DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species A1, B1, C1 and D2 in the reply filed on September 25, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 19 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 25, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “early” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “early” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The time limited by the claim is uncertain.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “detection” in line 7. It appears to be a double inclusion of the “pearly or real-time detection” recited in line 6.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a battery fire alarm situation” in line 7. It appears to be a double inclusion of the “battery fire alarm situation” recited in line 6.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “an alarmed area” in line 8. The claim fails to recite an “alarm” that is associated with the “area.” It is uncertain whether an alarm is required by the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “a fluid” in line 2. It appears to be a double inclusion of the “fire suppressant” recited in claim 1.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “one or more detectors” in line 2. It appears to be a double inclusion of the “one or more detectors” recited in claim 1.
The term “near” in claim 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “near” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The location limited by the claim is uncertain.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “a fire suppressant” in line 2. It appears to be a double inclusion of the “fire suppressant” recited in claim 1.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “an alarmed area” in line 2. It appears to be a double inclusion of the “alarmed area” recited in claim 1.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “a fire suppressant” in line 3. It appears to be a double inclusion of the “fire suppressant” recited in claim 1.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “a fire suppressant” in line 2. It appears to be a double inclusion of the “fire suppressant” recited in claim 1.
The term “early” in claim 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “early” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The time limited by the claim is uncertain.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “detection” in line 7. It appears to be a double inclusion of the “pearly or real-time detection” recited in line 6.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “a battery fire alarm situation” in line 7. It appears to be a double inclusion of the “battery fire alarm situation” recited in line 6.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “an alarmed area” in line 8. The claim fails to recite an “alarm” that is associated with the “area.” It is uncertain whether an alarm is required by the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “a first detector” in line 11. It appears to be a double inclusion of the “one or more detectors” recited in lines 5-6.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “a second detector” in line 1. It appears to be a double inclusion of the “one or more detectors” recited in claim 8.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “aid” in line 2. The interpretation of what constitutes “aid” requires a subjective determination. What may be considered “aid” to one of ordinary skill in the art may not be considered “aid” to another of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “an alarmed location” in line 3. It appears to be a double inclusion of the “alarmed area” recited in claim 8.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “a fire suppressant” in line 2. It appears to be a double inclusion of the “fire suppressant” recited in claim 8.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “an exterior location” in lines 2-3. The claim fails to provide a reference to determine “exterior.”
Claim 18 recites the limitation “suitable” in line 3. The interpretation of what constitutes “suitable” requires a subjective determination. What may be considered “suitable” to one of ordinary skill in the art may not be considered “suitable” to another of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “to couple” in line 3. The claim fails to define what is being coupled to the fire suppression system.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “fire suppressant” in line 4. It appears to be a double inclusion of the “fire suppressant” recited in claim 8.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “an alarmed vehicle” in line 4. It is uncertain whether the “alarmed vehicle” is a double inclusion of the “electric vehicle” recited in the preamble. If not, the body of the claim exceeds the scope of the preamble.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zeweke et al. (2009/0205846).
Zeweke et al. disclose an electric vehicle comprising:
a battery pack 20; and
a fire safety system comprising:
an on-board fire suppression system including a fire suppressant delivery system 22, 50, 60, 62;
a detection system (paragraph 0034 and 0038) associated with the battery pack including one or more detectors (16, 34, 36, temperature sensors, other sensors) that provide early or real-time detection of a battery fire alarm situation, where upon detection of a battery fire alarm situation, the fire suppression system activates the delivery system to deliver a fire suppressant (paragraph 0027) to an alarmed area (area within battery); and
a control system 30 that coordinates communication between the on-board fire suppression system and the detection system;
comprising: where the fire suppressant system delivers a fluid (paragraph 0027) to the alarmed area;
comprising: where the detection system includes one or more detectors located near or in the battery pack;
comprising a communication link 32 between the detection system and the control system;
comprising where the delivery system is routed into the battery pack for delivering a fire suppressant into the battery pack;
comprising: the battery pack includes an alarmed area (battery bank area having activated sensors) and a non-alarmed area (battery bank area having non-activated sensors; paragraphs 0029, 0031), where the delivery system selectively delivers a fire suppressant only to the alarmed area of the battery pack;
comprising: the fire suppressant delivery system is configured to deliver a fire suppressant both internal and external (ruptured battery bank will allow fluid flow external to the battery bank) to the battery pack;
Zeweke et al. disclose an electric vehicle comprising:
a battery pack 20; and
a fire safety system comprising:
an on-board fire suppression system including a fire suppressant delivery system 22, 50, 60, 62;
a detection system (paragraph 0034 and 0038) associated with the battery pack including one or more detectors (16, 34, 36, temperature sensors, other sensors) that provide early or real-time detection of a battery fire alarm situation, where upon detection of a battery fire alarm situation, the fire suppression system activates the delivery system to deliver a fire suppressant (paragraph 0027) to an alarmed area (area within battery); and
a control system 30 that coordinates communication between the on-board fire suppression system and the detection system,
where the detection system includes a first detector (temperature sensor) located internal to the battery pack;
the first detector comprising one of a heat detector (temperature sensor), a saltwater detector, or a chemical detector;
the detection system including a second detector (temperature sensor in-lieu of airbag sensor; paragraph 0038) located external to the battery pack, where the second detector is one of a heat detector (temperature sensor), a saltwater detector, or a chemical detector;
comprising: the battery pack including a housing (housing of battery bank); and the fire suppressant delivery system including a delivery line 20, 62 routed to an interior of the housing;
comprising: one or more nozzles (closeable apertures; paragraph 0030) located along the delivery line that aid in delivering a fire suppressant to an alarmed location;
where the fire suppressant is delivered under pressure to the interior of the housing, where the fire suppressant is a pressurized fluid that is a liquid or gas;
the fire suppression system including a canister 50, 60 coupled to the fire suppressant delivery system, where the canister contains a fire suppressant under pressure.
where the canister is a replaceable (capability to be replaced) canister.
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, 11-13, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (KR 10-2022-0014137; Date of availability of document February 3, 2022; US 2023/0241432 equivalent).
Park et al. disclose an electric vehicle comprising:
a battery pack 200, 2510; and
a fire safety system comprising:
an on-board fire suppression system including a fire suppressant delivery system 500, 600, 3340;
a detection system 230 associated with the battery pack including one or more detectors 231, 232, 3120, 3130, 3140 that provide early or real-time detection of a battery fire alarm situation, where upon detection of a battery fire alarm situation, the fire suppression system activates the delivery system to deliver a fire suppressant (cooling fluid) to an alarmed area (area within battery); and
a control system 3200 that coordinates communication between the on-board fire suppression system and the detection system;
comprising: where the fire suppressant system delivers a fluid to the alarmed area;
comprising: where the detection system includes one or more detectors located near or in the battery pack;
comprising a communication link (see figures 15 and 16) between the detection system and the control system;
comprising where the delivery system is routed into the battery pack for delivering a fire suppressant into the battery pack;
comprising: the fire suppressant delivery system is configured to deliver a fire suppressant both internal and external (overflow through valve 220) to the battery pack;
Park et al. disclose an electric vehicle comprising:
a battery pack 200, 2510; and
a fire safety system comprising:
an on-board fire suppression system including a fire suppressant delivery system 500, 600, 3340;
a detection system 230 associated with the battery pack including one or more detectors 231, 232, 3120, 3130, 3140 that provide early or real-time detection of a battery fire alarm situation, where upon detection of a battery fire alarm situation, the fire suppression system activates the delivery system to deliver a fire suppressant (cooling fluid) to an alarmed area (area within battery); and
a control system 3200 that coordinates communication between the on-board fire suppression system and the detection system,
where the detection system includes a first detector (temperature sensor, flame sensor) located internal to the battery pack;
the first detector comprising one of a heat detector (temperature sensor), a saltwater detector, or a chemical detector;
comprising: the battery pack including a housing (housing of battery); and the fire suppressant delivery system including a delivery line 600 routed to an interior of the housing;
comprising: one or more nozzles (outlet of channel 600) located along the delivery line that aid in delivering a fire suppressant to an alarmed location;
where the fire suppressant is delivered under pressure to the interior of the housing, where the fire suppressant is a pressurized fluid that is a liquid or gas;
the fire suppression system including a canister (device containing cooling fluid) coupled to the fire suppressant delivery system, where the canister contains a fire suppressant under pressure.
where the canister is a replaceable (capability to be replaced) canister;
the fire suppression system including a fire safety delivery port 110, 2550 coupled to the fire suppression system, the fire safety delivery port is in an exterior location suitable for external fire safety personnel to couple to the fire suppression system to deliver fire suppressant to an alarmed vehicle.
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (KR 10-2022-0014137; Date of availability of document February 3, 2022; US 2023/0241432 equivalent).
Regarding claim 14, Park et al. disclose the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception of the housing comprising a container and a cover and a liquid tight seal at the interface between the container and the cover. A container and a cover having a liquid tight seal are well known in the art, such as a container having a water tight lid. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided a container, cover and liquid tight seal in the housing of Park et al. for ease of access into the housing.
Regarding claim 15, Park et al. further disclose a pressure relief valve 220 located in the housing.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER S KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 CHRISTOPHER S. KIM
Examiner
Art Unit 3752
CK