DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-19 in the reply filed on 5/26/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the examination of all pending claims would not be a burden, much less a “serious burden” and that claim 20 includes similar elements such as main body shell and driving components (Applicant Arguments/Remarks, p. 6-7). This is not found persuasive because the requirement for restriction mailed 3/28/2025 has sufficiently shown there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because the inventions have acquired a separate status in view of their different classification and the invention requires a different field of search as the apparatus is classified in B05B3/0422 and the process is classified in B08B1/12. Furthermore, the requirement for restriction mailed 3/28/2025 has sufficiently shown the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice another and materially different process and not having a common feature between the apparatus and process claims is not a requirement for showing the inventions are independent or distinct.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “said water inlet channel” in lines 10 and 12 and claim 12 recites “said water inlet channel” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “said water inlet channel” is interpreted to read -- said at least one water inlet channel --.
Claim 1 recites “said water outlet channel” in lines 9 and 11 and claim 12 recites “said water outlet channel” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “said water outlet channel” is interpreted to read --said at least one water outlet channel--.
Claim 4 recites “said first protrusion” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “said first protrusion” is interpreted to read -- a first protrusion--.
Claim 5 recites “said first spur gear” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “said first spur gear” is interpreted to read --said at least one first spur gear--.
Claim 5 recites “said first post” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “said first post” is interpreted to read --said at least one first post--.
Claim 6 recites “said second spur gear” in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “said second spur gear” is interpreted to read --said at least one second spur gear--.
Claim 6 recites “said second post” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “said second post” is interpreted to read --said at least one second post--.
Claim 8 recites “said gear box” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “said gear box” is interpreted to read --a gear box--.
Claim 8 recites “said first gear transmission part” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “said first gear transmission part” is interpreted to read --a first gear transmission part --.
Claim 8 recites “said second gear transmission part” in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “said second gear transmission part” is interpreted to read --a second gear transmission part --.
Claim 12 recites “the water outlet” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “the water outlet” is interpreted to read --a water outlet--.
Claim 15 recites “said gear box” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “said gear box” is interpreted to read --a gear box--.
Claim 16 recites “said first transmission shaft” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “said first transmission shaft” is interpreted to read --a first transmission shaft--.
Claim 18 recites “said gear transmission part” in lines 6 and 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “said gear transmission part” is interpreted to read --said at least one gear transmission part--.
Claim 18 recites “said gear transmission shaft” in lines 8 and 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “said gear transmission shaft” is interpreted to read --said at least one gear transmission shaft--.
Claim 18 recites “a connecting part” in line 10. It is unclear if this language is referring to the connecting part recited in claim 18, line 4, or an additional connecting part. For examination purposes, “a connecting part” in claim 18, line 10 is interpreted to be an additional connecting part.
Claim 18 recites “said water inlet channel” in lines 15 and 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “said water inlet channel” is interpreted to read --said at least one water inlet channel--.
Claim 18 recites “said water outlet channel” in lines 14 and 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “said water outlet channel” is interpreted to read --said at least one water outlet channel--.
Any remaining dependent claim(s) are indefinite insofar as they depend on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyazawa (US 20190239702).
Regarding claim 1, Miyazawa discloses a hydrodynamic bathing shower, comprising:
a main body shell (2), a driving component (13, 15-21, 52-64) arranged inside said main body shell, and a cleaning component (11, 51) detachably attached to said main body shell (see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11); and
wherein, said driving component comprises a gear transmission mechanism (13, 15, 17-21, 53-64), an impeller (16) and a connecting part (52), wherein said impeller and said gear transmission mechanism form a transmission connection (see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11), and said gear transmission mechanism forms a transmission connection with said cleaning component through said connecting part (see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11); and
wherein, said main body shell is provided with at least one water inlet channel (channel of 28-29) and at least one water outlet channel (channel of 2 shown in Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11), and said impeller is arranged in said water outlet channel (see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11), wherein a water flow direction (flow direction of the channel of 28-29) of said water inlet channel faces blades of said impeller (see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11); and
wherein, when an external water source (water from 98; ¶ 0034) flows towards said water outlet channel through said water inlet channel (¶ 0034; see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11), said impeller will be driven to rotate by the water flow, thereby driving said cleaning component to rotate (¶ 0030-0032).
Regarding claim 2, Miyazawa discloses said driving component further comprises a gear box (19, 61), and said gear box penetrates outside said gear transmission mechanism (see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11), and a central position of said gear box is provided with a first protrusion (protrusion of 19, 61), wherein said first protrusion has a hollow cylindrical structure (hollow cylindrical structure of 61; see Fig, 4-5, 7, 9, and 11).
Regarding claim 3, Miyazawa discloses said gear transmission mechanism comprises a first gear transmission part (20) and a second gear transmission part (56-57, 59, 63), and said first gear transmission part and said second gear transmission part are in transmission connection through a gear transmission shaft (shaft of 59, 63; see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11).
Regarding claim 4, Miyazawa discloses said first gear transmission part comprises a first transmission shaft (shaft of 20) and at least one first spur gear (gear of 20), said first transmission shaft is provided with a first gear part, and said first transmission shaft penetrates through said first protrusion (protrusion of 19, 61) and forms a transmission connection with said impeller (see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11).
Regarding claim 5, Miyazawa discloses one end of said gear transmission shaft is provided with at least one first post (post of 63), and the other end is provided with a second gear part (gear part of 59), wherein said first spur gear is fixed on said gear transmission shaft through said first post and is meshed with said first gear part (see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11).
Regarding claim 6, Miyazawa discloses said second gear transmission part comprises a gear fixing part (57) and at least one second spur gear (56), and one end of said gear fixing part is provided with at least one second post (post of 57), wherein said second spur gear is fixed on said gear fixing part through said second post and is meshed with said second gear part (see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11).
Regarding claim 7, Miyazawa discloses a first bearing (17) is arranged on said first transmission shaft (see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11), a second bearing (60) is arranged between said gear transmission shaft and said gear fixing part (see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11), and a third bearing (54) is arranged between said gear fixing part and said connecting part (see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11).
Regarding claim 8, Miyazawa discloses said gear transmission mechanism further comprises a spur internal gear (gear of 59), which is fixed in said gear box (61) through a foolproof post (post of 59), and said first gear transmission part (20) and said second gear transmission part (63) are meshed with said spur internal gear (see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11).
Regarding claim 9, Miyazawa discloses said cleaning component comprises a shower (11) and a brush head (51), wherein said shower is provided with a first internal thread (thread shown in Fig. 4-5, 7, and 9), and said main body shell is provided with a first external thread (thread shown in Fig. 4-5, 7, and 9), and said shower and said main body shell are fixedly connected through threads (see Fig. 4-5, 7, and 9), and a U-shaped washer (12) is arranged inside said shower (see Fig. 4-5, 7, and 9).
Regarding claim 10, Miyazawa discloses said brush head is provided with a first limiting groove (groove of 51) and a clamping hole (hole of 51), said connecting part is provided with a first limiting part (limiting part of 52) and a buckle (buckle of 52), said connecting part penetrates through said clamping hole (see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11), said buckle is connected and matched with said clamping hole (see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11), and said first limiting part is inserted and matched with said first limiting groove (see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11).
Regarding claim 11, Miyazawa discloses said brush head comprises one or more of a bathing brush head (51; ¶ 0061), a bathing mud cloth head and a peeling brush head.
Regarding claim 12, Miyazawa discloses said water outlet channel comprises a first water inlet (inlet near 28-29) and a second water inlet (inlet near 13), a handle (3) is connected to said water inlet channel (see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11), and a switch (91-96) for controlling the water outlet of said first water inlet is arranged on said handle (¶ 0034).
Regarding claim 13, Miyazawa discloses said handle is provided with a through hole (through hole of 3), said switch passes through said through hole (see Fig. 7-8), and a lower end (lower end of 28-29) of said water inlet channel is provided with a second external thread (thread shown in Fig. 7 and 9).
Regarding claim 14, Miyazawa discloses said switch comprises a switch lever (94) and a cap (92, 96), wherein said cap is arranged at both ends of said switch lever (see Fig. 7-8), and said switch lever is respectively provided with a first sealing plug (a first of 93) and a second sealing plug (a second of 93; see Fig. 7-8).
Regarding claim 15, Miyazawa discloses said main body shell further comprises a cover (14), and said cover is fixedly connected with said gear box through bolt connection (see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11), so that said driving component is fixed inside said main body shell (see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11), wherein at least one water outlet (25) is arranged on said cover, and a second protrusion (53) is arranged at the center of said cover (see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11), wherein said second protrusion has a hollow cylindrical structure (hollow cylindrical structure of 53), and said connecting part penetrates through said second protrusion and extends outwards to form a detachable connection with said cleaning component (see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11).
Regarding claim 16, Miyazawa discloses said first transmission shaft (19) is provided with a threaded hole (hole of 19), and said impeller is fixedly connected with said first transmission shaft through bolt connection (21), thus forming a transmission connection with said gear transmission mechanism (see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11).
Regarding claim 17, Miyazawa discloses said first transmission shaft is provided with a second limiting groove (groove of 19), and said impeller is internally provided with a second limiting part (limiting part of 16), and said second limiting groove and said second limiting part are mutually matched (see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11).
Regarding claim 18, Miyazawa discloses a hydrodynamic bathing shower, comprising:
a main body shell (2), a driving component (13, 15-21, 52-64) arranged inside said main body shell, and a cleaning component (11, 51) detachably attached to said main body shell (see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11); and
wherein, said driving component comprises a gear transmission mechanism (13, 15, 17-21, 53-64), an impeller (16) and a connecting part (52), wherein said gear transmission mechanism comprises at least one gear transmission part (20) and (a gear box 19, 61), and said gear transmission part is sleeved in said gear box (see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11), wherein said gear transmission part comprises at least one gear (gear of 20) and at least one gear transmission shaft (shaft of 20), wherein one end of said gear transmission shaft is fixedly connected with said impeller to form a transmission connection with said gear transmission mechanism (see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11), and the other end of said gear transmission shaft is provided with a connecting part (21), said gear transmission mechanism forms a transmission connection with said cleaning component through said connecting part (see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11); and
wherein, said main body shell is provided with at least one water inlet channel (channel of 28-29) and at least one water outlet channel (channel of 2 shown in Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11), and said impeller is arranged in said water outlet channel (see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11), wherein a water flow direction (flow direction of the channel of 28-29) of said water inlet channel faces blades of said impeller (see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11); and
wherein, when an external water source (water from 98; ¶ 0034) flows towards said water outlet channel through said water inlet channel (¶ 0034; see Fig. 4-5, 7, 9, and 11), said impeller will be driven to rotate by the water flow, thereby driving said cleaning component to rotate (¶ 0030-0032).
Regarding claim 19, Miyazawa discloses said main body shell and said driving component are both made of plastic (¶ 0057, 0061, 0064).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record in the PTO-892 form and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Alexander (US 20080083077) is directed to the state of the art as disclosing a water-operated wash brush with removable brush head including an impeller (30), a gear train (34), a casing (12), and a brush head (16).
WILLIAM R. KLOTZ
Examiner
Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754