DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The amendment to Claim(s) 1 and 6, filed 07/10/2026, are acknowledged and accepted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 5-8, filed 07/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, and 8-10 have been considered but are moot because the Applicant is arguing newly amended claims, filed 07/10/2026, not the Final Rejection filed 04/10/2026. Newly amended claims are examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al., (hereafter Zhang) (CN210142251U) in further view of Nakajima et al., (Nakajima hereafter) (US 20190004274 A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Zhang teaches a camera apparatus comprising: a unibody (1, Figure 1) including a lens barrel (101, Figure 1) and a front body (102, Figure 1); and a rear body (2, Figure 1) coupled with the unibody (1, Figure 1), wherein the lens barrel (101, Figure 1) and the front body (102, Figure 1) are integrated with each other to form one body (Figure 2) and not separable from each other, the unibody (1, Figure 1) and the rear body (2, Figure 1) are welded together (1 and 2 are connected by laser welding, ¶[0041]) by a laser beam (Figure 2) irradiated (¶[0051]) toward an outer portion of the rear body (2, Figure 1), the unibody includes a wedge unit (1021, Figure 4) on an outer portion thereof, and the rear body includes a wedge settling unit (2021, Figure 4) on an inner portion thereof (see Figure 4), and a radially-outer dimension of the wedge unit (1021, Figure 4) is greater than a radially-inner dimension of the wedge settling unit (2021, Figure 4), such that the wedge unit (1021, Figure 4) and the wedge settling unit (2021, Figure 4) form a press-fit structure (2021 and 1021 fit within one another in Figure 4).
Moreover, the further limitations of claim 1 are directed to method steps of making the device, and it could have been made using an alternative method such as use of spacers, retaining rings, and other mechanical means to hold the lens elements in place. The method limitations are not germane to patentability pursuant to MPEP §2112.02, since it has been held that “'[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.' In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted).”
Zhang fails to teach when the wedge unit and the wedge settling unit are press-fitted to each other and axial coordinates thereof in an axial direction are the same, a distance in a radial direction from a central axis to an outer surface of the wedge unit is greater than a distance in the radial direction from the central axis to an inner surface of the wedge settling unit, when the wedge unit and the wedge settling unit are press-fitted to each other, the wedge unit and the wedge settling unit are in close contact with each other such that no gap is formed therebetween.
Zhang teaches a camera module and Nakajima teaches a lens unit that could be used in the camera module.
Nakajima teaches when the wedge unit (21, Figure 1C) and the wedge settling unit (33 and 34, Figure 1C) are press-fitted () to each other and axial coordinates thereof (Figure 1C, 33 and 34 have axial coordinates in all three axes) in an axial direction are the same (33 and 34 in Figure 1C, have the same axial coordinates in all three axes), a distance in a radial direction (see Figure 1C) from a central axis (L, Figure 1C) to an outer surface of the wedge unit (21, Figure 1C) is greater than a distance (21 is further away from the central axis, Figure 1C) in the radial direction (see Figure 1C) from the central axis to an inner surface (see inner surface of 33 and 34, Figure 1C) of the wedge settling unit (33 and 34, Figure 1C), when the wedge unit (21, Figure 1C) and the wedge settling unit (33 and 34, Figure 1C) are press-fitted to each other (21, 33, and 34, Figure 1C, are in close contact with one another), the wedge unit (21, Figure 1C) and the wedge settling unit (33 and 34, Figure 1C) are in close contact with each other such that no gap is formed therebetween (21 is attached to a ring-shaped groove part 34, ¶[0042]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Zhang having the the camera apparatus with the teachings of Nakajima having the wedge unit and the wedge settling unit are press-fitted to each other and axial coordinates thereof in an axial direction are the same, a distance in a radial direction from a central axis to an outer surface of the wedge unit is greater than a distance in the radial direction from the central axis to an inner surface of the wedge settling unit, when the wedge unit and the wedge settling unit are press-fitted to each other, the wedge unit and the wedge settling unit are in close contact with each other such that no gap is formed therebetween, for the purpose of stability.
With respect to Claim 2, Zhang further teaches wherein the unibody (1, Figure 1) is made of a non-transmissive material (laser-absorbing plastic, ¶[0041]) through which a laser beam cannot pass (laser-absorbing plastic, ¶[0041]), and the rear body (2, Figure 1) is made of a transmissive material through which a laser beam can pass (¶[0051]).
With respect to Claim 4, Zhang further teaches wherein the wedge unit (1021, Figure 1) and the wedge settling unit (2021, Figure 1) are welded together (1 and 2 are connected by laser welding, ¶[0041]) by the laser beam (laser welding, ¶[0041]).
With respect to Claim 6, Zhang teaches a method of manufacturing a camera apparatus, comprising processes of: inserting a part of a unibody (1, Figure 1) including, a lens barrel (101, Figure 1) and a front body (102, Figure 1) that are integrated with each other and not separated from each other, into a rear body (2, Figure 1); and welding (1 and 2 are connected by laser welding, ¶[0041]) the part of the unibody (1, Figure 1) and a part of the rear body (2, Figure 1) together by irradiating a laser beam to an outer portion of the rear body (2, Figure 1), wherein the inserting process includes a process of pushing the unibody (1, Figure 1) into the rear body (2, Figure 1) forcibly so that a wedge unit (1021, Figure 4) formed on an outer portion of the unibody (1, Figure 1) and a wedge settling unit (1021, Figure 4) formed on an inner portion of the rear body (2, Figure 1) form a press-fit structure (see Figures 1 and 4), and a radially-outer dimension (outer dimension of 1021, Figure 4) of the wedge unit (1021, Figure 4) is greater than a radially-inner dimension (inner dimension of 1021, Figure 4) of the wedge settling unit (1021, Figure 4).
Zhang fails to teach when the wedge unit and the wedge settling unit are press-fitted to each other and axial coordinates thereof in an axial direction are the same, a distance in a radial direction from a central axis to an outer surface of the wedge unit is greater than a distance in the radial direction from the central axis to an inner surface of the wedge settling unit, when the wedge unit and the wedge settling unit are press-fitted to each other, the wedge unit and the wedge settling unit are in close contact with each other such that no gap is formed therebetween.
Nakajima teaches when the wedge unit (21, Figure 1C) and the wedge settling unit (33 and 34, Figure 1C) are press-fitted () to each other and axial coordinates thereof (Figure 1C, 33 and 34 have axial coordinates in all three axes) in an axial direction are the same (33 and 34 in Figure 1C, have the same axial coordinates in all three axes), a distance in a radial direction (see Figure 1C) from a central axis (L, Figure 1C) to an outer surface of the wedge unit (21, Figure 1C) is greater than a distance (21 is further away from the central axis, Figure 1C) in the radial direction (see Figure 1C) from the central axis to an inner surface (see inner surface of 33 and 34, Figure 1C) of the wedge settling unit (33 and 34, Figure 1C), when the wedge unit (21, Figure 1C) and the wedge settling unit (33 and 34, Figure 1C) are press-fitted to each other (21, 33, and 34, Figure 1C, are in close contact with one another), the wedge unit (21, Figure 1C) and the wedge settling unit (33 and 34, Figure 1C) are in close contact with each other such that no gap is formed therebetween (21 is attached to a ring-shaped groove part 34, ¶[0042]).
With respect to Claim 8, Zhang further discloses wherein the laser beam is irradiated (¶[0051]) in a direction perpendicular (horizontally, ¶[0051]) to a central axis of the rear body (2, Figure 1).
With respect to Claim 9, Zhang further discloses wherein, in the welding process (1 and 2 are connected by laser welding, ¶[0041]), the rear body (2, Figure 1) rotates in situ while the laser beam is irradiated (¶[0051]) to the rear body (2, Figure 1) and the axis of the in-situ rotation (¶[0043]) of the rear body (2, Figure 1) corresponds to a central axis of the rear body (2, Figure 1).
With respect to Claim 10, Zhang further discloses, wherein, in the welding process (1 and 2 are connected by laser welding, ¶[0041]), a laser beam (laser A, Figure 1) is simultaneously irradiated (¶[0051]) toward an entire outer circumference (¶[0051]) of the rear body (2, Figure 1).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN210142251U) in view of Nakajima (US 20190004274 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Okazaki (US 2009/0206698 A1).
With respect to Claim 5, Embodiment One of Zhang in view of Nakajima teach the camera apparatus of Claim 1 and the unibody (1, Figure 1, of Zhang).
Embodiment One of Zhang in view of Nakajima fails to teach a rigidity enhancing unit that surrounds the outer portion of the unibody and that is configured to enhance the rigidity of the unibody.
Embodiment Two of Zhang teaches a rigidity enhancing unit (C, Figure 10) that surrounds the outer portion of the unibody (see how C surrounds the outer portion in Figure 10) and that is configured to enhance the rigidity of the unibody (¶[0040]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Embodiment One of Zhang in view of Nakajima having the camera apparatus with the teachings of Embodiment Two of Zhang having the rigidity enhancing unit for the purpose of not allowing UV light to pass through the unit, (¶[0040]).
Embodiment One of Zhang in view of Nakajima and Embodiment Two of Zhang fail to teach wherein the rigidity enhancing unit is detachably coupled to the outer surface of the unibody.
Embodiment One of Zhang in view of Nakajima and Embodiment Two of Zhang teach the camera and Okazaki teaches a vibration device used within a camera.
Okazaki teaches wherein the rigidity enhancing unit (40, Figure 1) is detachably (detachably mounted, ¶[0116]) coupled to the outer surface of the unibody (42, Figure 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Embodiment One of Zhang in view of Nakajima and Embodiment Two of Zhang having the camera apparatus with the teachings of Okazaki having the rigidity enhancing unit detachably coupled to the outer surface of the unibody for the purpose of interchanging units for various shutter speeds and f-stops (well-known in the art).
Conclusion
/TYW/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872