DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 10/21/2025 has been entered. Claims 8-27 remain pending the application. Claims 15-21 are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 6-7 that creating a more uniform field would prevent an electromagnetic tracking system from functioning. The Examiner respectfully disagrees, Huber does not state that a non-uniform magnetic field is required and an attorney’s arguments are not evidence. See MPEP 2145. A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that having a uniform magnetic field because the consistent nature of the field allows for a more accurate determination of the tracked object’s position and orientation (pose) relative to the field generator. It minimizes systematic errors that would otherwise arise from variations in field strength or direction at different locations. Accordingly this argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 7-8 that Yang is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Yang is interested in generating more uniform magnetic fields, so a person having ordinary skill in the art interested in generating a uniform magnetic field would look to Yang. In other words, there is analogous purpose. Accordingly this argument is not persuasive.
Applicant repeats their arguments on page 8 with respect to claim 22. The Examiner respectfully disagrees for the same reasons outlined above. Accordingly this argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that in Yang the windings are not necessarily connected to the input and output traces even though they are recited as being wired in parallel. The Examiner respectfully disagrees, Yang explicitly discloses that the winds are wired in parallel and a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that in a parallel circuit all components share the same electrical nodes. That is the basic definition of a parallel circuit. The Examiner did not take official notice and reminds the Applicant that the technology is from the point of a view of someone having ordinary skill in the art. Accordingly this argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber et al. (US20100305427, hereafter Huber) and Yang et al. (Parallel connected transmitting coil for achieving uniform magnetic field distribution in WPT, 2015 IEEE 16th International Conference on Communication Technology (ICCT), Hangzhou, 2015, pp. 529-532, doi: 10.1109/ICCT.2015.7399893, hereafter Yang).
Regarding claim 8, Huber discloses an apparatus for generating a magnetic field for tracking of an object within an area of interest (Huber, Para 27; “In an exemplary embodiment, the at least one magnetoresistance sensor 12 and the magnetoresistance reference sensors 16, 22 may be configured as magnetic field receivers, and the planar sensor array 24 may be configured as a magnetic field transmitter (generator) for creating at least one magnetic field around the table 26 and the patient 18. The at least one device 14 may be moved relative to the magnetoresistance reference sensors 16, 22 and the planar sensor array 24 within the volume of the at least one magnetic field. In this embodiment, the planar sensor array 24 generates at least one magnetic field that is detected by the at least one magnetoresistance sensor 12 and the magnetoresistance reference sensors 16, 22 resulting in magnetic field measurements”), the apparatus comprising:
a substrate (substrate 64); and
a magnetic field transmitting element (planar sensor array 24 or 60) (Huber, Para 44; “The planar sensor array 60 may be implemented as the planar sensor array 24 shown in FIG. 1. T”) configured to emit the magnetic field in the area of interest, the magnetic field transmitting element including:
a plurality of partial windings (sensor coils 62) extending across a common plane (Huber, Para 45; “The planar sensor array 60 includes a plurality of planar sensor coils 62 formed on or within at least one substrate 64”) (Huber, Para 44; “FIG. 3 illustrates a top view of an exemplary embodiment of a planar sensor array 60. [...] The planar sensor array 60 may be an electromagnetic planar transmitter or receiver coil array.”) (Huber, Para 27; “In an exemplary embodiment, the at least one magnetoresistance sensor 12 and the magnetoresistance reference sensors 16, 22 may be configured as magnetic field receivers, and the planar sensor array 24 may be configured as a magnetic field transmitter (generator) for creating at least one magnetic field around the table 26 and the patient 18. The at least one device 14 may be moved relative to the magnetoresistance reference sensors 16, 22 and the planar sensor array 24 within the volume of the at least one magnetic field. In this embodiment, the planar sensor array 24 generates at least one magnetic field that is detected by the at least one magnetoresistance sensor 12 and the magnetoresistance reference sensors 16, 22 resulting in magnetic field measurements”) an input trace, and an output trace (A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the coils would have at least one input trace and output trace to function even if the specific arrangement and number of input and output traces may differ).
Huber does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein each of the plurality of partial windings are electrically connected in-parallel to one another.
In an analogous transmitting coil field of endeavor Yang discloses in Figure 2 wherein each of a plurality of partial windings are electrically connected in-parallel to one another (Yang, Figure 2 which is comparable to instant application Figure 4) (Yang, In this paper, a new transmitting coil is proposed, in which all the coil turns are connected in parallel. The current in each tum is not necessarily the same, instead, determined by a series connected capacitor. It is shown that this new transmitting coil improves the uniformity of the magnetic field.) (Yang, Pg 531; “A new approach for designing a transmitting coil that can produce uniform magnetic field has been proposed. Different from the traditional transmitting coil, each turn in the newly proposed coil is connected in parallel and the position of each tum is uniformly spaced. The uniformity of the magnetic field is realized by designing the current of each tum. A capacitor is loaded to each turn for determining the current value, provided that the impedance of the capacitor is larger than the impedance of the corresponding turn (i.e., inductance and resistance). An example was presented to illustrate that the proposed transmitting coil has a lager range of the uniform magnetic field distribution with better uniformity than the traditional one.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber such that each sensor coil 62 is replaced with a plurality of partial windings are electrically connected in-parallel to one another in order to increase the uniformity and range of the electromagnetic field as taught by Yang (Yang, Abstract and Pg 531) which improves accuracy and ease of use.
Regarding claim 9, Huber as modified by Yang above discloses all of the limitations of claim 8 as discussed above.
Huber further discloses wherein the magnetic field transmitting element is x-ray translucent (Huber, Para 47; “In an exemplary embodiment, the planar sensor array 60 is x-ray transmissive over its entire area.”).
Huber does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of replacement partial windings extends circumferentially around a common center point.
Yang discloses wherein the plurality of partial windings extends circumferentially around a common center point (Yang Figure 2 which is comparable to instant application Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber wherein the replacement plurality of partial windings extends circumferentially around a common center point in order to increase the uniformity and range of the electromagnetic field as taught by Yang (Yang, Abstract and Pg 531) which improves accuracy and ease of use.
Regarding claim 10, Huber as modified by Yang above discloses all of the limitations of claim 9 as discussed above.
Huber does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the input trace electrically connects to each of the plurality of partial windings and wherein the output trace electrically connects to each of the replacement plurality of partial windings.
Yang discloses wherein the input trace electrically connects to each of the plurality of partial windings and wherein the output trace electrically connects to each of the plurality of partial windings (Yang, In this paper, a new transmitting coil is proposed, in which all the coil turns are connected in parallel. The current in each tum is not necessarily the same, instead, determined by a series connected capacitor. It is shown that this new transmitting coil improves the uniformity of the magnetic field.) (Yang, Pg 531; “A new approach for designing a transmitting coil that can produce uniform magnetic field has been proposed. Different from the traditional transmitting coil, each turn in the newly proposed coil is connected in parallel and the position of each tum is uniformly spaced. The uniformity of the magnetic field is realized by designing the current of each tum. A capacitor is loaded to each turn for determining the current value, provided that the impedance of the capacitor is larger than the impedance of the corresponding turn (i.e., inductance and resistance). An example was presented to illustrate that the proposed transmitting coil has a lager range of the uniform magnetic field distribution with better uniformity than the traditional one.”) (A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that coils connected in parallel would have a common input and output).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber wherein the input trace electrically connects to each of the replacement plurality of partial windings and wherein the output trace electrically connects to each of the replacement plurality of partial windings in order to increase the uniformity and range of the electromagnetic field as taught by Yang (Yang, Abstract and Pg 531) which improves accuracy and ease of use.
Regarding claim 22, Huber discloses a medical positioning system (Huber, Para 27; “In an exemplary embodiment, the at least one magnetoresistance sensor 12 and the magnetoresistance reference sensors 16, 22 may be configured as magnetic field receivers, and the planar sensor array 24 may be configured as a magnetic field transmitter (generator) for creating at least one magnetic field around the table 26 and the patient 18. The at least one device 14 may be moved relative to the magnetoresistance reference sensors 16, 22 and the planar sensor array 24 within the volume of the at least one magnetic field. In this embodiment, the planar sensor array 24 generates at least one magnetic field that is detected by the at least one magnetoresistance sensor 12 and the magnetoresistance reference sensors 16, 22 resulting in magnetic field measurements”), comprising:
a magnetic field transmitting assembly (planar sensor array 24 or 60) (Huber, Para 44; “The planar sensor array 60 may be implemented as the planar sensor array 24 shown in FIG. 1.”), including:
a substrate (substrate 64); and
a magnetic field transmitting element configured to emit the magnetic field in the area of interest, the magnetic field transmitting element including: a plurality of partial windings (sensor coils 62) extending across a common plane (Huber, Para 45; “The planar sensor array 60 includes a plurality of planar sensor coils 62 formed on or within at least one substrate 64”) (Huber, Para 44; “FIG. 3 illustrates a top view of an exemplary embodiment of a planar sensor array 60. [...] The planar sensor array 60 may be an electromagnetic planar transmitter or receiver coil array.”) (Huber, Para 27; “In an exemplary embodiment, the at least one magnetoresistance sensor 12 and the magnetoresistance reference sensors 16, 22 may be configured as magnetic field receivers, and the planar sensor array 24 may be configured as a magnetic field transmitter (generator) for creating at least one magnetic field around the table 26 and the patient 18. The at least one device 14 may be moved relative to the magnetoresistance reference sensors 16, 22 and the planar sensor array 24 within the volume of the at least one magnetic field. In this embodiment, the planar sensor array 24 generates at least one magnetic field that is detected by the at least one magnetoresistance sensor 12 and the magnetoresistance reference sensors 16, 22 resulting in magnetic field measurements”) an input trace, and an output trace (A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the coils would have at least one input trace and output trace to function even if the specific arrangement and number of input and output traces may differ);
a medical catheter (device 14) including a magnetic field sensing element (magnetoresistance sensor 12) configured to sample the magnetic field emitted from the magnetic field transmitting assembly (Huber, Para 37; “The surgical navigation system 10 described herein is capable of tracking many different types of devices 14 during different procedures. Depending on the procedure, the at least one device 14 may be a surgical instrument (e.g., an imaging catheter, a diagnostic catheter, a therapeutic catheter, a guide wire, a debrider, an aspirator, a handle, a guide, etc.), a surgical implant (e.g., an artificial disk, a bone screw, a shunt, a pedicle screw, a plate, an intramedullary rod, etc.), or some other device. Depending on the context of the usage of the surgical navigation system 10, any number of suitable devices 14 may be used. In an exemplary embodiment, there may be more than one device 14, and more than one magnetoresistance sensor 12 attached to each device 14.”) (Huber, Para 27-28; “In an exemplary embodiment, the at least one magnetoresistance sensor 12 and the magnetoresistance reference sensors 16, 22 may be configured as magnetic field receivers, and the planar sensor array 24 may be configured as a magnetic field transmitter (generator) for creating at least one magnetic field around the table 26 and the patient 18. The at least one device 14 may be moved relative to the magnetoresistance reference sensors 16, 22 and the planar sensor array 24 within the volume of the at least one magnetic field. In this embodiment, the planar sensor array 24 generates at least one magnetic field that is detected by the at least one magnetoresistance sensor 12 and the magnetoresistance reference sensors 16, 22 resulting in magnetic field measurements. Theses magnetic field measurements may be used to calculate the position and orientation of the at least one device 14 according to any suitable method or system.”); and
processing circuitry electrically coupled to the magnetic field sensing element and the magnetic field transmitting element, the processing circuitry configured to determine a relative location of the medical catheter based on the magnetic field sampled by the magnetic field sensing element (Huber, Para 27-28; “In an exemplary embodiment, the at least one magnetoresistance sensor 12 and the magnetoresistance reference sensors 16, 22 may be configured as magnetic field receivers, and the planar sensor array 24 may be configured as a magnetic field transmitter (generator) for creating at least one magnetic field around the table 26 and the patient 18. The at least one device 14 may be moved relative to the magnetoresistance reference sensors 16, 22 and the planar sensor array 24 within the volume of the at least one magnetic field. In this embodiment, the planar sensor array 24 generates at least one magnetic field that is detected by the at least one magnetoresistance sensor 12 and the magnetoresistance reference sensors 16, 22 resulting in magnetic field measurements. Theses magnetic field measurements may be used to calculate the position and orientation of the at least one device 14 according to any suitable method or system.”).
Huber does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein each of the plurality of partial windings extend circumferentially about a common center point.
In an analogous transmitting coil field of endeavor Yang discloses in Figure 2 wherein each of a plurality of partial windings extend circumferentially about a common center point (Yang, Figure 2 which is comparable to instant application Figure 4) (Yang, In this paper, a new transmitting coil is proposed, in which all the coil turns are connected in parallel. The current in each tum is not necessarily the same, instead, determined by a series connected capacitor. It is shown that this new transmitting coil improves the uniformity of the magnetic field.) (Yang, Pg 531; “A new approach for designing a transmitting coil that can produce uniform magnetic field has been proposed. Different from the traditional transmitting coil, each turn in the newly proposed coil is connected in parallel and the position of each tum is uniformly spaced. The uniformity of the magnetic field is realized by designing the current of each tum. A capacitor is loaded to each turn for determining the current value, provided that the impedance of the capacitor is larger than the impedance of the corresponding turn (i.e., inductance and resistance). An example was presented to illustrate that the proposed transmitting coil has a lager range of the uniform magnetic field distribution with better uniformity than the traditional one.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber such that each sensor coil 62 is replaced with plurality of partial windings extend circumferentially about a common center point in order to increase the uniformity and range of the electromagnetic field as taught by Yang (Yang, Abstract and Pg 531) which improves accuracy and ease of use.
Regarding claim 23, Huber as modified by Yang above discloses all of the limitations of claim 22 as discussed above.
Huber does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein each of the replacement plurality of partial windings are electrically connected in-parallel to one another.
In an analogous transmitting coil field of endeavor Yang discloses in Figure 2 wherein each of a plurality of partial windings are electrically connected in-parallel to one another (Yang, Figure 2 which is comparable to instant application Figure 4) (Yang, In this paper, a new transmitting coil is proposed, in which all the coil turns are connected in parallel. The current in each tum is not necessarily the same, instead, determined by a series connected capacitor. It is shown that this new transmitting coil improves the uniformity of the magnetic field.) (Yang, Pg 531; “A new approach for designing a transmitting coil that can produce uniform magnetic field has been proposed. Different from the traditional transmitting coil, each turn in the newly proposed coil is connected in parallel and the position of each tum is uniformly spaced. The uniformity of the magnetic field is realized by designing the current of each tum. A capacitor is loaded to each turn for determining the current value, provided that the impedance of the capacitor is larger than the impedance of the corresponding turn (i.e., inductance and resistance). An example was presented to illustrate that the proposed transmitting coil has a lager range of the uniform magnetic field distribution with better uniformity than the traditional one.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber such that each of the replacement partial windings is replaced with a plurality of partial windings are electrically connected in-parallel to one another in order to increase the uniformity and range of the electromagnetic field as taught by Yang (Yang, Abstract and Pg 531) which improves accuracy and ease of use.
Claims 11-13 and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber and Yang as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Susel et al. (US20070157828, hereafter Susel).
Regarding claim 11, Huber as modified by Yang above discloses all of the limitations of claim 10 as discussed above.
Huber does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the input trace and the output trace are oriented parallel to each other.
In an analogous transmitting coil for electromagnetic tracking field of endeavor Susel discloses wherein an input trace and the output trace (contacts 86) are oriented parallel to each other (Susel, Figures 5 and 4 showing this) (Susel, Para 57; "Two terminals 84 are also provided in circuit 80 for each of the X-, Y- and Z-coils that will be wrapped on the core. Terminals 84 are coupled by traces 83 to contacts 86, which protrude at the edge of substrate 82.") (Susel, Para 59-60; "When flexible printed circuit 80 has been wrapped around core 92, and the coils have been wound over the printed circuit, contacts 86 remain accessible. [...] These calibration coils are likewise connected by traces (not shown) to contacts 86, and may thus be coupled to circuitry on substrate 56.").
The use of the techniques of having an input trace and output trace be parallel taught by Susel in the invention of the electromagnetic field generator of Hubel would have comprised only application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield the predictable result of an electromagnetic field generator with easy to access points; and similar modifications have previously been held to involve only routine skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber wherein the input trace and the output trace are oriented parallel to each other as taught by Susel in order to make connecting voltage across the coils easier which makes maintenance and manufacturing easier.
Regarding claim 12, Huber as modified by Yang and Susel above discloses all of the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above.
Huber does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein a gap region is positioned between the input trace and the output trace, wherein no conductive element is disposed within the gap region.
In an analogous transmitting coil for electromagnetic tracking field of endeavor Susel discloses wherein a gap region is positioned between an input trace and an output trace, wherein no conductive element is disposed within the gap region (Susel, Figures 5 and 4 showing this) (Susel, Para 57; "Two terminals 84 are also provided in circuit 80 for each of the X-, Y- and Z-coils that will be wrapped on the core. Terminals 84 are coupled by traces 83 to contacts 86, which protrude at the edge of substrate 82.") (Susel, Para 59-60; "When flexible printed circuit 80 has been wrapped around core 92, and the coils have been wound over the printed circuit, contacts 86 remain accessible. [...] These calibration coils are likewise connected by traces (not shown) to contacts 86, and may thus be coupled to circuitry on substrate 56.").
The use of the techniques of having an input trace and output trace with a gap region between taught by Susel in the invention of the electromagnetic field generator of Hubel would have comprised only application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield the predictable result of an electromagnetic field generator with easy to access points; and similar modifications have previously been held to involve only routine skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber wherein a gap region is positioned between the input trace and the output trace, wherein no conductive element is disposed within the gap region as taught by Susel in order to make connecting voltage across the coils easier which makes maintenance and manufacturing easier.
Regarding claim 13, Huber as modified by Yang and Susel above discloses all of the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above.
Huber further discloses wherein the substrate includes a planar surface and wherein the magnetic field transmitting element is disposed on the planar surface (Huber, Para 45; “The planar sensor array 60 includes a plurality of planar sensor coils 62 formed on or within at least one substrate 64”) (Huber, Figures 3-5).
Huber does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the input trace and the output trace are electrically coupled to lead wires at a location outside of an outermost circumference of the plurality of partial windings.
Susel further discloses wherein an input trace and an output trace are electrically coupled to lead wires at a location outside of an outermost circumference of a windings (Susel, Figures 5 and 4 showing this) (Susel, Para 57; "Two terminals 84 are also provided in circuit 80 for each of the X-, Y- and Z-coils that will be wrapped on the core. Terminals 84 are coupled by traces 83 to contacts 86, which protrude at the edge of substrate 82.") (Susel, Para 59-60; "When flexible printed circuit 80 has been wrapped around core 92, and the coils have been wound over the printed circuit, contacts 86 remain accessible. [...] These calibration coils are likewise connected by traces (not shown) to contacts 86, and may thus be coupled to circuitry on substrate 56.").
The use of the techniques of having an input trace and output trace located outside the outer circumference of their coils taught by Susel in the invention of the electromagnetic field generator of Hubel would have comprised only application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield the predictable result of an electromagnetic field generator with easy to access points; and similar modifications have previously been held to involve only routine skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber wherein the input trace and the output trace are electrically coupled to lead wires at a location outside of an outermost circumference of the plurality of partial windings as taught by Susel in order to make connecting voltage across the coils easier which makes maintenance and manufacturing easier.
Regarding claim 24, Huber as modified by Yang above discloses all of the limitations of claim 23 as discussed above.
Huber further discloses wherein the magnetic field transmitting element is x-ray translucent (Huber, Para 47; “In an exemplary embodiment, the planar sensor array 60 is x-ray transmissive over its entire area.”).
Huber does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the input trace and the output trace are oriented parallel to each other.
In an analogous transmitting coil for electromagnetic tracking field of endeavor Susel discloses wherein an input trace and the output trace (contacts 86) are oriented parallel to each other (Susel, Figures 5 and 4 showing this) (Susel, Para 57; "Two terminals 84 are also provided in circuit 80 for each of the X-, Y- and Z-coils that will be wrapped on the core. Terminals 84 are coupled by traces 83 to contacts 86, which protrude at the edge of substrate 82.") (Susel, Para 59-60; "When flexible printed circuit 80 has been wrapped around core 92, and the coils have been wound over the printed circuit, contacts 86 remain accessible. [...] These calibration coils are likewise connected by traces (not shown) to contacts 86, and may thus be coupled to circuitry on substrate 56.").
The use of the techniques of having an input trace and output trace be parallel taught by Susel in the invention of the electromagnetic field generator of Hubel would have comprised only application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield the predictable result of an electromagnetic field generator with easy to access points; and similar modifications have previously been held to involve only routine skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber wherein the input trace and the output trace are oriented parallel to each other as taught by Susel in order to make connecting voltage across the coils easier which makes maintenance and manufacturing easier.
Regarding claim 25, Huber as modified by Yang above discloses all of the limitations of claim 24 as discussed above.
Huber further discloses in Figure 1 wherein the magnetic field transmitting assembly is secured to a patient examination table, wherein the area of interest is located above the patient examination table (Haber, Figure 1 showing this) (Haber, Para 79; “In an exemplary embodiment, a planar sensor array may be integrated into a table, table mat, or surgical drape of a surgical navigation system for improving surgical navigation workflow and eliminating image artifacts from intraoperative images. In an exemplary embodiment, the planar sensor array may be located within a table, table mat, surgical drape, or adjacent to a table surface.”) (Haber, Para 24; “Referring now to the drawings, FIG. 1 illustrates a schematic diagram of an exemplary embodiment of a surgical navigation system 10. The surgical navigation system 10 includes at least one magnetoresistance sensor 12 attached to at least one device 14, at least one magnetoresistance reference sensor 16 rigidly attached to an anatomical reference of a patient 18 undergoing a medical procedure, a planar sensor array 24 positioned on a table 26 supporting the patient 18, and a portable workstation 28.”).
Regarding claim 26, Huber as modified by Yang above discloses all of the limitations of claim 25 as discussed above.
Huber further discloses in Figure 1 an x-ray source located below the patient examination table and an x-ray detector located above the patient examination table (imaging apparatus 20), wherein the magnetic field transmitting assembly is positioned between the x-ray source and the x-ray detector (Huber, Figure 1 showing this) (Huber, Para 24; “In an exemplary embodiment, the surgical navigation system 10 may also include an imaging apparatus 20 for performing real time imaging during the medical procedure. In an exemplary embodiment, the imaging apparatus 20 may be a mobile fluoroscopic imaging apparatus.”).
Regarding claim 27, Huber as modified by Yang above discloses all of the limitations of claim 26 as discussed above.
Huber further discloses in Figure 1 wherein the magnetic field transmitting element is x-ray translucent such that x-rays from the x-ray source pass through the magnetic field transmitting element to the x-ray detector unoccluded (Huber, Para 47; “In an exemplary embodiment, the planar sensor array 60 is x-ray transmissive over its entire area.”) (Huber, Para 58; “the planar sensor array 80 appears as x-ray transmissive over its entire area and thus minimizes image artifacts.”) (Huber, Figure 1 showing this).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber and Yang as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Andreason (US20190025040, hereafter Andreason).
Regarding claim 14, Huber as modified by Yang above discloses all of the limitations of claim 8 as discussed above.
Huber does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein a varying current and polarity is provided to the magnetic field transmitting element, wherein the magnetic field transmitting element emits a non-uniform magnetic field.
In an analogous magnet field tracking field of endeavor Andreason discloses wherein a varying current and polarity is provided to a magnetic field transmitting element, wherein the magnetic field transmitting element emits a non-uniform magnetic field (Andreason, Para 65; “In one embodiment, in order to enable more accurate tracking of the medical instrument 102 deep within the body of a patient, the control circuit 108 drives the inductor coil 202 with a low-frequency alternating current (AC) excitation signal instead of a direct current (DC) signal or a high-frequency excitation signal. The low-frequency excitation signal causes a current to be passed through the inductor coil 202. As the direction and magnitude of the excitation current change, the parameters of the magnetic field generated by the inductor coil 202 also change.”) (Andreason, Para 257; “Since the excitation signal forces the low-frequency electromagnetic apparatus to change polarity at a trackable, predictable frequency or pattern, the tracking system is more immune to magnetic interference such as those generated from the earth's magnetic field, electronic devices, nearby metallic objects, and other generally interference-causing sources.”) (Andreason, Para 77; “The strength of the magnetic field illustrated in FIG. 2A at any given location is representatively illustrated by the density of the magnetic field lines 150. In particular, where magnetic field lines 150 are closer together, the magnetic field is stronger. Where magnetic field lines 150 are further apart from each other, the magnetic field is weaker. The direction of the magnetic field is indicated by the direction of the arrows on the magnetic field lines 150 at any given location. As the direction of the current changes, which happens with an AC excitation signal, the magnetic field lines 150 will also change direction. Hence, as the excitation signal traverses its particular waveform over time, a magnetic field will correspondingly form, grow, and collapse.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify wherein a varying current and polarity is provided to the magnetic field transmitting element, wherein the magnetic field transmitting element emits a non-uniform magnetic field in order to reduce the effect of magnetic interference such as those generated from the earth's magnetic field, electronic devices, nearby metallic objects, and other generally interference-causing sources as taught by Andreason (Andreason, Para 257).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN D LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798