DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,3, 5-8, 9-12, 14, 16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xu (US Pub. 2020/0314812).
Regarding claim 1, Xu discloses a method for resource processing, performed by a terminal device, comprising:
receiving, from a network device, first configuration information for indicating the terminal device to perform a first type of handover (par.0188 “RACH-less handover may comprise……..The base station may include the multiple downlink beams information………into the RRC Reconfiguration Message”), the first configuration information comprising resource configuration information for performing the first type of handover, and the resource configuration information comprising an association relationship between at least one uplink resource and at least one beam (par.0187 “the RACH-less handover may be configured with one or more pre-allocated (or pre-configured) uplink grants. A wireless may transmit uplink transport block……using a transmit beam”); and
determining a transmission resource based on the resource configuration information, the transmission resource being used for the terminal device to transmit uplink data (par.0187-0188 “the RRC Reconfiguration Message to indicate….uplink grants and SS/PBCH block……associated uplink grant on PUSCH”);
wherein the at least one uplink resource is a dynamic scheduling resource, and the resource configuration information comprises first beam information for indicating a first beam (par.0187 “A wireless device may transmit uplink transport blocks in the one or more pre-allocated (or pre-configured) uplink grants using a transmit beam”) used for monitoring a third message, the third message being used for indicating a second dynamic scheduling resource (par.0186 “after receiving the handover message”, par.0187 “the RACH-less handover may be configured with one or more pre-allocated (ore pre-configured) uplink grants, par.0188 “the RRC Reconfiguration Message”),
wherein determining the transmission resource based on the resource configuration information comprises:
receiving the third message based on the first beam information (par.0188 “the RRC Reconfiguration Message” par.0188 “the RRC Reconfiguration Message” par.0188 “the RRC Reconfiguration Message”); and
determining the second dynamic scheduling resource indicated by the third message as the transmission resource (par.0188 “The wireless select a suitable downlink beam among the multiple downlink beams to transmit a transport block with the associated uplink grant”).
Regarding claims 3, 14 and 18, Xu discloses the at least one uplink resource is a preconfigured Configured Grant (CG) resource (par.0188 “pre-configured uplink grants”) and in case that the at least one uplink resource is the preconfigured CG resource (par.0188 “pre-configured uplink grants”), the resource configuration information further comprises at least one of: carrier information (consideration is optional), or a first threshold corresponding to a beam quality (par.0187 “the RACH-less handover may be configured with one or more pre-allocated (or pre-configured) uplink grants. A wireless may transmit uplink transport block……using a transmit beam”, par.0215 “via an RRC Reconfiguration message…….the RS based on a radio channel quality measurement…a counter threshold value to the wireless device via RRC message(s)…..via the RRC Reconfiguration message”).
Regarding claim 5, Xu discloses the preconfigured CG resource comprises at least one of a first type of CG resource (par.0186 “indicate a time advance value….may also indicate a pre-allocated uplink grant”) or a second type of CG resource; in case that the preconfigured CG resource comprise the second type of CG resource, the method further comprises: receiving, from the network device, a second message for activating the second type of CG resource (consideration is optional).
Regarding claim 6, Xu discloses at least one of the resource configuration information (par.0186 “indicate a time advance value….may also indicate a pre-allocated uplink grant”) or the second message further comprises at least one of (consideration is optional): a time domain resource (par.0186 “indicate a time advance value….may also indicate a pre-allocated uplink grant”), a frequency domain resource, a demodulation reference signal, an open loop power control, a modulation and coding scheme, a waveform, a redundant version, repetition times, or a frequency modulation, or a Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ) process (consideration is optional).
Regarding claims 7 and 20, Xu discloses the resource configuration information comprises first beam information for indicating a first beam used for monitoring a third message, the third message being used for indicating a second dynamic scheduling resource and at least one beam associated with the second dynamic scheduling resource (par.0216 “multiple pre-allocated…pre-configured uplink grants…..dynamic uplink grant for retransmission….DCI”).
Regarding claim 8, Xu discloses the first type of handover is a Random Access Channel-less (RACH-less) handover (par.0188).
Regarding claim 9, Xu discloses the first configuration information is a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message (par.0188).
Regarding claim 10, Xu discloses the second message is any one of: Downlink Control Information (DCI) (par.0205 “uplink grant indicated in the DCI”) an RRC message, , or a Media Access Control Control Element (MAC CE) (consideration is optional).
Regarding claim 11, Xu discloses the beam is any one of: a Synchronization Signal and physical broadcast channel block (SSB), a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI- RS) (par.0188), a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS), a Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) condition, or a spatial relationship (consideration is optional).
Regarding claim 12, Xu discloses everything as claim 1 above. More specifically, Xu discloses a network device (fig. 19 “gNB”), comprising : a processor and a memory; wherein the memory is configured to store computer-executed instructions, and the processor is configured to execute the computer-executed instructions stored in the memory (par.053).
Regarding claim 16, Xu discloses everything as claim 1 above. More specifically, Xu discloses a processor and a memory; wherein the memory is configured to store computer-executed instructions, and the processor is configured to execute the computer-executed instructions stored in the memory (par.066).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 15, 19 and 21-25 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Delany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/TU X NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642