DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on December 16, 2022.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on October 30, 2023.
Claims 1 – 24 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references provided in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on October 30, 2023 have been considered. A signed copy of the corresponding 1449 form has been included with this office action.
Specification
The specification is objected to because of the following informalities:
The compounds in the specification are low resolution, which makes it difficult to determine the atoms and the bonds in the compounds.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The compounds are low resolution, which makes it difficult to determine the atoms and the bonds in the compounds.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 19 of copending Application No. 18/378,577 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds of Formula 1 in claim 1 of the instant application overlap in scope with compounds of Formula 1 in claim 1 of the ‘577 application as evidenced by compound 1-1 in claim 5 of the ‘577 application. Compounds of Chemical Formula 4 in claim 17 of the instant application overlap in scope with compounds of Formula 8 in claim 11 of the ‘577 application as evidenced by compound 3-1 in claim 12 of the ‘577 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 – 24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 21 of copending Application No. 18/378,562 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds of Formula 1 in claim 1 of the instant application overlap in scope with compounds of Formula 1 in claim 1 of the ‘562 application as evidenced by compound 1-1 in claim 5 of the ‘562 application. Compounds of Chemical Formula 4 in claim 17 of the instant application overlap in scope with compounds of Formula 6 in claim 10 of the ‘562 application as evidenced by compound 3-1 in claim 11 of the ‘562 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (KR20220037190A, using the provided machine translation).
As per claims 1 – 13, Bae teaches:
An organic compound of Chemical Formula 1
(Bae teaches compounds of Formula 1
([0007]), where R1 to R6 can be selected from a C6 to C30 aryl group ([0009]). A particular compound taught by Bae is compound 1-4
([0093]). However, Bae teaches that the aryl group may include a phenyl group or a naphthyl group ([0091]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify compound 1-4 and replace the phenyl ring with a naphthyl ring. When compound 1-4 is modified in this way, the modified compound reads on the claimed formula wherein a1 to a6 are 0 so that the corresponding R groups do not exist. The compound reads on Chemical Formula 2A and Chemical Formula 2B in claim 2, and the compound is represented by compound 1-1
or 1-6
in claim 7.)
An organic light emitting diode comprising a first electrode a second electrode facing the first electrode, and an emissive layer disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode, ([0174]: “As illustrated in FIG. 6, an organic light-emitting diode (D2) according to the third embodiment of the present invention includes a first electrode (310) and a second electrode (330) facing each other, and a light-emitting layer (320) located between the first and second electrodes (310, 330).”
Wherein the emissive layer comprises the organic compound of Chemical Formula 1 ([0218]: “At least one of the first light-emitting material layer… comprises a first compound represented by Chemical Formula 1…”)
Bae includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Bae being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of improved luminous efficiency ([0007]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
Bae teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and the compound is in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Bae as Bae demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claims 14 -16, Bae teaches:
Wherein the emissive layer comprises at least one emitting material layer and the one emitting material layer comprises an emitter including the organic compounds of Chemical Formula 1 ([0075]: “The luminescent material layer (240) includes a first compound which is a fluorescent material (compound).”
Wherein the at least one emitting material layer further comprises a first host ([0075]: “Additionally, the light-emitting material layer (240) may further include a third compound that is a host.”)
As per claims 17 and 18, Bae teaches:
Wherein the first host comprises a compound of Chemical Formula 4
(In Experimental Example 1 as described in [0146], a compound of Formula 6 is used as the host material
. This compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein b1 to b4 are 0 so that the corresponding R groups do not exist and Y1 has a structure of Chemical Formula 5A and is the same as compound 2-1
in claim 18.)
As per claim 19, Bae teaches:
Wherein the at least one emitting material layer further comprises a second host (As the claim is directed to a second host but does not require that the second host is different from the first host, it is the Examiner’s position that the second host can be interpreted as a second molecule of the host material of Chemical 4.)
As per claim 20, Bae teaches:
Wherein the emissive layer has a single emitting part ([0269]: “Each light-emitting part may have a single-layer structure of a light-emitting material layer.)
As per claim 21, Bae teaches:
Wherein the emissive layer comprises a first emitting part disposed between the first and second electrode and including a first emitting material layer, a second emitting part disposed between the first emitting part and the second electrode and including a second emitting material layer and a first charge generation layer disposed between the first emitting part and the second emitting part, wherein the emissive layer further comprises a third emitting part disposed between the second emitting part and the second electrode and including a third emitting material layer and a second charge generation layer disposed between the second emitting part and the third emitting part (In Fig. 12, as described in [0279 – 0288], Bae teaches a device with a first emitting part, indicated by 1410, a second emitting part, indicated by 1430, and a third light-emitting part indicated by 1450. Bae teaches a first charge generation layer, indicated by 1470 and a second charge generation layer, indicated by 1480, located in between the first, second and third emitting parts as claimed.)
Wherein the second emitting material layer comprises a first layer disposed between the first charge generation layer and the second charge generation layer, and a second layer disposed between the first layer and the second charge generation layer and wherein one of the first layer or the second layer comprises the organic compound of Chemical Formula 1 (As the claims requires a first and second layer in a single emitting layer but does not claim the composition of either or require that the layers are different, the layers are interpreted as sublayers of a single light-emitting layer. Furthermore, as Bae teaches that the compound is provided in the a light emitting layer of the device, the second emitting layer can be interpreted as whichever of the emitting units contains the compound of Bae.)
As per claim 24, Bae teaches:
An organic light emitting device comprising a substrate and the organic light emitting diode on the substrate ([0023]: “In another aspect, the present invention provides an organic light-emitting device comprising: a substrate; the aforementioned organic light-emitting diode positioned on the substrate; and an encapsulation film covering the organic light-emitting diode.”)
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789