DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 20 of co-pending application No. 18385258. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-19 of co-pending Application No. 18385258. The co-pending applications both describe a kickstand with an integrated charging device.
Claim 1 of the current application is rejected as nonstatutory double patenting with claim 1 of co-pending application.
Claim 2 of the current application is rejected as nonstatutory double patenting with claim 2 of co-pending application.
Claim 3 of the current application is rejected as nonstatutory double patenting with claim 3 of co-pending application.
Claim 4 of the current application is rejected as nonstatutory double patenting with claim 4 of co-pending application.
Claim 5 of the current application is rejected as nonstatutory double patenting with claim 5 of co-pending application.
Claim 6 of the current application is rejected as nonstatutory double patenting with claim 6 of co-pending application.
Claim 7 of the current application is rejected as nonstatutory double patenting with claim 7 of co-pending application.
Claim 8 of the current application is rejected as nonstatutory double patenting with claim 8 of co-pending application.
Claim 9 of the current application is rejected as nonstatutory double patenting with claim 9 of co-pending application.
Claim 10 of the current application is rejected as nonstatutory double patenting with claim 10 of co-pending application.
Claim 11 of the current application is rejected as nonstatutory double patenting with claim 11 of co-pending application.
Claim 12 of the current application is rejected as nonstatutory double patenting with claim 12 of co-pending application.
Claim 13 of the current application is rejected as nonstatutory double patenting with claim 15 of co-pending application.
Claim 14 of the current application is rejected as nonstatutory double patenting with claim 13 of co-pending application.
Claim 15 of the current application is rejected as nonstatutory double patenting with claim 14 of co-pending application.
Claim 16 of the current application is rejected as nonstatutory double patenting with claim 15 of co-pending application.
Claim 17 of the current application is rejected as nonstatutory double patenting with claim 16, 19 of co-pending application.
Claim 18 of the current application is rejected as nonstatutory double patenting with claim 17 of co-pending application.
Claim 19 of the current application is rejected as nonstatutory double patenting with claim 18 of co-pending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada et al (US 6150794).
RE 1, Yamada discloses an electric motorbike comprising: a motorbike frame (1); a battery pack (20); a motorbike stand (15, 17) movable couple to the motorbike frame (fig 8, 10), and a charging device (6) integrated into the motorbike stand (col 10 ln 1-10).
Re 2, where the motorbike stand comprises a kickstand (Fig 8, 10, col 9 ln 57—67).
RE 3, where the charging device is an inductive charging device (col 3 ln 6-19).
Re 4, the charging device including a secondary charging coil (50).
RE 5, comprising an inductive charger (4) having a primary charging coil (30) that inductively couples to the inductive charging device (6) (col 7 ln 21-43).
RE 6, where the inductive charger (4) is a charging mat (fig 13, 43).
RE 7, where the charging mat comprises multiple charging coils (Fig 30, col 15 ln 16-21).
RE 8, where the charging device is a contact charging device (col 7 ln 21-43).
RE 9, Yamada discloses an electric motorbike comprising: a motorbike frame (1); a battery pack (20); a bike kickstand (15, 17) movably coupled to the motorbike frame; and a charging device (6) integrated into the motorbike kickstand, the bike kickstand operably positioned to both support the electric bike when not in use and for charging the battery pack (col 9 ln 58-col 10 ln 10).
RE 10, where the charging device is an inductive charging device and includes a secondary charging coil (col 3 ln 6-19).
Re 11, where the bike kickstand (15, 17) includes a support member that contacts an external charger, the support member including the charging device (fig 12).
RE 12, where the charging device (6) is an inductive charging device having a secondary charging coil (50).
RE 13, where the charging device (6) electrically couples to the battery pack through the motorbike kickstand (col 10 ln 1-10).
RE 14, where the kickstand (15, 17) includes a first support member (15a, 17a) and a second support member (15b, 17b), and when in an operating position the first support member extends downward from the bike, and the second support member extends outward from the first support member (fig 6, 10).
Re 15, where the second support member includes an inductive charging device having a secondary coil (50) (Fig 7).
RE 16, where the inductive charging device is electrically coupled to the battery pack through the first support member (col 10 ln 1-10).
Re 20, Yamada discloses an electric motorbike comprising: a motorbike frame (1); a battery pack (20) coupled to the motorbike frame for powering the electric bike; a bike kickstand (15, 17) movably coupled to the motorbike frame; an inductive charging device (6) integrated into the motorbike kickstand, the motorbike kickstand operably positioned to both support the electric bike when not in use and includes the inductive charging device for inductively charging the battery pack (Fig 8, 10); and an inductive charging mat (Fig 13, 43) including a charging surface (4) that inductively couples to the inductive charging device, the inductive charging mat comprising a charging mat multiple primary charging coils (Fig 30, col 10 ln 1-10, col 15 ln 16-21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Yamada et al in view of Dambacher (US1278113).
Yamada discloses an electric motorbike comprising a kickstand, where the kickstand is generally U shaped (Fig 10) and includes a first support member (15a, 17a), a second support member (15b, 17b), and the charging device (6); and when in an operating position the first support member and second support member extend downward from the bike (Fig 10), and the charging device extends between the first support member and the second support member in a charging position (Fig 10, 12), and where the charging device includes an inductive charging device having a secondary coil (50).
Yamada fails to disclose the kickstand including a cleaning device movable along the second support member to clean a contact surface of the inductive charging device, a cleaning device coupled to the bike frame for cleaning a contact surface of the charging device when the kickstand is moved between an up position and a down operating position.
However, Dambacher teaches a motorcycle including a U-shaped stand (10) swinging downward in a support position on the ground and rearward/upward to engage with the spring catch (35) along the brace (12) (disclosure).
Given the teachings of Dambacher, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the kickstand of Yamada with a cleaning device coupled to the frame, and movable along the second support member to clean a contact surface of the inductive charging device.
Doing so would keep the second support member of the kickstand secured, protected, and covered after pivoting upwardly/rearwardly.
Conclusion
/Christle I Marshall/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876