DETAILED ACTION
Specification- Title
The tile amendment, see page 8, filed on 1/14/2026, has considered and enter to the record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9-10, filed 1/14/2026, with respect to title objection has been fully considered and are persuasive since the title has been amended. The objection of the tile has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10-12, filed 1/14/2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejection of claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive since the claims are being amended accordingly. The rejection of claims 1-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 12-15, filed 1/14/2026, with respect to prior art rejection of amended claim(s) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1-3, 5, 7-15, 17-21, the applicant argued that, “…
The Applicant respectfully submits that Khoshnevisan fails to disclose or teach or suggest at least the following limitation of amended claim 1…the second indication information comprises first resource indication information and second resource indication information; wherein when the target SRS resource set comprises the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set, the first resource indication information is used to determine the target SRS resource in the first SRS resource set, and the second resource indication information …
According to column 20 lines 43-49 and column 21 lines 1-23 of Khoshnevisan, it can be known that: the composition of the SRI field of the control information is as follows: 1 (i.e., a mode indication bit) + max(X, Y) (i.e., resource indication bits). Here, the "1" bit in the SRI field is to indicate the first mode (one SRS resource set) or the second mode (two SRS resource sets), the value "X" in the SRI field is the number of bits that indicate the SRS resource(s) within one SRS resource set, and the value of "Y" in the SRI field is the number of bits that indicate the SRS resource(s) within the first SRS resource set plus the number of bits that indicate the SRS resource(s) within the second SRS resource set. That is, the remaining bits in the SRI field are used to indicate resources within one or two SRS resource sets. It clearly follows that, in Khoshnevisan, resources within one or two SRS resource sets are all indicated through the bit configuration within one single SRI field. Moreover, According to column 22 lines 24-33, Khoshnevisan discloses that a joint indication of SRS resources within one or more SRS resource sets via joint coding within one single SRI field.
In summary, it can be seen that, in Khoshnevisan, the SRS resources in two SRS resource sets and the SRS resource in one SRS resource set are implemented by designing different bit configurations or joint coding schemes within one SRI field. Instead of indicating two resource sets by two SRI field. In other words, the technical solution for implementing resource indication of two resource sets by means of integral indication information is disclosed, whereas the indication logic in which two independent resource indications are in one-to-one correspondence with two SRS resource sets is not disclosed.” in page 12-15.
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
The claim only recites broad limitations such as “indication information” or “indicating” regarding SRS, there is no “SRI bit”, “SRI field” nor any specific arrangement of SRI bit(s) or field(s). Accordingly, the claims are constructed based on broadly claimed features and functions in light of the specification.
In response applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., bit, field , SRI field), are not recited in the rejected claim(s). In other word, although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims1.
Indeed, Khoshnevisan clearly anticipate the amended claims. In particular, Khoshnevisan discloses the second indication information (see FIG. 2, control information 225) comprises first resource indication information and second resource indication information (see col. 19 , line 1 to col. 23, line 2; X number for bit identify resource information and Y number of bits identify resource information); wherein when the target SRS resource set comprises the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set (see FIG. 2, 4, one or more/multiple configured/targeted SRS resources set include first SRS resource set and second/more SRS resources set; see col. 20, line 45-65; col. 24, line 46 to col. 25, line 5), the first resource indication information is used to determine the target SRS resource in the first SRS resource set (see col. 19, line 1 to col. 23, line 2; X number of bits identifies the configured/targeted SRS resource in first SRS resource set in a first mode), and the second resource indication information is used to determine the target SRS resource in the second SRS resource set (see col. 19, line 1 to col. 23, line 2; Y number of bits identifies the configured/targeted SRS resource in more/second SRS resource set in a second mode).
Regarding Khoshnevisan’s one single SRI field argument, the claim recites second “Indication information” comprises first resource “indication information” and second resource “indication information”, and the action asserts as X number of bit identify resource information and Y number of bits identify resource information, respectively. Clearly, X number and Y number are “indication information” which indicates, show or identifies the configured/targeted SRS resource in configured/targeted SRS resource. Thus, Khoshnevisan anticipates the broadly claim’s “function” of the claim, and the arguments regarding two single SRI bit field, detail /specific field(s), bit(s), or the like is immaterial since these argued limitations are limitations are not recited in the claim themselves, see examiner’s response Supra III.
Moreover, new claim 21 is added to recites first and second SRI fields, and such feature is also known in the 3GPP TSG RAN standard2 as showed in §2.2.1 and Table 2 as SRI bit field enhancement, Huawei-HiSilicon, as set forth below in the detailed action, Id. ¶10.
In view of the above, it is clear that Khoshnevisan still anticipate the amended claims 1, 11 and 12, and rejection are hereby sustained.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 1/14/2026, with respect to amended claims 6 and 16 have been fully considered persuasive and rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9-15, 17, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Khoshnevisan (US 11728947, as evidenced by provisional application 63/1312893).
Regarding Claims 1 and 11, Khoshnevisan discloses a terminal device (see FIG. 2, 5, 9, UE 115-a, FIG. 9, UE 905), performing an SRS resources indication method for an uplink transmission, comprising:
a processor (see FIG. 9, processor 940; see col. 31, line 25-36, see col. 32, line 23-33), and
a memory (see FIG. 9, memory 930) having a computer program stored thereon, wherein the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored on the memory (see col. 31, line 35-40, see col. 32, line 7-20, 26-40), to perform:
receiving Downlink Control Information ‘DCI’ transmitted by a network device (see FIG. 5, S530; receiving DCI transmitted by network work device 105-c/105-d; see col. 26, line 16-22; also see FIG. 2, DCI 205 transmitted for network device 105-a; see col. 20, line 30-35), the DCI being used to schedule the terminal device to transmit an uplink transmission (see FIG. 2, 3, 4, 5, DCI 205 include scheduling information for the UE to transmit uplink communication; see col. 24, line 24-26, 36-10, 43-50), and the DCI comprising first indication information (see FIG. 2, SRI field with configuration information 220) and second indication information (see FIG. 2, SRI field with control information 225; see col. 20 , line 45 to col. 23, line 20),
wherein the first indication information indicates a target Sounding Reference Signal ‘SRS’ resource set corresponding to the uplink transmission (see FIG. 2, SRI’s configuration information 220 indicates one or more/multiple configured/targeted SRS resources sets; see col. 20, line 45-65; also see FIG. 4, SRI 410; see col. 24, line 46 to see col. 25, line 5), the target SRS resource set comprising at least one of a first SRS resource set or a second SRS resource set (see FIG. 2, 4, one or more/multiple configured/targeted SRS resources sets include first SRS resource set 415 or second SRS resources set 420; see col. 20, line 45-65; see col. 24, line 46 to see col. 25, line 5 ), and
the target SRS resource set being a SRS resource set corresponding to the uplink transmission ( see FIG. 2, 4, the configured/targeted SRS resources set is an SRS resource set included in DCI 405 to transmit uplink communication; see col. 20, line 45-65; see col. 24, line 46 to see col. 25, line 5) when the uplink transmission is transmitted to a Single Transmission Receive Point ‘STRP’ or a Multi Transmission Receive Point ‘MTRP’ (see FIG. 2, 4; when uplink communication from UE to one/single TRP or multiple TRPs (TRR-1 vs TRP 1-2); see col. 24, line 25 to see col. 25, line 5, 50-65; also see col. 19, line 55-65, col. 20, line 5-35); and
the second indication information is used to determine a target SRS resource corresponding to the uplink transmission in the target SRS resource set (see FIG. 2, SRI field with control information 225 indicate mode/information to determine configured/targeted SRS resource to the uplink communication in the configured/targeted SRS resource set (e.g. 415/420); see col. 20 , line 45 to col. 23, line 65);
the second indication information (see FIG. 2, control information 225) comprises first resource indication information and second resource indication information (see col. 19 , line 1 to col. 23, line 2; X number for bit identify resource information and Y number of bits identify resource information);
wherein when the target SRS resource set comprises the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set (see FIG. 2, 4, one or more/multiple configured/targeted SRS resources set include first SRS resource set and second/more SRS resources set; see col. 20, line 45-65; col. 24, line 46 to col. 25, line 5),
the first resource indication information is used to determine the target SRS resource in the first SRS resource set (see col. 19, line 1 to col. 23, line 2; X number of bits identifies the configured/targeted SRS resource in first SRS resource set in a first mode), and
the second resource indication information is used to determine the target SRS resource in the second SRS resource set (see col. 19, line 1 to col. 23, line 2; Y number of bits identifies the configured/targeted SRS resource in more/second SRS resource set in a second mode).
Regarding Claim 12, Khoshnevisan discloses a network device (see FIG. 2, 5, Base station 105-a/b), comprising:
a processor (see FIG. 13, processor 1340), and
a memory (see FIG. 13, memory 1330) having a computer program stored thereon, wherein the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored on the memory, (see col. 38, line 56 to col. 30, line 20) to perform:
transmitting Downlink Control Information ‘DCI’ to a terminal device (see FIG. 5, S530; transmitting DCI to UE 115-a/b ; see col. 26, line 16-22; also see FIG. 2, DCI 205 transmitted for network device 105-a; col. 20, line 30-35), the DCI being used to schedule the terminal device to transmit an uplink transmission (see FIG. 2, 3, 4, 5, DCI 205 include scheduling information for the UE to transmit uplink communication; see col. 24, line 24-26, 36-10, 43-50), and the DCI comprising first indication information (see FIG. 2, SRI field with configuration information 220) and second indication information (see FIG. 2, SRI field with control information 225; see col. 20 , line 45 to col. 23, line 20),
wherein the first indication information indicates a target Sounding Reference Signal ‘SRS’ resource set corresponding to the uplink transmission (see FIG. 2, SRI’s configuration information 220 indicates one or more/multiple configured/targeted SRS resources sets; see col. 20, line 45-65; also see FIG. 4, SRI 410; col. 24, line 46 to col. 25, line 5), the target SRS resource set comprising at least one of a first SRS resource set and a second SRS resource set (see FIG. 2, 4, one or more/multiple configured/targeted SRS resources sets include first SRS resource set 415 or second SRS resources set 420; see col. 20, line 45-65; col. 24, line 46 to col. 25, line 5 ), and
the target SRS resource set being a SRS resource set corresponding to the uplink transmission ( see FIG. 2, 4, the configured/targeted SRS resources set is an SRS resource set included in DCI 405 to transmit uplink communication; see col. 20, line 45-65; col. 24, line 46 to col. 25, line 5) when the uplink transmission is transmitted to a Single Transmission Receive Point ‘STRP’ or a Multi Transmission Receive Point ‘MTRP’ (see FIG. 2, 4; when uplink communication from UE to one/single TRP or multiple TRPs (TRR-1 vs TRP 1-2); see col. 24, line 25 to col. 25, line 5, 50-65; also see col. 19, line 55-65, col. 20, line 5-35); and
the second indication information is used to determine a target SRS resource corresponding to the uplink transmission in the target SRS resource set (see FIG. 2, SRI field with control information 225 indicate mode/information to determine configured/targeted SRS resource to the uplink communication in the configured/targeted SRS resource set (e.g. 415/420); see col. 20 , line 45 to col. 23, line 65);
the second indication information (see FIG. 2, control information 225) comprises first resource indication information and second resource indication information (see col. 19 , line 1 to col. 23, line 2; X number for bit identify resource information and Y number of bits identify resource information);
wherein when the target SRS resource set comprises the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set (see FIG. 2, 4, one or more/multiple configured/targeted SRS resources set include first SRS resource set and second/more SRS resources set; see col. 20, line 45-65; col. 24, line 46 to col. 25, line 5),
the first resource indication information is used to determine the target SRS resource in the first SRS resource set (see col. 19, line 1 to col. 23, line 2; X number of bits identifies the configured/targeted SRS resource in first SRS resource set in a first mode), and
the second resource indication information is used to determine the target SRS resource in the second SRS resource set (see col. 19, line 1 to col. 23, line 2; Y number of bits identifies the configured/targeted SRS resource in more/second SRS resource set in a second mode).
Regarding Claims 2 and 13, Khoshnevisan discloses wherein a number of SRS resource sets in the target SRS resource set indicates that a target Transmission Receive Point “TRP’ of the uplink transmission is the STRP or the MTRP (see FIG. 2, 3, 5; the number of SRS resources sets in the configured/targeted SRS resource set indicates corresponding TRPs (i.e. a single SRS resources set is used for a single TRP and two SRS resources set are configuration for multiple/two TRPs); see col. 10, line 4-15, 19-29, 55-60, col. 24, line 25-37, 46-50; col. 25, line 55-65).
Regarding Claims 3 and 14, Khoshnevisan discloses wherein when the target SRS resource set comprises one SRS resource set (see col. 20 , line 45 to col. 23, line 65; when configured/targeted SRS resource set is first/second SRS resource set 415/420) , the first resource indication information is used to determine the target SRS resource in the target SRS resource set (see col. 21, line 1 to col. 23, line 2; X number of bit which identify resources is used to determine configured/targeted SRS resources in configured/targeted SRS resource set; see col. 20, line 45-65; col. 24, line 46 to col. 25, line 5).
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, Khoshnevisan discloses wherein a number of bits (see FIG. 2, 4, X number of bits) occupied by the first resource indication information (see FIG. 2, 4, identifies by first SRS resource) is determined according to at least one of:
a transmission mode configured by the network device (see FIG. 2, 4, is determined/configured by the BS’s DCI as a first mode; see col. 21, line 1 to col. 23, line 2).
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, Khoshnevisan discloses the first resource indication information corresponding to the first SRS resource set (see col. 21, line 1 to col. 23, line 2; X number of bits identifies first/one SRS resource set), and
the second resource indication information corresponding to the second SRS resource set (see col. 21, line 1 to col. 23, line 2; Y number of bits identifies multiple/more/second SRS resource set),
wherein the first resource indication information is used to determine the target SRS resource in the first SRS resource set (see col. 21, line 1 to col. 23, line 2; X number of bits identifies the configured/targeted SRS resource in first SRS resource set in a first mode), and
the second resource indication information is used to determine the target SRS resource in the second SRS resource set (see col. 21, line 1 to col. 23, line 2; Y number of bits identifies the configured/targeted SRS resource in more/second SRS resource set in a second mode).
the second resource indication information is used to determine the target SRS resource in the second SRS resource set (see col. 21, line 1 to col. 23, line 2; Y number of bits identifies the configured/targeted SRS resource in more/second SRS resource set in a second mode).
Regarding Claims 9 and 19, Khoshnevisan discloses when the target SRS resource set comprises one SRS resource set (see col. 20 , line 45 to col. 23, line 65; when configured/targeted SRS resource set is first/second SRS resource set 415/420), the first resource indication information is used to determine layer information of the uplink transmission (see col. 9, line 25 to col. 10, line 34; col. 21, line 1-25; X number of bits which identify resources in SRI field is used to configure/determine layer information (e.g. rank, number of layers, etc.) of uplink communication ) and the target SRS resource corresponding to the uplink transmission in the target SRS resource set (see col. 21, line 1 to col. 23, line 2; X number of bit which identify resources is used to determine configured/targeted SRS resources in configured/targeted SRS resource set; see col. 20, line 45-65; col. 24, line 46 to col. 25, line 5).
Regarding Claims 10 and 20, Khoshnevisan discloses wherein the first resource indication information is carried in a first SRS resource indicator field (see col. 19, line 1 to col. 23, line 2; X number of bits indicates resources information carried within X/first bits of SRI field ), and
the second resource indication information is carried in a second SRS resource indicator field (see col. 19, line 1 to col. 23, line 2; Y number of bits indicates resources information carried within Y/second bits of SRI field ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view of Huawei-HiSilicon (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 meeting #104-e, R1-2100209 provided in IDS).
Regarding Claims 8 and 18, Khoshnevisan discloses the network device configures a codebook-based transmission mode (see col. 9, line 16-21, codebook PUSCH transmission) and a number of bits occupied by a first SRS Resource Indicator ‘SRI’ field is determined according to [ log2 N1] and a number of bits occupied by a second SRI field is determined according to [ log2 N2 ] (see col. 21, line 1 to col. 23, line 2; the number of bits in DCI’s first SRI field is determined according to N1 resources in i.e. X= [log2 … N1 ] and the number of bits in DCI’s second SRI field is determined according to N2 resources in i.e. Y= [log2 … N2]; also see col. 23, line 1 to col. 24, line 2).
Although Khoshnevisan discloses the network device configures a codebook-based transmission mode and a number of bits occupied by a first SRS Resource Indicator ‘SRI’ field is determined according to [ log2 N] as set forth above,
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose “when” the network device configures a codebook-based transmission mode. [Emphasis added]
However, Huawei-HiSilicon teaches wherein when the network device configures a codebook-based transmission mode, a number of bits occupied by a first SRI field is determined and a number of bits occupied by a second SRI field is determined (§2.1.3.3, 2.2.1; Table 2: when gNB configures codebook base transmission, the number of bits for first SRI field is determined for one SRS resources set in single-TRP; and the number bits for second/enhanced SRI filed is determined for second SRS resources set in multi-TRP is determined (in table 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “when” the network device configures a codebook-based transmission mode as taught by Huawei-HiSilicon in the system of Khoshnevisan, so that it provide reliable and robust enhancement in mutlti-TRP transmission; see Huawei-HiSilicon §1-2.
Regarding Claim 21, Khoshnevisan discloses wherein the first SRS resource indicator field and the second SRS resource indicator field are in the DCI (see col. 9, line 22-37, 50-57; see col. 10, line 4-10, 27-35, 45-50; see col. 19, line 1 to col. 23, line 2; X number of bits indicates resources information carried within X/first bits of SRI field and Y number of bits indicates resources information carried within Y/second bits of SRI field are in DCI; and also see FIG. 2).
Although Khoshnevisan discloses wherein the first SRS resource indicator field in the DCI, and the second SRS resource indicator field is in the DCI as set forth above,
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose wherein the “first” SRS resource indicator field is a “first” SRS resource indicator field “in the DCI”, and the “second” SRS resource indicator field is a “second” SRS resource indicator field “in the DCI” [Emphasis added]
However, Huawei-HiSilicon teaches wherein the first SRS resource indicator field is a first SRS resource indicator field in the DCI, and the second SRS resource indicator field is a second SRS resource indicator field in the DCI (see §2.1.3.3 and 2.2.1; Table 2: when gNB configures codebook base transmission, the number of bits for first SRI field is determined for one SRS resources set in single-TRP in DCI; and the number bits for second/enhanced SRI filed is determined for second SRS resources set in multi-TRP in DCI (i.e.,, enhanced bit fields of SRI)_
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the “first” SRS resource indicator field is a “first” SRS resource indicator field “in the DCI”, and the “second” SRS resource indicator field is a “second” SRS resource indicator field “in the DCI” as taught by Huawei-HiSilicon in the system of Khoshnevisan, so that it provide reliable and robust enhancement in multi-TRP transmission; see Huawei-HiSilicon §1-2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
IAN N. MOORE
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/Ian N Moore/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2469
1 See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
2 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 meeting #104-e, R1-2100209 provided in IDS
3 See FIG. 3-5, 9, 13; see ¶80-108, 130-135, 159-165 where entire disclosure of corresponds to US Patent 11,728,947