DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wohlwend et al. (US Pub 2020/0151253).
Regarding claim 1, Wohlwend discloses a method comprising:
accessing, by an intent classification engine, a text transcript (para 0028, 0031, 093);
determining, by the intent classification engine, one or more features associated with the text transcript (para 0037, 0040, 0039), the determining the one or more features comprising:
generating, based at least in part on the text transcript, a graph comprising a plurality of nodes interconnected by a plurality of edges (see para 0063-0064, 0070; fig. 8a); and
using the graph to determine at least one of the one or more features associated with the text transcript (para 0074, 0090, 0093-0095 – the graph structure is used to determine which features (prototype vectors/intent) are relevant for comparison at each state and the message embedding features are selected/filtered based on the graph structure);
generating, by the intent classification engine based on the one or more features, an aggregate embedding vector (para 0040-0042; 0052); and
providing, by the intent classification engine, the aggregate embedding vector as an input to a trained model configured to output an intent classification (para 0043, 0047-0048, 0094, 0096; fig. 9).
Regarding claim 2, Wohlwend discloses wherein the one or more features comprises one or more of a local intent classification (0063-0065, 0095, 0099), a sentence type, an emotion, an intent recency, an intent frequency, a sequence weight, a geo-location intent, a co-occurrence ranking, or a previous intent.
Regarding claim 3, Wohlwend discloses wherein the determining the one or more features comprises:
providing, by the intent classification engine, one or more portions of the text transcript as inputs to a second trained model configured to output one or more local intent classifications (para 0040 – word embedding 310 processes words, then message embedding component 320 process the results, 0042);
wherein the one or more features comprises the one or more local intent classifications (0063-0065, 0095, 0099).
Regarding claim 4, Wohlwend discloses wherein each of the one or more portions comprises one or more of a sentence or a phrase within the text transcript (para 0037, 0042).
Regarding claim 5, Wohlwend discloses wherein the second trained model comprises a multi-layer neural network (para 0042, 0052).
Regarding claim 8, Wohlwend discloses wherein the trained model comprises a multi-layer neural network (para 0042, 0052).
Regarding claim 9, Wohlwend discloses wherein the text transcript is associated with a customer support interaction with an agent (para 0028, 0031, 0141).
Regarding claim 10, Wohlwend discloses wherein the accessing the text transcript occurs in real-time while the text transcript is being generated (para 0093).
Regarding claim 11, Wohlwend discloses wherein the accessing the text transcript occurs in real-time after a threshold number of sentences within the text transcript have been generated (para 0092).
Regarding claims 12 and 18, see rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claims 13 and 19, see rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claims 14 and 20, see rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 16, see rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 17, see rejection of claim 11.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NAFIZ E HOQUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693