DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 9 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 9,591,906. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent "anticipate" the claims of the application. Accordingly, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the patent claims. Here, the more specific patent claims encompass the broader application claim. Following the rationale in In re Goodman cited in the preceding paragraph, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2012/0247501) in view of Anderson (US 1,034,859) and Schaefer et al. (US 5,673,710).
Choi discloses a heating plate (320) a plurality of heating elements (141), protruding from the heating plate, the heating elements defining a hair treating area, wherein the plurality of heating elements are arranged in a pattern resulting in a plurality of undulating paths (Figure 13) such that hair strands pass on top of a face of the heating plate and through the plurality of undulating paths during brushing of the hair strands; and a plurality of heat insulating spacers (142) extending from the heating plate among the heating elements, wherein at least some of the heat insulating spacers are longer than at least some of the plurality of heating elements; and a plurality of peripheral heat insulating spacers (443) disposed around at least a portion of the heating plate); and wherein the plurality of heat insulating spaces are separate from the plurality of heating elements (see Figure 6) (see Figure 19).
Choi does not disclose the heating elements are monolithic with the heating plate and a length of at least two of the plurality of heating elements, along at least one of the plurality of undulating paths, is larger than a width of the at least some of the plurality of heating elements and a plurality of heat insulating spacers spaced apart from the plurality of heating elements. Anderson teaches a heated hairbrush comprising a heated plate (b) and a plurality of heating elements (a) protruding from the heating plate, the heating elements are monolithic with the heating plate and a length of at least two of the plurality of heating elements, along at least one of the plurality of undulating paths, is larger than a width of the at least some of the plurality of heating elements (see Figures 1-3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the heated elements of Choi be monothetic with the heated plate and longer than they are wider as taught by Anderson to allow for direct contact with the heating plate and to smooth and disentangle the hair. Schaefer et al. teaches a hair brush comprising a plurality of heating elements and a plurality of heat insulating spaces spaced apart from the heating elements (5) (see Figure 3; col. 4, lines 45-60) to prevent direct user contact with the heated bristles. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the hair brush of Choi be made with heat insulating spaces spaced apart from the heated elements as taught by Schaefer et al. to prevent direct user contact with the heated bristles.
Claim 2, Choi discloses each of the plurality of peripheral heat insulating spacers (443) includes an end spaced from the face of the hairbrush; each of the plurality of heating elements includes an end spaced from the face of the hairbrush; and at least some of the ends of the plurality of peripheral heat insulating spacers are located closer to the face than the ends of the plurality of heat elements (paragraph 79; of various lengths can be shorter or longer). Claim 3, each of the plurality of peripheral heat insulating spacers (443) includes an end spaced from a face of the hairbrush; each of the plurality of heat insulating spacers (442) includes an end spaced from the face of the hairbrush; and at least some of the ends of the plurality of peripheral heat insulating spacers are located closer to the face than the ends of the plurality of heat insulating spacers (see Figure 19). Claim 4, the plurality of peripheral heat insulating spacers (443) are disposed around substantially an entirety of the hair treating area of the hairbrush including the plurality of heating elements and the plurality of heating insulating spacers (see Figure 19). Claim 5, a specified density of the plurality of elongate heating elements and a specified density of the plurality of heat insulating spacers are variable across a face of the hairbrush and the specified densities are related to maintain a specified distance between protruding ends of the plurality of heating elements and the user's scalp under at least one usage scenario (see Figure 13). Claim 6, the face of the body (320) of the hairbrush is convexly curved (see Figure 16). Claim 7, Anderson further discloses the innermost heating elements have a flattened shape with increased surface area parallel to the undulating paths (see Figure 2). Claim 8, Anderson further teaches each of the heating elements has a bottom end with an elliptic cross-section (see Figure 2).
Claim(s) 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2012/0247501) in view of Schaefer et al. (US 5,673,710).
Choi discloses a hairbrush (300) comprising a heating plate (320) having a heating surface (Figure 16); a plurality of elongate heating elements (141) protruding from the heating surface; a plurality of heat insulating spacers (142) extending from the heating plate among the heating elements, at least some of the heat insulating spacers (142) being longer than at least some of the heating elements (see Figure 14); and wherein the plurality of heat insulating spaces are separate from the plurality of heating elements (see Figure 6); and a plurality of heat insulating peripheral spacers (443) disposed around at least a portion of the heating plate (see Figure 19). Choi does not disclose a plurality of heat insulating spacers spaced apart from the plurality of heating elements. Schaefer et al. teaches a hair brush comprising a plurality of heating elements and a plurality of heat insulating spaces spaced apart from the heating elements (5) (see Figure 3; col. 4, lines 45-60) to prevent direct user contact with the heated bristles. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the hair brush of Choi be made with heat insulating spaces spaced apart from the heated elements as taught by Schaefer et al. to prevent direct user contact with the heated bristles.
Claim 10, each of the plurality of peripheral heat insulating spacers (443) includes an end spaced from a face of the hairbrush; each of the plurality of heat insulating spacers (442) includes an end spaced from the face of the hairbrush; and at least some of the ends of the plurality of peripheral heat insulating spacers are located closer to the face than the ends of the plurality of heat insulating spacers (see Figure 19). Claim 11, each of the plurality of peripheral heat insulating spacers (443) includes an end spaced from a face of the hairbrush; each of the plurality of elongate heating elements (441) includes an end spaced from the face of the hairbrush; and at least some of the ends of the plurality of peripheral heat insulating spacers are located closer to the face than the ends of the plurality of elongate heat elements (paragraph 79; of various lengths can be shorter or longer). Claim 12, a specified density of the plurality of elongate heating elements (141) and a specified density of the plurality of heat insulating spacers (142) are variable across a face of the hairbrush and the specified densities are related to maintain a specified distance between protruding ends of the plurality of elongate heating elements and a user's scalp under at least one usage scenario (see Figure 13). Claim 13, the heating plate (320) is convexly curved (see Figure 16). Claim 14, the plurality of elongate heating elements (141) are integrated with and thermally coupled to the heating plate (see Figure 14). Claim 15, Choi discloses a hairbrush (300) comprising a plurality of heating elements (141) protruding from a face of a body of the hairbrush, the heating elements defining a hair treating area; a plurality of heat insulating spacers (142) extending from the face of the body of the hairbrush among the heating elements, wherein a height, from the face of the body of the hairbrush, of at least some of the plurality of the heat insulating spacers is greater than a height of the heating elements to provide a specified distance between the heating elements and a user’s scalp, wherein the plurality of heat insulating spacers is dispersed on a least a part of the face of the body of the hairbrush at a specified density selected to assure maintaining the specified distance with respect to a resilience of the plurality of heat insulating spacers; and a plurality of peripheral heat insulating spacers (443) extending at least around a portion of a hair treating area of the body of the hairbrush (see Figures 13-19). Choi does not disclose a plurality of heat insulating spacers spaced apart from the plurality of heating elements. Schaefer et al. teaches a hair brush comprising a plurality of heating elements and a plurality of heat insulating spaces spaced apart from the heating elements (5) (see Figure 3; col. 4, lines 45-60) to prevent direct user contact with the heated bristles. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the hair brush of Choi be made with heat insulating spaces spaced apart from the heated elements as taught by Schaefer et al. to prevent direct user contact with the heated bristles.
Claim 16, each of the plurality of peripheral heat insulating spacers (443) includes an end spaced from the face of the hairbrush; each of the plurality of heat insulating spacers (442) includes an end spaced from the face of the hairbrush; and at least some of the ends of the plurality of peripheral heat insulating spacers are located closer to the face than the ends of the plurality of heat insulating spacers (see Figure 19). Claim 17, each of the plurality of peripheral heat insulating spacers (443) includes an end spaced from the face of the hairbrush; each of the plurality of heating elements includes an end spaced from the face of the hairbrush; and at least some of the ends of the plurality of peripheral heat insulating spacers are located closer to the face than the ends of the plurality of heat elements (paragraph 79; of various lengths can be shorter or longer). Claim 18, a specified density of the plurality of elongate heating elements and a specified density of the plurality of heat insulating spacers are variable across a face of the hairbrush and the specified densities are related to maintain a specified distance between protruding ends of the plurality of heating elements and the user's scalp under at least one usage scenario (see Figure 13). Claim 19, the face of the body (320) of the hairbrush is convexly curved (see Figure 16). Claim 20, the plurality of heating elements (141) are integrated with and thermally coupled to a heating plate (see Figures 13-16).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 10/30/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/RACHEL R STEITZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772
1/9/2026