Status of Claims
Claims 1-5, 7-11, and 13-22 are pending
Claims 6 and 12 are cancelled
Claims 20-22 are new
Claims 1, 5, 7-11, and 13-15 are amended
Response to Arguments
Claim Interpretation Under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f)
Given applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 8, 9, and 10, the claim interpretations under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) have been withdrawn.
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 112
Given applicant’s amendments of claims 1, 8, 9, and 10 to no longer recite language subject to 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) interpretation, the 35 U.S.C. 112(a)/(b) rejections for claims 1-10 have been withdrawn.
Regarding applicant’s argument directed towards the rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the examiner agrees. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection for claim 5 has been withdrawn.
Regarding applicant’s argument directed towards the rejection of claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the examiner agrees. The 35 U.S.C. 112(a)/(b) rejections for claim 11 have been withdrawn.
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 103
Regarding applicant’s argument that KIESER in view of FISHER fails to teach “wherein the processor is further configured to perform the pre-processing control to cause: based on the current seat state data indicating a measured leg rest angle is open, switching, via the leg-rest angle adjustment function, a leg rest angle to be closed; and moving, via the seat sliding function, the seat to a seat target position at which the seat is capable of being swiveled” due to the lack of the “preprocessing control” within FISHER, the examiner disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
A broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims regarding the “based on the current seat state data indicating a measured leg rest angle is open, switching, via the leg-rest angle adjustment function, a leg rest angle to be closed; and” would anticipate the need for a leg rest to be adjusted for obstructions as is anticipated by FISHER in ¶ 0058 (“In response to a single command received via the keypad 140 or another control surface, it may be necessary to move the actuators 108 in multiple stages, each with its own direction and motion profile. This is referred to herein as a “multi-segment motion.” For example, one of the actuators 108 may need to move the corresponding component out of the way of a known obstruction, or from one mechanical channel or guide to another, before moving the component to its desired position.”) which the leg rest would be a component of the components which may need to be shifted (¶ 0041, “Corresponding actuators 108B, 108C, 108D are configured to move the back support 114, the seat pan 116, and the leg rest 110, respectively, in response to one or more time-varying motion command(s), e.g., from a controller 186 or 187”).
KIESER discloses an electronic control device that “controls the at least one adjustment drive in order to adjust the vehicle seat from a current starting position into a particular target position” (¶ 0010) with the need for the correction for vehicle-specific restrictions as within ¶ 0045 (“The static and dynamic vehicle-specific constraints discussed above including the adjustment positions of the individual adjustable components that do not belong to the vehicle seat FS are included into an evaluation of a control logic of the electronic control device 2 as values for a plurality of restriction parameters in order to determine which adjusters 4a to 4e and 5 or which adjustable components 10, 11 and seat components S, R and KS must be actuated in what way in order to reach the desired target position of the vehicle seat FS”). The target positions withing KIESER includes pivoting as disclosed in ¶ 0028 (“adjustment of the vehicle seat from the at least one starting position into the at least one target position here can also include at least pivoting of the vehicle seat about a pivot axis which extends along a spatial direction pointing from a vehicle floor of the vehicle to a ceiling of the vehicle when the vehicle seat is properly mounted in the interior of the vehicle.”).
Given both KIESER and FISHER anticipate the need to adjust seating for the vehicle based on obstructions/constraints, a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time prior to the filing date of the invention would recognize that a pivoting vehicle seat with automatic controls could include an automated leg rest.
Regarding the applicant’s argument that office utilized applicant’s claims to formulate obviousness statement, the examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Given this, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is sustained. Please see 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 8, 11, 13, 17, 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIESER (US 20200276916 A1) in view of FISHER (US 20150375865 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
KIESER discloses:
A vehicle seat control system comprising: (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0007-0009, “[0007] Such a seat adjuster at least comprises [0008] an adjustable vehicle seat which is adjustable in a power-operated way between at least one starting position and at least one target position in an interior space of a vehicle (vehicle interior), wherein the adjustment of the vehicle seat from the at least one starting position into the at least one target position at least can include pivoting of a vehicle seat about a pivot axis which extends along a spatial direction pointing from a vehicle floor of the vehicle to a ceiling of the vehicle, i.e. for example is vertically oriented, and [0009] an electronic control device for controlling at least one adjustment drive by means of which the vehicle seat can be driven for a power-operated adjustment from the at least one starting position into the at least one target position.”)
a seat comprising at least one motor assembly configured to perform a plurality of functions comprising: (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0007-0009; ¶ 0028, “The adjustment of the vehicle seat from the at least one starting position into the at least one target position here can also include at least pivoting of the vehicle seat about a pivot axis which extends along a spatial direction pointing from a vehicle floor of the vehicle to a ceiling of the vehicle when the vehicle seat is properly mounted in the interior of the vehicle. Corresponding to the seat adjuster proposed according to the invention it is furthermore provided that an adjustment of the vehicle seat from a current starting position into a particular target position is effected by means of at least one (motorized) adjustment drive and on the basis of characteristic-map data via which adjusting movements to be carried out by the vehicle seat are specified in order to reach the target position.”)
a seat sliding function, (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0038, “Via front and rear rail connections SA1 and SA2, the seat part S of the vehicle seat FS is connected to a rail module which provides for an adjustment of the vehicle seat FA in particular along the longitudinal vehicle axis by means of a motorized adjustment drive in the form of a longitudinal adjuster 4e. The vehicle seat FS here can be longitudinally slidable along almost the entire length of the vehicle interior I and hence along a length of at least 100 cm. Via the longitudinal adjuster 4e, the vehicle seat FS is adjustable in particular from the normal driving position as shown in FIG. 1 for example to the rear into a working position as shown in FIG. 2 in a first rear interior region IC and into a relax position corresponding to FIG. 3 in which the seat part S is inclined backwards and the backrest R pivoted to the rear almost completely protrudes into a rearmost interior region ID of the vehicle interior I.”)
a backrest angle adjustment function, (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0039, “For a power-operated pivoting of the backrest R with respect to the seat part S about a backrest pivot axis, another motorized adjustment drive can be provided in the form of a backrest adjuster 4a. For the power-operated change of an inclination of the seat part S and/or the seat depth at least one further motorized adjustment drive is provided in the illustrated variant in the form of an inclination adjuster 4c. Furthermore, a headrest KS of the vehicle seat FS also can be adjustable via a motorized adjustment drive in the form of a headrest adjuster 4b. To furthermore adjust the vehicle seat FS into a target position which is pivoted with respect to the starting position of FIG. 1 and to the direction of travel, in particular into a target position rotated by 180° corresponding to FIG. 4, there is furthermore provided a rotary mechanism comprising a motorized adjustment drive in the form of a rotary adjuster 4d on the vehicle seat FS.”)
a seat swivel function, (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0020, “The at least one adjustment drive of the seat adjuster in principle can be equipped and provided for changing a pivot position of the vehicle seat with respect to the pivot axis and hence for example for a rotation of the vehicle seat by more than 90°. In one design variant, for example, a longitudinal position of the vehicle seat and/or a seat depth on the vehicle seat, an inclination of a seat part and/or a backrest and/or the position of a headrest furthermore is adjustable in a power-operated way by means of the at least one adjustment drive in order to adjust the vehicle seat into the target position. In principle, the same drive motor of the adjustment drive can be used here as well.”)
wherein the at least one motor assembly comprises at least one sensor; (see at least KIESER, INTRODUCTION, "For measuring and monitoring the characteristics related to shaft rotations, a common sensor used to determine instantaneous shaft speed (and position) is an incremental encoder. While the encoder is a proven tested transducer, it has several practical drawbacks, in particular, cost, susceptibility to contamination, size and durability. The method proposed in this paper for measuring shaft rotational position uses a non-contact magnet rotational position sensor. This method employs a Hall effect sensor to measure the changing magnet field created from a magnet fixed on the end of a rotating shaft.")
a seat control processor, for the seat, configured to collect seat state data and to control, based on a received command, the at least one motor assembly to perform at least one of the plurality of functions; and (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0009; ¶ 0053, “After the vehicle-specific and user-specific restriction parameters and their corresponding values hence are set, an electronic query of the currently taken position of the vehicle seat FS and hence of the respective adjustment positions of the individual seat components S, R and KS subsequently is made in a method step A4. For this purpose, for example position encoders of the individual adjustment drives 4a to 4e are queried. In any case, the current (starting) position of the vehicle seat FS, after method step A4 is carried out, is known to the electronic control device 2.”)
a processor, communicatively connected to the seat control processor, configured to: (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0009)
predict an obstruction condition of a seat swivel by checking, based on receiving a request for the seat swivel, the seat state data; (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0014, “In a possible embodiment, the characteristic-map data take account of the at least one static vehicle-specific restriction parameter in order to adjust seat components provided on the vehicle seat and thereby provide for an adjustability into the target position without a collision with an immovable vehicle component. In this connection it can be specified for example via the characteristic-map data to actuate a backrest adjuster of the vehicle seat in order to (temporarily) transfer the backrest of the vehicle seat into another adjustment position so that the vehicle seat can take the desired target position. In the target position the backrest adjuster then can, if possible, automatically adjust the backrest back into the adjustment position corresponding to the starting position of the vehicle seat.”; ¶ 0042, “Via the electronic control device 2 it is also taken into account whether vehicle components of the vehicle interior I form a potential obstacle in a possible adjustment path to the target position of the vehicle seat FS. Such a vehicle component for example can be a B-pillar of the vehicle. The location of such a vehicle component in the vehicle interior space I, such as for example the location of a B-pillar, here is static and unchangeable.”; ¶ 0045, “The static and dynamic vehicle-specific constraints discussed above including the adjustment positions of the individual adjustable components that do not belong to the vehicle seat FS are included into an evaluation of a control logic of the electronic control device 2 as values for a plurality of restriction parameters in order to determine which adjusters 4a to 4e and 5 or which adjustable components 10, 11 and seat components S, R and KS must be actuated in what way in order to reach the desired target position of the vehicle seat FS. For this purpose, the control logic of the electronic control device 2 employs characteristic-map data of a characteristic-map memory 3 coupled with the electronic control device 2. The characteristic-map memory 3 stores characteristic-map data for adjusting movements to be carried out by the vehicle seat FS in dependence on the respective starting position and the possible vehicle-specific restriction parameters so that by means of these characteristic-map data and by taking account of the individual static and dynamic constraints the electronic control device 2 can determine a (best) possible adjusting sequence at the end of which the vehicle seat FS can be adjusted from the current starting position into the target position which is desired e.g. on the part of the seat user P.”; ¶ 0053)
resolve the obstruction condition via a pre-processing control of the seat control processor; and (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0015, “Alternatively or in addition, the characteristic-map data can comprise at least one dynamic vehicle-specific restriction parameter which has at least two values. The value of the at least one dynamic vehicle-specific restriction parameter here for example can be dependent on an adjustment position of at least one adjustable component which does not belong to the vehicle seat. Thus, via the dynamic vehicle-specific restriction parameter basically variable constraints are taken into account, which can influence the adjustment and the adjustment path of the vehicle seat to be realized from the starting position into the target position. This for example includes the fact that via the dynamic vehicle-specific restriction parameter an adjustment position of a steering wheel column, a steering wheel support, a central armrest, a center console, a vehicle door, a footrest and/or a vehicle window pane is taken into account and the electronic control device correspondingly is configured to take account of a corresponding adjustment position when actuating the at least one adjustment drive in order to adjust the vehicle seat from the current starting position into the desired target position. This in particular can mean that in dependence on the respective adjustment position the adjustment of the vehicle seat is varied. It can likewise be provided that at least one further adjustment drive is actuated by means of the electronic control device in order to vary an adjustment position of a corresponding adjustable component. In this connection it can be provided for example to change the position of a steering wheel column, a steering wheel support, a central armrest, a center console, a vehicle door (when the vehicle is stationary), a footrest and/or a vehicle window pane in a power-operated way in order to provide for an adjustment of the vehicle seat from the current starting position into the desired target position.”; ¶ 0045)
based on the obstruction condition being resolved, cause the seat control processor to control the at least one motor assembly to perform the seat swivel via the seat swivel function, (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0055, “From the available adjustment parameters and restriction parameters a (best) possible adjustment path can be determined by using the characteristic-map data from the characteristic-map memory 3 by means of the control logic of the electronic control device 2 as an adjusting sequence for the actuation of the individual adjustment drives 4a to 4e, 5 and the corresponding seat components S, R and KS as well as the adjustable components 10, 11, on the basis of which the adjustment of the vehicle seat FS into the target position is made in a subsequent method step A7.”)
wherein the processor is further configured to, based on causing performance of at least one of the plurality of the functions, (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0010, “Furthermore, there is provided a characteristic-map memory coupled with the electronic control device. This characteristic-map memory stores characteristic-map data for adjusting movements to be carried out by the vehicle seat. By means of the characteristic-map data the electronic control device controls the at least one adjustment drive in order to adjust the vehicle seat from a current starting position into a particular target position. Accordingly, the adjustment of the vehicle seat is based on a characteristic-map control. Such a characteristic-map control can take account of the situation in the vehicle interior space, and in particular the starting position of the vehicle seat, in order to specify the best possible adjustment path for the vehicle seat until the target position is reached.”)
update, in a memory, last seat state data received from the at least one sensor with current seat state data received from the at least one sensor; (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0045)
wherein the checking the seat state data comprises identifying the current seat state data; and (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0019, “The current starting position to be taken into account in particular can include a current adjustment position of at least two seat components of the vehicle seat relative to each other. For example, the characteristic-map data specify different adjusting movements for different adjustment positions of one or more seat components of the vehicle seat, such as for example of a seat part, a backrest and/or a headrest, which are to be carried out by the vehicle seat, seat components adjustably mounted thereon and/or vehicle-side adjustable components not belonging to the vehicle seat within the interior of the vehicle in order to transfer the vehicle seat into the desired target position in a power-operated way.”)
wherein the processor is further configured to perform the pre-processing control to cause: (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0010)
moving, via the seat sliding function, the seat to a seat target position at which the seat is capable of being swiveled. (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0020)
KIESER does not disclose, but FISHER teaches:
a leg-rest angle adjustment function, and (see at least FISHER, ¶ 0045, “In the illustrated exemplary embodiment, a linear-type actuator 108D can be used to move the leg rest 110 over an angular range of motion between a substantially vertical, retracted position and a substantially horizontal, extended position. The actuator 108D drives a bar 150 connected to a pivot 151 mounted to the leg rest 110. The pivot 151 is offset from an axis of angular rotation (shown near first end 171) of the leg rest 110. Therefore, linear motion of the bar 150 applies a torque about the axis of angular rotation. The pivot permits the torque to be applied substantially without bending either the bar 150 or the leg rest 110. In another example, the actuator 108D can drive the input link of a four-bar or other linkage, e.g., a planar quadrilateral linkage, and the output link of the linkage can move the leg rest 110.”)
based on the current seat state data indicating a measured leg rest angle is open, switching, via the leg-rest angle adjustment function, a leg rest angle to be closed; and (see at least FISHER, ¶ 0041, “The seat 101 includes a back support 114, a seat pan 116 having a rearward portion 161 associated with the back support 114, and a leg rest 110 having a first end 171 associated with a forward portion 162 of the seat pan 116. Each of the back support 114, the seat pan 116, and the leg rest 110 according to this exemplary embodiment is movable along a predetermined path of travel. Corresponding actuators 108B, 108C, 108D are configured to move the back support 114, the seat pan 116, and the leg rest 110, respectively, in response to one or more time-varying motion command(s), e.g., from a controller 186 or 187. In various examples, the actuator 108G is configured to move the seat frame 122. The seat frame 122 can support the back support 114, the seat pan 116, the leg rest 110, or other components of the seat 101, either directly or via mounting brackets or other components. For example, the leg rest 110 can be mounted to the seat pan 116 and the seat pan 116 mounted to the seat frame 122; in this situation, the seat frame 122 is still considered to support the leg rest 110. When the seat frame 122 moves according to this embodiment, at least one of the back support 114, the seat pan 116, and the leg rest 110 is also configured to move with the seat frame 122. For example, the back support 114, the seat pan 116, and the leg rest 110 all move along predetermined paths of travel when the seat frame 122 is caused to move. Additionally, and though not discussed specifically herein, the seat 101 may include other movable components, e.g., rotary privacy dividers.”; ¶ 0058, “In response to a single command received via the keypad 140 or another control surface, it may be necessary to move the actuators 108 in multiple stages, each with its own direction and motion profile. This is referred to herein as a “multi-segment motion.” For example, one of the actuators 108 may need to move the corresponding component out of the way of a known obstruction, or from one mechanical channel or guide to another, before moving the component to its desired position. Moreover, a single command may require moving multiple components in unison or cooperation. For example, a command to configure the seat 101 for repose may require reclining the back support 114, raising the leg rest 110, and extending the foot rest 112. The controller 186 or 187 can adjust the motion profiles for these components based on their current positions so that each component arrives at the respective preset repose position simultaneously, rather than staggered in time.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the motorized seat, characteristic seat map, and adjuster within KIESER to include a motorized leg rest with the ability being actuated along with the repositioning seat traveling in a predetermined path to avoid a known obstructions as within FISHER to yield an effective vehicle seat with a leg rest with planned movements for properly aligning with the target position while avoiding collisions with obstacles.
Regarding claim 2:
KIESER in view of FISHER discloses the limitations within claim 1 and KIESER further discloses:
a first motor configured to perform the seat sliding function, and communicatively connected to a first sensor configured to measure a seat sliding position, (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0038, “Via front and rear rail connections SA1 and SA2, the seat part S of the vehicle seat FS is connected to a rail module which provides for an adjustment of the vehicle seat FA in particular along the longitudinal vehicle axis by means of a motorized adjustment drive in the form of a longitudinal adjuster 4e. The vehicle seat FS here can be longitudinally slidable along almost the entire length of the vehicle interior I and hence along a length of at least 100 cm. Via the longitudinal adjuster 4e, the vehicle seat FS is adjustable in particular from the normal driving position as shown in FIG. 1 for example to the rear into a working position as shown in FIG. 2 in a first rear interior region IC and into a relax position corresponding to FIG. 3 in which the seat part S is inclined backwards and the backrest R pivoted to the rear almost completely protrudes into a rearmost interior region ID of the vehicle interior I.”; ¶ 0053, “After the vehicle-specific and user-specific restriction parameters and their corresponding values hence are set, an electronic query of the currently taken position of the vehicle seat FS and hence of the respective adjustment positions of the individual seat components S, R and KS subsequently is made in a method step A4. For this purpose, for example position encoders of the individual adjustment drives 4a to 4e are queried. In any case, the current (starting) position of the vehicle seat FS, after method step A4 is carried out, is known to the electronic control device 2.”)
a second motor configured to perform the backrest angle adjustment function, and communicatively connected to a second sensor configured to measure a backrest angle, (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0039, “For a power-operated pivoting of the backrest R with respect to the seat part S about a backrest pivot axis, another motorized adjustment drive can be provided in the form of a backrest adjuster 4a. For the power-operated change of an inclination of the seat part S and/or the seat depth at least one further motorized adjustment drive is provided in the illustrated variant in the form of an inclination adjuster 4c. Furthermore, a headrest KS of the vehicle seat FS also can be adjustable via a motorized adjustment drive in the form of a headrest adjuster 4b. To furthermore adjust the vehicle seat FS into a target position which is pivoted with respect to the starting position of FIG. 1 and to the direction of travel, in particular into a target position rotated by 180° corresponding to FIG. 4, there is furthermore provided a rotary mechanism comprising a motorized adjustment drive in the form of a rotary adjuster 4d on the vehicle seat FS.”; ¶ 0053)
a fourth motor configured to perform the seat swivel function, and communicatively connected to a fourth sensor measuring a seat swivel angle. (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0020, “The at least one adjustment drive of the seat adjuster in principle can be equipped and provided for changing a pivot position of the vehicle seat with respect to the pivot axis and hence for example for a rotation of the vehicle seat by more than 90°. In one design variant, for example, a longitudinal position of the vehicle seat and/or a seat depth on the vehicle seat, an inclination of a seat part and/or a backrest and/or the position of a headrest furthermore is adjustable in a power-operated way by means of the at least one adjustment drive in order to adjust the vehicle seat into the target position. In principle, the same drive motor of the adjustment drive can be used here as well.”; ¶ 0053)
KIESER does not disclose, but FISHER teaches:
a third motor configured to perform the leg-rest angle adjustment function, and communicatively connected to a third sensor configured to measure a leg rest angle, and (see at least FISHER, ¶ 0045, “In the illustrated exemplary embodiment, a linear-type actuator 108D can be used to move the leg rest 110 over an angular range of motion between a substantially vertical, retracted position and a substantially horizontal, extended position. The actuator 108D drives a bar 150 connected to a pivot 151 mounted to the leg rest 110. The pivot 151 is offset from an axis of angular rotation (shown near first end 171) of the leg rest 110. Therefore, linear motion of the bar 150 applies a torque about the axis of angular rotation. The pivot permits the torque to be applied substantially without bending either the bar 150 or the leg rest 110. In another example, the actuator 108D can drive the input link of a four-bar or other linkage, e.g., a planar quadrilateral linkage, and the output link of the linkage can move the leg rest 110.”; ¶ 0084, “In embodiments using step 505, the at least one actuator 108 is configured to provide a motion-status signal, as described above with reference to FIG. 4. The motion-status signal can include, e.g., encoder counts, or resistance of a position-sensing potentiometer. In step 505, actuator controller 187 receives an indication of a desired motion, e.g., via the bus interface 415, and automatically providing the time-varying motion command in response to the received command and the motion-status signal. In this way, the actuator controller 187 runs closed-loop, operating the actuator 108 based on the encoder signal or other motion-status signal therefrom. As discussed below, to detect present or potential obstructions, the controller can monitor the actuator current or other feedback signal while the motion command is applied.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the motorized seat and adjuster within KIESER to include a motorized leg rest with position sensor within FISHER to yield an effective vehicle seat with a leg rest.
Regarding claim 3:
KIESER in view of FISHER discloses the limitations within claim 2 and KIESER further discloses:
wherein the fourth motor is configured to perform a swivel-switch by swiveling the seat from facing a first direction to facing a second direction. (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0003, “In particular with regard to motor vehicles driving autonomously in the future, different vehicle interior design concepts currently are taken into consideration. Frequently, it is also provided that a vehicle seat will be distinctly more pivotable than this is realized in vehicles known so far. For example, it is envisaged that a vehicle seat will be pivotable by more than 90°, in particular by up to 180° about a pivot axis. For reasons of comfort, pivoting of the vehicle seat here will be effected in a power-operated way by means of at least one motorized drive.”)
Regarding claim 4:
KIESER in view of FISHER discloses the limitations within claim 3 and KIESER further discloses:
wherein the fourth motor is configured to swivel the seat to a seat direction configured to provide a user of the seat with a front view, a side view, or a rear view with respect to a vehicle comprising the seat. (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0003, “In particular with regard to motor vehicles driving autonomously in the future, different vehicle interior design concepts currently are taken into consideration. Frequently, it is also provided that a vehicle seat will be distinctly more pivotable than this is realized in vehicles known so far. For example, it is envisaged that a vehicle seat will be pivotable by more than 90°, in particular by up to 180° about a pivot axis. For reasons of comfort, pivoting of the vehicle seat here will be effected in a power-operated way by means of at least one motorized drive.”; ¶ 0039, “For a power-operated pivoting of the backrest R with respect to the seat part S about a backrest pivot axis, another motorized adjustment drive can be provided in the form of a backrest adjuster 4a. For the power-operated change of an inclination of the seat part S and/or the seat depth at least one further motorized adjustment drive is provided in the illustrated variant in the form of an inclination adjuster 4c. Furthermore, a headrest KS of the vehicle seat FS also can be adjustable via a motorized adjustment drive in the form of a headrest adjuster 4b. To furthermore adjust the vehicle seat FS into a target position which is pivoted with respect to the starting position of FIG. 1 and to the direction of travel, in particular into a target position rotated by 180° corresponding to FIG. 4, there is furthermore provided a rotary mechanism comprising a motorized adjustment drive in the form of a rotary adjuster 4d on the vehicle seat FS.”)
EXAMINERS NOTE: Even though KIESER does not explicitly names views for the chair, KIESER does note rotating the chair by 180 degrees with would cover the front, side, and rear view.
Regarding claim 7:
KIESER in view of FISHER discloses the limitations within claim 1 and KIESER further discloses:
wherein the performing the pre-processing control further causes adjusting, via the backrest angle adjustment function, the seat backrest to a target angle. (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0020, “The at least one adjustment drive of the seat adjuster in principle can be equipped and provided for changing a pivot position of the vehicle seat with respect to the pivot axis and hence for example for a rotation of the vehicle seat by more than 90°. In one design variant, for example, a longitudinal position of the vehicle seat and/or a seat depth on the vehicle seat, an inclination of a seat part and/or a backrest and/or the position of a headrest furthermore is adjustable in a power-operated way by means of the at least one adjustment drive in order to adjust the vehicle seat into the target position. In principle, the same drive motor of the adjustment drive can be used here as well.”; ¶ 0039, “For a power-operated pivoting of the backrest R with respect to the seat part S about a backrest pivot axis, another motorized adjustment drive can be provided in the form of a backrest adjuster 4a. For the power-operated change of an inclination of the seat part S and/or the seat depth at least one further motorized adjustment drive is provided in the illustrated variant in the form of an inclination adjuster 4c. Furthermore, a headrest KS of the vehicle seat FS also can be adjustable via a motorized adjustment drive in the form of a headrest adjuster 4b. To furthermore adjust the vehicle seat FS into a target position which is pivoted with respect to the starting position of FIG. 1 and to the direction of travel, in particular into a target position rotated by 180° corresponding to FIG. 4, there is furthermore provided a rotary mechanism comprising a motorized adjustment drive in the form of a rotary adjuster 4d on the vehicle seat FS.”; ¶ 0046, “As an additional constraint, the characteristic-map data of the characteristic-map memory 3 or the control logic of the electronic control device 3 for example also can include the fact that one or more of the seat components S, R and KS of the vehicle seat FS must not be adjusted during the adjustment into the desired target position or at best only to a small extent. For example, it can be preset or is to be set by the seat user P that an adjustment position of the backrest R relative to the seat part S, which is set in the current starting position, should remain unchanged. This adjustment position then is blocked so that with reference to the characteristic-map data of the characteristic-map memory 3 the electronic control device 2—if possible—must determine an adjusting sequence and hence an adjustment path in which the target position can be reached without an adjustment of the backrest R and hence without actuating the backrest adjuster 4a. Such preset constraints or constraints to be set on the part of the user are included into the characteristic-map memory 3 or the electronic control device 2 in the form of values for at least one corresponding user-specific restriction parameter by means of a (user) input E.”)
Regarding claim 8:
KIESER in view of FISHER discloses the limitations within claim 1 and KIESER further discloses:
a center console disposed between the seat and an second front seat, wherein the seat and the second front seat are each capable of being moved in a direction parallel to a front-back axis of a vehicle comprising the seat; and (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0038, “Via front and rear rail connections SA1 and SA2, the seat part S of the vehicle seat FS is connected to a rail module which provides for an adjustment of the vehicle seat FA in particular along the longitudinal vehicle axis by means of a motorized adjustment drive in the form of a longitudinal adjuster 4e. The vehicle seat FS here can be longitudinally slidable along almost the entire length of the vehicle interior I and hence along a length of at least 100 cm. Via the longitudinal adjuster 4e, the vehicle seat FS is adjustable in particular from the normal driving position as shown in FIG. 1 for example to the rear into a working position as shown in FIG. 2 in a first rear interior region IC and into a relax position corresponding to FIG. 3 in which the seat part S is inclined backwards and the backrest R pivoted to the rear almost completely protrudes into a rearmost interior region ID of the vehicle interior I.”)
a console position sensor configured to detect a position of the center console, wherein the seat controller is configured to predict, based on checking center console state data of the center console, the obstruction condition to comprise the center console obstructing the seat swivel function. (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0043, “An adjustability of the vehicle seat FS into the target position furthermore can be influenced by dynamic vehicle-specific constraints. For example, the adjustability of the vehicle seat FS can depend on the position of the steering wheel support 11, the steering column 10 or other adjustable components not belonging to the vehicle seat FS, such as for example a central armrest, a center console, a vehicle door, a footrest or a vehicle window pane. Such adjustable components can represent potential obstacles with which the vehicle seat FS might collide when it is adjusted into the desired target position, without taking account of the respective adjustment position of the corresponding adjustable components. In the present case, the electronic control device 2 for this purpose is not only coupled with the seat-side adjusters 4a to 4b, but also with the steering column 10, the steering wheel support 11 and further component adjusters 5 by means of which a power-operated adjustment of particular adjustable components, for example a center console or an armrest in the vehicle interior I, is made possible.”; ¶ 0067, “After front seat 1 is swiveled, the integrated controller 100 determines whether it is necessary to swivel front seat 2 (S111). Upon determining that it is necessary to swivel front seat 2, the console is moved rearwards according to motor control of the integrated controller 100 such that the console does not interfere with front seat 2 when front seat 2 is swiveled (S112). In addition, front seat 1 is moved rearwards and at the same time front seat 2 is moved forwards according to motor control of the integrated controller 100 such that front seat 1 does not interfere with front seat 2 when front seat 2 is swiveled (S113).”)
Regarding claim 11:
KIESER discloses:
A method for a vehicle seat control, the method comprising: (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0007-0009, “[0007] Such a seat adjuster at least comprises [0008] an adjustable vehicle seat which is adjustable in a power-operated way between at least one starting position and at least one target position in an interior space of a vehicle (vehicle interior), wherein the adjustment of the vehicle seat from the at least one starting position into the at least one target position at least can include pivoting of a vehicle seat about a pivot axis which extends along a spatial direction pointing from a vehicle floor of the vehicle to a ceiling of the vehicle, i.e. for example is vertically oriented, and [0009] an electronic control device for controlling at least one adjustment drive by means of which the vehicle seat can be driven for a power-operated adjustment from the at least one starting position into the at least one target position.”)
checking, based on receiving a signal indicating user input requesting to swivel a seat, seat state data of the seat; (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0053, “After the vehicle-specific and user-specific restriction parameters and their corresponding values hence are set, an electronic query of the currently taken position of the vehicle seat FS and hence of the respective adjustment positions of the individual seat components S, R and KS subsequently is made in a method step A4. For this purpose, for example position encoders of the individual adjustment drives 4a to 4e are queried. In any case, the current (starting) position of the vehicle seat FS, after method step A4 is carried out, is known to the electronic control device 2.”)
the seat at a target position, are satisfied; (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0014, “In a possible embodiment, the characteristic-map data take account of the at least one static vehicle-specific restriction parameter in order to adjust seat components provided on the vehicle seat and thereby provide for an adjustability into the target position without a collision with an immovable vehicle component. In this connection it can be specified for example via the characteristic-map data to actuate a backrest adjuster of the vehicle seat in order to (temporarily) transfer the backrest of the vehicle seat into another adjustment position so that the vehicle seat can take the desired target position. In the target position the backrest adjuster then can, if possible, automatically adjust the backrest back into the adjustment position corresponding to the starting position of the vehicle seat.”; ¶ 0042, “Via the electronic control device 2 it is also taken into account whether vehicle components of the vehicle interior I form a potential obstacle in a possible adjustment path to the target position of the vehicle seat FS. Such a vehicle component for example can be a B-pillar of the vehicle. The location of such a vehicle component in the vehicle interior space I, such as for example the location of a B-pillar, here is static and unchangeable.”; ¶ 0053, “After the vehicle-specific and user-specific restriction parameters and their corresponding values hence are set, an electronic query of the currently taken position of the vehicle seat FS and hence of the respective adjustment positions of the individual seat components S, R and KS subsequently is made in a method step A4. For this purpose, for example position encoders of the individual adjustment drives 4a to 4e are queried. In any case, the current (starting) position of the vehicle seat FS, after method step A4 is carried out, is known to the electronic control device 2.”)
based on at least one of the plurality of conditions not being satisfied: (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0042; ¶ 0053)
determining an obstruction condition for performing a seat swivel function; and (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0014; ¶ 0042; ¶ 0053)
performing a pre-processing control to remove the obstruction condition; and (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0015, “Alternatively or in addition, the characteristic-map data can comprise at least one dynamic vehicle-specific restriction parameter which has at least two values. The value of the at least one dynamic vehicle-specific restriction parameter here for example can be dependent on an adjustment position of at least one adjustable component which does not belong to the vehicle seat. Thus, via the dynamic vehicle-specific restriction parameter basically variable constraints are taken into account, which can influence the adjustment and the adjustment path of the vehicle seat to be realized from the starting position into the target position. This for example includes the fact that via the dynamic vehicle-specific restriction parameter an adjustment position of a steering wheel column, a steering wheel support, a central armrest, a center console, a vehicle door, a footrest and/or a vehicle window pane is taken into account and the electronic control device correspondingly is configured to take account of a corresponding adjustment position when actuating the at least one adjustment drive in order to adjust the vehicle seat from the current starting position into the desired target position. This in particular can mean that in dependence on the respective adjustment position the adjustment of the vehicle seat is varied. It can likewise be provided that at least one further adjustment drive is actuated by means of the electronic control device in order to vary an adjustment position of a corresponding adjustable component. In this connection it can be provided for example to change the position of a steering wheel column, a steering wheel support, a central armrest, a center console, a vehicle door (when the vehicle is stationary), a footrest and/or a vehicle window pane in a power-operated way in order to provide for an adjustment of the vehicle seat from the current starting position into the desired target position.”)
based on the performing the pre-processing control and the plurality of conditions being satisfied, performing a swivel control to swivel the seat to a preset angle via the seat swivel function, (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0055, “From the available adjustment parameters and restriction parameters a (best) possible adjustment path can be determined by using the characteristic-map data from the characteristic-map memory 3 by means of the control logic of the electronic control device 2 as an adjusting sequence for the actuation of the individual adjustment drives 4a to 4e, 5 and the corresponding seat components S, R and KS as well as the adjustable components 10, 11, on the basis of which the adjustment of the vehicle seat FS into the target position is made in a subsequent method step A7.”)
wherein the performing the pre-processing control comprises: (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0010)
determining whether a leg rest angle of the seat is closed, and, based on determining the leg rest angle is not closed, controlling the leg rest angle to be closed via a leg-rest angle adjustment function; and (see at least FISHER, ¶ 0041, “The seat 101 includes a back support 114, a seat pan 116 having a rearward portion 161 associated with the back support 114, and a leg rest 110 having a first end 171 associated with a forward portion 162 of the seat pan 116. Each of the back support 114, the seat pan 116, and the leg rest 110 according to this exemplary embodiment is movable along a predetermined path of travel. Corresponding actuators 108B, 108C, 108D are configured to move the back support 114, the seat pan 116, and the leg rest 110, respectively, in response to one or more time-varying motion command(s), e.g., from a controller 186 or 187. In various examples, the actuator 108G is configured to move the seat frame 122. The seat frame 122 can support the back support 114, the seat pan 116, the leg rest 110, or other components of the seat 101, either directly or via mounting brackets or other components. For example, the leg rest 110 can be mounted to the seat pan 116 and the seat pan 116 mounted to the seat frame 122; in this situation, the seat frame 122 is still considered to support the leg rest 110. When the seat frame 122 moves according to this embodiment, at least one of the back support 114, the seat pan 116, and the leg rest 110 is also configured to move with the seat frame 122. For example, the back support 114, the seat pan 116, and the leg rest 110 all move along predetermined paths of travel when the seat frame 122 is caused to move. Additionally, and though not discussed specifically herein, the seat 101 may include other movable components, e.g., rotary privacy dividers.”; ¶ 0058, “In response to a single command received via the keypad 140 or another control surface, it may be necessary to move the actuators 108 in multiple stages, each with its own direction and motion profile. This is referred to herein as a “multi-segment motion.” For example, one of the actuators 108 may need to move the corresponding component out of the way of a known obstruction, or from one mechanical channel or guide to another, before moving the component to its desired position. Moreover, a single command may require moving multiple components in unison or cooperation. For example, a command to configure the seat 101 for repose may require reclining the back support 114, raising the leg rest 110, and extending the foot rest 112. The controller 186 or 187 can adjust the motion profiles for these components based on their current positions so that each component arrives at the respective preset repose position simultaneously, rather than staggered in time.”)
determining whether a seat slide position of the seat is the target position, and, (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0010; ¶ 0020)
based on determining the seat slide position is not the target position, controlling the seat to be moved to the target position via a seat sliding function. (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0010; ¶ 0020)
KIESER does not disclose, but FISHER teaches:
determining, based on the seat state data, whether a plurality of conditions, comprising preset conditions of a closed leg rest and (see at least FISHER, ¶ 0041, “The seat 101 includes a back support 114, a seat pan 116 having a rearward portion 161 associated with the back support 114, and a leg rest 110 having a first end 171 associated with a forward portion 162 of the seat pan 116. Each of the back support 114, the seat pan 116, and the leg rest 110 according to this exemplary embodiment is movable along a predetermined path of travel. Corresponding actuators 108B, 108C, 108D are configured to move the back support 114, the seat pan 116, and the leg rest 110, respectively, in response to one or more time-varying motion command(s), e.g., from a controller 186 or 187. In various examples, the actuator 108G is configured to move the seat frame 122. The seat frame 122 can support the back support 114, the seat pan 116, the leg rest 110, or other components of the seat 101, either directly or via mounting brackets or other components. For example, the leg rest 110 can be mounted to the seat pan 116 and the seat pan 116 mounted to the seat frame 122; in this situation, the seat frame 122 is still considered to support the leg rest 110. When the seat frame 122 moves according to this embodiment, at least one of the back support 114, the seat pan 116, and the leg rest 110 is also configured to move with the seat frame 122. For example, the back support 114, the seat pan 116, and the leg rest 110 all move along predetermined paths of travel when the seat frame 122 is caused to move. Additionally, and though not discussed specifically herein, the seat 101 may include other movable components, e.g., rotary privacy dividers.”; ¶ 0045, “In the illustrated exemplary embodiment, a linear-type actuator 108D can be used to move the leg rest 110 over an angular range of motion between a substantially vertical, retracted position and a substantially horizontal, extended position. The actuator 108D drives a bar 150 connected to a pivot 151 mounted to the leg rest 110. The pivot 151 is offset from an axis of angular rotation (shown near first end 171) of the leg rest 110. Therefore, linear motion of the bar 150 applies a torque about the axis of angular rotation. The pivot permits the torque to be applied substantially without bending either the bar 150 or the leg rest 110. In another example, the actuator 108D can drive the input link of a four-bar or other linkage, e.g., a planar quadrilateral linkage, and the output link of the linkage can move the leg rest 110.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the motorized seat, characteristic seat map, and adjuster within KIESER to include a motorized leg rest with the ability being actuated along with the repositioning seat traveling in a predetermined path to avoid a known obstructions as within FISHER to yield an effective vehicle seat with a leg rest with planned movements for properly aligning with the target position while avoiding collisions with obstacles.
Regarding claim 13:
KIESER in view of FISHER discloses the limitations within claim 11 and KIESER further discloses:
the performing the pre-processing control further comprises determining whether a backrest of the seat is at a target angle, and, (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0020, “The at least one adjustment drive of the seat adjuster in principle can be equipped and provided for changing a pivot position of the vehicle seat with respect to the pivot axis and hence for example for a rotation of the vehicle seat by more than 90°. In one design variant, for example, a longitudinal position of the vehicle seat and/or a seat depth on the vehicle seat, an inclination of a seat part and/or a backrest and/or the position of a headrest furthermore is adjustable in a power-operated way by means of the at least one adjustment drive in order to adjust the vehicle seat into the target position. In principle, the same drive motor of the adjustment drive can be used here as well.”; ¶ 0039, “For a power-operated pivoting of the backrest R with respect to the seat part S about a backrest pivot axis, another motorized adjustment drive can be provided in the form of a backrest adjuster 4a. For the power-operated change of an inclination of the seat part S and/or the seat depth at least one further motorized adjustment drive is provided in the illustrated variant in the form of an inclination adjuster 4c. Furthermore, a headrest KS of the vehicle seat FS also can be adjustable via a motorized adjustment drive in the form of a headrest adjuster 4b. To furthermore adjust the vehicle seat FS into a target position which is pivoted with respect to the starting position of FIG. 1 and to the direction of travel, in particular into a target position rotated by 180° corresponding to FIG. 4, there is furthermore provided a rotary mechanism comprising a motorized adjustment drive in the form of a rotary adjuster 4d on the vehicle seat FS.”; ¶ 0046, “As an additional constraint, the characteristic-map data of the characteristic-map memory 3 or the control logic of the electronic control device 3 for example also can include the fact that one or more of the seat components S, R and KS of the vehicle seat FS must not be adjusted during the adjustment into the desired target position or at best only to a small extent. For example, it can be preset or is to be set by the seat user P that an adjustment position of the backrest R relative to the seat part S, which is set in the current starting position, should remain unchanged. This adjustment position then is blocked so that with reference to the characteristic-map data of the characteristic-map memory 3 the electronic control device 2—if possible—must determine an adjusting sequence and hence an adjustment path in which the target position can be reached without an adjustment of the backrest R and hence without actuating the backrest adjuster 4a. Such preset constraints or constraints to be set on the part of the user are included into the characteristic-map memory 3 or the electronic control device 2 in the form of values for at least one corresponding user-specific restriction parameter by means of a (user) input E.”)
based on determining the backrest is not at the target angle, controlling the backrest to the target angle via a backrest angle adjustment function. (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0020)
Regarding claim 17:
KIESER in view of FISHER discloses the limitations within claim 12 and KIESER further discloses:
wherein the performing of the swivel control comprises causing swiveling of the seat to a seat direction configured to provide a user with a front view, a side view, or a rear view. (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0003, “In particular with regard to motor vehicles driving autonomously in the future, different vehicle interior design concepts currently are taken into consideration. Frequently, it is also provided that a vehicle seat will be distinctly more pivotable than this is realized in vehicles known so far. For example, it is envisaged that a vehicle seat will be pivotable by more than 90°, in particular by up to 180° about a pivot axis. For reasons of comfort, pivoting of the vehicle seat here will be effected in a power-operated way by means of at least one motorized drive.”; ¶ 0039, “For a power-operated pivoting of the backrest R with respect to the seat part S about a backrest pivot axis, another motorized adjustment drive can be provided in the form of a backrest adjuster 4a. For the power-operated change of an inclination of the seat part S and/or the seat depth at least one further motorized adjustment drive is provided in the illustrated variant in the form of an inclination adjuster 4c. Furthermore, a headrest KS of the vehicle seat FS also can be adjustable via a motorized adjustment drive in the form of a headrest adjuster 4b. To furthermore adjust the vehicle seat FS into a target position which is pivoted with respect to the starting position of FIG. 1 and to the direction of travel, in particular into a target position rotated by 180° corresponding to FIG. 4, there is furthermore provided a rotary mechanism comprising a motorized adjustment drive in the form of a rotary adjuster 4d on the vehicle seat FS.”)
Regarding claim 20:
With regards to claim 20, this claim is substantially similar to claim 1 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
Regarding claim 21:
KIESER in view of FISHER discloses the limitations within claim 20 and KIESER further discloses:
the pre-processing control indicates the switching of the leg rest angle before the moving of the seat to the seat target position. (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0045, “The static and dynamic vehicle-specific constraints discussed above including the adjustment positions of the individual adjustable components that do not belong to the vehicle seat FS are included into an evaluation of a control logic of the electronic control device 2 as values for a plurality of restriction parameters in order to determine which adjusters 4a to 4e and 5 or which adjustable components 10, 11 and seat components S, R and KS must be actuated in what way in order to reach the desired target position of the vehicle seat FS. For this purpose, the control logic of the electronic control device 2 employs characteristic-map data of a characteristic-map memory 3 coupled with the electronic control device 2. The characteristic-map memory 3 stores characteristic-map data for adjusting movements to be carried out by the vehicle seat FS in dependence on the respective starting position and the possible vehicle-specific restriction parameters so that by means of these characteristic-map data and by taking account of the individual static and dynamic constraints the electronic control device 2 can determine a (best) possible adjusting sequence at the end of which the vehicle seat FS can be adjusted from the current starting position into the target position which is desired e.g. on the part of the seat user P.”)
KIESER does not disclose, but FISHER teaches:
the pre-processing control indicates the switching of the leg rest angle before the moving of the seat to the seat target position. (see at least FISHER, ¶ 0058, “In response to a single command received via the keypad 140 or another control surface, it may be necessary to move the actuators 108 in multiple stages, each with its own direction and motion profile. This is referred to herein as a “multi-segment motion.” For example, one of the actuators 108 may need to move the corresponding component out of the way of a known obstruction, or from one mechanical channel or guide to another, before moving the component to its desired position. Moreover, a single command may require moving multiple components in unison or cooperation. For example, a command to configure the seat 101 for repose may require reclining the back support 114, raising the leg rest 110, and extending the foot rest 112. The controller 186 or 187 can adjust the motion profiles for these components based on their current positions so that each component arrives at the respective preset repose position simultaneously, rather than staggered in time.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the motorized seat, characteristic seat map, and adjuster within KIESER to include a motorized leg rest with the ability being actuated along with the repositioning seat traveling in a predetermined path to avoid a known obstructions as within FISHER to yield an effective vehicle seat with a leg rest with planned movements for properly aligning with the target position while avoiding collisions with obstacles.
Regarding claim 22:
With regards to claim 22, this claim is substantially similar to claim 7 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIESER (US 20200276916 A1) in view of FISHER (US 20150375865 A1) in further view of RAPOS ("Dynamic sensor calibration: A comparative study of a Hall effect sensor and an incremental encoder for measuring shaft rotational position," 2016 IEEE International Conference on Prognostics and Health Management (ICPHM), Ottawa, ON, Canada, 2016, pp. 1-5).
Regarding claim 5:
KIESER in view of FISHER discloses the limitations within claim 2 and KIESER further discloses:
wherein each of the first sensor, the second sensor, the third sensor and the fourth sensor: (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0053, “After the vehicle-specific and user-specific restriction parameters and their corresponding values hence are set, an electronic query of the currently taken position of the vehicle seat FS and hence of the respective adjustment positions of the individual seat components S, R and KS subsequently is made in a method step A4. For this purpose, for example position encoders of the individual adjustment drives 4a to 4e are queried. In any case, the current (starting) position of the vehicle seat FS, after method step A4 is carried out, is known to the electronic control device 2.”)
an encoder; and (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0053)
is configured to measure a position of a corresponding motor of the first motor, the second motor, the third motor, or the fourth motor. (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0053)
KIESER does not disclose, but RAPOS teaches:
is one or more of a Hall sensor (see at least RAPOS, INTRODUCTION, "For measuring and monitoring the characteristics related to shaft rotations, a common sensor used to determine instantaneous shaft speed (and position) is an incremental encoder. While the encoder is a proven tested transducer, it has several practical drawbacks, in particular, cost, susceptibility to contamination, size and durability. The method proposed in this paper for measuring shaft rotational position uses a non-contact magnet rotational position sensor. This method employs a Hall effect sensor to measure the changing magnet field created from a magnet fixed on the end of a rotating shaft.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the position encoders for acquiring motor positions for the vehicle seat within KIESER to utilize Hall effect sensors as tested within RAPOS to yield efficient motor position determination.
Claims 9, 10, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIESER (US 20200276916 A1) in view of FISHER (US 20150375865 A1) in further view of KANG (US 20210309123 A1).
Regarding claim 9:
KIESER in view of FISHER discloses the limitations within claim 8 and KIESER does not disclose, but KANG teaches:
the center console is a manual console movable by a user, and wherein the processor is configured to: (see at least KANG, ¶ 0041, “As shown in FIG. 1, each of front seats 10 and 20, disposed in a limited interior space of the self-driving vehicle, is configured to have a slim structure such that the forward-rearward movement and swivel operation of the seat are easily performed, and a console 30, disposed between the front seats 10 and 20, is automatically moved to a usable position adjacent to the seat when the seat is moved in the forward-rearward direction. In addition, the console is automatically moved to a position at which interference between the console and the seat is avoided when the seat is swiveled.”; ¶ 0073, “At this time, the integrated controller 100 may check the current positions and array states of the front and rear seats and the console based on the information about the current amount of rotation of each of the first to fourth motors 110, 120, 130, and 140.”; ¶ 0093, “A return mode is a mode in which each seat and the console are returned to the original positions thereof in the state in which each seat and the console are disposed at specific positions through manual manipulation or automatic manipulation, as shown in FIG. 6C.”)
determine whether a position of the manual console is a console target position, and (see at least KANG, ¶ 0041; ¶ 0073)
based on a determination that the position of the manual console is not the console target position, guide the user to move the manual console to the console target position. (see at least KANG, ¶ 0010, “In addition, it may support a manual mode, in which a driver directly manipulates the positions of the seats, and an automatic mode, in which the seats are automatically swiveled and moved to desired positions in a specific situation, at the time of self-driving in the future such that the current positions of motors for driving the seats can be checked and thus the seats can be moved to predetermined positions without interference.”; ¶ 0093)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the center console obstacle detection within KIESER to manually reposition the console for avoiding Collison with seat swiveling within KANG to yield an effective seat collision avoidance system that is not contingent on motorized operation.
Regarding claim 10:
KIESER in view of FISHER discloses the limitations within claim 8 and KIESER further discloses:
wherein the center console is an electric console movable via a motor controlled by a console controller, and wherein the processor is configured to: (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0043, “An adjustability of the vehicle seat FS into the target position furthermore can be influenced by dynamic vehicle-specific constraints. For example, the adjustability of the vehicle seat FS can depend on the position of the steering wheel support 11, the steering column 10 or other adjustable components not belonging to the vehicle seat FS, such as for example a central armrest, a center console, a vehicle door, a footrest or a vehicle window pane. Such adjustable components can represent potential obstacles with which the vehicle seat FS might collide when it is adjusted into the desired target position, without taking account of the respective adjustment position of the corresponding adjustable components. In the present case, the electronic control device 2 for this purpose is not only coupled with the seat-side adjusters 4a to 4b, but also with the steering column 10, the steering wheel support 11 and further component adjusters 5 by means of which a power-operated adjustment of particular adjustable components, for example a center console or an armrest in the vehicle interior I, is made possible.”)
KIESER does not disclose, but KANG teaches:
determine whether a position of the electric console is a console target position; and (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0041, “As shown in FIG. 1, each of front seats 10 and 20, disposed in a limited interior space of the self-driving vehicle, is configured to have a slim structure such that the forward-rearward movement and swivel operation of the seat are easily performed, and a console 30, disposed between the front seats 10 and 20, is automatically moved to a usable position adjacent to the seat when the seat is moved in the forward-rearward direction. In addition, the console is automatically moved to a position at which interference between the console and the seat is avoided when the seat is swiveled.”; ¶ 0073, “At this time, the integrated controller 100 may check the current positions and array states of the front and rear seats and the console based on the information about the current amount of rotation of each of the first to fourth motors 110, 120, 130, and 140.”)
based on a determination that the position of the electric console is not the console target position, (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0080, “Subsequently, the integrated controller 100 performs control such that the driver seat is moved forwards to the original position thereof, the console is moved forwards to the original position thereof, and the rear seats are moved forwards to the original positions thereof (S213), whereby all of the seats and the console may easily be returned to the original positions thereof.”)
cause the console controller to move the electric console to the console target position. (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0081, “As described above, each seat and the console may automatically return to original positions thereof irrespective of the current positions of each seat and the console.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the center console obstacle detection within KIESER to automatically reposition the console for avoiding collision with seat swiveling within KANG to yield an effective seat collision avoidance system that avoids damaging the swivel seats.
Regarding claim 14:
KIESER in view of FISHER discloses the limitations within claim 11 and KIESER further discloses:
wherein the seat is a front seat of a vehicle, and a manual console is disposed between the seat and another front seat of the vehicle; (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0038, “Via front and rear rail connections SA1 and SA2, the seat part S of the vehicle seat FS is connected to a rail module which provides for an adjustment of the vehicle seat FA in particular along the longitudinal vehicle axis by means of a motorized adjustment drive in the form of a longitudinal adjuster 4e. The vehicle seat FS here can be longitudinally slidable along almost the entire length of the vehicle interior I and hence along a length of at least 100 cm. Via the longitudinal adjuster 4e, the vehicle seat FS is adjustable in particular from the normal driving position as shown in FIG. 1 for example to the rear into a working position as shown in FIG. 2 in a first rear interior region IC and into a relax position corresponding to FIG. 3 in which the seat part S is inclined backwards and the backrest R pivoted to the rear almost completely protrudes into a rearmost interior region ID of the vehicle interior I.”)
KIESER does not disclose, but FISHER teaches:
guiding a user to move the manual console to the console target position. (see at least FISHER, ¶ 0065, “A according to another embodiment, upon receiving the broadcast status information, each module determines whether the status information is relevant, and if so, whether an action should be taken based on the status information. Each module then internally generates commands to take required action based on the status information. Thus, in this exemplary embodiment, each module is autonomous and independently controls the function of its component or seat device 109 with only the status information broadcast on the network by the other modules, without sending or receiving any commands to the other modules and without receiving commands from a central controller such as the controller 186. Instead, all processing and computations relevant to actuating a component or seat device 109 are distributed among all the seat modules 222 and performed internally by the modules 222 themselves. For example, in response to user selections on the PCU 240, the module 222g can transmit data including indications of a desired motion to modules 222a or 222b or actuator controllers 187 embodied therein. In another example, when an actuator controller 187 embodied in module 222a or 222b detects and obstruction, the corresponding module 222a, 222b can transmit status information on the communication bus 224 indicating that an obstruction was detected. Modules 222f, 222g can then cause a visual indication of the obstruction to be displayed to a user via the IFE 246 or the PCU 240, respectively.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the obstacle detection within KIESER to incorporate the obstacle notification via the user display of FISHER to yield an effective notification for the user to resolve and obstacle such as the center console.
KIESER in view of FISHER does not disclose, but KANG teaches:
wherein the manual console is capable of being moved manually by a user in a direction parallel to a front-back axis of the vehicle; (see at least KANG, ¶ 0041, “As shown in FIG. 1, each of front seats 10 and 20, disposed in a limited interior space of the self-driving vehicle, is configured to have a slim structure such that the forward-rearward movement and swivel operation of the seat are easily performed, and a console 30, disposed between the front seats 10 and 20, is automatically moved to a usable position adjacent to the seat when the seat is moved in the forward-rearward direction. In addition, the console is automatically moved to a position at which interference between the console and the seat is avoided when the seat is swiveled.”)
wherein a sensor is configured to detect a position of the manual console; and (see at least KANG, ¶ 0041; ¶ 0073, “At this time, the integrated controller 100 may check the current positions and array states of the front and rear seats and the console based on the information about the current amount of rotation of each of the first to fourth motors 110, 120, 130, and 140.”)
wherein the performing of the pre-processing control further comprises determining whether the position of the manual console is a console target position, and, (see at least KANG, ¶ 0041; ¶ 0073)
based on determining the position of the manual console is not the console target position, (see at least KANG, ¶ 0010, “In addition, it may support a manual mode, in which a driver directly manipulates the positions of the seats, and an automatic mode, in which the seats are automatically swiveled and moved to desired positions in a specific situation, at the time of self-driving in the future such that the current positions of motors for driving the seats can be checked and thus the seats can be moved to predetermined positions without interference.”; ¶ 0093, “A return mode is a mode in which each seat and the console are returned to the original positions thereof in the state in which each seat and the console are disposed at specific positions through manual manipulation or automatic manipulation, as shown in FIG. 6C.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the center console obstacle detection within KIESER in view of FISHER to manually reposition the console for avoiding Collison with seat swiveling within KANG to yield an effective seat collision avoidance system that is not contingent on motorized operation.
Regarding claim 15:
KIESER in view of FISHER discloses the limitations within claim 11 and KIESER further discloses:
wherein the seat is a front seat of a vehicle, and an electric console is disposed between the seat and another front seat of the vehicle; (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0038, “Via front and rear rail connections SA1 and SA2, the seat part S of the vehicle seat FS is connected to a rail module which provides for an adjustment of the vehicle seat FA in particular along the longitudinal vehicle axis by means of a motorized adjustment drive in the form of a longitudinal adjuster 4e. The vehicle seat FS here can be longitudinally slidable along almost the entire length of the vehicle interior I and hence along a length of at least 100 cm. Via the longitudinal adjuster 4e, the vehicle seat FS is adjustable in particular from the normal driving position as shown in FIG. 1 for example to the rear into a working position as shown in FIG. 2 in a first rear interior region IC and into a relax position corresponding to FIG. 3 in which the seat part S is inclined backwards and the backrest R pivoted to the rear almost completely protrudes into a rearmost interior region ID of the vehicle interior I.”)
KIESER does not disclose, but KANG teaches:
wherein the electric console is capable of being moved, via a console controller configured to control a motor of the electric console, in a direction parallel to a front-back axis of the vehicle; (see at least KANG, ¶ 0041, “As shown in FIG. 1, each of front seats 10 and 20, disposed in a limited interior space of the self-driving vehicle, is configured to have a slim structure such that the forward-rearward movement and swivel operation of the seat are easily performed, and a console 30, disposed between the front seats 10 and 20, is automatically moved to a usable position adjacent to the seat when the seat is moved in the forward-rearward direction. In addition, the console is automatically moved to a position at which interference between the console and the seat is avoided when the seat is swiveled.”)
wherein a sensor is configured to detect a position of the electric console; and (see at least KANG, ¶ 0041; ¶ 0073, “At this time, the integrated controller 100 may check the current positions and array states of the front and rear seats and the console based on the information about the current amount of rotation of each of the first to fourth motors 110, 120, 130, and 140.”)
wherein the performing of the pre-processing control further comprises determining whether the position of the electric console is a console target position, and, (see at least KANG, ¶ 0041; ¶ 0073)
based on determining the position of the electric console is not the console target position, (see at least KANG, ¶ 0080, “Subsequently, the integrated controller 100 performs control such that the driver seat is moved forwards to the original position thereof, the console is moved forwards to the original position thereof, and the rear seats are moved forwards to the original positions thereof (S213), whereby all of the seats and the console may easily be returned to the original positions thereof.”)
controlling the electric console to be moved to the console target position via the console controller. (see at least KANG, ¶ 0081, “As described above, each seat and the console may automatically return to original positions thereof irrespective of the current positions of each seat and the console.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the center console obstacle detection within KIESER to automatically reposition the console for avoiding collision with seat swiveling within KANG to yield an effective seat collision avoidance system that avoids damaging the swivel seats.
Regarding claim 16:
KIESER in view of FISHER in further view of KANG discloses the limitations within claim 15 and KIESER further discloses:
after the performing of the swivel control, controlling the electric console to return from the console target position to its previous usage position. (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0015, “Alternatively or in addition, the characteristic-map data can comprise at least one dynamic vehicle-specific restriction parameter which has at least two values. The value of the at least one dynamic vehicle-specific restriction parameter here for example can be dependent on an adjustment position of at least one adjustable component which does not belong to the vehicle seat. Thus, via the dynamic vehicle-specific restriction parameter basically variable constraints are taken into account, which can influence the adjustment and the adjustment path of the vehicle seat to be realized from the starting position into the target position. This for example includes the fact that via the dynamic vehicle-specific restriction parameter an adjustment position of a steering wheel column, a steering wheel support, a central armrest, a center console, a vehicle door, a footrest and/or a vehicle window pane is taken into account and the electronic control device correspondingly is configured to take account of a corresponding adjustment position when actuating the at least one adjustment drive in order to adjust the vehicle seat from the current starting position into the desired target position. This in particular can mean that in dependence on the respective adjustment position the adjustment of the vehicle seat is varied. It can likewise be provided that at least one further adjustment drive is actuated by means of the electronic control device in order to vary an adjustment position of a corresponding adjustable component. In this connection it can be provided for example to change the position of a steering wheel column, a steering wheel support, a central armrest, a center console, a vehicle door (when the vehicle is stationary), a footrest and/or a vehicle window pane in a power-operated way in order to provide for an adjustment of the vehicle seat from the current starting position into the desired target position.”)
Claims 18, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIESER (US 20200276916 A1) in view of FISHER (US 20150375865 A1) in further view of HIDEYUKI (JP2008114670A).
Regarding claim 18:
KIESER in view of FISHER discloses the limitations within claim 17 and KIESER further discloses:
determining whether a door corresponding to the seat is opened before the causing swiveling of the seat to the seat direction configured to provide the side view; and (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0043, “An adjustability of the vehicle seat FS into the target position furthermore can be influenced by dynamic vehicle-specific constraints. For example, the adjustability of the vehicle seat FS can depend on the position of the steering wheel support 11, the steering column 10 or other adjustable components not belonging to the vehicle seat FS, such as for example a central armrest, a center console, a vehicle door, a footrest or a vehicle window pane. Such adjustable components can represent potential obstacles with which the vehicle seat FS might collide when it is adjusted into the desired target position, without taking account of the respective adjustment position of the corresponding adjustable components. In the present case, the electronic control device 2 for this purpose is not only coupled with the seat-side adjusters 4a to 4b, but also with the steering column 10, the steering wheel support 11 and further component adjusters 5 by means of which a power-operated adjustment of particular adjustable components, for example a center console or an armrest in the vehicle interior I, is made possible.”)
KIESER does not disclose, but FISHER teaches:
guiding the user to open the door, (see at least FISHER, ¶ 0065, “According to another embodiment, upon receiving the broadcast status information, each module determines whether the status information is relevant, and if so, whether an action should be taken based on the status information. Each module then internally generates commands to take required action based on the status information. Thus, in this exemplary embodiment, each module is autonomous and independently controls the function of its component or seat device 109 with only the status information broadcast on the network by the other modules, without sending or receiving any commands to the other modules and without receiving commands from a central controller such as the controller 186. Instead, all processing and computations relevant to actuating a component or seat device 109 are distributed among all the seat modules 222 and performed internally by the modules 222 themselves. For example, in response to user selections on the PCU 240, the module 222g can transmit data including indications of a desired motion to modules 222a or 222b or actuator controllers 187 embodied therein. In another example, when an actuator controller 187 embodied in module 222a or 222b detects and obstruction, the corresponding module 222a, 222b can transmit status information on the communication bus 224 indicating that an obstruction was detected. Modules 222f, 222g can then cause a visual indication of the obstruction to be displayed to a user via the IFE 246 or the PCU 240, respectively.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the obstacle detection within KIESER to incorporate the obstacle notification via the user display of FISHER to yield an effective notification for the user to resolve and obstacle such as the vehicle door.
KIESHER in view of FISHER does not teach, but HIDEYUKI teaches:
based on determining the door not is not opened, (see at least HIDEYUKI, ¶ 0013, “Furthermore, the vehicle swivel seat according to the third aspect of the present invention includes a rotation driving means for detecting the open/closed state of the door and for driving the seat body to rotate based on the open/closed state of the door.”)
wherein the swiveling of the seat to the seat direction configured to provide the side view is performed based on the door corresponding to the seat being opened. (see at least HIDEYUKI, ¶ 0007, "In addition, the vehicle rotating seat of claim 5 is provided with a door opening side rotation starting means that detects the door opening degree of the door and starts rotating the seat body toward the door opening side when it detects that the door has been opened beyond a predetermined opening side setting value."; ¶ 0019, "That is, when the door is opened from a predetermined position, the seat body starts to rotate toward the entrance/exit side.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the collision sensing within KIESER in view of FISHER to account for the vehicle door state when swiveling the chair to the door-side within HIDEYUKI to effectively prevent damage of the vehicle door when a user sets the target towards the outdoor side.
Regarding claim 19:
KIESER in view of FISHER in further view of HIDEYUKI discloses the limitations within claim 18 and KIESER further discloses:
based on receiving a user input signal requesting return of the seat after the swiveling of the seat to the seat direction configured to provide the side view, causing swiveling of the seat to a seat direction configured to provide the front view. (see at least KIESER, ¶ 0037, “FIG. 1 shows a vehicle interior I for a vehicle which is able to drive autonomously. In the vehicle interior I a vehicle seat FS is provided. This vehicle seat FS includes a seat part S and a backrest R pivotally arranged thereon in order to support the back of a seat user P. In the seating position of the vehicle seat FS as shown in FIG. 1 the seat part S is disposed in a front interior region IB of the vehicle interior I—based on the vehicle longitudinal direction pointing from the vehicle front to the vehicle rear. In this (front) seating position of the vehicle seat FS, the seat user P can steer the vehicle as a vehicle operator. Correspondingly, he can comfortably grasp a steering wheel provided on a steering wheel support 11 with his hands and actuate a brake pedal with his foot F in order to brake the vehicle when necessary. The foot F and the legs B of the seat user P protrude into a front interior region IA of the vehicle interior I.”; ¶ 0051, “In a subsequent method step A2 a query can be triggered, in which the seat user P must indicate whether an adjustment of the vehicle seat FS is to be made and, if yes, into what target position (possibly by selection from several possible target positions and hence for example the working position of FIG. 2, the relax position of FIG. 3 or the rotated position of FIG. 4).”)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAFAEL VELASQUEZ VANEGAS/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/JOAN T GOODBODY/Examiner, Art Unit 3664