Response to Amendment
The amendments to the specifications as shown on page 2 of the applicant’s response with the purpose of fixing minor errors have been acknowledged and are accepted.
The amendments to claim 1 with the purpose of overcoming the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection are acknowledged and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilbert et al. (US 20020072223 A1) in view of Beecher et al. (US 20140084352 A1) and further in view of Cho et al. (US 20100155889 A1).
Regarding claim 1, FIG. 1 of Gilbert teaches a method of fabricating a capacitor (125; FIG. 1; paragraph 0037), comprising the following successive steps of:
forming a stack including, in order from the top face of a first conductive layer (122; FIG. 1; paragraph 0037), a first electrode (124; FIG. 1; paragraph 0038), a dielectric layer (126; FIG. 1; paragraph 0039), a second electrode (128; FIG. 1; paragraph 0040), and a second conductive layer (130; FIG. 1; paragraph 0040); and
b) forming a masking layer (132; FIG. 1; paragraph 0041) on a face of the second conductive layer opposite to the second electrode;
c) etching by a chlorinated physicochemical plasma etching, through said masking layer, a top part of the stack (paragraph 0072) wherein the top part of the stack comprises the second conductive layer, the second electrode, and a top part of the dielectric layer
d) etching by a fluorinated physicochemical plasma etching, through said masking layer, a bottom part of the stack, said fluorinated physicochemical plasma etching being stopped on the top face of the first conductive layer (paragraph 0072), wherein the bottom part of the stack comprises the bottom part of the dielectric layer and the first electrode.
e) cleaning the etched sides by a cleaning method (paragraph 0074).
Gilbert et al. does not teach the method involving forming the masking layer by photolithography, said chlorinated physicochemical plasma etching being stopped within the dielectric layer and leaving a bottom part of the dielectric layer, and removing the masking layer by a stripping method.
Beecher et al. teaches during a photolithography process, a photoresist layer (42; FIG.1 paragraph 0022) is formed on an upper surface (40a; FIG. 1; paragraph 0022) of a metallic layer (40; FIG. 1; paragraph 0016) and may function as an etch mask during a subsequent etch, the etch chemistry of the plasma for removing the exposed portions of the layers down to the insulator layer (38; FIG. 1; paragraph 0017) during patterning is a chlorine-based chemistry (paragraph 0023), and the photoresist layer is removed by, for example, solvent stripping (paragraph 0024). Beecher et al. does not teach leaving a bottom part of the dielectric layer.
FIG. 2B of Cho et al. teaches partially etching a first dielectric layer pattern (204A; FIG. 2B; paragraph 0034).
Gilbert et al., Beecher et al., and Cho et al. are all analogous to the claimed invention in that they involve capacitor stacks that are modified with etching. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gilbert et al. to have a photolithographed masking layer that is stripped off and using chlorinated plasma etching down to the dielectric layer. Photolithography is known to form photoresist etch masks (Beecher et al., paragraph 0022), which can be used with chlorine-based plasma etching to selectively etch layers (Beecher et al., paragraph 0023), with the etched dielectric layer being a known pattern (Cho et al., paragraph 0034).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Glibert et al. in view of Beecher et al. and further in view of Cho et al. teach the method according to claim 1. FIG. 1 of Gilbert et al. further teaches the first conductive layer (122; FIG. 1; paragraph 0037) is an aluminum-based layer.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Gilbert et al. in view of Beecher et al. and further in view of Cho et al. teach the method according to claim 1. FIG. 1 of Gilbert et al. further teaches the second conductive layer is an aluminum-based layer.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Glibert et al. in view of Beecher et al. and further in view of Cho et al. teach the method according to claim 1. Gilbert et al. and Beecher et al. do not teach in step c), chlorine and boron trichloride are injected in the plasma source.
FIG. 2B of Cho et al. teaches the chlorine based etching gas able to consist of a combination of chloride and boron trichloride (paragraph 0034).
it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gilbert et al. to use both chlorine and boron trichloride for etching. These are preferred chemicals for usage in top layer and dielectric etching (paragraph 0034).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Gilbert et al. in view of Beecher et al. and further in view of Cho et al. teach the method according to claim 1. FIG. 1 of Gilbert et al. further teaches wherein in step e), the cleaning method (paragraph 0045) comprises the cleaning of the top face and of the sides of the second conductive layer (132; FIG. 1; paragraph 0041), of the sides of the second electrode (128; 130; FIG. 1; paragraph 0040), of the dielectric layer (126; FIG. 1; paragraph 0039), of the first electrode (124; FIG. 1; paragraph 0038), and of the top face of the first conductive layer (122; FIG. 1; paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Gilbert et al. in view of Beecher et al. and further in view of Cho et al. teach the method according to claim 10. Neither Gilbert et al. nor Beecher et al. teach wherein the step of stripping is performed by a physicochemical plasma etching.
FIG. 7B of Cho et al. teaches that stripping an etch mask (306A; FIG 7B; paragraph 0054) is done using and oxygen plasma (paragraph 0054)
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gilbert et al. so that the step of stripping is performed by a physicochemical plasma etching. This is a known method of stripping masking (paragraph 0054).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Gilbert et al. in view of Beecher et al. and Cho et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kamogawa et al. (US 20230142791 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Glibert et al. in view of Beecher et al. and further in view of Cho et al. teach the method according to claim 4. Neither Gilbert et al., Beecher et al., nor Cho et al. teach wherein in step c), the chlorine is injected at a rate comprised between 50 sccm and 120 sccm, for example in the order of 80 sccm, and the boron trichloride is injected at a rate comprised between 20 sccm and 100 sccm, for example in the order of 50 sccm.
Kamagowa et al. teaches that the chlorine and boron trichloride mixture has a gas flow rate of 55 sccm (paragraph 0180).
Gilbert et al., Beecher et al., Cho et al., and Kamogawa et al. are analogous to the claimed invention in that they involve plasma etching treatments for layers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gilbert et al. so the chlorine is injected at a rate comprised between 50 sccm and 120 sccm and the boron trichloride is injected at a rate comprised between 20 sccm and 100 sccm. These are preferred parameters for dry etching (paragraph 0102, paragraph 0180).
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Gilbert et al. in view of Beecher et al. and Cho et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Isa (US 20110204364 A1).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Gilbert et al. in view of Beecher et al. and further in view of Cho et al. teach the method according to claim 1. Neither Gilbert et al., Beecher et al., nor Cho et al. teach wherein in step c), the plasma pressure is comprised between 1.33 Pa and 6.67 Pa, for example in the order of 2 Pa, the source power is comprised between 150 W and 800 W, for example in the order of 400 W, and the biasing power is comprised between 50 W and 500 W, for example comprised between 150 W and 300 W.
Isa teaches performing etchings where the inductively coupled plasma (ICP) power was 500 W, the bias power was 50 W, the pressure was 2.0 Pa (paragraph 0177).
Gilbert et al., Beecher et al., Cho et al., and Isa are analogous to the claimed invention in that they involve plasma etching treatments for layers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gilbert et al. to have wherein in step c), the plasma pressure is comprised between 1.33 Pa and 6.67 Pa, the source power is comprised between 150 W and 800 W, and the biasing power is comprised between 50 W and 500 W. This is a known etching condition used for these layers (paragraph 0177).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Gilbert et al. in view of Beecher et al. and further in view of Cho et al. teach the method according to claim 1. Neither Gilbert et al., Beecher et al., nor Cho et al. teach wherein in step c), the plasma pressure is comprised between 0.67 Pa and 6.67 Pa, for example in the order of 1.33 Pa, the source power is comprised between 150 W and 800 W, for example in the order of 400 W, and the biasing power is comprised between 20 W and 500 W, for example in the order of 50 W.
Isa teaches performing etchings where the inductively coupled plasma (ICP) power was 500 W, the bias power was 50 W, the pressure was 2.0 Pa (paragraph 0177).
Gilbert et al., Beecher et al., Cho et al., and Isa are analogous to the claimed invention in that they involve plasma etching treatments for layers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gilbert et al. to have wherein in step c), the plasma pressure is comprised between 0.67 Pa and 6.67 Pa, the source power is comprised between 150 W and 800 W, and the biasing power is comprised between 20 W and 500 W. This is a known etching condition used for these layers (paragraph 0177).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Gilbert et al. in view of Beecher et al. and Cho et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ma et al. (US 4855247 A).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Gilbert et al. in view of Beecher et al. and further in view of Cho et al. teach the method according to claim 1. Neither Gilbert et al., Beecher et al., nor Cho et al. teach wherein in step d), sulfur hexafluoride and argon are injected in the plasma source.
Ma et al. teaches an etch process including a gas flow of 10 sccm of argon and 60 sccm of sulfur hexafluoride (column 4, lines 64-67).
Gilbert et al., Beecher et al., Cho et al., and Ma et al. are all analogous to the claimed invention in that they involve etching compounds. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gilbert et al. to have sulfur hexafluoride and argon injected in the plasma source. This gives the etch a low oxide rate (column 4, lines 59-60).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Gilbert et al. in view of Beecher et al. and Cho et al. and in further view of Ma et al. teach the method according to claim 7. Neither Gilbert et al., Beecher et al., nor Cho et al. teach wherein in step d), the sulfur hexafluoride is injected at a rate comprised between 20 sccm and 80 sccm, for example in the order of 50 sccm, and argon is injected at a rate comprised between 10 sccm and 100 sccm, for example in the order of 20 sccm.
Ma et al. teaches an etch process including a gas flow of 10 sccm of argon and 60 sccm of sulfur hexafluoride (column 4, lines 64-67).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gilbert et al. to have the aforementioned injection rates. These are known flow rates for the gasses (column 4, line 67).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Gilbert et al. in view of Beecher et al. and Cho et al. as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Komatsu et al. (US 20120052637 A1).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Gilbert et al. in view of Beecher et al. and further in view of Cho et al. teach the method according to claim 11. Neither Gilbert et al., Beecher et al., nor Cho et al. teach wherein in the step of stripping, dioxygen and water vapor are injected in the plasma source.
Komatsu et al. teaches when oxygen or water vapor are used as the plasma, the resist recedes by plasma irradiation, so that a resist mask (115a; FIG. 7B; paragraph 0159) which is smaller than the resist mask (115; FIG. 7A; paragraph 0159) is formed.
Gilbert et al, Beecher et al., Cho et al., and Komatsu et al. are analogous to the claimed invention in that they involve methods of etching layers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gilbert et al. so that dioxygen and water vapor are injected in the plasma source in the step of stripping. This is a known method of stripping masking (paragraph 0159).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Gilbert et al. in view of Beecher et al. and Cho et al. and in further view of Komatsu et al. teach the method according to claim 12. Neither Gilbert et al., Beecher et al., nor Cho et al. teach wherein in the step of stripping, the dioxygen is injected at a rate comprised between 700 sccm and 1000 sccm, for example in the order of 810 sccm, and the water vapour is injected at a rate comprised between 50 sccm and 700 sccm, for example in the order of 90 sccm or in the order of 630 sccm.
Komatsu et al. teaches water vapor being introduced at a flow rate of 300 sccm (paragraph 0281) and oxygen being introduced at a flow rate of 100 sccm (paragraph 0263).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gilbert et al. to have dioxygen injected at a rate comprised between 700 sccm and 1000 sccm and the water vapour injected at a rate comprised between 50 sccm and 700 sccm. The ordinary artisan would have recognized the oxygen flow rate to be a result effective variable affecting stripping of the mask layer (paragraph 0159). Thus, it would have been obvious to set the flow rate within the claimed range, since optimum or workable ranges of such variables are discoverable through routine experimentation. see MPEP 2144.05 II.B.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Gilbert et al. in view of Beecher et al. and Cho et al. and in further view of Komatsu et al. teach the method according to claim 11. Neither Gilbert et al., Beecher et al., nor Cho et al. teach wherein in the step of stripping, the plasma pressure is comprised between 80 Pa and 133.32 Pa, for example comprised between 100 Pa and 120 Pa and the RF power is comprised between 800 W and 1500 W, for example in the order of 1100 W.
Komatsu et al. teaches that the pressure and source power for the oxygen injection are .67 Pa and 2000 W respectively while the pressure and source for the water vapor injection are 66.6 Pa and 1800 W respectively. However, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the power and plasma pressure to be result effective variables affecting the stripping of the masking layer (paragraph 0159). Thus, it would have been obvious to have the plasma pressure and RF power of the masking layer stripping within the claimed range, since optimum or workable ranges of such variables are discoverable through routine experimentation. see MPEP 2144.05 II.B.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilbert et al. in view of Beecher et al. and Cho et al. as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20100043823 A1).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Gilbert et al. in view of Beecher et al. and further in view of Cho et al. teach the method according to claim 10. Neither Gilbert et al., Beecher et al., nor Cho et al. teach, wherein the step of cleaning is performed using a solvent based on 2-(2- aminoethoxy)ethanol and on hydroxylamine.
Lee et al. teaches making a cleaning solution out of compounds in including 2-(2- aminoethoxy)ethanol and hydrogylamine (paragraph 0031, paragraph 0032).
Gilbert et al., Beecher et al., Cho et al., and Lee et al. are analogous to the claimed invention in that they involve chemical solutions meant to clean etchings. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gilbert et al. so that the step of cleaning is performed using a solvent based on 2-(2- aminoethoxy)ethanol and on hydroxylamine. Alkanolamine and ammonium components are known to be part of cleaning solutions (paragraph 0031).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Gilbert et al. in view of Beecher et al. and Cho et al. and in further view of Lee et al. teach the method according to claim 15. Neither Gilbert et al., Beecher et al., nor Cho et al. teach wherein the content of 2-(2-aminoethoxy)ethanol in the solvent is comprised between 55% and 65% and the content of hydroxylamine is comprised between 10% and 20%, wherein each % is % weight.
Lee et al. teaches a hydroxylamine derivative present in an amount from about 0.3% to about 45% by weight (paragraph 0031) while 2-(2-aminoethoxy)ethanol can be from about 0.3% to about 65% by weight (paragraph 0032).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gilbert et al. to have the corresponding percentage weights of the compounds. These are known percentages when constructing the solution (paragraph 0031; paragraph 0032).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claim 1 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Park et al. (US 6144060 A) concerns an integrated circuit device of stacked layers, including a dielectric layer. Guhabiswas et al. (US 11832451 B1) concerns methods for fabricating non lead-based perovskite capacitors.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB ALEXANDER VLCEK/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/RATISHA MEHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817