Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12/30/2025 has been entered. Claim 1, and 5 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because new limitations have been added to independent claims 1, and 5, therefore a new interpretation has been used and the arguments are moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Glenn (US 7434677).
Regarding claim-1. Glenn discloses A method for singulation and alignment of elongated product (product) oriented transverse to its direction of travel (Abstract; Fig.1-2), the method comprising the steps of:
transferring the product off the end of a first conveyor (3, Fig.1-2);
allowing gravity to act with the product's momentum to maintain motion, increase speed, and alter its path of travel (Col.3 line60-68 to Col.4 line1-24; Col.6 line14-24, Fig.1-2);
allowing a bottom-most layer of the elongated product in a more desirable position and orientation to enter an unimpeded freefall upon leaving said first conveyor, thereby allowing more acceleration due to gravity relative to pieces of elongated product in less desirable positions and orientations, thereby creating more space between the individual pieces of said bottom-most layer of elongated product as they fall (Col.3 line60-68 to Col.4 line1-24; Col.6 line14-24, Fig.1-2);
delaying acceleration of any pieces of elongated product in less desirable positions and orientations to reposition and reorient said pieces of elongated product such that they either move into the spaces created by the unimpeded freefall of the bottom-most elongated product layer, or at least into a more favorable position and orientation as they fall (Col.3 line60-68 to Col.4 line1-24; Col.6 line14-24, Fig.1-2).
Regarding claim-2. Glenn discloses further comprising the step of redirecting the falling elongated product toward a generally horizontal path of travel (towards 6, Fig.1-2).
Regarding claim-3. Glenn discloses wherein the direction of horizontal travel (6) is in the opposite direction from that of the first conveyor (conveyor 6 conveys product opposite to conveyor 3, Fig.1-2).
Regarding claim-4. Glenn discloses further comprising the step of engaging and transferring the elongated product on a subsequent second conveyor (6) in the opposite direction from that of the first conveyor (conveyor 6 conveys product opposite to conveyor 3, Fig.1-2).
Regarding claim-5. Glenn discloses wherein: a first of two or more cycles, begins with the step of transferring of the elongated product off the end of the first conveyor (3), includes the steps of allowing gravity to act on the elongated product as it falls and redirecting the falling elongated product toward a generally horizontal direction (6) of travel opposite that of the first conveyor, and ends with the step of engaging of the elongated product with the subsequent second conveyor (6); and a subsequent cycle begins with the step of transferring the elongated product off the end of the subsequent second conveyor and repeats the steps of the first cycle ending with the step of engaging the elongated product with yet another subsequent third conveyor (7) (Conveyor 3 conveys product to conveyor 6, which then conveys product to conveyor 7, Fig.1-2).
Regarding claim-6. Glenn discloses wherein each subsequent cycle transfers the product in a direction opposite of the previous cycle and a last and lowermost conveyor engages and transfers the singulated, aligned array of pieces of elongated product for presentation to a subsequent process or machine (product moves from conveyor 3 to 6, 6 to 7, 7 to 8, 8 to 9, 9 to next processing stage, Col.5 line42-47, Fig.1-2).
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuji (US 8292061).
Regarding claim-1. Yuji discloses A method for singulation and alignment of elongated product (110) oriented transverse to its direction of travel (Abstract; Fig.4-9), the method comprising the steps of:
transferring the product (110) off the end of a first conveyor (200);
allowing gravity to act with the product's momentum to maintain motion, increase speed, and alter its path of travel (Col.3 line4-18, 30-40; Fig.4-9);
allowing a bottom-most layer of the elongated product in a more desirable position and orientation to enter an unimpeded freefall upon leaving said first conveyor, thereby allowing more acceleration due to gravity relative to pieces of elongated product in less desirable positions and orientations, thereby creating more space between the individual pieces of said bottom-most layer of elongated product as they fall (Col.3 line4-18, 30-40; Fig.4-9);
delaying acceleration of any pieces of elongated product in less desirable positions and orientations to reposition and reorient said pieces of elongated product such that they either move into the spaces created by the unimpeded freefall of the bottom-most elongated product layer, or at least into a more favorable position and orientation as they fall (Col.3 line4-18, 30-40; Fig.4-9).
Regarding claim-2. Yuji discloses further comprising the step of redirecting the falling elongated product toward a generally horizontal path of travel (M2, Fig.4-9).
Regarding claim-3. Yuji discloses wherein the direction of horizontal travel is in the opposite direction from that of the first conveyor (M2 is opposite to 200, Fig.4-9).
Regarding claim-4. Yuji discloses further comprising the step of engaging and transferring the elongated product on a subsequent second conveyor (400) in the opposite direction from that of the first conveyor (200) (M2 is opposite to 200, Fig.4-9).
Regarding claim-5. Yuji discloses wherein: a first of two or more cycles, begins with the step of transferring of the elongated product off the end of the first conveyor, includes the steps of allowing gravity to act on the elongated product as it falls and redirecting the falling elongated product toward a generally horizontal direction of travel opposite that of the first conveyor, and ends with the step of engaging of the elongated product with the subsequent second conveyor; and a subsequent cycle begins with the step of transferring the elongated product off the end of the subsequent second conveyor and repeats the steps of the first cycle ending with the step of engaging the elongated product with yet another subsequent third conveyor (Conveyor 200 conveys product to conveyor 400, which then conveys product to conveyor 420, Fig.4-9).
Regarding claim-6. Yuji discloses wherein each subsequent cycle transfers the product in a direction opposite of the previous cycle and a last and lowermost conveyor engages and transfers the singulated, aligned array of pieces of elongated product for presentation to a subsequent process or machine (Conveyor 200 conveys product to conveyor 400, which then conveys product to conveyor 420, Fig.4-9).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.A./
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651