DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II(claims 14-18), drawn to illumination specifically adopted for pattern recognition, in the reply filed on 03/26/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the unelected claims directed to Group III (claims 19-26), drawn to mounting of the opto-electronics element, classified in G02B6/4245. This is not found persuasive because claim14 does not teach …placing a substrate comprising a wavelength conversion material over a camera of an electronic device; positioning a light shield over an optical connector of an optical cable assembly, wherein the light shield comprises a first opening, second opening, and a passage between the first opening and the second opening; and placing the second opening of the light shield over the wavelength conversion material and the camera of the electronic device... As stated in claim 19 of invention III. Further, Claim 19 does not teach… receiving image data of a wavelength conversion material positioned to receive an optical signal having a communication wavelength, wherein the wavelength conversion material is operable to convert the communication wavelength of the optical signal to a detection wavelength; and processing the image data to determine a presence or lack of presence of an illumination region that is illuminated by the optical signal; and providing a success indication when the processing of the image data is indicative of a presence of an illumination region. As stated in claim 14 of invention II. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14,16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Zozgornik(US 2019/0137064).
Considering Claim 14 Zozgornik discloses a method of determining a status of an optical communication link, the method comprising: receiving image data of a wavelength conversion material positioned to receive an optical signal having a communication wavelength(See Paragraph 56,59,61 fig. 2 i.e. a detector(140) for receiving image data of a wavelength conversion material(130) positioned to receive an optical signal(10) having a communication wavelength), wherein the wavelength conversion material is operable to convert the communication wavelength of the optical signal to a detection wavelength(See Paragraph 55,56, fig. 2 i.e. wherein the wavelength conversion material(130) is operable to convert the communication wavelength of the optical signal(10) to a detection wavelength(20)); and processing the image data to determine a presence or lack of presence of an illumination region that is illuminated by the optical signal(See Paragraph 7,55,62, fig. 2 i.e. processing the image data(20) detected by detector(140) to determine a presence or lack of presence of an illumination region(determining the level of intensity of the detected light is whether or not below a threshold level. low intensity indicates a breakage of the optical fiber(120)) that is illuminated by the optical signal(10)); and providing a success indication when the processing of the image data is indicative of a presence of an illumination region(See Paragraph 7,35, 62,fig. 2 i.e. the detector(140) providing a success indication (which is detected signal intensity meets a threshold level) when the processing of the image data is indicative of a presence of an illumination region(intensity of detected signal)).
Considering Claim 16 Zozgornik discloses the optical system of claim 14, wherein the detection wavelength is within a visible spectrum or a near-infrared spectrum(See Paragraph 55,fig. 2 i.e. the detection wavelength(20) is within a visible spectrum or a near-infrared spectrum).
Considering Claim 17 Zozgornik discloses the optical system of claim 14, wherein the wavelength conversion material is a phosphorescence material(See Paragraph 14,55,fig. 2 i.e. the wavelength conversion material(130) is a phosphorescence material).
Considering Claim 18 Zozgornik discloses the optical system of claim 14, further comprising: transmitting the success indication when the processing of the image data is indicative of the presence of the illumination region(See Paragraph 7,35, 62,fig. 2 i.e. transmitting the success indication(when the detected light intensity meets threshold level) when the processing of the image data is indicative of the presence of the illumination region(detected intensity level)); and transmitting a failure indication when the processing of the image data is not indicative of an illumination region(See Paragraph 7,35, 62,fig. 2 i.e. transmitting a failure indication(intensity of the detected signal is below a threshold) to the controller(150) when the processing of the image data is not indicative of an illumination region (below threshold level))).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HIBRET A WOLDEKIDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635