DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final office is a response to the papers filed on 01/30/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Muller et al. (Pub. No. 2011/0144823 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Muller discloses:
A charging system comprising:
a system controller (see Fig. 5, control 56, see par [0043], The control circuit 56 may be connected to the electric conduit 50 and to the data link 48….);
a suspended charging bus extending across multiple charging spaces (see Fig. 5, see illustrated below); and
a first bus interface unit electrically coupled to the suspended charging bus and in communication with the system controller a first charging interface unit electrically coupled to the first bus interface unit, the first charging interface unit being located near a first set of charging spaces and including a charging cable (see Fig. 5, see illustrated below, electric conduit 50, see par [0044-0050], Attached to a respective end of the electric conduit 50 may be the socket connector 52 and the vehicle connector 54…, see par [0057-0059], see par [0010], an apparatus for sequential charging of multiple electric vehicles is provided and can include a connecting means configured to couple with an electrical socket, see par [0035], [which is require cable], see par [0046-0047] and [0057-0058]);
a second bus interface unit electrically coupled to the suspended charging bus and in communication with the system controller; a second charging interface unit electrically coupled to the second bus interface unit, the second charging interface unit being located near a second set of charging spaces (see Fig. 5, see illustrated below, electric conduit 50, see par [0044-0050], Attached to a respective end of the electric conduit 50 may be the socket connector 52 and the vehicle connector 54…, see par [0057-0059], see Abstract, power cord, see par [0035], [which is require cable], see par [0046-0047] and [0057-0058]); and
where the system controller controls the first bus interface unit and the second bus interface unit to provide power to the first set of charging spaces and the second set of charging spaces (see par [0008-0010], a control circuit connected to the first power conduit and configured to generate signals corresponding to the voltage along the first power conduit….., see par [0041-0044], par [0057-0062], the EVSE 30 may allow for the power conduit 50 to have multiple vehicle connectors 54 stemming therefrom, or multiple power conduits 50…..).
Regarding claim 2, Muller discloses:
A charging interface unit electrically coupled to the bus interface unit, the charging interface unit including a charging cable for charging the electric vehicle (see Fig. 5, Abstract, The power cord is divided into multiple power cords that extend from the housing and connect to standard electric vehicle connectors compatible with battery electric vehicles (BEV) and plug-in hybrid electric vehicles (PHEV)…., see par [0008]).
Regarding claim 14, Muller discloses:
where the system controller controls the first bus interface unit and the second bus interface unit to provide power to the first set of charging spaces and the second set of charging spaces according to a load management plan (see par [0008-0010], determining a priority for providing charging power to a battery of a first or a second electric vehicle of the multiple electric vehicles via a processor based on information received from the first and second electric vehicles or from a user input via an input device….).
Regarding claim 15, Muller discloses:
a user interface in communication with the system controller, where the user interface is associated with a vehicle requesting a charge for providing user charging parameters to the charging system (see par [0008-0010], determining a priority for providing charging power to a battery of a first or a second electric vehicle of the multiple electric vehicles via a processor based on information received from the first and second electric vehicles or from a user input via an input device…., see par [0031-0032]).
Regarding claim 16, Muller discloses:
the first charging interface unit and the second charging interface unit each comprising a controller for communicating with the system controller (see Fig. 5, control board 56).
Regarding claims 17 and 19, Muller discloses:
where the first bus interface unit and the second bus interface unit are addressable devices, and configured to be remotely controlled by the system controller (see par [0034], second remote display (not shown) can be a remote control panel that receives the same or similar information as the display 40. The second remote display…, see par [0050-0055]).
Regarding claim 18, Muller discloses:
where the system controller communicates with the first bus interface unit and the second bus interface unit to provide charging system scheduling (see par [0068], This process of switching the allocation of power between then first and second vehicle may occur numerous times depending on power management settings…, see par [0033], The display may also be used to indicate the level of charge for the batteries, the number of times the batteries have been charged and the remaining charging time or the time the batteries have been charging), monitoring, and load management functions for vehicles requesting a charge (see par [0033], The display may also be used to indicate the level of charge for the batteries, the number of times the batteries have been charged and the remaining charging time or the time the batteries have been charging…., see par [0055], the EVSE 30 may be to include a battery charging monitor…).
Regarding claim 20, Muller discloses:
where the first charging interface unit and the second charging interface unit are configured to automatically retract a charging cable once charging of a vehicle is complete (see par [0047], the power conduit may be retractable into the housing 62….)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-8 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muller et al. (Pub. No. 2011/0144823 A1) further in view of Bouman (CN Pub. No. 103209857 A).
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Muller fails to disclose:
the bus interface unit comprising a power switch and a control system coupled to the power switch and where the control switch communicates with the power switch for controlling delivery of power to the electric vehicle.
Thus, Bouman discloses:
the bus interface unit comprising a power switch and a control system coupled to the power switch and where the control switch communicates with the power switch for controlling delivery of power to the electric vehicle (see par [0010], the charger may include a controllable power switch, which is coupled to the power converter, a second power connector and the at least third connector in at least two. and transfer power through the control switch of the controller….., see par [0031-0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified an apparatus and method for sequentially charging multiple electric vehicles of Muller to include a power switch in order to transfer power through the control switch of the controller (see Bouman par [0010]).
Regarding claim 4, Muller discloses:
Wherein the bus interface unit communicates with the system controller via the control system (see Fig, 5, see par [0008-0010], a control circuit connected to the first power conduit and configured to generate signals corresponding to the voltage along the first power conduit….).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Muller discloses:
the bus interface unit comprising a charging bus interface including one or more panel board devices (see Fig. 4, contactor 42, GFI 46, and contactor 42a).
Regarding claims 6 and 11, Muller discloses:
the bus interface unit comprising a power control device that controls the amount of power delivered to the electric vehicle based on a load management system (see Fig. 5, see par [0060-0062], The amount of power allocated to each vehicle may vary for multiple reasons. One may be the charge state of the battery in the respective vehicle….., the EVSE 30 may be able to control the amount of power delivered to the batteries such that the delivered power totals less than the available charging power….).
Regarding claims 7 and 12, Muller discloses:
the bus interface unit comprising a charging voltage selector that is configured to switch supply voltage level to a desired charging voltage level (see par [0002], the present invention relates to electric vehicle power supply equipment to deliver Level I charging (up to 15 amps or 20 amps and 120 volts) and/or Level II charging (up to 80 amps and 240 volts) from an electrical socket…., par [0004-0006]).
Regarding claim 8, Bouman discloses:
where the power switch is a remotely controllable power switch (see par [0015], at least one acquired information group of the other power supply network or remote control device to control the switch….).
Conclusion
/BRIAN NGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851