DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. CN 211698362 U in view of Wei US 2019/0339476.
Regarding claim 1, Yu teaches an optical zoom lens module having a central axis and a radial direction perpendicular to the central axis (Figs, 4-14: discloses a lens module for a VR device, including concentric cylindrica member (outer shell 4, lens barrel 2, inner lens assembly) arranged around the optical axis), the optical zoom lens module comprising:
a first lens barrel surrounding the central axis, and comprising a first barrel body, a straight groove (Figs. 5-6: teaches lens barrel 2 surrounding the axis having a first slot 211, although Fig. 6 depicts that slot 211 is oblique, para 0017 of attached translated document of CN-362U teaches that the first slot 211 can be straight guide slot) and a protrusion (see annotated figure below), wherein the straight groove penetrates the first barrel body (see Fig. 6: groove 211 formed on the body of lens barrel 2), and the protrusion is located on an outer annular surface of the first barrel body (see annotated figure below);
a second lens barrel (Fig. 7: adjusting lens assembly 31) surrounding the central axis, disposed inside the first lens barrel (see Fig. 8: lens assembly 31 disposed inside lens barrel 2), and comprising a second barrel body (See Fig. 7: 311) and a convex rib (see Fig. 7: 7), wherein the convex rib is located on an outer annular surface of the second barrel body (see Fig. 7: guide piece formed on the outer circumference of 311); and
an operating element (Fig. 10: outer shell 4) surrounding the central axis, and disposed outside the first lens barrel (2) (see Fig. 11 and para 0159), and comprising a ring body (the annular ring shown in Fig. 10), an oblique groove (Fig. 10: teaches operating ring 4 surrounding the axis having a second slot 41, although Fig. 10 depicts that slot 41 is straight, para 0017 of attached translated document of CN-362U teaches that the second slot 41 can be oblique guide slot) and a groove (see Fig. 10: groove 42), wherein the oblique groove and the groove are located on an inner surface of the ring body (see grooves 41 and 42), the oblique groove (211/41) and the straight groove (41/211) are stacked in the radial direction (see Fig. 11), the convex rib passes through the straight groove and is positioned in the oblique groove (see para 0159: “The guide member 7 passes through the oblique guide groove 211 and is connected to the adjustment lens assembly 31 , thereby installing the adjustment lens assembly 31 in the lens barrel 2 , wherein the guide member 7 contacts the oblique guide groove 211 on the lens barrel 2 (specifically, the lens barrel body 21 ). Insert the outer shell 4 from the end of the lens barrel 2 close to the human eye, align the straight guide groove 41 with the guide member 7, so that the guide member 7 enters the straight guide groove 41 from the end of the straight guide groove 41 connected to the outside, and the end of the guide member 7 is located in the straight guide groove 41”);
wherein when the operating element is rotated, the oblique groove causes the convex rib of the second lens barrel to move along the corresponding straight groove and oblique groove (see para 0160: “When the outer shell 4 rotates under the action of external force, the outer shell 4 rotates relative to the guide member 7, and a side surface 412 of the straight guide groove 41 in the rotation direction contacts the guide member 7 and applies a force to the guide member 7. Under this force, the guide member 7 rotates together with the outer shell 4”), and simultaneously the limiting groove is also moved relative to the protrusion.
[AltContent: textbox (Protrusion located on outer annular surface of barrel 2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First lens barrel body)]
Yu teaches: a limiting groove and the protrusion is located in the limiting groove.
Yu and Wei are related with respect to restricting or limiting groove for rotation.
Wei teaches protrusion (see Fig. 1: 121) and limiting groove (1ocking groove 132). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the limiting groove and protrusion as in to the device of Yu as taught by Wei in order to limit the rotation or provide rotation-stop during the operating of the focusing ring.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Yu teaches the optical zoom lens module according to claim 1, and Yu further teaches wherein the straight groove is parallel to the central axis (see Fig. 10: groove 41 is parallel to the optical axis) and comprises a first straight position (see Fig. 8: guide piece 7 is in upper position) and a second straight position (see Fig. 13: guide piece 7 is in lower position) relative to the first straight position (groove 41), the first straight position is adjacent to an image source side (as shown in Fig. 8: the lens before rotation is more near to the object side), wherein when the operating element is rotated in a rotation direction, a force of the oblique groove causes the convex rib of the second lens barrel to move from the first straight position to the second straight position along the corresponding straight groove and the oblique groove (see para 0159: “The guide member 7 passes through the oblique guide groove 211 and is connected to the adjustment lens assembly 31 , thereby installing the adjustment lens assembly 31 in the lens barrel 2 , wherein the guide member 7 contacts the oblique guide groove 211 on the lens barrel 2 (specifically, the lens barrel body 21, see also Figs. 8 and 13: moving the ribs 7 from upper position to lower position i.e., first and second positions). Yu fails to teach: the limiting groove comprises a first tail end and a second tail end relative to the first tail end, the first tail end is adjacent to the oblique groove, and simultaneously the limiting groove is also moved relative to the protrusion so that the protrusion is located at a position from being near the first tail end to being near the second tail end.
Wei teaches the limiting groove comprises a first tail end and a second tail end relative to the first tail end, the first tail end is adjacent to the oblique groove (see annotated figure below), and simultaneously the limiting groove is also moved relative to the protrusion so that the protrusion is located at a position from being near the first tail end to being near the second tail end (it is apparent that, once the protrusion 121 is engaged into locking/unlocking with groove 132, the protrusion 121 will move from the first tail end to the second tail ends). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the first and second tail ends to the device of Yu as taught by Wei in order to allow rotation and also rotation-stop of the operating ring.
[AltContent: textbox (First and second tail ends)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Yu teaches the optical zoom lens module according to claim 2, and Yu further teaches wherein when the operating element is rotated in the other rotation direction, another force of the oblique groove causes the convex rib of the second lens barrel to move from the second straight position to the first straight position along the corresponding straight groove and the oblique groove (see para 177 and Figs. 8, 11 and 13: moving from position P1 to P2 after applying rotation force to the operating ring 4). Yu fails to teach simultaneously the limiting groove is also moved relative to the protrusion so that the protrusion is located at a position from being near the second tail end to being near the first tail end.
Wei teaches simultaneously the limiting groove is also moved relative to the protrusion so that the protrusion is located at a position from being near the second tail end to being near the first tail end (it is apparent that, once the protrusion 121 is engaged into locking/unlocking with groove 132, the protrusion 121 will move from the first tail end to the second tail ends). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the first and second tail ends to the device of Yu as taught by Wei in order to allow rotation and also rotation-stop of the operating ring.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Yu teaches the optical zoom lens module according to claim 2, and Yu teaches further comprising a first lens unit disposed in the first lens barrel (see Fig. 13: lens 32); and a second lens unit disposed in the second lens barrel (lens 31).
Regarding claim 5, Yu further teaches the optical zoom lens module according to claim 4, and Yu teaches further comprising an image source disposed a side of the second lens barrel near the image source side (see Fig. 4 and para 0115: screen assembly 1), wherein the second lens unit disposed in the second lens barrel is moved from the first straight position to the second straight position, thereby adjusting a distance between the second lens unit and the image source (see Figs. 13-14: the movement of lens 31 up and down relative the display screen 1).
Regarding claim 6, Yu further teaches the optical zoom lens module according to claim 1, and Yu further teaches wherein the number of the convex ribs is three (see Fig. 7: three ribs 7 are indicated), the number of the straight grooves is three, the number of the oblique grooves is three (see also para 0038: three first grooves 211, three second grooves 41 and three guide grooves i.e., ribs 7 are provided). Yu fails to teach the number of the limiting grooves is three, and the number of the protrusions is three. However, Wei teaches the number of the limiting grooves is three, and the number of the protrusions is three (see para 0037). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement three protrusion and three limiting grooves to the device of Yu as taught by Wei in order to allow rotation and also rotation-stop of the operating ring.
Regarding claim 8, Yu teaches the optical zoom lens module according to claim 1, and Yu further teaches wherein the oblique groove (see Fig. 11: groove 41, which can be oblique according para 0017, does not penetrate the ring body of 4), and the limiting groove do not penetrate the ring body (similarly, Wei in Figs. 1 and 2: limiting groove 132 do not penetrate the ring body 133).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu and Wei as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Iritani US 2019/0258021.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Yu teaches the optical zoom lens module according to claim 3, and the combination of Yu and Wei collectively teaches an operating ring whose rotation is bounded by a limiting groove’s ends. However, the combination fails to teach wherein when the operating element is rotated so that the protrusion touches from the first tail end to the second tail end of the limiting groove, the operating element performs a maximum rotation angle around the central axis, wherein the maximum rotation angle is between 60-120 degrees.
Iritani teaches that a stopper in a ring guide groove limits rotation to about 90 degrees (see para 0046: “That is, a phase range through which the stopper 118-2 is rotatable is regulated by the guide groove 108-2. Thus, in the illustrated example, the zoom ring 108 can be rotated through an angle of 90 degrees.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date; choosing a maximum rotation within 60-120-degrees for the ring set by the tail ends of the limiting groove as taught by Iritani, because it is a routine design choice and a result effective optimization producing predictable results based on desired stroke, tactile feel, and packaging constraints.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu and Wei as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Fujinaka US 2021/0157089.
Regarding claim 9, Yu teaches the optical zoom lens module according to claim 1, but fails to teach further comprising a damping oil disposed between the first lens barrel and the operating element; and the damping oil disposed between the convex rib of the second lens barrel and the straight groove of the first lens barrel.
Fujinaka in para 0060 explicitly teaches applying grease to a linear guide interface (guide pole 53 and hole 52c) to reduce friction, which it is an analogous of the claimed convex rig and straight groove interface. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Yu and Wei by utilizing the claimed damping oil (grease) as taught by Fujinaka in order to avoid or reduce any friction between the contact surfaces during the rotation process, and also it reduces impact damage or noise generation during the rotation process.
Claim(s) 10-15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. CN 211698362 U in view of Wei US 2019/0339476 and Patel US 2017/0237977.
Regarding claim 10, Yu teaches a head mounted electronic device (see para 98: virtual reality (VR)), comprising: a shell (although Yu silent about the shell, it is inherent or apparent for the VR to have housing to accommodate the optical element of the VR device); an optical zoom lens module disposed in the shell, wherein the optical zoom lens module having a central axis and a radial direction perpendicular to the central axis (Figs, 4-14: discloses a lens module for a VR device, including concentric cylindrica member (outer shell 4, lens barrel 2, inner lens assembly) arranged around the optical axis), the optical zoom lens module comprising:
a first lens barrel surrounding the central axis, and comprising a first barrel body, a straight groove (Figs. 5-6: teaches lens barrel 2 surrounding the axis having a first slot 211, although Fig. 6 depicts that slot 211 is oblique, para 0017 of attached translated document of CN-362U teaches that the first slot 211 can be straight guide slot) and a protrusion (see annotated figure below), wherein the straight groove penetrates the first barrel body (see Fig. 6: groove 211 formed on the body of lens barrel 2), and the protrusion is located on an outer annular surface of the first barrel body (see annotated figure below);
a second lens barrel (Fig. 7: adjusting lens assembly 31) surrounding the central axis, disposed inside the first lens barrel (see Fig. 8: lens assembly 31 disposed inside lens barrel 2), and comprising a second barrel body (See Fig. 7: 311) and a convex rib (see Fig. 7: 7), wherein the convex rib is located on an outer annular surface of the second barrel body (see Fig. 7: guide piece formed on the outer circumference of 311); and
an operating element (Fig. 10: outer shell 4) surrounding the central axis, and disposed outside the first lens barrel (2) (see Fig. 11 and para 0159), and comprising a ring body (the annular ring shown in Fig. 10), an oblique groove (Fig. 10: teaches operating ring 4 surrounding the axis having a second slot 41, although Fig. 10 depicts that slot 41 is straight, para 0017 of attached translated document of CN-362U teaches that the second slot 41 can be oblique guide slot) and a groove (see Fig. 10: groove 42), wherein the oblique groove and the groove are located on an inner surface of the ring body (see grooves 41 and 42), the oblique groove (211/41) and the straight groove (41/211) are stacked in the radial direction (see Fig. 11), the convex rib passes through the straight groove and is positioned in the oblique groove (see para 0159: “The guide member 7 passes through the oblique guide groove 211 and is connected to the adjustment lens assembly 31 , thereby installing the adjustment lens assembly 31 in the lens barrel 2 , wherein the guide member 7 contacts the oblique guide groove 211 on the lens barrel 2 (specifically, the lens barrel body 21 ). Insert the outer shell 4 from the end of the lens barrel 2 close to the human eye, align the straight guide groove 41 with the guide member 7, so that the guide member 7 enters the straight guide groove 41 from the end of the straight guide groove 41 connected to the outside, and the end of the guide member 7 is located in the straight guide groove 41”);
wherein when the operating element is rotated, the oblique groove causes the convex rib of the second lens barrel to move along the corresponding straight groove and oblique groove (see para 0160: “When the outer shell 4 rotates under the action of external force, the outer shell 4 rotates relative to the guide member 7, and a side surface 412 of the straight guide groove 41 in the rotation direction contacts the guide member 7 and applies a force to the guide member 7. Under this force, the guide member 7 rotates together with the outer shell 4”), and simultaneously the limiting groove is also moved relative to the protrusion.
[AltContent: textbox (Protrusion located on outer annular surface of barrel 2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First lens barrel body)]
Yu teaches: a limiting groove and the protrusion is located in the limiting groove, and a controller disposed in the shell, and electrically connected to the optical zoom lens module.
Yu and Wei are related with respect to restricting or limiting groove for rotation.
Wei teaches protrusion (see Fig. 1: 121) and limiting groove (1ocking groove 132). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the limiting groove and protrusion as in to the device of Yu as taught by Wei in order to limit the rotation or provide rotation-stop during the operating of the focusing ring.
The combination of Yu and Wei fails to teach: a controller disposed in the shell, and electrically connected to the optical zoom lens module.
Patel teaches (HMD with automatic IPD adjustment) having a controller/processor within the device that is electrically connected to the lens assemblies to measure the IPD and drive the inter-lens distance (see Figs. 9-10: shows control block diagram or system controller adjusts the lens spacing). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the optical device of Yu and Wei by utilizing the claimed controller as taught by Patel to provide the use of known electronics in HMD such as controlling IPD.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Yu teaches The head mounted electronic device according to claim 10, and Yu further teaches wherein the straight groove is parallel to the central axis (see Fig. 10: groove 41 is parallel to the optical axis) and comprises a first straight position (see Fig. 8: guide piece 7 is in upper position) and a second straight position (see Fig. 13: guide piece 7 is in lower position) relative to the first straight position (groove 41), the first straight position is adjacent to an image source side (as shown in Fig. 8: the lens before rotation is more near to the object side), wherein when the operating element is rotated in a rotation direction, a force of the oblique groove causes the convex rib of the second lens barrel to move from the first straight position to the second straight position along the corresponding straight groove and the oblique groove (see para 0159: “The guide member 7 passes through the oblique guide groove 211 and is connected to the adjustment lens assembly 31 , thereby installing the adjustment lens assembly 31 in the lens barrel 2 , wherein the guide member 7 contacts the oblique guide groove 211 on the lens barrel 2 (specifically, the lens barrel body 21, see also Figs. 8 and 13: moving the ribs 7 from upper position to lower position i.e., first and second positions). Yu fails to teach: the limiting groove comprises a first tail end and a second tail end relative to the first tail end, the first tail end is adjacent to the oblique groove, and simultaneously the limiting groove is also moved relative to the protrusion so that the protrusion is located at a position from being near the first tail end to being near the second tail end.
Wei teaches the limiting groove comprises a first tail end and a second tail end relative to the first tail end, the first tail end is adjacent to the oblique groove (see annotated figure below), and simultaneously the limiting groove is also moved relative to the protrusion so that the protrusion is located at a position from being near the first tail end to being near the second tail end (it is apparent that, once the protrusion 121 is engaged into locking/unlocking with groove 132, the protrusion 121 will move from the first tail end to the second tail ends). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the first and second tail ends to the device of Yu as taught by Wei in order to allow rotation and also rotation-stop of the operating ring.
[AltContent: textbox (First and second tail ends)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Yu teaches the head mounted electronic device according to claim 11, and Yu further teaches wherein when the operating element is rotated in the other rotation direction, another force of the oblique groove causes the convex rib of the second lens barrel to move from the second straight position to the first straight position along the corresponding straight groove and the oblique groove (see para 177 and Figs. 8, 11 and 13: moving from position P1 to P2 after applying rotation force to the operating ring 4). Yu fails to teach simultaneously the limiting groove is also moved relative to the protrusion so that the protrusion is located at a position from being near the second tail end to being near the first tail end.
Wei teaches simultaneously the limiting groove is also moved relative to the protrusion so that the protrusion is located at a position from being near the second tail end to being near the first tail end (it is apparent that, once the protrusion 121 is engaged into locking/unlocking with groove 132, the protrusion 121 will move from the first tail end to the second tail ends). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the first and second tail ends to the device of Yu as taught by Wei in order to allow rotation and also rotation-stop of the operating ring.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Yu teaches the head mounted electronic device according to claim 11, and Yu teaches further comprising a first lens unit disposed in the first lens barrel (see Fig. 13: lens 32); and a second lens unit disposed in the second lens barrel (lens 31).
Regarding claim 14, Yu further teaches the optical zoom lens module according to claim 13, and Yu teaches further comprising an image source disposed a side of the second lens barrel near the image source side (see Fig. 4 and para 0115: screen assembly 1), wherein the second lens unit disposed in the second lens barrel is moved from the first straight position to the second straight position, thereby adjusting a distance between the second lens unit and the image source (see Figs. 13-14: the movement of lens 31 up and down relative the display screen 1).
Regarding claim 15, Yu further teaches the head mounted electronic device according to claim 10, and Yu further teaches wherein the number of the convex ribs is three (see Fig. 7: three ribs 7 are indicated), the number of the straight grooves is three, the number of the oblique grooves is three (see also para 0038: three first grooves 211, three second grooves 41 and three guide grooves i.e., ribs 7 are provided). Yu fails to teach the number of the limiting grooves is three, and the number of the protrusions is three. However, Wei teaches the number of the limiting grooves is three, and the number of the protrusions is three (see para 0037). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement three protrusion and three limiting grooves to the device of Yu as taught by Wei in order to allow rotation and also rotation-stop of the operating ring.
Regarding claim 17, Yu teaches the head mounted electronic device according to claim 10, and Yu further teaches wherein the oblique groove (see Fig. 11: groove 41, which can be oblique according para 0017, does not penetrate the ring body of 4), and the limiting groove do not penetrate the ring body (similarly, Wei in Figs. 1 and 2: limiting groove 132 do not penetrate the ring body 133).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu, Wei and Patel as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Iritani US 2019/0258021.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Yu teaches the head mounted electronic device according to claim 12, and the combination of Yu and Wei collectively teaches an operating ring whose rotation is bounded by a limiting groove’s ends. However, the combination fails to teach wherein when the operating element is rotated so that the protrusion touches from the first tail end to the second tail end of the limiting groove, the operating element performs a maximum rotation angle around the central axis, wherein the maximum rotation angle is between 60-120 degrees.
Iritani teaches that a stopper in a ring guide groove limits rotation to about 90 degrees (see para 0046: “That is, a phase range through which the stopper 118-2 is rotatable is regulated by the guide groove 108-2. Thus, in the illustrated example, the zoom ring 108 can be rotated through an angle of 90 degrees.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date; choosing a maximum rotation within 60-120-degrees for the ring set by the tail ends of the limiting groove as taught by Iritani, because it is a routine design choice and a result effective optimization producing predictable results based on desired stroke, tactile feel, and packaging constraints.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu and Wei as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Fujinaka US 2021/0157089.
Regarding claim 18, Yu teaches the head mounted electronic device according to claim 10, but fails to teach further comprising a damping oil disposed between the first lens barrel and the operating element; and the damping oil disposed between the convex rib of the second lens barrel and the straight groove of the first lens barrel.
Fujinaka in para 0060 explicitly teaches applying grease to a linear guide interface (guide pole 53 and hole 52c) to reduce friction, which it is an analogous of the claimed convex rig and straight groove interface. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Yu and Wei by utilizing the claimed damping oil (grease) as taught by Fujinaka in order to avoid or reduce any friction between the contact surfaces during the rotation process, and also it reduces impact damage or noise generation during the rotation process.
Conclusion
/EPHREM Z MEBRAHTU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872