DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/30/2023 and 05/15/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo (JP 2021156336 A) in view of Zhang (CN 112901685 B).
Regarding claim 1, Kondo discloses a brake apparatus (figs. 1-2) for a vehicle, comprising:
a drum (2) configured to rotate together with a wheel of the vehicle;
a pair of brake shoes (5 and 6) to which linings for rubbing against a friction surface (2b) on an inner circumferential side of the drum are attached; and
a wheel cylinder (8) disposed to contact one end of each of the pair of brake shoes and configured to operate the pair of brake shoes outwardly by receiving braking hydraulic pressure.
Kondo does not disclose an air flow path allowing air flow formed inside the friction surface such that the lining and the friction surface are separated by the air flow as recited in claim. However, Zhang discloses a similar drum brake system (figs. 1-2) comprising a drum (1) having an air flow path (3-6) allowing air flow formed inside a friction surface such that a lining and the friction surface are separated by the air flow (note fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before filing date of the present application was made to modify the drum of Kondo with the air flow as taught by Zhang will ensure the excellent radiating performance of the drum.
Re-claim 2, the modified Kondo discloses the air flow path includes: a first air flow path (5) extending in an axial direction of the drum and provided inside the friction surface; and a second air flow path (3-4) extending from the first air flow path to the friction surface.
Re-claim 3, the modified Kondo discloses a plurality of first air flow paths (5) are provided along a side edge of the friction surface, a plurality of second air flow paths (3-4) extend from the first air flow path toward the friction surface, and the first air flow paths and the second air flow paths are arranged at a set number and interval so that the linings and the friction surface maintain a set distance.
Re-claim 4, the modified Kondo discloses wherein in the second air flow path (3-4), a first opening connected to the first air flow path (5) and a second opening connected to the friction surface are connected to each other and a flow path diameter is formed to be the same.
Regarding claim 9, Kondo discloses a brake apparatus (figs. 1-2) for a vehicle, comprising:
a drum (2) configured to rotate together with a wheel of the vehicle;
a pair of brake shoes (5 and 6) to which linings for rubbing against a friction surface (2b) on an inner circumferential side of the drum are attached;
a wheel cylinder (8) disposed to contact one end of each of the pair of brake shoes and configured to operate the pair of brake shoes outwardly by receiving braking hydraulic pressure; and
a restoring member (12) configured to exert a set elastic force and connected to the pair of brake shoes to provide a restoring force after outward operation of the pair of brake shoes.
Kondo does not disclose an air flow path allowing air flow formed inside the friction surface such that the lining and the friction surface are separated by the air flow as recited in claim. However, Zhang discloses a similar drum brake system (figs. 1-2) comprising a drum (1) having an air flow path (3-6) allowing air flow formed inside a friction surface such that a lining and the friction surface are separated by the air flow (note fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before filing date of the present application was made to modify the drum of Kondo with the air flow as taught by Zhang will ensure the excellent radiating performance of the drum.
Re-claim 10, the modified Kondo discloses wherein the air flow path includes: a first air flow path (5) extending in an axial direction of the drum and provided inside the friction surface; and a second air flow path (3-4) extending from the first air flow path to the friction surface.
Re-claim 11, the modified Kondo discloses wherein a plurality of first air flow paths (5) are provided along a side edge of the friction surface, a plurality of second air flow paths (3-4) extend from the first air flow path toward the friction surface, and the first air flow paths and the second air flow paths are arranged at a set number and interval so that the linings and the friction surface maintain a set distance.
Re-claim 12, the modified Kondo discloses wherein in the second air flow path (3-4), a first opening connected to the first air flow path (5) and a second opening connected to the friction surface are connected to each other, and a flow path diameter is formed to be the same.
Claims 5-8 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo (JP 2021156336 A) in view of Zhang (CN 112901685 B), further in view of Yao (CN 106763331 A).
Regarding claims 5-8 and 13-16, the modified Kondo discloses wherein in the second air flow path (3-4), a first opening connected to the first air flow path (5) and a second opening connected to the friction surface are connected to each other, but fails to disclose a flow path diameter is changed in a set pattern. However, Yao discloses a brake drum (1) with a plurality of heat radiating holes (3-4 in fig. 3) comprising various diameter portions (note the portions 3 and 4 in fig. 3, wherein each hole portions having a tapered end portion). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before filing date of the present application was made to modify the paths of the brake drum of Kondo with diameter changed in any desired set pattern and/or as taught by Yao will increase the radiating area of the brake drum and the radiating efficiency, so as to prolong the service life of the brake drum while saving the maintenance cost (note abstract of Yao).
Conclusion
/MAHBUBUR RASHID/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616