DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention II, Species II-A-3 and II-B-1 in the reply filed on 23 January 2026 and the interview of 24 February 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would not be an undue burden in examining all of the different inventions and species. This is not found persuasive because the distinctly different inventions would require nonoverlapping searches which would require significantly more time and effort than examining a single invention, where time and resources are only allotted for examination of a single invention per application and making use of additional time and resources for the additional inventions would create a significant burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-7, 9, 10, 14-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 23 January 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Stimulation elements, first recited in claim 8 (light emitting diode, speaker, electrode, video or image generation device – paragraphs [0019] and [0024] as filed)
Control element, first recited in claim 8 (a central processing unit, a graphics processing unit (GPU), a microcontroller, a programmable logic controller or any other processor with signal processing function – paragraph [0019] as filed)
Input element, first recited in claim 11 (mouse, keyboard, microphone, etc. – paragraph [0032] as filed)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 defines a device which comprises only stimulation elements and a control element, but also recites that the control element is responsive to “a feedback signal”. It is entirely unclear how this feedback signal might reach the control element – is there an additional component of the device missing which acquires the feedback signal? Or does the control element receive it from some outside source? Or is one of the stimulation elements or control element itself also able to sense or otherwise acquire the feedback signal? Clarification is required.
Further, claim 8 calls for either setting the stimulation parameter as a default or adjusting it; it is unclear how this could function as part of the device, as it does not readily appear that the stimulation elements are applying signals over time, nor is it clear whether this is intended to operate in a feedback loop or if this is a one-time occurrence of potential adjustment. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miller (US 2018/0049636).
Regarding claim 8, Miller discloses a brain stimulation signal control device, comprising:
a plurality of stimulation elements configured to output a plurality of sensory stimulation signals to a user based on a stimulation parameter (paragraphs [0069], [0070]); and
a control element connected to the plurality of stimulation elements and configured to control the plurality of stimulation elements to output the plurality of sensory stimulation signals to obtain a feedback signal (paragraph [0067]),
wherein the control element sets the stimulation parameter as a default parameter or adjusts the stimulation parameter according to the feedback signal indicating a positive feedback state or a negative feedback state (paragraphs [0066], [0072]).
Regarding claim 11, Miller further discloses an input element connected to the control element and configured to receive a user answer on a cognition testing chart (paragraphs [0071], [0072]; chart – a diagram https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/chart; a drawing that shows information in a simple way https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/chart; a visual image (diagram, illustration) representing data or information https://www.vocabulary.com/dictionary/chart),
wherein the control element uses a matching degree between the user answer and a default answer as the feedback signal (paragraph [0072]),
wherein the positive feedback state indicates the matching degree being higher than or equal to a default degree, and the negative feedback state indicates the matching degree being lower than the default degree (paragraph [0072]).
Regarding claim 12, Miller further discloses that wherein the stimulation parameter comprises a frequency parameter (paragraph [0105], the monitor refresh rate), and the plurality of sensory stimulation signals are capable of arriving at a target area of the user substantially simultaneously (the stimuli are delivered at the same time, paragraph [0072]), and the plurality of sensory stimulation signals correspond to a same frequency (the stimuli are delivered via the same display, paragraph [0072]).
Regarding claim 13, Miller further discloses that each one of the plurality of sensory stimulation signals is at least one of a light signal, a sound signal and an electrical signal (paragraph [0064]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2022/0230755 to Herzallah, US 2021/0361967 to Cohen, US 2019/0001117 to Ben-David, US 2018/0221620 to Metzger, US 2017/0312517 to Phillips, US 2017/0224990 to Goldwasser, which disclose similar systems
/KAREN E TOTH/Examiner, Art Unit 3791