DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations of claim 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 11, 13-16 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song et al. (US20230188059, hereinafter Song).
Regarding claim 1, Song discloses an apparatus (Fig. 6), comprising: a vibration member (500); an active vibration device (600) configured to vibrate the vibration member; and a passive vibration device (100) disposed at a periphery of the active vibration device and configured to generate electrical energy based on a deformation of the passive vibration device.
Regarding claim 2, the active vibration device and the passive vibration device are connected with a rear surface of the vibration member. (See Fig. 6, paragraph 0135)
Regarding claim 3, the passive vibration device is deformed by a vibration of the vibration member. (paragraph 0134)
Regarding claim 4, the active vibration device and the passive vibration device do not overlap with each other on the vibration member. Figs 6 and 8 do not show the active and passive vibration devices overlapping with each other on the vibration member.
Regarding claim 5, the passive vibration device comprises a plurality of passive vibration devices (100), and wherein at least a portion of a periphery of the active vibration device is surrounded by the plurality of passive vibration devices. See Fig. 7.
Regarding claim 6, the passive vibration device comprises at least one opening region (space between the elements 100), and wherein the active vibration device is disposed in the at least one opening region. See Figs. 6 and 7.
Regarding claim 7, Song discloses the invention as explained above but is silent regarding the electrical connection structure. It is the examiner’s position that the electrical connection must go through a region to connect the element. Therefore, the limitation is considered to be inherent and anticipated.
Regarding claim 8, Song discloses a supporting plate (710) covering at least a portion of each of the active vibration device and the passive vibration device.
Regarding claim 11, Song is silent regarding the structure of the active and passive vibration device. However, the structure of a piezoelectric element comprising a piezoelectric layer sandwiched between two electrodes is well known in the art of piezoelectric elements.
Regarding claim 13, the active vibration device and the passive vibration device comprise the same material or different materials.
Regarding claim 14, the active vibration device comprises an active vibration part between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer of the active vibration device, and wherein the passive vibration device comprises a passive vibration part between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer of the passive vibration device.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Song discloses the use of different piezoelectric materials including PDVF.
Regarding claim 22, Song discloses the display panel in Fig. 5 and its description.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song.
Regarding claim 12, Song discloses the invention as explained above but fails to explicitly the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer of the active vibration device are electrically disconnected with the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer of the passive vibration device. The examiner takes Official Notice that the electrical connections would have been a matter of design choice and the electric circuit designed as necessitated by the specific requirements of the particular application. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer of the active vibration device are electrically disconnected with the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer of the passive vibration device as necessitated by the specific requirements of the particular application.
Regarding claim 17, Song discloses the invention as explained above but fails to explicitly disclose at least one of the active vibration part and the passive vibration part comprising: a plurality of inorganic material portions having a piezoelectric characteristic; and an organic material portion disposed between the plurality of inorganic material portions. Selection from among known, suitable materials has long been held to be within the skill expected of the routineer and therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide organic and inorganic portions as necessitated by the specific requirements of the particular application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9-10 and 18-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wang discloses a display comprising a piezoelectric element that produces sound or converts vibration into electrical energy.
/J. San Martin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837