 3, Paragraph 5), a seventh subtype light diffusion particle (Page 3, Paragraph 5), an eighth subtype light diffusion particle (Page 4, Paragraph 2-4), a ninth subtype light diffusion particle (Page 4, Paragraph 2-4), and a tenth subtype light diffusion particle (Page 4, Paragraph 2-4) having different shapes from each other; wherein a variation value of diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections of the sixth subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 0.3 um along an extension direction of a major axis of the sixth subtype light diffusion particle (Page 3, Paragraph 11, Page 4, Paragraph 2); a first end portion of the seventh subtype light diffusion particle is connected to a second end portion of the seventh subtype light diffusion particle, diameters of second circumcircles of second sections at the first end portion of the seventh subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease in a direction away from the second end portion of the seventh subtype light diffusion particle, and diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections at the second end portion of the seventh subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease in a direction away from the first end portion of the seventh subtype light diffusion particle (Page 3, Paragraph 12, Page 4, Paragraph 1-2); a variation value of diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections at a middle portion of the eighth subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 1 um along an extension direction of a major axis of the eighth subtype light diffusion particle; in a direction away from the middle portion of the eighth subtype light diffusion particle, a variation value of diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections at a first end portion of the eighth subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease, and a variation value of diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections at a second end portion of the eighth subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 1 um (Page 4, Paragraph 2-4, Page 3); a variation value of diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections at a middle portion of the ninth subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 1 um along an extension direction of a major axis of the ninth subtype light diffusion particle; in a direction away from the middle portion of the ninth subtype light diffusion particle, a variation value of diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections at a first end portion of the ninth subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease, and a variation value of diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections at a second end portion of the ninth subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease (Page 4, Paragraph 2-4, Page 3); and a first end portion of the tenth subtype light diffusion particle is connected to a second end portion of the tenth subtype light diffusion particle, and diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections of the tenth subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease in a direction from the first end portion of the tenth subtype light diffusion particle to the second end portion of the tenth subtype light diffusion particle (Page 4, Paragraph 2-4, Page 3).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Yin for the system of Yamaki in view of Yin such that in the system of Yamaki in view of Yin,
(Claim 2) the first light diffusion particles have a plurality of first cross-sections, each of the first cross-sections has a first circumcircle, a ratio of a length of a major axis of the first light diffusion particle to a diameter of a greatest first circumcircle of the first light diffusion particle is greater than or equal to 5, and less than 100, and the first cross-section is perpendicular to an extension direction of the major axis of the first light diffusion particle.
(Claim 3) the first light diffusion particles further comprise a fifth subtype light diffusion particle, a first end portion of the fifth subtype light diffusion particle is connected to a second end portion of the fifth subtype light diffusion particle, diameters of first circumcircles of first cross- sections at the first end portion of the fifth subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease in a direction away from the second end portion of the fifth subtype light diffusion particle, and diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at the second end portion of the fifth subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease in a direction away from the first end portion of the fifth subtype light diffusion particle.
(Claim 4) the light diffusion particles further comprise second light diffusion particles; wherein the second light diffusion particles have a plurality of second cross-sections, each of the second cross-sections has a second circumcircle, a ratio of a length of a major axis of the second light diffusion particle to a diameter of a greatest second circumcircle is greater than or equal to 1, and less than 5, and the second cross-section is perpendicular to an extension direction of the major axis of the second light diffusion particle.
(Claim 5) the second light diffusion particles are selected from at least one of a sixth subtype light diffusion particle, a seventh subtype light diffusion particle, an eighth subtype light diffusion particle, a ninth subtype light diffusion particle, and a tenth subtype light diffusion particle having different shapes from each other; wherein a variation value of diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections of the sixth subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 0.3 um along an extension direction of a major axis of the sixth subtype light diffusion particle; a first end portion of the seventh subtype light diffusion particle is connected to a second end portion of the seventh subtype light diffusion particle, diameters of second circumcircles of second sections at the first end portion of the seventh subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease in a direction away from the second end portion of the seventh subtype light diffusion particle, and diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections at the second end portion of the seventh subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease in a direction away from the first end portion of the seventh subtype light diffusion particle; a variation value of diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections at a middle portion of the eighth subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 1 um along an extension direction of a major axis of the eighth subtype light diffusion particle; in a direction away from the middle portion of the eighth subtype light diffusion particle, a variation value of diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections at a first end portion of the eighth subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease, and a variation value of diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections at a second end portion of the eighth subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 1 um; a variation value of diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections at a middle portion of the ninth subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 1 m along an extension direction of a major axis of the ninth subtype light diffusion particle; in a direction away from the middle portion of the ninth subtype light diffusion particle, a variation value of diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections at a first end portion of the ninth subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease, and a variation value of diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections at a second end portion of the ninth subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease; and a first end portion of the tenth subtype light diffusion particle is connected to a second end portion of the tenth subtype light diffusion particle, and diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections of the tenth subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease in a direction from the first end portion of the tenth subtype light diffusion particle to the second end portion of the tenth subtype light diffusion particle.
(Claims 6 and 13) the first subtype light diffusion particle is selected from a rod-shaped particle, the second subtype light diffusion particle is selected from an acicular particle having reduced diameters from middle to an end, the third subtype light diffusion particle is selected from an acicular particle having reduced diameters from middle to both ends, the fourth subtype light diffusion particle is selected from a long cone- shaped particle, the fifth subtype light diffusion particle is selected from a bicone-shaped particle and/or an ellipsoid-shaped particle, the sixth subtype light diffusion particle is selected from a cubic particle or a cuboid-shaped particle, the seventh subtype light diffusion particle is selected from a spherical particle or an ellipsoid-shaped particle, the eighth subtype light diffusion particle is selected from an acicular particle having reduced diameters from middle to an end, the ninth subtype light diffusion particle is selected from an acicular particle having reduced diameters from middle to both ends, and the tenth subtype light diffusion particle is selected from a long cone-shaped particle.
(Claims 7 and 14) a mass fraction of the fifth subtype light diffusion particles in the light diffusion particles is greater than or equal to 20%, and a mass fraction of the fifth subtype light diffusion particles in the light diffusion particles is less than or equal to 100%.
(Claims 9 and 16) the substrate comprises a first sub- substrate selected from at least one of an unmodified polyester, an unmodified acetate fiber, and/or a second sub-substrate selected from at least one of a modified polyester, a modified cellulose acetate; wherein a mass fraction of the first sub-substrate in the substrate is greater than or equal to 65%, and the mass fraction of the first sub-substrate in the substrate is less than or equal to 100%; and a mass fraction of the second sub-substrate in the substrate is greater than or equal to 0%, and the mass fraction of the second sub-substrate in the substrate is less than or equal to 35%.
(Claims 11 and 18) the first light diffusion particles have a plurality of first cross-sections, each of the first cross-sections has a first circumcircle, a ratio of a length of a major axis of the first light diffusion particle to a diameter of a greatest first circumcircle of the first light diffusion particle is greater than or equal to 5, and less than 100, and the first cross-section is perpendicular to an extension direction of the major axis of the first light diffusion particle, wherein the first light diffusion particles further comprise a fifth subtype light diffusion particle, a first end portion of the fifth subtype light diffusion particle is connected to a second end portion of the fifth subtype light diffusion particle, diameters of first circumcircles of first cross- sections at the first end portion of the fifth subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease in a direction away from the second end portion of the fifth subtype light diffusion particle, and diameters of first circumcircles of first cross-sections at the second end portion of the fifth subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease in a direction away from the first end portion of the fifth subtype light diffusion particle.
(Claims 12 and 19) the light diffusion particles further comprise second light diffusion particles; wherein the second light diffusion particles have a plurality of second cross-sections, each of the second cross-sections has a second circumcircle, a ratio of a length of a major axis of the second light diffusion particle to a diameter of a greatest second circumcircle is greater than or equal to 1, and less than 5, and the second cross-section is perpendicular to an extension direction of the major axis of the second light diffusion particle, wherein the second light diffusion particles are selected from at least one of a sixth subtype light diffusion particle, a seventh subtype light diffusion particle, an eighth subtype light diffusion particle, a ninth subtype light diffusion particle, and a tenth subtype light diffusion particle having different shapes from each other; wherein a variation value of diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections of the sixth subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 0.3 um along an extension direction of a major axis of the sixth subtype light diffusion particle; a first end portion of the seventh subtype light diffusion particle is connected to a second end portion of the seventh subtype light diffusion particle, diameters of second circumcircles of second sections at the first end portion of the seventh subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease in a direction away from the second end portion of the seventh subtype light diffusion particle, and diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections at the second end portion of the seventh subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease in a direction away from the first end portion of the seventh subtype light diffusion particle; a variation value of diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections at a middle portion of the eighth subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 1 um along an extension direction of a major axis of the eighth subtype light diffusion particle; in a direction away from the middle portion of the eighth subtype light diffusion particle, a variation value of diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections at a first end portion of the eighth subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease, and a variation value of diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections at a second end portion of the eighth subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 1 um; a variation value of diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections at a middle portion of the ninth subtype light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 1 m along an extension direction of a major axis of the ninth subtype light diffusion particle; in a direction away from the middle portion of the ninth subtype light diffusion particle, a variation value of diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections at a first end portion of the ninth subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease, and a variation value of diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections at a second end portion of the ninth subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease; and a first end portion of the tenth subtype light diffusion particle is connected to a second end portion of the tenth subtype light diffusion particle, and diameters of second circumcircles of second cross-sections of the tenth subtype light diffusion particle gradually decrease in a direction from the first end portion of the tenth subtype light diffusion particle to the second end portion of the tenth subtype light diffusion particle.
The motivation is to improve the optical performance, avoid the optical defects such as molar lines or white points caused by the light diffusion film, and improve the chroma visual angle and contrast of the display device using the light diffusion film (Yin, Abs).
Regarding claims 8, 15 and 20, Yamaki also teaches each of the light diffusion particles (the microparticle 13 in Fig. 1, [0021, 0025, 0074, 0075], the microparticles are light scattering microparticles or light reflecting microparticles; the shape of the metallic microparticles is not particularly limited and bright flake-form microparticles or substantially spherical microparticles can be used) has an average particle size ([0025, 0074, 0075]), the light diffusion particles are substantially spherical microparticles ([0074]), a length of a major axis of the light diffusion particle is close to 100% of the average particle size of the light diffusion particle.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to recognize and try that in the system of Yamaki in view of Yin, a length of a major axis of the light diffusion particle is greater than or equal to 20% of the average particle size of the light diffusion particle, and the length of the major axis of the light diffusion particle is less than or equal to 180% of the average particle size of the light diffusion particle. The motivation is to provide a transparent screen satisfying both the visibility of the projection light and the transmission light by anisotropically scattering and reflecting the projection light emitted from a light source (Yamaki, Abs, [0033], MPEP 2144. 05 I.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAN LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871