DETAILED ACTION
The instant first office action is in response to communication filed on 04/11/2026.
Claims 1-17 and 20-21 are pending of which claims 1, 13, 18 and 21 are the base independent claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-17 and 20-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Further, the amended limitations are in fact taught by the previously cited prior art. For a detailed explanation on how the prior art reads on the claims as amended, please see the rejection below.
Applicant's arguments filed 04/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the applicant alleged that the combined system of “Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374” fails to show or merely suggest “transmitting a light mm Wave link Beacon Frame from a first wireless device to a second wireless device through a mm Wave link, the light mm Wave link Beacon Frame including a multiple BSSID element, including nontransmitted BSSID Profiles for virtual mmWave AP” as recited by applicant on page “6 of 10 ”.
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees because in this case, the combined system of “Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374” explicitly teaches the above limitation.
Regarding claim 1, Cariou’555 discloses transmitting a light mmWave link Beacon Frame(see fig.4, 404, see fig.5, 506, see para.0151-0152, which discuses controller 124 may be configured to cause the AP MLD implemented by device 102, e.g., AP MLD 131, to communicate a second frame as light mmWave link Beacon Frame by the mmWave STA, e.g., mmWave STA 141, see para.0122, which discusses communication between mmWave STAs, e.g., mmWave STA 141 and mmWave STA 161, over the mmWave frequency band, see para.0224-0225, The mmWave STA, e.g., the 60 GHz AP …short beacon frames may be transmitted in unicast manner to each associated STA at 60 GHz ) from a first wireless device(see fig.1, which shows from wireless communication device 102 as first wireless device with 131 including AP 135-141 and controller 124 and it further includes at least processor 191 couple to storage 195 and memory 194) to a second wireless device(see fig.1, which shows to wireless device 140 as second wireless device with 151 including AP 155-161 and controller 154 and it further includes at least processor 181 couple to storage 185 and memory 184 ) through a mmWave link(see fig.3, which shows through mmWave link 378 between AP4 318 and Non-AP STA4 358, see abs & para.0166, which discusses communicate a second frame by the mmWave STA, the second frame communicated with a non-AP MLD over the mmWave wireless communication channel, see para.0040-0041).
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Hazarika’374 teaches the use of the light mmWave Beacon Frame(see fig.7, see para.0068, which discusses beacon frame 700 usable for communications between an AP and a number of STAs, see para.0045, which discuses to establish a communication link 106 with an AP 102, each of the STAs 104 is configured to perform passive or active scanning operations (“scans”) on frequency channels in one or more frequency bands (for example, the 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, 6 GHz or 60 GHz bands) as mmWave channel… a STA 104 listens for beacons, which are transmitted by respective APs 102 at a periodic time interval referred to as the target beacon transmission time (TBTT) (measured in time units (TUs) where one TU may be equal to 1024 microseconds (μs)), see para.0065, which discusses a multiple BSSID set is a collection of APs (which also may be referred to as “virtual APs” or VAPs) )including a multiple BSSID element(see fig.7, which shows includes multiple BSSID element 720), including nontransmitted BSSID Profiles for virtual mmWave Aps(see fig.7, which shows 720 including nontransmitted BSSID profile 726, see para.0065, which discusses a multiple BSSID set is a collection of APs (which also may be referred to as “virtual APs” or VAPs), para.0045, which discusses in one or more frequency bands(…60 GHz Bands/ mmWave )).
Thus, the claimed limitation is met.
Regarding claim 1, the applicant alleged that the combined system of “Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374” fails to show or merely suggest establishing by the second wireless device an association with [[a]] at least one of the virtual mm Wave APs of the first wireless device through the non-mmWave link” as recited by applicant on page “6-7 of 10 ”.
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees because in this case, the combined system of “Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374” explicitly teaches the above limitation.
Cariou’555 discloses establishing by the second wireless device(see fig.1, which shows to wireless device 140 as second wireless device with 151 including AP 155-161 and controller 154) an association with at least one (see para.0141, which discusses devices 102 and/or 140 may be configured to implement a sub-10 GHz assistance mechanism, which may be configured to assist a first mmWave STA, e.g., mmWave STA 161, to discover and/or associate with a second mmWave STA, e.g., mmWave STA 141 as mmwave AP, for example, based on the assistance of mmWave information communicated over the sub-GHz band, see also para.0123) of the virtual mmWave APs(see para.0127, which discusses device 102 may be configured to support co-located functionality of one or more sub-10 Ghz STAs, e.g., STA 135, STA 137 and/or STA 139, and one or more mmWave STAs as plurality of the virtual mmWave APs , e.g., mmWave STA 141, see para.0094, which discusses mmWave STA 141 may operate as, perform a role of, and/or perform one or more operations and/or functionalities of, an EHT AP STA.) of the first wireless device(see fig.1, AP 141, see fig.5, 504 & see para.0258, which discusses associating an mmWave STA of the non-AP MLD with the mmWave STA of the AP MLD, for example, based on the mmWave information corresponding to the mmWave STA of the AP MLD. For example, controller 154 (FIG. 1) may be configured to cause, trigger, and/or control non-AP MLD 151 (FIG. 1) to associate mmWave STA 161 (FIG. 1) with mmWave STA 141 (FIG. 1), for example, based on the mmWave information corresponding to mmWave STA 141, see fig.2-3, virtual AP 212-218/312-318) through the non-mmWave link((see fig.3, which shows respectively link 372-376 associated with 2.4GHz, 5-6GHz as non-mmWave link, see para.0254, which discusses transmitting a first frame from a sub-10 GHz AP of an AP MLD over a sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel, see para.0040-0041, see para.0240, which discusses an Association Request frame, which may include, for example, a Multi-link element with a per-STA profile for each link that is requested, may be sent by the non-AP MLD on any link, claim 10 , see fig.5, 504, see para.0040-0041, see para.0041, which discusses include one or more channels in a sub-10 Ghz wireless communication frequency band as non-mmWave link, for example, one or more channels in a 2.4 GHz wireless communication frequency band, one or more channels in a 5 GHz wireless communication frequency band, and/or one or more channels in a 6 GHz wireless communication frequency band)
Thus, the claimed limitation is met.
Regarding claim 1, the applicant alleged that the combined system of “Cariou’555, Hazarika’374 and Granados” fails to show or merely suggest “herein the nontransmitted BSSID Profiles are reduced by removing a Robust Security Network information field” as recited by applicant on page “7 of 10 ”.
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees because in this case, the combined system of “Cariou’555, Hazarika’374 and Granados” explicitly teaches the above limitation
Regarding claim 12, the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 discloses wherein the nontransmitted BSSID Profiles(Hazarika’374, see fig.7 & see para.0070, which discusses the optional subelements 724 may include one or more nontransmitted BSSID profile subelements 726. Each nontransmitted BSSID profile subelement 726 includes a list of elements for a respective nontransmitted BSSID of the multiple BSSID set. Example elements include at least a nontransmitted BSSID capability element, an SSID element, and a multiple BSSID-index element).
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Granados teaches the use of the nontransmitted BSSID Profiles are reduced by removing a Robust Security Network information field (see The multiple BSSID element & page 3, which discusses it also contains a list of optional subelement. There are two types of subelements: Nontransmitted BSSID profile and vendor specific… the Ap may choose to adverstise only a subset of BSSIDs on a Multiple BSSID element, see page 4, Nontransmitted BSSID profile includes at least Robust Security Network information(RSNE) field, thus reducing since the nontransmitted BSSID profile includes at least the RSNE is optional not mandatory so the network does not have to advertise/include it).
Thus, the claimed limitation is met.
Regarding claims 13 and 18, the same argument as claim 1 is also applied to claims 13 and 18 since claims 13 and 18 recited similar features as claim 1.
Regarding claims 2-11, 14-17 and 20, the same argument as independent claim 1 is also applied to claims 2-11, 14-17 and 20 since claims 2-11, 14-17 and 20 are each depend either directly or indirectly from independent claim 1 as discussed above.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually (see page 6-7 of 10), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, the rejection is based on he combined system of “Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374”, and thus obviousness analysis should be performed on t he combined system of “Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374”, rather than argued by the applicant based on the individual references and its claimed invention. Clearly, as set forth in response above and rejection set forth below, it is clear that the combined system of he combined system of “Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374” discloses the claimed invention.
In response to applicant's argument that there is no suggestion to combine the references(see page 7 of 8), the examiner recognizes that obviousness can only be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988)and In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, the suggestion to combine the references was shown in the background and/or detailed description of the secondary references (please, rejection below).
In view of the above, it is clear the previously cited prior arts still disclose the applicant claim invention as set detailed in the rejection below.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is allowed.
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 13-16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cariou et al (US 2022/0159555) and in view of Hazarika et al (US2022/0400374).
Regarding claim 1, 13, 18, Cariou’555 discloses a method comprising:
transmitting a light mmWave link Beacon Frame(see fig.4, 404, see fig.5, 506, see para.0151-0152, which discuses controller 124 may be configured to cause the AP MLD implemented by device 102, e.g., AP MLD 131, to communicate a second frame as light mmWave link Beacon Frame by the mmWave STA, e.g., mmWave STA 141, see para.0122, which discusses communication between mmWave STAs, e.g., mmWave STA 141 and mmWave STA 161, over the mmWave frequency band, see para.0224-0225, The mmWave STA, e.g., the 60 GHz AP …short beacon frames may be transmitted in unicast manner to each associated STA at 60 GHz ) from a first wireless device(see fig.1, which shows from wireless communication device 102 as first wireless device with 131 including AP 135-141 and controller 124 and it further includes at least processor 191 couple to storage 195 and memory 194) to a second wireless device(see fig.1, which shows to wireless device 140 as second wireless device with 151 including AP 155-161 and controller 154 and it further includes at least processor 181 couple to storage 185 and memory 184 ) through a mmWave link(see fig.3, which shows through mmWave link 378 between AP4 318 and Non-AP STA4 358, see abs & para.0166, which discusses communicate a second frame by the mmWave STA, the second frame communicated with a non-AP MLD over the mmWave wireless communication channel, see para.0040-0041);
transmitting a non-mmWave linkBeacon Frame(see fig.4, 402, see fig.5, 502, see para.0148, which discusses controller 124 may be configured to cause AP MLD 131 to transmit the first frame as a beacon frame from AP 135, AP 137, and/or AP 139 over the sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel, see para.0186, which discusses controller 154 may be configured to cause MLD 151 to process at STA 155, STA 157, and/or STA 159 as second wireless device the first frame received from AP MLD 131, see para.0041, which discusses include one or more channels in a sub-10 Ghz wireless communication frequency band , for example, one or more channels in a 2.4 GHz wireless communication frequency band, one or more channels in a 5 GHz wireless communication frequency band, and/or one or more channels in a 6 GHz wireless communication frequency band) from the first wireless device(see fig.1, which shows from wireless communication device 102 as first wireless device with 131 including AP 135-141 and controller 124) to the second wireless device(see fig.1, which shows to wireless device 140 as second wireless device with 151 including AP 155-161 and controller 154) through a non-mmWave link(see fig.3, which shows respectively link 372-376 associated with 2.4GHz, 5-6GHz as non-mmWave link, see para.0254, which discusses transmitting a first frame from a sub-10 GHz AP of an AP MLD over a sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel, see para.0040-0041); and
establishing by the second wireless device(see fig.1, which shows to wireless device 140 as second wireless device with 151 including AP 155-161 and controller 154) an association with at least one (see para.0141, which discusses devices 102 and/or 140 may be configured to implement a sub-10 GHz assistance mechanism, which may be configured to assist a first mmWave STA, e.g., mmWave STA 161, to discover and/or associate with a second mmWave STA, e.g., mmWave STA 141 as mmwave AP, for example, based on the assistance of mmWave information communicated over the sub-GHz band, see also para.0123) of the virtual mmWave APs(see para.0127, which discusses device 102 may be configured to support co-located functionality of one or more sub-10 Ghz STAs, e.g., STA 135, STA 137 and/or STA 139, and one or more mmWave STAs as plurality of the virtual mmWave APs , e.g., mmWave STA 141, see para.0094, which discusses mmWave STA 141 may operate as, perform a role of, and/or perform one or more operations and/or functionalities of, an EHT AP STA.) of the first wireless device(see fig.1, AP 141, see fig.5, 504 & see para.0258, which discusses associating an mmWave STA of the non-AP MLD with the mmWave STA of the AP MLD, for example, based on the mmWave information corresponding to the mmWave STA of the AP MLD. For example, controller 154 (FIG. 1) may be configured to cause, trigger, and/or control non-AP MLD 151 (FIG. 1) to associate mmWave STA 161 (FIG. 1) with mmWave STA 141 (FIG. 1), for example, based on the mmWave information corresponding to mmWave STA 141, see fig.2-3, virtual AP 212-218/312-318) through the non-mmWave link((see fig.3, which shows respectively link 372-376 associated with 2.4GHz, 5-6GHz as non-mmWave link, see para.0254, which discusses transmitting a first frame from a sub-10 GHz AP of an AP MLD over a sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel, see para.0040-0041, see para.0240, which discusses an Association Request frame, which may include, for example, a Multi-link element with a per-STA profile for each link that is requested, may be sent by the non-AP MLD on any link, claim 10 , see fig.5, 504, see para.0040-0041, see para.0041, which discusses include one or more channels in a sub-10 Ghz wireless communication frequency band as non-mmWave link, for example, one or more channels in a 2.4 GHz wireless communication frequency band, one or more channels in a 5 GHz wireless communication frequency band, and/or one or more channels in a 6 GHz wireless communication frequency band).
As discussed above, although Cariou’555 discloses transmitting a light mmWave link Beacon Frame from a first wireless device to a second wireless device(see para.0151-0152, which discuses controller 124 may be configured to cause the AP MLD implemented by device 102, e.g., AP MLD 131, to communicate a second frame as light mmWave link Beacon Frame by the mmWave STA, e.g., mmWave STA 141 as first wireless device, see para.0122, which discusses communication between mmWave STAs, e.g., mmWave STA 141 and mmWave STA 161 as second wireless device, over the mmWave frequency band), Cariou’555 does not explicitly show the use of “the light mmWave Beacon Frame including a multiple BSSID element, including nontransmitted BSSID Profiles for virtual mmWave APs” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “the light mmWave Beacon Frame including a multiple BSSID element, including nontransmitted BSSID Profiles for virtual mmWave APs” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Hazarika’374.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Hazarika’374 teaches the use of the light mmWave Beacon Frame(see fig.7, see para.0068, which discusses beacon frame 700 usable for communications between an AP and a number of STAs, see para.0045, which discuses to establish a communication link 106 with an AP 102, each of the STAs 104 is configured to perform passive or active scanning operations (“scans”) on frequency channels in one or more frequency bands (for example, the 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, 6 GHz or 60 GHz bands) as mmWave channel… a STA 104 listens for beacons, which are transmitted by respective APs 102 at a periodic time interval referred to as the target beacon transmission time (TBTT) (measured in time units (TUs) where one TU may be equal to 1024 microseconds (μs)), see para.0065, which discusses a multiple BSSID set is a collection of APs (which also may be referred to as “virtual APs” or VAPs) )including a multiple BSSID element(see fig.7, which shows includes multiple BSSID element 720), including nontransmitted BSSID Profiles for virtual mmWave Aps(see fig.7, which shows 720 including nontransmitted BSSID profile 726, see para.0065, which discusses a multiple BSSID set is a collection of APs (which also may be referred to as “virtual APs” or VAPs), para.0045, which discusses in one or more frequency bands(…60 GHz Bands/ mmWave )).
In view of the above, having the system of Cariou’555 and then given the well-established teaching of Hazarika’374, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cariou’555 to include “the light mmWave Beacon Frame including a multiple BSSID element, including nontransmitted BSSID Profiles for virtual mmWave APs” as taught by Hazarika’374, since Hazarika’374 stated in para.0005+ that such a modification would provide an efficient system that may not cause interoperability issues between EMA APs and non-EMA STAs.
Regarding claim 2, 14, 19, Cariou’555 discloses wherein the establishing the association comprises establishing a multi-link association for the mmWave link with the first wireless device(see fig.3, which shows establishing a multi-link 372-378 association for the mmWave link with the first wireless device 302).
Regarding claim 3, 15, Cariou’555 discloses wherein the multi-link association with the first wireless device comprises links of the mmWave link(see fig.1, see para.0040-0041, which discusses WM 103 may include one or more wireless communication frequency bands and/or channels... For example, WM 103 may additionally or alternatively include one or more channels as links in a mmWave wireless communication frequency band).
Regarding claim 4, Cariou’555 discloses wherein the Beacon Frame includes simple information of the mmWave link(see fig.4, which shows the mmWave information 402).
Regarding claim 5, Cariou’555 discloses wherein the simple information includes at least one(due to one language, only one of them is being considered) of an operating channel, a critical update indication, and a target beacon transmission time see fig.4, which shows the mmWave information 402, see para.0254, which discusses the mmWave information corresponding to the mmWave STA including channel information to indicate an mmWave wireless communication channel of the mmWave STA).
Regarding claim 6, 20, Cariou’555 discloses wherein establishing an association comprises receiving an Association Response frame(see para.0268, which discusses probe response frames transmitted by the sub-10 GHz AP of the AP MLD) from the first wireless device(see fig.1, which shows from wireless communication device 102 as first wireless device with 131 including AP 135-141 and controller 124) in the non-mmWave link(see fig.3, which shows respectively link 372-376 associated with 2.4GHz, 5-6GHz as non-mmWave link, see para.0254, which discusses transmitting a first frame from a sub-10 GHz AP of an AP MLD over a sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel, see para.0040-0041) and wherein the Association Response frame(see para.0163, which discusses controller 124 may be configured to cause the AP MLD implemented by device 102, e.g., AP MLD 131, to transmit the probe response frame from a sub-10 GHz AP of the AP MLD, for example, in response to a probe request received from the non-AP MLD, e.g., MLD 151, over the sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel).
As discussed above, although Cariou’555 discloses establishing an association comprises receiving an Association Response frame(see para.0268, which discusses probe response frames transmitted by the sub-10 GHz AP of the AP MLD), Cariou’555 does not explicitly show the use of “a Max BSSID Indicator of a multiple BSSID set of the mmWave link” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “a Max BSSID Indicator of a multiple BSSID set of the mmWave link” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Hazarika’374.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Hazarika’374 teaches the use of a Max BSSID Indicator of a multiple BSSID set of the mmWave link (see para.0003, which discusses the AP corresponding to the transmitted BSSID advertises information for multiple BSSIDs, including the transmitted BSSID and one or more nontransmitted BSSIDs, using beacon or probe response frames. For example, each beacon and probe response frame may include one or more multiple BSSID elements advertising one or more nontransmitted BSSID profiles, see fig.7, which shows multiple BSSID element 720 including Max BSSID indicator 722).
In view of the above, having the system of Cariou’555 and then given the well-established teaching of Hazarika’374, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cariou’555 to include “a Max BSSID Indicator of a multiple BSSID set of the mmWave link” as taught by Hazarika’374, since Hazarika’374 stated in para.0005+ that such a modification would provide an efficient system that may not cause interoperability issues between EMA APs and non-EMA STAs.
Regarding claim 8, Cariou’555 discloses wherein establishing an association comprises receiving an Association Response frame from the first wireless device(see para.0163, which discusses controller 124 may be configured to cause the AP MLD implemented by device 102, e.g., AP MLD 131, to transmit the probe response frame from a sub-10 GHz AP of the AP MLD, for example, in response to a probe request received from the non-AP MLD, e.g., MLD 151, over the sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel) in the non-mmWave link(see para.0163, see fig.3, which shows respectively link 372-376 associated with 2.4GHz, 5-6GHz as non-mmWave link, see para.0254, which discusses transmitting a first frame from a sub-10 GHz AP of an AP MLD over a sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel, see para.0040-0041, see para.0240, which discusses an Association Request frame, which may include, for example, a Multi-link element with a per-STA profile for each link that is requested, may be sent by the non-AP MLD on any link, claim 10 , see fig.5, 504, see para.0040-0041).
As discussed above, although Cariou’555 discloses receiving an Association Response frame from the first wireless device(see para.0163, which discusses controller 124 may be configured to cause the AP MLD implemented by device 102, e.g., AP MLD 131, to transmit the probe response frame from a sub-10 GHz AP of the AP MLD, for example, in response to a probe request received from the non-AP MLD, e.g., MLD 151, over the sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel), Cariou’555 does not explicitly show the use of “the Association Response frame includes a BSSID Index of a multiple BSSID set of the mmWave link” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “the Association Response frame includes a BSSID Index of a multiple BSSID set of the mmWave link” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Hazarika’374.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Hazarika’374 teaches the use of the Association Response frame(see at least fig.6 & para.0066, which discusses each beacon or probe response frame may include one or more multiple BSSID elements carrying BSSID information that is specific to one or more of the nontransmitted BSSIDs) includes a BSSID Index of a multiple BSSID set(see para.0070, which discuses Each multiple BSSID element 720 includes a maximum (max) BSSID indicator field 722 and zero or more optional subelements 724...The optional subelements 724 may include one or more nontransmitted BSSID profile subelements 726. Each nontransmitted BSSID profile subelement 726 includes a list of elements for a respective nontransmitted BSSID of the multiple BSSID set. Example elements include at least a nontransmitted BSSID capability element, an SSID element, and a multiple BSSID-index element, thus BSSID Index of a multiple BSSID set ) of the mmWave link(see para.0045, which discusses each of the STAs 104 is configured to perform passive or active scanning operations (“scans”) on frequency channels in one or more frequency bands (for example, the 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, 6 GHz or 60 GHz bands). To perform passive scanning, a STA 104 listens for beacons, which are transmitted by respective APs 102 at a periodic time interval referred to as the target beacon transmission time (TBTT) (measured in time units (TUs) where one TU may be equal to 1024 microseconds (μs)). To perform active scanning, a STA 104 generates and sequentially transmits probe requests on each channel to be scanned and listens for probe responses from APs 102, thus 60 GHz bands as mmWave link).
In view of the above, having the system of Cariou’555 and then given the well-established teaching of Hazarika’374, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cariou’555 to include “the Association Response frame includes a BSSID Index of a multiple BSSID set of the mmWave link” as taught by Hazarika’374, since Hazarika’374 stated in para.0005+ that such a modification would provide an efficient system that may not cause interoperability issues between EMA APs and non-EMA STAs.
Regarding claim 8, Cariou’555 discloses a wireless device comprising: a processor(see fig.1, which shows processor 191); and a transceiver(see fig.1, which shows 114 as transceiver since it includes both Tx 118 and Rx 116) coupled to the processor(see fig.1, which shows 114 coupled to processor 191) to:
transmit a light mmWave link Beacon Frame(see fig.4, 404, see fig.5, 506, see para.0151-0152, which discuses controller 124 may be configured to cause the AP MLD implemented by device 102, e.g., AP MLD 131, to communicate a second frame as light mmWave link Beacon Frame by the mmWave STA, e.g., mmWave STA 141, see para.0122, which discusses communication between mmWave STAs, e.g., mmWave STA 141 and mmWave STA 161, over the mmWave frequency band) from a first wireless device(see fig.1, which shows from wireless communication device 102 as first wireless device with 131 including AP 135-141 and controller 124) to a second wireless device(see fig.1, which shows to wireless device 140 as second wireless device with 151 including AP 155-161 and controller 154) through a mmWave link(see fig.3, which shows through mmWave link 378 between AP4 318 and Non-AP STA4 358, see abs & para.0166, which discusses communicate a second frame by the mmWave STA, the second frame communicated with a non-AP MLD over the mmWave wireless communication channel, see para.0040-0041);
transmit a Beacon Frame(see fig.4, 402, see fig.5, 502, see para.0148, which discusses controller 124 may be configured to cause AP MLD 131 to transmit the first frame as a beacon frame from AP 135, AP 137, and/or AP 139 over the sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel, see para.0186, which discusses controller 154 may be configured to cause MLD 151 to process at STA 155, STA 157, and/or STA 159 as second wireless device the first frame received from AP MLD 131) from the first wireless device(see fig.1, which shows from wireless communication device 102 as first wireless device with 131 including AP 135-141 and controller 124) to the second wireless device(see fig.1, which shows to wireless device 140 as second wireless device with 151 including AP 155-161 and controller 154) through a non-mmWave link(see fig.3, which shows respectively link 372-376 associated with 2.4GHz, 5-6GHz as non-mmWave link, see para.0254, which discusses transmitting a first frame from a sub-10 GHz AP of an AP MLD over a sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel, see para.0040-0041); and
establish by the second wireless device(see fig.1, which shows to wireless device 140 as second wireless device with 151 including AP 155-161 and controller 154) an association with a virtual mmWave AP of the first wireless device(see fig.5, 504 & see para.0258, which discusses associating an mmWave STA of the non-AP MLD with the mmWave STA of the AP MLD, for example, based on the mmWave information corresponding to the mmWave STA of the AP MLD. For example, controller 154 (FIG. 1) may be configured to cause, trigger, and/or control non-AP MLD 151 (FIG. 1) to associate mmWave STA 161 (FIG. 1) with mmWave STA 141 (FIG. 1), for example, based on the mmWave information corresponding to mmWave STA 141, see fig.2-3, virtual AP 212-218/312-318) through the non-mmWave link((see fig.3, which shows respectively link 372-376 associated with 2.4GHz, 5-6GHz as non-mmWave link, see para.0254, which discusses transmitting a first frame from a sub-10 GHz AP of an AP MLD over a sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel, see para.0040-0041, see para.0240, which discusses an Association Request frame, which may include, for example, a Multi-link element with a per-STA profile for each link that is requested, may be sent by the non-AP MLD on any link, claim 10 , see fig.5, 504, see para.0040-0041).
As discussed above, although Cariou’555 discloses transmitting a light mmWave link Beacon Frame from a first wireless device to a second wireless device(see para.0151-0152, which discuses controller 124 may be configured to cause the AP MLD implemented by device 102, e.g., AP MLD 131, to communicate a second frame as light mmWave link Beacon Frame by the mmWave STA, e.g., mmWave STA 141 as first wireless device, see para.0122, which discusses communication between mmWave STAs, e.g., mmWave STA 141 and mmWave STA 161 as second wireless device, over the mmWave frequency band), Cariou’555 does not explicitly show the use of “the light mmWave Beacon Frame including a multiple BSSID element, including nontransmitted BSSID Profiles for virtual mmWave APs” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “the light mmWave Beacon Frame including a multiple BSSID element, including nontransmitted BSSID Profiles for virtual mmWave APs” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Hazarika’374.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Hazarika’374 teaches the use of the light mmWave Beacon Frame(see fig.7, see para.0068, which discusses beacon frame 700 usable for communications between an AP and a number of STAs, see para.0045, which discuses to establish a communication link 106 with an AP 102, each of the STAs 104 is configured to perform passive or active scanning operations (“scans”) on frequency channels in one or more frequency bands (for example, the 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, 6 GHz or 60 GHz bands) as mmWave channel… a STA 104 listens for beacons, which are transmitted by respective APs 102 at a periodic time interval referred to as the target beacon transmission time (TBTT) (measured in time units (TUs) where one TU may be equal to 1024 microseconds (μs)), see para.0065, which discusses a multiple BSSID set is a collection of APs (which also may be referred to as “virtual APs” or VAPs) )including a multiple BSSID element(see fig.7, which shows includes multiple BSSID element 720), including nontransmitted BSSID Profiles for virtual mmWave Aps(see fig.7, which shows 720 including nontransmitted BSSID profile 726, see para.0065, which discusses a multiple BSSID set is a collection of APs (which also may be referred to as “virtual APs” or VAPs), para.0045, which discusses in one or more frequency bands(…60 GHz Bands/ mmWave )).
In view of the above, having the system of Cariou’555 and then given the well-established teaching of Hazarika’374, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cariou’555 to include “the light mmWave Beacon Frame including a multiple BSSID element, including nontransmitted BSSID Profiles for virtual mmWave APs” as taught by Hazarika’374, since Hazarika’374 stated in para.0005+ that such a modification would provide an efficient system that may not cause interoperability issues between EMA APs and non-EMA STAs.
Regarding claim 16, Cariou’555 discloses wherein establishing an association comprises transmitting an Association Response frame (see para.0268, which discusses probe response frames transmitted by the sub-10 GHz AP of the AP MLD) from the first wireless device(see fig.1, which shows from wireless communication device 102 as first wireless device with 131 including AP 135-141 and controller 124) in the non-mmWave link(see fig.3, which shows respectively link 372-376 associated with 2.4GHz, 5-6GHz as non-mmWave link, see para.0254, which discusses transmitting a first frame from a sub-10 GHz AP of an AP MLD over a sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel, see para.0040-0041) and wherein the Association Response frame(see para.0163, which discusses controller 124 may be configured to cause the AP MLD implemented by device 102, e.g., AP MLD 131, to transmit the probe response frame from a sub-10 GHz AP of the AP MLD, for example, in response to a probe request received from the non-AP MLD, e.g., MLD 151, over the sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel).
As discussed above, although Cariou’555 discloses establishing an association comprises receiving an Association Response frame(see para.0268, which discusses probe response frames transmitted by the sub-10 GHz AP of the AP MLD), Cariou’555 does not explicitly show the use of “a Max BSSID Indicator of a multiple BSSID set of the mmWave link” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “a Max BSSID Indicator of a multiple BSSID set of the mmWave link” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Hazarika’374.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Hazarika’374 teaches the use of a Max BSSID Indicator of a multiple BSSID set of the mmWave link (see para.0003, which discusses the AP corresponding to the transmitted BSSID advertises information for multiple BSSIDs, including the transmitted BSSID and one or more nontransmitted BSSIDs, using beacon or probe response frames. For example, each beacon and probe response frame may include one or more multiple BSSID elements advertising one or more nontransmitted BSSID profiles, see fig.7, which shows multiple BSSID element 720 including Max BSSID indicator 722).
In view of the above, having the system of Cariou’555 and then given the well-established teaching of Hazarika’374, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cariou’555 to include “a Max BSSID Indicator of a multiple BSSID set of the mmWave link” as taught by Hazarika’374, since Hazarika’374 stated in para.0005+ that such a modification would provide an efficient system that may not cause interoperability issues between EMA APs and non-EMA STAs.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cariou et al (US 2022/0159555), in view of Hazarika et al (US2022/0400374) and in view of Gan et al (US 2023/0292215).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 discloses wherein the Max BSSID Indicator(Hazarika’37, see fig.7, which shows multiple BSSID element 720 including Max BSSID indicator 722, see para.0003, which discusses each beacon and probe response frame may include one or more multiple BSSID elements advertising one or more nontransmitted BSSID profiles).
As discussed above, although the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 discloses wherein the Max BSSID Indicator(Hazarika’37, see fig.7, which shows multiple BSSID element 720 including Max BSSID indicator 722, see para.0003, which discusses each beacon and probe response frame may include one or more multiple BSSID elements advertising one or more nontransmitted BSSID profiles), the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 does not explicitly show the use of “the Max BSSID Indicator is carried in a Per STA Profile of the Association Response frame” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “he Max BSSID Indicator is carried in a Per STA Profile of the Association Response frame” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Gan’215.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Gan’215 teaches the use of the Max BSSID Indicator is carried in a Per STA Profile(see fig.3, see para.0358, which discusses when the station information field includes a multiple BSSID set information field, a BSSID value of each AP in the multiple BSSID set is provided. The multiple BSSID set information field includes a BSSID index field corresponding to the second AP and a max BSSID indicator field) of the Association Response frame(see para.0172, which discusses information about the multiple BSSID set (namely, a multiple BSSID element) is carried in a beacon frame, a probe response frame, or a neighbor report sent by the transmitted BSSID AP., para.0015, 0429).
In view of the above, having the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 and then given the well-established teaching of Gan’215, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 to include “the Max BSSID Indicator is carried in a Per STA Profile of the Association Response frame” as taught by Gan’215, since Gan’215 stated in para.0006+ that such a modification would provide an efficient system that reduces redundant data of the management frame, avoids unnecessary overheads, and improves communication efficiency.
Claim(s) 10, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cariou et al (US 2022/0159555), in view of Hazarika et al (US2022/0400374) and in view of Gidvani et al (US 2019/0268892).
Regarding claim 10, 17, Cariou’555 discloses wherein the virtual mmWave APs are co-hosted APs with the first wireless device(see fig.1, wireless device communication device 102 with AP MLD 131 including AP 135-141, thus co-hosted APs with the first wireless device 102 ), wherein establishing an association comprises receiving an Association Response frame from the first wireless device in the non-mmWave link(see para.0163, which discusses controller 124 may be configured to cause the AP MLD implemented by device 102, e.g., AP MLD 131, to transmit the probe response frame from a sub-10 GHz AP of the AP MLD, for example, in response to a probe request received from the non-AP MLD, e.g., MLD 151, over the sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel, see para.0236).
As discussed above, although the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 discloses maximum BSSID indicator field that is set to a value (n) based on a number (N) of BSSIDs in the first multiple BSSID set and a number (M) of BSSIDs in the second multiple BSSID set, for example, where 2.sup.n≥N+M(Hazarika’374, see fig.7, para.0014), the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 does not explicitly show the use of “Association Response frame includes a Max Co-Hosted BSSID Indicator of the co-hosted APs of the mmWave link” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “Association Response frame includes a Max Co-Hosted BSSID Indicator of the co-hosted APs of the mmWave link” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Gan’215.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Gan’215 teaches the use of Association Response frame(see fig.4, see para.0117, which discusses management frame (such as a beacon frame, probe response frame, or association frame) from the second BSS may indicate that the first BSS is co-hosted BSS in a Co-Hosted BSS Set that includes the second BSS) includes a Max Co-Hosted BSSID Indicator of the co-hosted Aps(fig.6 & see para.0107, which discusses the Max BSSID indicator field 610 may be used to signal contiguous BSSIDs that are part of the Co-Located BSS Set, as described in FIG. 1) of the mmWave link(see para.0066, which discusses each of the STAs is configured to perform passive or active scanning operations (“scans”) on frequency channels in one or more frequency bands (for example, the 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, 6 GHz or 60 GHz bands). To perform passive scanning, a STA listens for beacons, which are transmitted by respective VAPs at a periodic time interval referred to as the target beacon transmission time (TBTT) (measured in time units (TUs) where one TU is equal to 1024 microseconds (s)). To perform active scanning, a STA generates and sequentially transmits probe requests on each channel to be scanned and listens for probe responses from VAPs. Each STA may be configured to identify or select a VAP with which to associate based on the scanning information obtained through the passive or active scans, and to perform authentication and association operations to establish a wireless association with the selected VAP, thus of 60 GHz band(s) as mmWave link).
In view of the above, having the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 and then given the well-established teaching of Gan’215, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 to include “Association Response frame includes a Max Co-Hosted BSSID Indicator of the co-hosted APs of the mmWave link” as taught by Gan’215, since Gan’215 stated in para.0006+ that such a modification would provide.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cariou et al (US 2022/0159555), in view of Hazarika et al (US2022/0400374) and in view of Adrian Granados (The Multiple BSSID element: Improving airtime efficiency).
Regarding claim 11, the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 discloses wherein the nontransmitted BSSID Profiles(see fig.7 & see para.0070, which discusses the optional subelements 724 may include one or more nontransmitted BSSID profile subelements 726. Each nontransmitted BSSID profile subelement 726 includes a list of elements for a respective nontransmitted BSSID of the multiple BSSID set. Example elements include at least a nontransmitted BSSID capability element, an SSID element, and a multiple BSSID-index element).
As discussed above, although the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 discloses wherein the nontransmitted BSSID Profiles(see fig.7 & see para.0070, which discusses the optional subelements 724 may include one or more nontransmitted BSSID profile subelements 726. Each nontransmitted BSSID profile subelement 726 includes a list of elements for a respective nontransmitted BSSID of the multiple BSSID set. Example elements include at least a nontransmitted BSSID capability element, an SSID element, and a multiple BSSID-index element), the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 does not explicitly show the use of “are reduced by removing a BSSID Capability field” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “are reduced by removing a BSSID Capability field” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Granados.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Granados teaches the use of the nontransmitted BSSID Profiles are reduced by removing a BSSID Capability field( see The multiple BSSID element & page 4, which discusses the nontransmitted BSSID Profile(s) include…two additional elements are optional: the nontransmitted BSSID capability element and the non-Inheritance element extension, thus reducing since the the nontransmitted BSSID capability element is optional).
In view of the above, having the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 and then given the well-established teaching of Granados, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 to include “reduced by removing a BSSID Capability field” as taught by Granados, since Granados stated in page 1+ that such a modification would improve airtime efficiency.
Regarding claim 12, the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 discloses wherein the nontransmitted BSSID Profiles(see fig.7 & see para.0070, which discusses the optional subelements 724 may include one or more nontransmitted BSSID profile subelements 726. Each nontransmitted BSSID profile subelement 726 includes a list of elements for a respective nontransmitted BSSID of the multiple BSSID set. Example elements include at least a nontransmitted BSSID capability element, an SSID element, and a multiple BSSID-index element).
As discussed above, although the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 discloses wherein the nontransmitted BSSID Profiles(see fig.7 & see para.0070, which discusses the optional subelements 724 may include one or more nontransmitted BSSID profile subelements 726. Each nontransmitted BSSID profile subelement 726 includes a list of elements for a respective nontransmitted BSSID of the multiple BSSID set. Example elements include at least a nontransmitted BSSID capability element, an SSID element, and a multiple BSSID-index element), the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 does not explicitly show the use of “are reduced by removing a Robust Security Network information field” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “are reduced by removing a Robust Security Network information field” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Granados.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Granados teaches the use of the nontransmitted BSSID Profiles are reduced by removing a Robust Security Network information field (see The multiple BSSID element & page 3, which discusses it also contains a list of optional subelement. There are two types of subelements: Nontransmitted BSSID profile and vendor specific… the Ap may choose to adverstise only a subset of BSSIDs on a Multiple BSSID element, see page 4, Nontransmitted BSSID profile includes at least Robust Security Network information(RSNE) field, thus reducing since the nontransmitted BSSID profile includes at least the RSNE is optional not mandatory so the network does not have to advertise/include it).
In view of the above, having the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 and then given the well-established teaching of Granados, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 to include “are reduced by removing a Robust Security Network information field” as taught by Granados, since Granados stated in page 1+ that such a modification would improve airtime efficiency.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/VINNCELAS LOUIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474