DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
-‘an external patient interface’ with the function of ‘obtaining the intestinal sounds’ in claim 24 interpreted to be “In some embodiments, the patient interface 14 comprises, or is similar in design and function to, a stethoscope head. Stethoscope heads comprise a diaphragm that is placed in contact with the patient and that vibrates in response sounds generated within the body.” per the specification
-‘a patient interface’ with the function of ‘obtaining the intestinal sounds’ in claim 24 interpreted to be “In some embodiments, the patient interface 14 comprises, or is similar in design and function to, a stethoscope head. Stethoscope heads comprise a diaphragm that is placed in contact with the patient and that vibrates in response sounds generated within the body.” per the specification
-‘a separate data collection device that collects the intestinal sounds’ in claim 35 interpreted to be “The data collection device 12 can comprise any device that is capable of collecting audio data that is generated within a patient's intestinal tract. In some embodiments, the data collection device 12 comprises a portable (e.g., handheld) digital audio recorder. In such a case, the data collection device 12 can comprise an integral microphone (not shown) that is used to capture the intestinal sounds.” per the specification.
-‘a data collection device that collects the intestinal sounds’ in claim 36 interpreted to be “The data collection device 12 can comprise any device that is capable of collecting audio data that is generated within a patient's intestinal tract. In some embodiments, the data collection device 12 comprises a portable (e.g., handheld) digital audio recorder. In such a case, the data collection device 12 can comprise an integral microphone (not shown) that is used to capture the intestinal sounds.” per the specification.
-‘a data collection device that…collects the intestinal sounds’ in claim 38 interpreted to be “The data collection device 12 can comprise any device that is capable of collecting audio data that is generated within a patient's intestinal tract. In some embodiments, the data collection device 12 comprises a portable (e.g., handheld) digital audio recorder. In such a case, the data collection device 12 can comprise an integral microphone (not shown) that is used to capture the intestinal sounds.” per the specification.
-‘an external patient interface configured for…obtaining the intestinal sounds’ in claim 40 interpreted to be “In some embodiments, the patient interface 14 comprises, or is similar in design and function to, a stethoscope head. Stethoscope heads comprise a diaphragm that is placed in contact with the patient and that vibrates in response sounds generated within the body.” per the specification
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites ‘the predefined spectral event’ after reciting ‘predefined spectral events’ making it unclear if ‘the predefined spectral event’ (singular) is part of ‘predefined spectral events’ (plural) or not. For examination purposes the singular will be treated as part of the plural. Claim 26 is rejected similarly as it recites ‘the predefined spectral event’ and is dependent back to claim 23.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the range" in Line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the likelihood" in Line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the identified spectral events" in Lines 8-9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 26 recites ‘other spectral events’ and it is unclear what ‘other’ is relative to. For examination purposes it will be treated as spectral events that are not the predefined spectral events.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the likelihood" in Line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the total number" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 27 recites ‘spectral events’ and is dependent back to claim 23 which recites ‘predefined spectral events’ making it unclear if the recitation in claim 27 is meant to refer to that of claim 23 or not. Claim 28 is similarly rejected as it recites the same term and is dependent back to claim 23.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the number" in Lines 3 and 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the risk" in Line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "the likelihood" in Line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "the number" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 29 recites ‘the predefined spectral event’ after reciting ‘predefined spectral events’ making it unclear if ‘the predefined spectral event’ (singular) is part of ‘predefined spectral events’ (plural) or not. For examination purposes the singular will be treated as part of the plural. Claim 30 is rejected similarly as it recites ‘the predefined spectral event’ and is dependent back to claim 29.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "the range" in Line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "the likelihood" in Line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "the identified spectral events" in Lines 9-10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 30 recites ‘other spectral events’ and it is unclear what ‘other’ is relative to. For examination purposes it will be treated as spectral events that are not the predefined spectral events.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "the likelihood" in Lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "the total number" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 31 recites ‘spectral events’ and is dependent back to claim 29 which recites ‘predefined spectral events’ making it unclear if the recitation in claim 31 is meant to refer to that of claim 29 or not.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "the number" in Lines 3 and 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "the risk" in Line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 32 recites ‘the predefined spectral event’ after reciting ‘predefined spectral events’ making it unclear if ‘the predefined spectral event’ (singular) is part of ‘predefined spectral events’ (plural) or not. For examination purposes the singular will be treated as part of the plural. Claim 33 is rejected similarly as it recites ‘the predefined spectral event’ and is dependent back to claim 32.
Claim 32 recites the limitation "the range" in Line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 32 recites the limitation "the likelihood" in Line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 32 recites the limitation "the identified spectral events" in Line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 33 recites ‘other spectral events’ and it is unclear what ‘other’ is relative to. For examination purposes it will be treated as spectral events that are not the predefined spectral events.
Claim 34 recites the limitation "the likelihood" in Line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 34 recites the limitation "the total number" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 34 recites ‘spectral events’ and is dependent back to claim 32 which recites ‘predefined spectral events’ making it unclear if the recitation in claim 34 is meant to refer to that of claim 32 or not.
Claim 34 recites the limitation "the number" in Lines 3 and 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 34 recites the limitation "the risk" in Line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). Claim 41 recites “wherein the patient interface extends into the patient's peritoneal cavity for obtaining the intestinal sounds” and thus appears to positively recite a human organism. Examiner suggests amending to recite ‘wherein the patient interface is configured to extend into the patient’s peritoneal cavity’. Examiner further notes in the interest of compact prosecution claim 41 is analyzed in the below 101 assuming that this amendment has been made.
Claims 23-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
The claimed invention in claims 23-41 are directed to statutory subject matter as the claims recite a system (claims 29-41) and a method (claims 23-28).
Step 2A, Prong One
Regarding claims 23, 29, 32, the recited steps are directed mental process of performing concepts in a human mind or by a human using a pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection (III)).
Specifically from claim 23:
obtaining intestinal sounds of a patient to generate audio data;
identifying predefined spectral events in the audio data that are predictive of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment, the spectral events being defined by predefined parameters, wherein the predefined parameters include frequency of the predefined spectral event and the frequency is in the range of approximately 900 to 20,000 Hertz; and
predicting the likelihood of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment relative to the identified spectral events.
Specifically from claim 29:
identifying predefined spectral events in audio data obtained from intestinal sounds of a patient, the spectral events being defined by predefined parameters and predictive of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment, wherein the predefined parameters include frequency of the predefined spectral event and the frequency is in the range of approximately 900 to 20,000 Hertz; and
predicting the likelihood of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment relative to the identified spectral events.
Specifically from claim 32:
receive audio data obtained from intestinal sounds of a patient
identifying predefined spectral events in the audio data obtained from the intestinal sounds of the patient, the spectral events being defined by predefined parameters and predictive of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment, wherein the predefined parameters include frequency of the predefined spectral event and the frequency is in the range of approximately 900 to 20,000 Hertz; and
predicting the likelihood of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment relative to the identified spectral events.
These limitations describe a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) under the broadest reasonable standard, as a skilled practitioner is capable of performing the recited limitations and making a mental assessment thereafter. Examiner notes that nothing from the claims suggests that the limitations cannot be practically performed by a medical, biomedical or engineering professional with the aid of a pen and paper; their knowledge gained from education, background, or experience; or by using a generic computer as a tool to perform mental process steps in real time. Examiner additionally notes that nothing from the claims suggests and undue level of complexity that the mental process steps cannot be practically performed by a human with the aid of a pen and paper, or using a generic computer as a tool to perform the mental process steps.
Examples of ineligible claims that recite mental processes include:
• a claim to “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis,” where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A.;
• claims to “comparing BRCA sequences and determining the existence of alterations,” where the claims cover any way of comparing BRCA sequences such that the comparison steps can practically be performed in the human mind, University of Utah Research Foundation v. Ambry Genetics Corp.
• a claim to collecting and comparing known information (claim 1), which are steps that can be practically performed in the human mind, Classen Immunotherapies, Inc. v. Biogen IDEC.
See p. 7-8 of October 2019 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility.
Step 2A, Prong Two
This judicial exceptions (abstract ideas) in claims 23-41 are not integrated into a practical application because:
•The abstract idea amounts to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. For example, the recitations regarding the generic computing components for obtaining, identifying, predicting, receive merely invoke a computer as a tool.
•The data-gathering step (obtaining and receive) do not add a meaningful limitation to the method as they are insignificant extra-solution activity.
•There is no improvement to a computer or other technology. “The McRO court indicated that it was the incorporation of the particular claimed rules in computer animation that "improved [the] existing technological process", unlike cases such as Alice where a computer was merely used as a tool to perform an existing process.” MPEP 2106.05(a) II. The claims recite a computer that is used as a tool for obtaining, identifying, predicting, and receive.
•The claims do not apply the abstract idea to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition. Rather, the abstract idea is utilized to determine a relationship among data to provide a medical measurement.
•The claims do not apply the abstract idea to a particular machine. “Integral use of a machine to achieve performance of a method may provide significantly more, in contrast to where the machine is merely an object on which the method operates, which does not provide significantly more.” MPEP 2106.05(b). II. “Use of a machine that contributes only nominally or insignificantly to the execution of the claimed method (e.g., in a data gathering step or in a field-of-use limitation) would not provide significantly more.” MPEP 2106.05(b) III. The pending claims utilize a computer for obtaining, identifying, predicting, and to receive. The claims do not apply the obtained response measurement to a particular machine. Rather, the data is merely output in a post-solution step.
When considered in combination, the additional elements (i.e. the generic computer functions and conventional equipment/steps) do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Looking at the claim limitations as a whole adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Step 2B
The additional elements are identified as follows:
‘an external patient interface’ in claim 24, ‘a patient interface’ in claims 24 and 25, ‘wireless transmitter’ in claim 25, ‘a non-transitory computer-readable medium’, ‘algorithm’, ‘processor’ in claim 29, ‘a device’, ‘a processor’, ‘a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium’, ‘algorithm’ in claim 32, ‘a computer’ in claim 35, ‘a separate data collection device’ in claim 35, ‘a data collection device’ in claim 36, ‘a microphone’ in claim 37, ‘a patient monitoring system’ in claim 38, ‘a data collection device’ in claim 38, ‘a wireless receiver’ in claim 39, ‘a patient interface’ in claim 39, ‘a wireless transmitter’ in claim 39, ‘an external patient interface’ in claims 40 and 41.
Those in the relevant field of art would recognize the above-identified additional elements as being well-understood, routine, and conventional means for data-gathering and computing, as demonstrated by
Applicant's specification (Page 4, Line 23-Page 5, Line 8) which discloses that the processor and memory comprise generic computer components that are configured to perform the generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry; and
The prior art provided by the Applicant in the IDS and by the Examiner in PTO-892 which disclose each of the elements as being known and conventional in the art elements;
Thus, the claimed additional elements “are so well-known that they do not need to be described in detail in a patent application to satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 112(a).” Berkheimer Memorandum, III. A. 3. Furthermore, the court decisions discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll) note the well-understood, routine and conventional nature of such additional elements as those claimed. See option III. A. 2. in the Berkheimer memorandum.
Use of a machine that contributes only nominally or insignificantly to the execution of the claimed method (e.g., in a data gathering step or in a field-of-use limitation) would not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Bilski, 561 U.S. at 610, 95 USPQ2d at 1009 (citing Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 590, 198 USPQ 193, 197 (1978)), and CyberSource v. Retail Decisions, 654 F.3d 1366, 1370, 99 USPQ2d 1690 (Fed. Cir. 2011). See MPEP 2106.05(b).
Regarding the dependent claims, the dependent claims are directed to either 1) steps that are also abstract or 2) additional data output that is well-understood, routine and previously known to the industry or 3) further recite additional elements at a high level of generality which are conventional in the art.
Claims 24, 25, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41 recites additional elements at a high level of generality which are conventional in the art
Claims 26, 27, 28, 30, 31, 33, 34 are steps that are also abstract as a mental process through additional data gathering or analysis (or further limiting the type of data gathered/analyzed)
Although the dependent claims are further limiting, they do not recite significantly more than the abstract idea. A narrow abstract idea is still an abstract idea and an abstract idea with additional well-known equipment/functions is not significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 23-24, 29, 32, and 35-38 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Sandler (US Patent No. 6776766).
Regarding claim 23, Sandler teaches a method for predicting gastrointestinal impairment (Abstract), the method comprising:
obtaining intestinal sounds of a patient to generate audio data (Figures 7-8; through elements 202; Column 5, Lines 5-20; ‘The microphones respectively are located to pick up multiple gastrointestinal sound sources from the human torso to provide analog signals to the computer 30.’);
identifying predefined spectral events in the audio data that are predictive of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment, the spectral events being defined by predefined parameters (Column 5, Lines 9-13; ‘determines the spectra and the duration of the individual gastrointestinal events’; Table 1; Column 8, Lines 17-23);
wherein the predefined parameters include frequency of the predefined spectral event and the frequency is in the range of approximately 900 to 20,000 Hertz (Figure 44; range 900 to 2000 Hz); and
predicting the likelihood of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment relative to the identified spectral events (Figure 8; step 226; Column 8, Lines 23-28; ‘for providing diagnoses with probabilities’).
Regarding claim 24, Sandler teaches wherein the step of obtaining intestinal sounds comprises at least one of:
non-invasively obtaining the intestinal sounds using an external patient interface (14; Column 2, Lines 5-10: ‘a fourth free microphone which may be placed adjacent to the Sternum of the patient for picking up breathing, cardiac and environ mental sounds and the like which are to be Subtracted from the gastrointestinal sounds and are treated as noise’;); and
obtaining the intestinal sounds using a patient interface positioned within the patient's peritoneal cavity (optional and thus not required by the prior art).
Regarding claim 29, Sandler teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing program instructions comprising one or more algorithms that when executed by a processor cause the processor (Abstract; Column 1, Lines 16-24) to perform steps including:
identifying predefined spectral events in audio data obtained from intestinal sounds of a patient, the spectral events being defined by predefined parameters and predictive of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment (Column 5, Lines 9-13, ‘determines the spectra and the duration of the individual gastrointestinal events’; Table 1; Column 8, Lines 17-23), wherein the predefined parameters include frequency of the predefined spectral event and the frequency is in the range of approximately 900 to 20,000 Hertz (Figure 44; range 900 to 2000 Hz); and
predicting the likelihood of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment relative to the identified spectral events (Figure 8; step 226; Column 8, Lines 23-28; ‘for providing diagnoses with probabilities’).
Regarding claim 32, Sandler teaches a system for predicting gastrointestinal impairment (Abstract), the system comprising:
a device including a processor (52) configured to receive audio data obtained from intestinal sounds of a patient and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions comprising one or more algorithms that when executed by the processor cause the processor (Column 1, Lines 16-24) to perform steps including:
identifying predefined spectral events in the audio data obtained from the intestinal sounds of the patient, the spectral events being defined by predefined parameters and predictive of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment (Column 5, Lines 9-13, ‘determines the spectra and the duration of the individual gastrointestinal events’; Table 1; Column 8, Lines 17-23), wherein the predefined parameters include frequency of the predefined spectral event and the frequency is in the range of approximately 900 to 20,000 Hertz (Figure 44; range 900 to 2000 Hz); and
predicting the likelihood of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment relative to the identified spectral events (Figure 8; step 226; Column 8, Lines 23-28; ‘for providing diagnoses with probabilities’).
Regarding claim 35, Sandler teaches wherein the device is a computer (30) and the system further comprises a separate data collection device (26) that collects the intestinal sounds of the patient and provides them to the computer (Column 5, Lines 20-34).
Regarding claim 36, Sandler teaches wherein the device includes a data collection device (26) that collects the intestinal sounds of the patient (Column 5, Lines 20-34).
Regarding claim 37, Sandler teaches further comprising a microphone that is connected to the data collection device (12, 14, 16, 18, 20; Column 5, Lines 20-34).
Regarding claim 38, Sandler teaches wherein the device is a patient monitoring system that includes a data collection device (26 and 30) that docks with the patient monitoring system and collects the intestinal sounds of the patient (Column 5, Lines 27-30; docks interpreted as connects).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 25, 27-28, 31, 34, and 39-40 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sandler (US Patent No. 6776766) in view of Mansy et al. (US 2002/0156398).
Regarding claim 25, Sandler is silent on the wireless transmitter. Mansy teaches wherein the step of obtaining intestinal sounds to generate the audio data comprises obtaining the intestinal sounds wirelessly from a patient interface having a wireless transmitter (Paragraph 0028). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Sandler with Mansy because it allows for the ability to measure gastrointestinal activity in a manner that is highly accurate yet inexpensive, less invasive, more portable, and less time consuming (Paragraphs 0007-0008 of Mansy).
Regarding claim 27, Sandler is silent on the prediction comprises the count of total spectral events compared to an index. Mansy teaches wherein predicting the likelihood of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment comprises counting the total number of spectral events that occurred in a predefined period of time and comparing the number to an index that gauges the risk of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment relative to the number of spectral events (Paragraph 0045).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Sandler with Mansy because it allows for the ability to measure gastrointestinal activity in a manner that is highly accurate yet inexpensive, less invasive, more portable, and less time consuming (Paragraphs 0007-0008 of Mansy).
Regarding claim 28, Sandler is silent on the likelihood of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment being inversely proportional to the number of spectral events that occurred. Mansy teaches wherein the likelihood of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment is inversely proportional to the number of spectral events that occurred (Paragraph 0045). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Sandler with Mansy because it allows for the ability to measure gastrointestinal activity in a manner that is highly accurate yet inexpensive, less invasive, more portable, and less time consuming (Paragraphs 0007-0008 of Mansy).
Regarding claim 31, Sandler is silent on the prediction comprises the count of total spectral events compared to an index. Mansy teaches wherein predicting the likelihood of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment comprises counting the total number of spectral events that occurred in a predefined period of time and comparing the number to an index that gauges the risk of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment relative to the number of spectral events (Paragraph 0045). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Sandler with Mansy because it allows for the ability to measure gastrointestinal activity in a manner that is highly accurate yet inexpensive, less invasive, more portable, and less time consuming (Paragraphs 0007-0008 of Mansy).
Regarding claim 34, Sandler is silent on the prediction comprises the count of total spectral events compared to an index. Mansy teaches wherein the device predicts the likelihood of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment by counting the total number of spectral events that occurred in a predefined period of time and comparing the number to an index that gauges the risk of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment relative to the number of spectral events (Paragraph 0045). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Sandler with Mansy because it allows for the ability to measure gastrointestinal activity in a manner that is highly accurate yet inexpensive, less invasive, more portable, and less time consuming (Paragraphs 0007-0008 of Mansy).
Regarding claim 39, Sandler is silent on the wireless transmitter/receiver. Mansy teaches wherein the device includes a wireless receiver, and wherein the system further comprises a patient interface having a wireless transmitter in communication with the wireless receiver of the device and configured to wirelessly transmit the audio data to the device (Paragraph 0028). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Sandler with Mansy because it allows for the ability to measure gastrointestinal activity in a manner that is highly accurate yet inexpensive, less invasive, more portable, and less time consuming (Paragraphs 0007-0008 of Mansy).
Regarding claim 40, Sandler teaches wherein the patient interface comprises an external patient interface configured for non-invasively obtaining the intestinal sounds (12, 14, 16, 18, 20; Column 5, Lines 20-34).
Claims 26, 30, and 33 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sandler (US Patent No. 6776766).
Regarding claim 26, Sandler teaches wherein the predefined parameters include duration of the predefined spectral event and the duration is in the range of approximately 5 to 600 milliseconds (Figures 4 and 44),
wherein the predefined parameters include minimum separation in time of the predefined spectral event from other spectral events and the minimum separation in time is approximately 20 milliseconds (Table 2; event spacing threshold), and
wherein the predefined parameters include signal-to-noise ratio of the predefined spectral event and the signal-to-noise ratio threshold is approximately 10 decibels.
The applicant's specification provides no specifical reasoning or critical functionality for the use of a minimum separation time of 20 ms, thus claimed limitation is a design choice. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the minimum separation time of 20 ms as desired by the user as a matter of routine engineering design choice. Sandler teaches the use of a threshold to filter out noise (Column 11, Lines 18-42) but is silent on specifically on wherein the predefined parameters include signal- to-noise ratio of the predefined spectral events and the signal-to-noise ratio threshold is approximately 10 decibels. The applicant's specification provides no specifical reasoning or critical functionality for the use of a threshold of 10 decibels, thus claimed limitation is a design choice. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the threshold of 10 decibels as desired by the user as a matter of routine engineering design choice.
Regarding claim 30, Sandler teaches wherein the predefined parameters include duration of the predefined spectral event and the duration is in the range of approximately 5 to 600 milliseconds (Figures 4 and 44),
wherein the predefined parameters include minimum separation in time of the predefined spectral event from other spectral events and the minimum separation in time is approximately 20 milliseconds (Table 2; event spacing threshold), and
wherein the predefined parameters include signal-to-noise ratio of the predefined spectral event and the signal-to-noise ratio threshold is approximately 10 decibels.
The applicant's specification provides no specifical reasoning or critical functionality for the use of a minimum separation time of 20 ms, thus claimed limitation is a design choice. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the minimum separation time of 20 ms as desired by the user as a matter of routine engineering design choice. Sandler teaches the use of a threshold to filter out noise (Column 11, Lines 18-42) but is silent on specifically on wherein the predefined parameters include signal- to-noise ratio of the predefined spectral events and the signal-to-noise ratio threshold is approximately 10 decibels. The applicant's specification provides no specifical reasoning or critical functionality for the use of a threshold of 10 decibels, thus claimed limitation is a design choice. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the threshold of 10 decibels as desired by the user as a matter of routine engineering design choice.
Regarding claim 33, Sandler wherein the predefined parameters include duration of the predefined spectral event and the duration is in the range of approximately 5 to 600 milliseconds (Figures 4 and 44), wherein the predefined parameters include minimum separation in time of the predefined spectral event from other spectral events and the minimum separation in time is approximately 20 milliseconds (Table 2; event spacing threshold), and wherein the predefined parameters include signal-to-noise ratio of the predefined spectral event and the signal-to-noise ratio threshold is approximately 10 decibels.
The applicant's specification provides no specifical reasoning or critical functionality for the use of a minimum separation time of 20 ms, thus claimed limitation is a design choice. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the minimum separation time of 20 ms as desired by the user as a matter of routine engineering design choice. Sandler teaches the use of a threshold to filter out noise (Column 11, Lines 18-42) but is silent on specifically on wherein the predefined parameters include signal- to-noise ratio of the predefined spectral events and the signal-to-noise ratio threshold is approximately 10 decibels. The applicant's specification provides no specifical reasoning or critical functionality for the use of a threshold of 10 decibels, thus claimed limitation is a design choice. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the threshold of 10 decibels as desired by the user as a matter of routine engineering design choice.
Claim 41 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sandler (US Patent No. 6776766) in view of Mansy et al. (US 2002/0156398) in further view of Taylor (US Patent No. 5301679).
Regarding claim 41, Sandler is silent on wherein the patient interface extends into the patient's peritoneal cavity for obtaining the intestinal sounds. Taylor teaches being able to insert a patient interface (microphone) into a body cavity (Figure 1; element 1; Column 1, Lines 55-56) for obtaining intestinal sounds (Column 1, Lines 51-57) and thus in combination would teach a patient interface capable of extending into the patient’s peritoneal cavity. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Sandler with Taylor because Taylor teaches placing microphones on the body surface or in a body cavity as being interchangeable (Figure 1; element 1; Column 1, Lines 51-57) and thus it would have been obvious through routine experimentation to yield predictable results.
Double Patenting
Claims 23-41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 9179887 and claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 10603006.
Instant Application 18/385,490
Conflicting US Patent No. 9179887
Conflicting US Patent No. 10603006
23. (New) A method for predicting gastrointestinal impairment, the method comprising:
obtaining intestinal sounds of a patient to generate audio data;
identifying predefined spectral events in the audio data that are predictive of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment, the spectral events being defined by predefined parameters, wherein the predefined parameters include frequency of the predefined spectral event and the frequency is in the range of approximately 900 to 20,000 Hertz; and
predicting the likelihood of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment relative to the identified spectral events.
1. A method for predicting gastrointestinal impairment, the method comprising:
obtaining intestinal sounds of a patient with a data collection device to generate audio data, wherein the intestinal sounds are obtained after surgery, but before clinical signs and symptoms of a gastrointestinal impairment develop;
identifying, by a processor, predefined spectral events in the audio data that are predictive of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment, the predefined spectral events being defined by predefined parameters; and
predicting a likelihood of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment based on the predefined spectral events.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the predefined parameters include frequency of the predefined spectral event and the frequency is in the range of 900 to 20,000 Hertz.
14. A computer-readable medium including program instructions that when executed by a processor are configured to cause the processor to perform the following actions: identifying predefined spectral events in audio data obtained with a data collection device from intestinal sounds of a patient, wherein the patient does not currently have gastrointestinal impairment, wherein gastrointestinal impairment comprises one or more of: presence of emesis, need for nasogastric intubation, and reversal of diet, and wherein the predefined spectral events are defined by predefined parameters and predictive of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment; predicting a likelihood of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment based on the predefined spectral events; and outputting an indication of level of risk for development of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment.
15. The computer-readable medium of claim 14, wherein the predefined parameters include frequency of the predefined spectral event and the frequency is in the range of 900 to 20,000 Hertz.
29. (New) A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing program instructions comprising one or more algorithms that when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform steps including: identifying predefined spectral events in audio data obtained from intestinal sounds of a patient, the spectral events being defined by predefined parameters and predictive of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment, wherein the predefined parameters include frequency of the predefined spectral event and the frequency is in the range of approximately 900 to 20,000 Hertz; and predicting the likelihood of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment relative to the identified spectral events.
1. A method for predicting gastrointestinal impairment, the method comprising:
obtaining intestinal sounds of a patient with a data collection device to generate audio data, wherein the intestinal sounds are obtained after surgery, but before clinical signs and symptoms of a gastrointestinal impairment develop;
identifying, by a processor, predefined spectral events in the audio data that are predictive of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment, the predefined spectral events being defined by predefined parameters; and
predicting a likelihood of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment based on the predefined spectral events.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the predefined parameters include frequency of the predefined spectral event and the frequency is in the range of 900 to 20,000 Hertz.
14. A computer-readable medium including program instructions that when executed by a processor are configured to cause the processor to perform the following actions: identifying predefined spectral events in audio data obtained with a data collection device from intestinal sounds of a patient, wherein the patient does not currently have gastrointestinal impairment, wherein gastrointestinal impairment comprises one or more of: presence of emesis, need for nasogastric intubation, and reversal of diet, and wherein the predefined spectral events are defined by predefined parameters and predictive of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment; predicting a likelihood of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment based on the predefined spectral events; and outputting an indication of level of risk for development of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment.
15. The computer-readable medium of claim 14, wherein the predefined parameters include frequency of the predefined spectral event and the frequency is in the range of 900 to 20,000 Hertz.
32. (New) A system for predicting gastrointestinal impairment, the system comprising:
a device including a processor configured to receive audio data obtained from intestinal sounds of a patient and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions comprising one or more algorithms that when executed by the processor cause the processor to perform steps including:
identifying predefined spectral events in the audio data obtained from the intestinal sounds of the patient, the spectral events being defined by predefined parameters and predictive of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment, wherein the predefined parameters include frequency of the predefined spectral event and the frequency is in the range of approximately 900 to 20,000 Hertz; and predicting the likelihood of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment relative to the identified spectral events.
1. A method for predicting gastrointestinal impairment, the method comprising:
obtaining intestinal sounds of a patient with a data collection device to generate audio data, wherein the intestinal sounds are obtained after surgery, but before clinical signs and symptoms of a gastrointestinal impairment develop;
identifying, by a processor, predefined spectral events in the audio data that are predictive of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment, the predefined spectral events being defined by predefined parameters; and
predicting a likelihood of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment based on the predefined spectral events.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the predefined parameters include frequency of the predefined spectral event and the frequency is in the range of 900 to 20,000 Hertz.
1. A system comprising: a patient interface configured for detecting intestinal sounds obtained before clinical signs and symptoms of a gastrointestinal impairment develop in a patient, wherein the patient interface comprises a microphone; a data collection device configured for processing audio data from the patient interface; a predicting device configured for receiving the audio data from the data collection device, identifying predefined spectral events in the audio data, the predefined spectral events being defined by predefined parameters and predictive of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment, and predicting a likelihood of subsequent gastrointestinal impairment based on the predefined spectral events.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the predefined parameters include frequency of the predefined spectral event and the frequency is in the range of 900 to 20,000 Hertz.
The difference between the rejected claims of the instant application and patented claims of the patents lies in the fact that the patented claims are more specific. Thus, the invention of patented claims is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of rejected claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Further the computer readable medium claims are not distinguishable from the method and/or system claims. Since rejected claims are anticipated by patented claims, it is not patentably distinct from patented claims.
Conclusion
/PATRICK FERNANDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791