DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 12, 15, 16, 19 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: the term “grinded” is used instead of “ground”. The use of the term “grinded” is not grammatically correct. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrase “legalized” in Claim 2, line 2 is vague and indefinite as it is unclear whether the form is legal everywhere in the US or just some places in the US or is the possession not legal, but all laws are not enforced or something else.
The phrase “the limit” in Claim 5, line 2 is vague and indefinite as it is unclear who or what establishes a limit and whether it is arbitrary.
The phrase “the limit” in Claim 5, line 4 is vague and indefinite as it is unclear who or what establishes a limit and whether it is arbitrary.
The phrase “limit of detection” in Claim 5, line 10 is vague and indefinite as it is unclear whether the limit is applicable for all means of detection or just some.
Clarification and/or correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Miles (US 2021/0251950).
The claims are interpreted as being directed to a blend and not a method of making, using or storing or potential benefits of the blend. The method language is interpreted to the extent that it further describes the blend. How a person may store ingredients is up to the discretion of a user.
Regarding Claims 1, 13 and 14 Miles (‘950) teaches a seasoning blend comprising: a tetrahydrocannabinol, wherein the tetrahydrocannabinol is in a grinded (ground) up form (See Abs., paras. 5, 8, 19, 20, 22, 33 and 34.).
Regarding Claim 2, Miles (‘950) teaches wherein the tetrahydrocannabinol is a legalized synthetic form of a delta-8 tetrahydrocannabinol, a delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol, a delta-10 tetrahydrocannabinol, or a combination thereof, in the grinded (ground) up form (See Abs., paras. 5, 8, 19, 20, 22, 33 and 34.).
Regarding Claim 3, Miles (‘950) teaches wherein the legalized synthetic form of the delta-8 tetrahydrocannabinol, a delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol, a delta-10 tetrahydrocannabinol, or the combination thereof, is dronabinol in the grinded (ground) up form (See Abs., paras. 5, 8, 19, 20, 22, 33 and 34.).
Regarding Claim 9, Miles (‘950) teaches further comprising additional ground ingredients including salt, sugar and herbs (See Abs., paras. 5 and 9.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-8, 10-12 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miles (US 2021/0251950).
The claims are interpreted as being directed to a blend and not a method of making, using or storing or potential benefits of the blend. The method language is interpreted to the extent that it further describes the blend.
Regarding 4-8, 10-12 and 15-20, Miles (‘950) teaches the blend discussed above, however, fails to expressly disclose the types and amounts of the various ingredients.
Applicant does not set forth any non-obvious unexpected results for combining any particular combination and amount of various ingredients in the claimed seasoning blend. As discussed above, Miles (‘950) teaches the core ingredients used in the blend that can be used to season food. It would have been foreseeable and obvious prior to the earliest effective filing date to adjust the combination and amounts of ingredients based on consumer preference. The selection of combination and amounts of ingredients would have been within the skill set of a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective filing date to provide a blend that satisfies the subjective preference of a consumer.
Conclusion
/BRENT T O'HERN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793 September 2, 2025