Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph 0019, line 3, extra space after “pin”.
In paragraph 0042, line 5, period needed after “like”.
In paragraph 0081, line 1, “data regarding the finger portion(s)’ operation” should read “data regarding the operation of the finger portion(s)”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 8, 18 and 19 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 7, line 1, the rear link is referred to as “the base link”.
In claim 8, lines 1-2, the rear link is referred to as “the base link”.
In claim 18, line 1, the rear link is referred to as “the base link”.
In claim 19, line 1, the rear link is referred to as “the base link”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 7, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Riedel et al (WO 2021244938).
Regarding claim 1, Riedel et al teaches a finger assembly configured to perform a grasping operation, the finger assembly comprising (Abstract):
a base portion (2.1) (Page 9, paragraph 8; Fig. 1, element 2.1);
a fingertip portion (2.2) opposite the base portion (2.1) (Page 9, paragraph 8; Fig. 1, element 2.2);
a front link portion (3) operably connected to the base portion (2.1) at a first location and operably connected to the fingertip portion (2.2) at a second location, wherein the front link portion (3) is compliant such that a distance between the first location and second location is variable during a grasping operation (Page 9, paragraph 9; Fig. 1, elements 2.1, 2.2, 3; annotated figure); and
a rear link portion opposite the front link portion (3) and operably connected to the base portion (2.1) at a third location and operably connected to the fingertip portion (2.2) at a fourth location (Page 9, paragraph 10; Fig. 1, elements 2.1, 2.2; annotated figure).
Additional details are provided in the figure below.
Regarding claim 2, Riedel et al teaches the front link portion (3) is formed from a compliant material to buckle or compress during the grasping operation (Page 10, paragraph 9; Fig. 8, element 1).
Regarding claim 3, Riedel et al teaches the front link portion (3) includes a pin (16), and at least one of the base portion (2.1) and the fingertip portion (2.2) include an aperture to receive the pin (16) and enable movement of the pin (16), the base portion (2.1), or the fingertip portion (2.2) during the grasping operation (Page 10, paragraph 6; Fig. 1, elements 2.1, 2.2, 3, 16).
Regarding claim 7, Riedel et al teaches the base link is configured with a curved surface that is shaped to receive a portion of the front link (3), wherein the curved surface limits a bend radius of the front link (Fig. 2, element 3; annotated figure).
Additional details are provided in the figure below.
Regarding claim 10, Riedel et al teaches the front link portion (3) includes a textured rubber portion to grip an item during the grasping operation (Page 10, paragraph 9).
Regarding claim 11, Riedel et al teaches the rear link portion and the fingertip portion (2.2) are fused together as a single component, the front link portion (3) and the fingertip portion (2.2) are fused together as a single component, or the base portion (2.1) and the rear link portion are fused together as a single component (Fig. 1, element 2.2; annotated figure).
Additional details are provided in the figure below.
Regarding claim 12, Riedel et al teaches a method for performing a grasping operation, the method comprising:
actuating a finger assembly including: a base portion (2.1) (Page 10, paragraph 2; Page 9, paragraph 8; Fig. 1, element 2.1; Fig. 3, element 7)
a fingertip (2.2) portion opposite the base portion (2.1) (Page 9, paragraph 8; Fig. 1, element 2.2);
a front link portion (3) operably connected to the base portion (2.1) at a first location and operably connected to the fingertip portion (2.2) at a second location, wherein the front link portion (3) is compliant such that a distance between the first location and second location is variable during a grasping operation (Page 9, paragraph 9; Fig. 1, elements 2.1, 2.2, 3; annotated figure for connection points);
and a rear link portion opposite the front link portion (3) and operably connected to the base portion (2.1) at a third location and operably connected to the fingertip portion (2.2) at a fourth location (Page 9, paragraph 10; Fig. 1, elements 2.1, 2.2; annotated figure);
and enabling, based on the actuation, at least one of the fingertip portion (2.2) and the front link portion (3) to contact an item (Page 6, paragraph 6; page 11, paragraph 6).
Additional details are provided in the figure below.
Regarding claim 13, Riedel et al teaches enabling the front link portion (3) to buckle or compress during contact with the item (Page 10, paragraph 9; Fig. 8, element 1).
Regarding claim 14, Riedel et al teaches the front link portion (3) includes a pin (16), and at least one of the base portion (2.1) and the fingertip portion (2.2) include an aperture to receive the pin (16) and enable movement of the pin (16), the base portion (2.1), or the fingertip portion (2.2) during contact with the item (Page 10, paragraph 6; Fig. 1, elements 2.1, 3, 16).
Regarding claim 18, Riedel et al teaches the base link is configured with a curved surface that is shaped to receive a portion of the front link (3), wherein the curved surface limits a bend radius of the front link (3) (Fig. 2, element 3; annotated figure).
Additional details are provided in the figure below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, 6, 15, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riedel et al in view of Andorf et al (US 3981528).
Regarding claim 4, Riedel et al fails to teach a spring device connected to the fingertip. Andorf et al teaches a robotic finger with at least one spring device (3, 4) connected to the base portion and the fingertip portion to enable the front link portion (1a) to be compliant during the grasping operation (Column 5, lines 55-59; Fig. 3, elements 1a, 3, 4; annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Andorf et al in Riedel et al to facilitate the creation of a spring device that can control the movement of the front link as taught by Andorf et al (Column 5, lines 56-59).
Regarding claim 5, Riedel et al fails to teach compression springs between the base and the fingertip. Andorf et al teaches a robotic finger wherein the at least one spring device (3,4) is a compression spring that connects the base portion and the fingertip portion at the fourth location (Column 3, lines 64-66; annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Andorf et al in Riedel et al to facilitate the creation of compression springs that provide precise control of the finger as taught by Andorf et al (Column 3, lines 64-68; column 4, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, Riedel et al fails to teach stop portions. Andorf et al teaches a robotic finger wherein the front link portion includes a front stop portion, the rear link portion includes a rear stop portion, and the finger assembly further includes a spring device (3, 4) operably connected to the front stop portion and the rear stop portion (annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Andorf et al in Riedel et al to facilitate the creation of stop portions that can assist with controlling the movement of the finger as taught by Andorf et al (Column 3, lines 64-68; column 4, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 15, Riedel et al fails to teach a spring device connected to the fingertip. Andorf et al teaches a robotic finger with at least one spring device (3, 4) connected to the base portion and the fingertip portion to enable the front link portion (1a) to be compliant during the grasping operation (Column 5, lines 55-59; Fig. 3, elements 1a, 3, 4; annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Andorf et al in Riedel et al to facilitate the creation of a spring device that can control the movement of the front link as taught by Andorf et al (Column 5, lines 56-59).
Regarding claim 16, Riedel et al fails to teach compression springs between the base and the fingertip. Andorf et al teaches a robotic finger wherein the at least one spring device (3,4) is a compression spring that connects the base portion and the fingertip portion at the fourth location (Column 3, lines 64-66; annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Andorf et al in Riedel et al to facilitate the creation of compression springs that provide precise control of the finger as taught by Andorf et al (Column 3, lines 64-68; column 4, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 17, Riedel et al fails to teach stop portions. Andorf et al teaches a robotic finger wherein the front link portion includes a front stop portion, the rear link portion includes a rear stop portion, and the finger assembly further includes a spring device (3, 4) operably connected to the front stop portion and the rear stop portion (annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Andorf et al in Riedel et al to facilitate the creation of stop portions that can assist with controlling the movement of the finger as taught by Andorf et al (Column 3, lines 64-68; column 4, lines 1-2).
Claim(s) 8, 9, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riedel et al in view of Sebhatu et al (US 20210197300).
Regarding claim 8, Riedel et al fails to teach a pin between the front link and the base link. Sebhatu et al teaches a robotic finger wherein the front link is operably connected to the base link via a pin at the first location, and the curved surface provides a non-linear hardening spring rate on the front link as the front link deflects during the grasping operation (Paragraph 0021, lines 1-8; annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Sebhatu et al in Riedel et al to facilitate the creation of a pin that allows the gripper to conform to the object being gripped as taught by Sebhatu et al (Paragraph 0021, lines 8-10).
Regarding claim 9, Riedel et al fails to teach a pin between the front link and the fingertip portion. Sebhatu et al teaches a robotic finger wherein the front link is operably connected to the fingertip portion via a pin at the second location and the front link extends along a portion of the fingertip portion to provide a gripping surface to contact an item during the grasping operation. (Paragraph 0021, lines 1-13; Paragraph 0034, lines 1-4; annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Sebhatu et al in Riedel et al to facilitate the creation of a pin that can create a joint between links for movement as taught by Sebhatu et al (Paragraph 0021, lines 10-13).
Regarding claim 19, Riedel et al fails to teach a pin between the front link and the base link. Sebhatu et al teaches a robotic finger wherein the front link is operably connected to the base link via a pin at the first location, and the curved surface provides a non-linear hardening spring rate on the front link as the front link deflects during the grasping operation (Paragraph 0021, lines 1-8; annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Sebhatu et al in Riedel et al to facilitate the creation of a pin that allows the gripper to conform to the object being gripped as taught by Sebhatu et al (Paragraph 0021, lines 8-10).
Regarding claim 20, Riedel et al fails to teach a pin between the front link and the fingertip portion. Sebhatu et al teaches a robotic finger wherein the front link is operably connected to the fingertip portion via a pin at the second location and the front link extends along a portion of the fingertip portion to provide a gripping surface to contact an item during the grasping operation. (Paragraph 0021, lines 1-13; Paragraph 0034, lines 1-4; annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Sebhatu et al in Riedel et al to facilitate the creation of a pin that can create a joint between links for movement as taught by Sebhatu et al (Paragraph 0021, lines 10-13).
Conclusion
/SYDNEY JEANINE SIMMONS/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654