DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application Nos. JP2022177658, filed on 11/4/2022, and JP2023143077, filed on 9/4/2023.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 8/19/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 10-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/19/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, “a plurality of contact rollers provided on a conveying path of the conveying section” and “opposition rollers respectively disposed in opposition to the contact rollers… which, together with the contact rollers, are configured to fold…”. This creates an ambiguous configuration because it is unclear whether there is a one-to-one correspondence between a respective contact roller and a respective opposition roller, or whether a different number of the two types of rollers can be configured to fold the edge seal part. For examination purposes, and in light of the specification, Examiner has interpreted the claim as having a one-to-one correspondence between a respective contact roller and a respective opposition roller.
Claims 3 and 4 each recite, “wherein the contact roller, which is provided at a downstream side…”. Parent claims 1 and 2 recite, “a plurality of contact rollers” and “each of the plurality of contact rollers [comprising] a contact roller”, respectively. It is unclear as to which contact roller the instant recitation is referring to (e.g., a second contact roller in the event there are only two contact rollers, the last contact roller in the event there are more than two contact rollers, or any contact roller downstream of the first contact roller. Examiner has interpreted the instant recitation to be any contact roller downstream of the first contact roller.
Additionally, there is a lack of antecedent basis for “a conveying direction” since claims 1 and 2 already recite “a conveying path” and “convey… in one direction”, respectively. For clarification purposes, the recitation, “the contact roller, which is provided at a downstream side in a conveying direction”, is interpreted to have recited: -- a contact roller of the plurality of contact rollers, which is provided at a downstream side in the conveying path—for claim 3 and -- a contact roller of the plurality of contact rollers, which is provided at a downstream side in the one direction—for claim 4.
Moreover, each of claims 3 and 4 recite, “a pressing roller… configured to press… toward the opposition roller”. For clarification, the recitation is interpreted to have recited: --a pressing roller… configured to press… toward an opposition roller of the opposition rollers--.
Further, the each of claims 3 and 4 recite, “opposition roller, which is disposed in a gap in a folded edge seal part”. However, claim 1 implicitly includes a folded edge seal part and claim 2 explicitly refers to this as “the fold part”. For clarification, the recitation, “a folded edge seal part” in claim 3 is interpreted to have recited, “the folded edge seal part”. For claim 4, the recitation, “a folded edge seal part” is interpreted to have recites, “the fold part”.
Claims 5 and 6 each recite, “wherein one of the contact roller or the opposition roller comprises a restriction part”. The recitation creates a scope of ambiguity because it is unclear whether each of the plurality of contact rollers or each of the plurality opposition rollers comprises a restriction part, or whether it is just one of the contact rollers or one of the opposition rollers. The recitation may be corrected as: --wherein at least one of the contact rollers of the plurality of contact rollers or at least one of the opposition rollers of the plurality of opposition rollers-- for claim 5, and –wherein one of the contact roller or the opposition roller of at least one of pair rollers—for claim 6.
The recitation, “a conveying direction” in claim 5 should recite: --the conveying path-- for claim 5 and –the one direction-- of claim 6.
Claims 7 and 8 each recite, “the edge seal part… abuts against at least one of the contact roller or the opposition roller”. The recitation creates a scope of ambiguity because it is unclear whether the edge seal part abuts against each of the plurality of contact rollers or each of the plurality opposition rollers, or whether it abuts just one of the contact rollers or one of the opposition rollers. The recitation may be corrected as: --the edge seal part… abuts against at least one of the contact rollers of the plurality of contact rollers or at least one of the opposition rollers of the plurality of opposition rollers-- for claim 5, and – the edge seal part… abuts against one of the contact roller or the opposition roller of at least one of pair rollers—for claim 6.
The claims further recite, “at a base part side of a base point portion for folding”. This is indefinite because the edge seal part is a continuous sheet, the claims do not define the structural extend or boundary of the “base point portion” versus the “base part side,” leaving the exact location of the abutting relationship subjective and unclear. Applicant is suggested to amend the claims to define the contact area using concrete structural features supported by the specification, for example, by reciting that the edge seal part abuts a specific inclined surface or corner of the roller, or by specifying that a proximal portion is contacted while a distal portion remains free of contact.
Claim 9 recites, “configured to fold the edge seal part in stages at least twice and form the fold part”. It is unclear whether “in stages at least twice” requires forming at least two separate fold lines (i.e., double-fold structure), or performing at lest two incremental bending stages to achieve a single fold. Applicant is suggested to amend the claims to clarify the intended folding operation, for example, by reciting: --configured to fold the edge seal part in stages along at least two distinct fold lines and form the fold part -- or --configured to fold the edge seal part in stages to form at least two fold lines and form the fold part-- or –configured to fold the edge seal part through at least two incremental angular stages and form the fold part--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US20210098751A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses an apparatus for manufacturing a secondary battery [pars. 0010,0057,0062,0082; Figs. 1,7,14-15], the apparatus comprising:
a conveying section configured to convey a laminate-type secondary battery having a laminate outer package {Fig. 14 shows a transport path/conveyor along which battery cell 10 having pouch case/body m and pouch wing w is conveyed} [pars. 0010,0057,0062];
a plurality of contact rollers provided on a conveying path of the conveying section, the plurality of contact rollers having different contact angles with respect to an edge seal part of the laminate outer package being conveyed {Figs. 8A-8D,10A-10D,14 show lower contact rollers 212A of first folding unit 200A and lower contact rollers 212C of third folding unit 200C disposed along the transport path, where the inclined outer surfaces of lower rollers 212A have progressively increasing angles from 0o to 90o with respect to the horizontal to contact and fold pouch wing w} [pars. 0011,0072-75]; and
opposition rollers respectively disposed in opposition to the contact rollers, which, together with the contact rollers, are configured to fold the edge seal part of the laminate outer package {Figs. 8A-8D,10A-10D show upper rollers 211A and 211C disposed in opposition to lower rollers 211A and 212C, which cooperate to sandwich and fold pouch wing w} [pars. 0011,0072-75].
Regarding Claim 2, Kim discloses an apparatus for manufacturing a secondary battery, the apparatus being configured to form a fold part at at least one edge seal part of a laminate outer package of a laminate-type secondary battery [pars. 0010,0057,0062,0082; Figs. 1,7,14,15], the apparatus comprising:
a conveying section configured to convey the secondary battery in one direction {Fig. 14 shows a transport path/conveyor along which battery cell 10 having pouch case/body m and pouch wing w is conveyed} [pars. 0010,0057,0062]; and
a plurality of pairs of rollers configured to sandwich and fold the edge seal part {Figs. 8A-8D,10A-10D,14A-12D show roller pairs 210A,210B,210C sandwiching and folding pouch wing w} [pars. 0011,0072-77], wherein:
each of the plurality of pairs of rollers comprises: a contact roller; and an opposition roller disposed in opposition to the contact roller {each roller unit 210A,210C comprises lower roller 212A/212C and opposing upper roller 211A/211C} [pars. 0011,0073-75], and
the apparatus is configured to pass the edge seal part of the secondary battery being conveyed by the conveying section between the plurality of pairs of rollers, fold the edge seal part in stages, and form the fold part {Figs. 8A-8D,10A-10D,14,15 show pouch wing w passing through the successive roller pairs to fold the wing in stages by 90o, 180o, and 270o} [pars. 0014,0073,0082].
Regarding Claims 5-6, Kim discloses the apparatus of claims 1 and 2, wherein one of the contact roller or the opposition roller comprises a restriction part configured to restrict movement of the laminate outer package in a direction orthogonal to a conveying direction {That is, lower roller 212A/212C includes an accommodating groove 213A/213C that receives the downwardly protruding pre-folding line PFL1/PFL2 of pouch wing w [Figs. 8A-8D,9,10A-10D,11. The side walls of accommodating groove 213A/213C guide the pouch wing and contrain/restrict movement of the pouch case in the lateral direction orthogonal to the transport path [pars. 0011,0074-76]. Additionally, second roller units 210B include strippers 213B provided on upper rollers 211B that laterally support the concave fold portion of pouch wing w to prevent lateral deviation during folding [par. 0077; Figs. 12A-12D]}.
Regarding Claim 9, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the plurality of pairs of rollers are configured to fold the edge seal part in stages at least twice and form the fold part [pars. 0014,0021,0073,0082-83; Figs. 1,8A-8D,10A-10D,12A-12D,14,15].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 1 and 2, respectively, and further in view of Choi (US20220293903A1).
Regarding Claims 3-4, Kim discloses the apparatus of claims 1 and 2, including conveying the battery along a transport path past progressive folding roller pairs 200A,200B,200C and downstream finishing/sizing rollers 300/310 to fold the pouch edge seal by 180o and 270o [pars. 0014,0079,0082; Figs. 14-15]. Kim fails to explicitly disclose that the downstream contact roller is a pressing roller that is an elastic body configured to press the edge seal part from an outer side toward an opposition roller disposed in a gap in the folded edge seal part. However, Choi, from the same field of endeavor, discloses an apparatus for manufacturing a pouch-type secondary battery having an exterior sealing portion 10b folded against body portion 10a [pars. 0039-46; Figs. 2-4]. Choi teaches providing a downstream sizing/folding station 400,500 arranged along the transport direction S [pars. 0065,0080-83,0097; Figs. 6-9]. In one embodiment [Figs. 6-7], downstream sizing rollers 410a-410d press the folded sealing portion 10b toward the cell body and are operatively connected to an elastic member 420 providing elastic force along direction k to elastically urge the rollers toward the battery cell, compensating for positional tolerances and variations in pouch thickness [pars. 0009,0011,0074-79]. In another embodiment, [Figs. 8-9], downstream pressure roller units 510,610-660 include an upper roller 511 and a lower roller 512 defining a gap G [pars. 0083-85,0098]. Upper roller 511 is disposed in the gap/crease of the folded sealing portion 10b while lower roller 512 presses from an outer side toward upper roller 511, setting bent portions 10c and 10d to suppress springback [pars. 0087-94]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled artisan to modify the downstream sizing/pressing rollers of Kim to include an elastically biased roller body and to configure the roller pair such that an inner opposition roller is received in the fold crease/gap while an outer pressing roller apprlies pressure against it, as taught by Choi in order to absorb dimensional variations/tolerances of the pouch case, ensure uniform contact pressure without tearing or scratching the exterior laminate, and tightly mold the folded flange against the cell body to eliminate springback, thereby maximizing the volumetric energy density of the battery cell [Choi – pars. 0006-8,0062,0079,0093-94,0105-106].
Regarding Claims 7-8, Kim discloses the apparatus of Claims 1 and 2, including roller units 210A,210C having lower rollers with accommodating grooves 213A,213C where the pouch wing is folded about pre-folding lines PFL1/PFL2 [pars. 0074-75; Figs. 8A-8C,10A-10D]. To the extent the instant claims are construed to require that the edge seal part abuts the roller only at the base side of the fold point while relieving the distal end from contact [as shown in instant Fig. 13), Kim illustrates the inclined surface of the lower roller supporting the outer portion of the pouch wing [Figs. 8B-8C]. Choi, from the same field of endeavor, teaches that in downstream edge-folding and sizing operations, the pressing rollers 511,512 should be configured to press specifically at the boundary/base portion between the cell body 10a and the sealing portion 10b [pars. 0087,0090; Fig. 8]. Specifically, Choi discloses that upper roller 511 presses against the base/root portion of the fold to form bent portions 10c/10d, while distal end 10e extends into clearance without being constrained, preventing edge damage and precisely setting the folding posture [pars. 0090-94; Fig. 8]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled artisan to configure the contact profile of Kim’s roller pairs to abut the edge seal at the base part side of the folding point while relieving the distal tip, as taught by Choi, with the motivation that, concentrating the pressing load at the fold base/boundary reliably establishes the targe bend angle and prevents unwanted springback, while avoiding scuffing, edge tearing, or friction-indued deformation at the distal edge of the pouch exterior material [Choi – pars. 0004,0087,0093-94]. Such contouring is a routine mechanical design choice to provide clearance for edge tolerances during progressive rolling.
Conclusion
HAROON S. SHEIKH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1751
/Haroon S. Sheikh/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751