DETAILED ACTION
The instant first office action is in response to communication filed on 05/01/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending of which claims 1, 13 and 18 are the base independent claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/01/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 14-16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cariou et al (US 2022/0159555) and in view of Hazarika et al (US2022/0400374).
Regarding claim 1, 18, Cariou’555 discloses a method comprising:
transmitting a light mmWave link Beacon Frame(see fig.4, 404, see fig.5, 506, see para.0151-0152, which discuses controller 124 may be configured to cause the AP MLD implemented by device 102, e.g., AP MLD 131, to communicate a second frame as light mmWave link Beacon Frame by the mmWave STA, e.g., mmWave STA 141, see para.0122, which discusses communication between mmWave STAs, e.g., mmWave STA 141 and mmWave STA 161, over the mmWave frequency band) from a first wireless device(see fig.1, which shows from wireless communication device 102 as first wireless device with 131 including AP 135-141 and controller 124) to a second wireless device(see fig.1, which shows to wireless device 140 as second wireless device with 151 including AP 155-161 and controller 154) through a mmWave link(see fig.3, which shows through mmWave link 378 between AP4 318 and Non-AP STA4 358, see abs & para.0166, which discusses communicate a second frame by the mmWave STA, the second frame communicated with a non-AP MLD over the mmWave wireless communication channel, see para.0040-0041);
transmitting a Beacon Frame(see fig.4, 402, see fig.5, 502, see para.0148, which discusses controller 124 may be configured to cause AP MLD 131 to transmit the first frame as a beacon frame from AP 135, AP 137, and/or AP 139 over the sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel, see para.0186, which discusses controller 154 may be configured to cause MLD 151 to process at STA 155, STA 157, and/or STA 159 as second wireless device the first frame received from AP MLD 131) from the first wireless device(see fig.1, which shows from wireless communication device 102 as first wireless device with 131 including AP 135-141 and controller 124) to the second wireless device(see fig.1, which shows to wireless device 140 as second wireless device with 151 including AP 155-161 and controller 154) through a non-mmWave link(see fig.3, which shows respectively link 372-376 associated with 2.4GHz, 5-6GHz as non-mmWave link, see para.0254, which discusses transmitting a first frame from a sub-10 GHz AP of an AP MLD over a sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel, see para.0040-0041); and
establishing by the second wireless device(see fig.1, which shows to wireless device 140 as second wireless device with 151 including AP 155-161 and controller 154) an association with a virtual mmWave AP of the first wireless device(see fig.5, 504 & see para.0258, which discusses associating an mmWave STA of the non-AP MLD with the mmWave STA of the AP MLD, for example, based on the mmWave information corresponding to the mmWave STA of the AP MLD. For example, controller 154 (FIG. 1) may be configured to cause, trigger, and/or control non-AP MLD 151 (FIG. 1) to associate mmWave STA 161 (FIG. 1) with mmWave STA 141 (FIG. 1), for example, based on the mmWave information corresponding to mmWave STA 141, see fig.2-3, virtual AP 212-218/312-318) through the non-mmWave link((see fig.3, which shows respectively link 372-376 associated with 2.4GHz, 5-6GHz as non-mmWave link, see para.0254, which discusses transmitting a first frame from a sub-10 GHz AP of an AP MLD over a sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel, see para.0040-0041, see para.0240, which discusses an Association Request frame, which may include, for example, a Multi-link element with a per-STA profile for each link that is requested, may be sent by the non-AP MLD on any link, claim 10 , see fig.5, 504, see para.0040-0041).
As discussed above, although Cariou’555 discloses transmitting a light mmWave link Beacon Frame from a first wireless device to a second wireless device(see para.0151-0152, which discuses controller 124 may be configured to cause the AP MLD implemented by device 102, e.g., AP MLD 131, to communicate a second frame as light mmWave link Beacon Frame by the mmWave STA, e.g., mmWave STA 141 as first wireless device, see para.0122, which discusses communication between mmWave STAs, e.g., mmWave STA 141 and mmWave STA 161 as second wireless device, over the mmWave frequency band), Cariou’555 does not explicitly show the use of “the light mmWave Beacon Frame including a multiple BSSID element, including nontransmitted BSSID Profiles for virtual mmWave APs” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “the light mmWave Beacon Frame including a multiple BSSID element, including nontransmitted BSSID Profiles for virtual mmWave APs” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Hazarika’374.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Hazarika’374 teaches the use of the light mmWave Beacon Frame(see fig.7, see para.0068, which discusses beacon frame 700 usable for communications between an AP and a number of STAs, see para.0045, which discuses to establish a communication link 106 with an AP 102, each of the STAs 104 is configured to perform passive or active scanning operations (“scans”) on frequency channels in one or more frequency bands (for example, the 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, 6 GHz or 60 GHz bands) as mmWave channel… a STA 104 listens for beacons, which are transmitted by respective APs 102 at a periodic time interval referred to as the target beacon transmission time (TBTT) (measured in time units (TUs) where one TU may be equal to 1024 microseconds (μs)), see para.0065, which discusses a multiple BSSID set is a collection of APs (which also may be referred to as “virtual APs” or VAPs) )including a multiple BSSID element(see fig.7, which shows includes multiple BSSID element 720), including nontransmitted BSSID Profiles for virtual mmWave Aps(see fig.7, which shows 720 including nontransmitted BSSID profile 726, see para.0065, which discusses a multiple BSSID set is a collection of APs (which also may be referred to as “virtual APs” or VAPs), para.0045, which discusses in one or more frequency bands(…60 GHz Bands/ mmWave )).
In view of the above, having the system of Cariou’555 and then given the well-established teaching of Hazarika’374, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cariou’555 to include “the light mmWave Beacon Frame including a multiple BSSID element, including nontransmitted BSSID Profiles for virtual mmWave APs” as taught by Hazarika’374, since Hazarika’374 stated in para.0005+ that such a modification would provide an efficient system that may not cause interoperability issues between EMA APs and non-EMA STAs.
Regarding claim 2, 14, 19, Cariou’555 discloses wherein the establishing the association comprises establishing a multi-link association for the mmWave link with the first wireless device(see fig.3, which shows establishing a multi-link 372-378 association for the mmWave link with the first wireless device 302).
Regarding claim 3, 15, Cariou’555 discloses wherein the multi-link association with the first wireless device comprises links of the mmWave link(see fig.1, see para.0040-0041, which discusses WM 103 may include one or more wireless communication frequency bands and/or channels... For example, WM 103 may additionally or alternatively include one or more channels as links in a mmWave wireless communication frequency band).
Regarding claim 4, Cariou’555 discloses wherein the Beacon Frame includes simple information of the mmWave link(see fig.4, which shows the mmWave information 402).
Regarding claim 5, Cariou’555 discloses wherein the simple information includes at least one(due to one language, only one of them is being considered) of an operating channel, a critical update indication, and a target beacon transmission time see fig.4, which shows the mmWave information 402, see para.0254, which discusses the mmWave information corresponding to the mmWave STA including channel information to indicate an mmWave wireless communication channel of the mmWave STA).
Regarding claim 6, 20, Cariou’555 discloses wherein establishing an association comprises receiving an Association Response frame(see para.0268, which discusses probe response frames transmitted by the sub-10 GHz AP of the AP MLD) from the first wireless device(see fig.1, which shows from wireless communication device 102 as first wireless device with 131 including AP 135-141 and controller 124) in the non-mmWave link(see fig.3, which shows respectively link 372-376 associated with 2.4GHz, 5-6GHz as non-mmWave link, see para.0254, which discusses transmitting a first frame from a sub-10 GHz AP of an AP MLD over a sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel, see para.0040-0041) and wherein the Association Response frame(see para.0163, which discusses controller 124 may be configured to cause the AP MLD implemented by device 102, e.g., AP MLD 131, to transmit the probe response frame from a sub-10 GHz AP of the AP MLD, for example, in response to a probe request received from the non-AP MLD, e.g., MLD 151, over the sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel).
As discussed above, although Cariou’555 discloses establishing an association comprises receiving an Association Response frame(see para.0268, which discusses probe response frames transmitted by the sub-10 GHz AP of the AP MLD), Cariou’555 does not explicitly show the use of “a Max BSSID Indicator of a multiple BSSID set of the mmWave link” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “a Max BSSID Indicator of a multiple BSSID set of the mmWave link” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Hazarika’374.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Hazarika’374 teaches the use of a Max BSSID Indicator of a multiple BSSID set of the mmWave link (see para.0003, which discusses the AP corresponding to the transmitted BSSID advertises information for multiple BSSIDs, including the transmitted BSSID and one or more nontransmitted BSSIDs, using beacon or probe response frames. For example, each beacon and probe response frame may include one or more multiple BSSID elements advertising one or more nontransmitted BSSID profiles, see fig.7, which shows multiple BSSID element 720 including Max BSSID indicator 722).
In view of the above, having the system of Cariou’555 and then given the well-established teaching of Hazarika’374, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cariou’555 to include “a Max BSSID Indicator of a multiple BSSID set of the mmWave link” as taught by Hazarika’374, since Hazarika’374 stated in para.0005+ that such a modification would provide an efficient system that may not cause interoperability issues between EMA APs and non-EMA STAs.
Regarding claim 8, Cariou’555 discloses wherein establishing an association comprises receiving an Association Response frame from the first wireless device(see para.0163, which discusses controller 124 may be configured to cause the AP MLD implemented by device 102, e.g., AP MLD 131, to transmit the probe response frame from a sub-10 GHz AP of the AP MLD, for example, in response to a probe request received from the non-AP MLD, e.g., MLD 151, over the sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel) in the non-mmWave link(see para.0163, see fig.3, which shows respectively link 372-376 associated with 2.4GHz, 5-6GHz as non-mmWave link, see para.0254, which discusses transmitting a first frame from a sub-10 GHz AP of an AP MLD over a sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel, see para.0040-0041, see para.0240, which discusses an Association Request frame, which may include, for example, a Multi-link element with a per-STA profile for each link that is requested, may be sent by the non-AP MLD on any link, claim 10 , see fig.5, 504, see para.0040-0041).
As discussed above, although Cariou’555 discloses receiving an Association Response frame from the first wireless device(see para.0163, which discusses controller 124 may be configured to cause the AP MLD implemented by device 102, e.g., AP MLD 131, to transmit the probe response frame from a sub-10 GHz AP of the AP MLD, for example, in response to a probe request received from the non-AP MLD, e.g., MLD 151, over the sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel), Cariou’555 does not explicitly show the use of “the Association Response frame includes a BSSID Index of a multiple BSSID set of the mmWave link” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “the Association Response frame includes a BSSID Index of a multiple BSSID set of the mmWave link” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Hazarika’374.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Hazarika’374 teaches the use of the Association Response frame(see at least fig.6 & para.0066, which discusses each beacon or probe response frame may include one or more multiple BSSID elements carrying BSSID information that is specific to one or more of the nontransmitted BSSIDs) includes a BSSID Index of a multiple BSSID set(see para.0070, which discuses Each multiple BSSID element 720 includes a maximum (max) BSSID indicator field 722 and zero or more optional subelements 724...The optional subelements 724 may include one or more nontransmitted BSSID profile subelements 726. Each nontransmitted BSSID profile subelement 726 includes a list of elements for a respective nontransmitted BSSID of the multiple BSSID set. Example elements include at least a nontransmitted BSSID capability element, an SSID element, and a multiple BSSID-index element, thus BSSID Index of a multiple BSSID set ) of the mmWave link(see para.0045, which discusses each of the STAs 104 is configured to perform passive or active scanning operations (“scans”) on frequency channels in one or more frequency bands (for example, the 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, 6 GHz or 60 GHz bands). To perform passive scanning, a STA 104 listens for beacons, which are transmitted by respective APs 102 at a periodic time interval referred to as the target beacon transmission time (TBTT) (measured in time units (TUs) where one TU may be equal to 1024 microseconds (μs)). To perform active scanning, a STA 104 generates and sequentially transmits probe requests on each channel to be scanned and listens for probe responses from APs 102, thus 60 GHz bands as mmWave link).
In view of the above, having the system of Cariou’555 and then given the well-established teaching of Hazarika’374, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cariou’555 to include “the Association Response frame includes a BSSID Index of a multiple BSSID set of the mmWave link” as taught by Hazarika’374, since Hazarika’374 stated in para.0005+ that such a modification would provide an efficient system that may not cause interoperability issues between EMA APs and non-EMA STAs.
Regarding claim 8, Cariou’555 discloses a wireless device comprising: a processor(see fig.1, which shows processor 191); and a transceiver(see fig.1, which shows 114 as transceiver since it includes both Tx 118 and Rx 116) coupled to the processor(see fig.1, which shows 114 coupled to processor 191) to:
transmit a light mmWave link Beacon Frame(see fig.4, 404, see fig.5, 506, see para.0151-0152, which discuses controller 124 may be configured to cause the AP MLD implemented by device 102, e.g., AP MLD 131, to communicate a second frame as light mmWave link Beacon Frame by the mmWave STA, e.g., mmWave STA 141, see para.0122, which discusses communication between mmWave STAs, e.g., mmWave STA 141 and mmWave STA 161, over the mmWave frequency band) from a first wireless device(see fig.1, which shows from wireless communication device 102 as first wireless device with 131 including AP 135-141 and controller 124) to a second wireless device(see fig.1, which shows to wireless device 140 as second wireless device with 151 including AP 155-161 and controller 154) through a mmWave link(see fig.3, which shows through mmWave link 378 between AP4 318 and Non-AP STA4 358, see abs & para.0166, which discusses communicate a second frame by the mmWave STA, the second frame communicated with a non-AP MLD over the mmWave wireless communication channel, see para.0040-0041);
transmit a Beacon Frame(see fig.4, 402, see fig.5, 502, see para.0148, which discusses controller 124 may be configured to cause AP MLD 131 to transmit the first frame as a beacon frame from AP 135, AP 137, and/or AP 139 over the sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel, see para.0186, which discusses controller 154 may be configured to cause MLD 151 to process at STA 155, STA 157, and/or STA 159 as second wireless device the first frame received from AP MLD 131) from the first wireless device(see fig.1, which shows from wireless communication device 102 as first wireless device with 131 including AP 135-141 and controller 124) to the second wireless device(see fig.1, which shows to wireless device 140 as second wireless device with 151 including AP 155-161 and controller 154) through a non-mmWave link(see fig.3, which shows respectively link 372-376 associated with 2.4GHz, 5-6GHz as non-mmWave link, see para.0254, which discusses transmitting a first frame from a sub-10 GHz AP of an AP MLD over a sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel, see para.0040-0041); and
establish by the second wireless device(see fig.1, which shows to wireless device 140 as second wireless device with 151 including AP 155-161 and controller 154) an association with a virtual mmWave AP of the first wireless device(see fig.5, 504 & see para.0258, which discusses associating an mmWave STA of the non-AP MLD with the mmWave STA of the AP MLD, for example, based on the mmWave information corresponding to the mmWave STA of the AP MLD. For example, controller 154 (FIG. 1) may be configured to cause, trigger, and/or control non-AP MLD 151 (FIG. 1) to associate mmWave STA 161 (FIG. 1) with mmWave STA 141 (FIG. 1), for example, based on the mmWave information corresponding to mmWave STA 141, see fig.2-3, virtual AP 212-218/312-318) through the non-mmWave link((see fig.3, which shows respectively link 372-376 associated with 2.4GHz, 5-6GHz as non-mmWave link, see para.0254, which discusses transmitting a first frame from a sub-10 GHz AP of an AP MLD over a sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel, see para.0040-0041, see para.0240, which discusses an Association Request frame, which may include, for example, a Multi-link element with a per-STA profile for each link that is requested, may be sent by the non-AP MLD on any link, claim 10 , see fig.5, 504, see para.0040-0041).
As discussed above, although Cariou’555 discloses transmitting a light mmWave link Beacon Frame from a first wireless device to a second wireless device(see para.0151-0152, which discuses controller 124 may be configured to cause the AP MLD implemented by device 102, e.g., AP MLD 131, to communicate a second frame as light mmWave link Beacon Frame by the mmWave STA, e.g., mmWave STA 141 as first wireless device, see para.0122, which discusses communication between mmWave STAs, e.g., mmWave STA 141 and mmWave STA 161 as second wireless device, over the mmWave frequency band), Cariou’555 does not explicitly show the use of “the light mmWave Beacon Frame including a multiple BSSID element, including nontransmitted BSSID Profiles for virtual mmWave APs” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “the light mmWave Beacon Frame including a multiple BSSID element, including nontransmitted BSSID Profiles for virtual mmWave APs” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Hazarika’374.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Hazarika’374 teaches the use of the light mmWave Beacon Frame(see fig.7, see para.0068, which discusses beacon frame 700 usable for communications between an AP and a number of STAs, see para.0045, which discuses to establish a communication link 106 with an AP 102, each of the STAs 104 is configured to perform passive or active scanning operations (“scans”) on frequency channels in one or more frequency bands (for example, the 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, 6 GHz or 60 GHz bands) as mmWave channel… a STA 104 listens for beacons, which are transmitted by respective APs 102 at a periodic time interval referred to as the target beacon transmission time (TBTT) (measured in time units (TUs) where one TU may be equal to 1024 microseconds (μs)), see para.0065, which discusses a multiple BSSID set is a collection of APs (which also may be referred to as “virtual APs” or VAPs) )including a multiple BSSID element(see fig.7, which shows includes multiple BSSID element 720), including nontransmitted BSSID Profiles for virtual mmWave Aps(see fig.7, which shows 720 including nontransmitted BSSID profile 726, see para.0065, which discusses a multiple BSSID set is a collection of APs (which also may be referred to as “virtual APs” or VAPs), para.0045, which discusses in one or more frequency bands(…60 GHz Bands/ mmWave )).
In view of the above, having the system of Cariou’555 and then given the well-established teaching of Hazarika’374, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cariou’555 to include “the light mmWave Beacon Frame including a multiple BSSID element, including nontransmitted BSSID Profiles for virtual mmWave APs” as taught by Hazarika’374, since Hazarika’374 stated in para.0005+ that such a modification would provide an efficient system that may not cause interoperability issues between EMA APs and non-EMA STAs.
Regarding claim 16, Cariou’555 discloses wherein establishing an association comprises transmitting an Association Response frame (see para.0268, which discusses probe response frames transmitted by the sub-10 GHz AP of the AP MLD) from the first wireless device(see fig.1, which shows from wireless communication device 102 as first wireless device with 131 including AP 135-141 and controller 124) in the non-mmWave link(see fig.3, which shows respectively link 372-376 associated with 2.4GHz, 5-6GHz as non-mmWave link, see para.0254, which discusses transmitting a first frame from a sub-10 GHz AP of an AP MLD over a sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel, see para.0040-0041) and wherein the Association Response frame(see para.0163, which discusses controller 124 may be configured to cause the AP MLD implemented by device 102, e.g., AP MLD 131, to transmit the probe response frame from a sub-10 GHz AP of the AP MLD, for example, in response to a probe request received from the non-AP MLD, e.g., MLD 151, over the sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel).
As discussed above, although Cariou’555 discloses establishing an association comprises receiving an Association Response frame(see para.0268, which discusses probe response frames transmitted by the sub-10 GHz AP of the AP MLD), Cariou’555 does not explicitly show the use of “a Max BSSID Indicator of a multiple BSSID set of the mmWave link” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “a Max BSSID Indicator of a multiple BSSID set of the mmWave link” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Hazarika’374.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Hazarika’374 teaches the use of a Max BSSID Indicator of a multiple BSSID set of the mmWave link (see para.0003, which discusses the AP corresponding to the transmitted BSSID advertises information for multiple BSSIDs, including the transmitted BSSID and one or more nontransmitted BSSIDs, using beacon or probe response frames. For example, each beacon and probe response frame may include one or more multiple BSSID elements advertising one or more nontransmitted BSSID profiles, see fig.7, which shows multiple BSSID element 720 including Max BSSID indicator 722).
In view of the above, having the system of Cariou’555 and then given the well-established teaching of Hazarika’374, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cariou’555 to include “a Max BSSID Indicator of a multiple BSSID set of the mmWave link” as taught by Hazarika’374, since Hazarika’374 stated in para.0005+ that such a modification would provide an efficient system that may not cause interoperability issues between EMA APs and non-EMA STAs.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cariou et al (US 2022/0159555), in view of Hazarika et al (US2022/0400374) and in view of Gan et al (US 2023/0292215).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 discloses wherein the Max BSSID Indicator(Hazarika’37, see fig.7, which shows multiple BSSID element 720 including Max BSSID indicator 722, see para.0003, which discusses each beacon and probe response frame may include one or more multiple BSSID elements advertising one or more nontransmitted BSSID profiles).
As discussed above, although the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 discloses wherein the Max BSSID Indicator(Hazarika’37, see fig.7, which shows multiple BSSID element 720 including Max BSSID indicator 722, see para.0003, which discusses each beacon and probe response frame may include one or more multiple BSSID elements advertising one or more nontransmitted BSSID profiles), the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 does not explicitly show the use of “the Max BSSID Indicator is carried in a Per STA Profile of the Association Response frame” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “he Max BSSID Indicator is carried in a Per STA Profile of the Association Response frame” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Gan’215.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Gan’215 teaches the use of the Max BSSID Indicator is carried in a Per STA Profile(see fig.3, see para.0358, which discusses when the station information field includes a multiple BSSID set information field, a BSSID value of each AP in the multiple BSSID set is provided. The multiple BSSID set information field includes a BSSID index field corresponding to the second AP and a max BSSID indicator field) of the Association Response frame(see para.0172, which discusses information about the multiple BSSID set (namely, a multiple BSSID element) is carried in a beacon frame, a probe response frame, or a neighbor report sent by the transmitted BSSID AP., para.0015, 0429).
In view of the above, having the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 and then given the well-established teaching of Gan’215, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 to include “the Max BSSID Indicator is carried in a Per STA Profile of the Association Response frame” as taught by Gan’215, since Gan’215 stated in para.0006+ that such a modification would provide an efficient system that reduces redundant data of the management frame, avoids unnecessary overheads, and improves communication efficiency.
Claim(s) 10, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cariou et al (US 2022/0159555), in view of Hazarika et al (US2022/0400374) and in view of Gidvani et al (US 2019/0268892).
Regarding claim 10, 17, Cariou’555 discloses wherein the virtual mmWave APs are co-hosted APs with the first wireless device(see fig.1, wireless device communication device 102 with AP MLD 131 including AP 135-141, thus co-hosted APs with the first wireless device 102 ), wherein establishing an association comprises receiving an Association Response frame from the first wireless device in the non-mmWave link(see para.0163, which discusses controller 124 may be configured to cause the AP MLD implemented by device 102, e.g., AP MLD 131, to transmit the probe response frame from a sub-10 GHz AP of the AP MLD, for example, in response to a probe request received from the non-AP MLD, e.g., MLD 151, over the sub-10 GHz wireless communication channel, see para.0236).
As discussed above, although the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 discloses maximum BSSID indicator field that is set to a value (n) based on a number (N) of BSSIDs in the first multiple BSSID set and a number (M) of BSSIDs in the second multiple BSSID set, for example, where 2.sup.n≥N+M(Hazarika’374, see fig.7, para.0014), the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 does not explicitly show the use of “Association Response frame includes a Max Co-Hosted BSSID Indicator of the co-hosted APs of the mmWave link” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “Association Response frame includes a Max Co-Hosted BSSID Indicator of the co-hosted APs of the mmWave link” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Gan’215.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Gan’215 teaches the use of Association Response frame(see fig.4, see para.0117, which discusses management frame (such as a beacon frame, probe response frame, or association frame) from the second BSS may indicate that the first BSS is co-hosted BSS in a Co-Hosted BSS Set that includes the second BSS) includes a Max Co-Hosted BSSID Indicator of the co-hosted Aps(fig.6 & see para.0107, which discusses the Max BSSID indicator field 610 may be used to signal contiguous BSSIDs that are part of the Co-Located BSS Set, as described in FIG. 1) of the mmWave link(see para.0066, which discusses each of the STAs is configured to perform passive or active scanning operations (“scans”) on frequency channels in one or more frequency bands (for example, the 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, 6 GHz or 60 GHz bands). To perform passive scanning, a STA listens for beacons, which are transmitted by respective VAPs at a periodic time interval referred to as the target beacon transmission time (TBTT) (measured in time units (TUs) where one TU is equal to 1024 microseconds (s)). To perform active scanning, a STA generates and sequentially transmits probe requests on each channel to be scanned and listens for probe responses from VAPs. Each STA may be configured to identify or select a VAP with which to associate based on the scanning information obtained through the passive or active scans, and to perform authentication and association operations to establish a wireless association with the selected VAP, thus of 60 GHz band(s) as mmWave link).
In view of the above, having the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 and then given the well-established teaching of Gan’215, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 to include “Association Response frame includes a Max Co-Hosted BSSID Indicator of the co-hosted APs of the mmWave link” as taught by Gan’215, since Gan’215 stated in para.0006+ that such a modification would provide.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cariou et al (US 2022/0159555), in view of Hazarika et al (US2022/0400374) and in view of Adrian Granados (The Multiple BSSID element: Improving airtime efficiency).
Regarding claim 11, the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 discloses wherein the nontransmitted BSSID Profiles(see fig.7 & see para.0070, which discusses the optional subelements 724 may include one or more nontransmitted BSSID profile subelements 726. Each nontransmitted BSSID profile subelement 726 includes a list of elements for a respective nontransmitted BSSID of the multiple BSSID set. Example elements include at least a nontransmitted BSSID capability element, an SSID element, and a multiple BSSID-index element).
As discussed above, although the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 discloses wherein the nontransmitted BSSID Profiles(see fig.7 & see para.0070, which discusses the optional subelements 724 may include one or more nontransmitted BSSID profile subelements 726. Each nontransmitted BSSID profile subelement 726 includes a list of elements for a respective nontransmitted BSSID of the multiple BSSID set. Example elements include at least a nontransmitted BSSID capability element, an SSID element, and a multiple BSSID-index element), the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 does not explicitly show the use of “are reduced by removing a BSSID Capability field” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “are reduced by removing a BSSID Capability field” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Granados.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Granados teaches the use of the nontransmitted BSSID Profiles are reduced by removing a BSSID Capability field( see The multiple BSSID element & page 4, which discusses the nontransmitted BSSID Profile(s) include…two additional elements are optional: the nontransmitted BSSID capability element and the non-Inheritance element extension, thus reducing since the the nontransmitted BSSID capability element is optional).
In view of the above, having the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 and then given the well-established teaching of Granados, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 to include “reduced by removing a BSSID Capability field” as taught by Granados, since Granados stated in page 1+ that such a modification would improve airtime efficiency.
Regarding claim 12, the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 discloses wherein the nontransmitted BSSID Profiles(see fig.7 & see para.0070, which discusses the optional subelements 724 may include one or more nontransmitted BSSID profile subelements 726. Each nontransmitted BSSID profile subelement 726 includes a list of elements for a respective nontransmitted BSSID of the multiple BSSID set. Example elements include at least a nontransmitted BSSID capability element, an SSID element, and a multiple BSSID-index element).
As discussed above, although the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 discloses wherein the nontransmitted BSSID Profiles(see fig.7 & see para.0070, which discusses the optional subelements 724 may include one or more nontransmitted BSSID profile subelements 726. Each nontransmitted BSSID profile subelement 726 includes a list of elements for a respective nontransmitted BSSID of the multiple BSSID set. Example elements include at least a nontransmitted BSSID capability element, an SSID element, and a multiple BSSID-index element), the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 does not explicitly show the use of “are reduced by removing a Robust Security Network information field” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “are reduced by removing a Robust Security Network information field” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Granados.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Granados teaches the use of the nontransmitted BSSID Profiles are reduced by removing a Robust Security Network information field (see The multiple BSSID element & page 3, which discusses it also contains a list of optional subelement. There are two types of subelements: Nontransmitted BSSID profile and vendor specific… Nontransmitted BSSID profile includes at least Robust Security Network information(RSNE) field, thus reducing since the nontransmitted BSSID profile includes at least the RSNE is optional).
In view of the above, having the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 and then given the well-established teaching of Granados, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of Cariou’555 and Hazarika’374 to include “are reduced by removing a Robust Security Network information field” as taught by Granados, since Granados stated in page 1+ that such a modification would improve airtime efficiency.
Conclusion
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/VINNCELAS LOUIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474