DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0051], the term “I” is seen multiple times within the paragraph. It is recommended that the term is removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a supply receiving section” in claims 1 and 3, “a first supply device” in claim 1 which will be considered as a supply pipe (Paragraph [0028]), “a holding section” in claims 1-2 will be considered as a holding body with claws (Paragraph [0038]), “a supply section” in claim 1 and 3, “a second supply device” in claims 1 and 2 will be considered as a gas pipe (Paragraph [0039]), “a transfer device” in claim 6 will be considered as an elevation section (Paragraph [0070]), and “a remaining amount measuring instrument” in claim 7 will be considered as a flow rate control section (Paragraph [0051]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a supply receiving section" in line 8. The limitation is unclear as to what structure is included in the “supply receiving section”. The Specification and drawings submitted 31 October 2023 does not appear to provide further explanation or details on what structure is included for the “supply receiving section”. The Office recommends amending the claim to recite the structure with support from the specification. For purposes of examination, the limitation will be considered as a port.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a supply section" in line 17. The limitation is unclear as to what structure is included in the “supply section”. The Specification and drawings submitted 31 October 2023 does not appear to provide further explanation or details on what structure is included for the “supply section”. The Office recommends amending the claim to recite the structure with support from the specification. For purposes of examination, the limitation will be considered as a port.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada (US 20160133492 A1) in view of Motoori (US 20220375774 A1) in further view of Hayashi (JPS 61196856 A).
Regarding Claim 1:
Takada discloses a gas supply system (4, Figure 4, the gas supplying device is the gas supply system) configured to supply an inactive gas (Paragraph [0030]) into a container (W, Figure 1), the gas supply system comprising:
a transport vehicle (3, Figure 1, the overhead transport vehicle is the transport vehicle) configured to travel along a predetermined travel path (Paragraphs [0030] and [0032], the travel path is the predetermined travel path) and transport the container (W, Figure 1); and
a gas supply (4, Figure 4) configured to supply the inactive gas (Paragraph [0030]),
wherein the gas supply vehicle (4, Figure 4) comprises:
a supply section (27, Figure 4, the eject nozzle is the supply section) configured to be connected to and disconnected from the supply receiving section (12, Figure 4, the intake opening is the supply receiving section); and
a second supply device (25, Figure 4) configured to supply the inactive gas (Paragraph [0049], the second supply device is the nitrogen gas passage connected to a source of nitrogen gas).
Takada does not disclose:
a gas supply vehicle configured to supply the inactive gas to the transport vehicle,
wherein the transport vehicle comprises:
a supply receiving section configured to receive the inactive gas supplied from the gas supply vehicle; and
a first supply device configured to supply, to the container, the inactive gas supplied to the supply receiving section,
the gas supply vehicle is further configured to travel along the travel path, and wherein the gas supply vehicle comprises:
a holding section configured to detachably hold a gas tank filled with the inactive gas; and
a second supply device configured to supply the inactive gas from the gas tank held by the holding section to the supply section.
Motoori teaches a transport vehicle system, comprising:
wherein the transport vehicle (3, Figure 1) comprises:
a supply receiving section (Figure 1 and Paragraph [0031], the gas supply tube part connected to the outlet (34a) of the tank (34) receives the inactive gas) configured to receive the inactive gas supplied from the gas supply vehicle (Paragraph [0030], the transport vehicle is also the gas supply vehicle); and
a first supply device (35, Figure 1, the gas supply tube is the first supply device) configured to supply, to the container (10, Figure 1, the FOUP is the container), the inactive gas supplied to the supply receiving section (Paragraph [0031]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takada to include the transport vehicle, a supply receiving section configured to receive the inactive gas supplied from the gas supply vehicle, and a first supply device configured to supply, to the container, the inactive gas supplied to the supply receiving section as taught by Motoori with the motivation to keep supplying the inactive gas as the container is being transported to maintain the conditions within the container to prevent damage to the semiconductors.
Takada and Motoori do not teach:
a gas supply vehicle configured to supply the inactive gas to the transport vehicle,
the gas supply vehicle is further configured to travel along the travel path, and wherein the gas supply vehicle comprises:
a holding section configured to detachably hold a gas tank filled with the inactive gas; and
a second supply device configured to supply the inactive gas from the gas tank held by the holding section to the supply section.
Hayashi teaches a cart, comprising:
a gas supply vehicle (B, Figure 1, the transport vehicle is the gas supply vehicle) configured to supply the inactive gas to the container,
the gas supply vehicle (B, Figure 1) is further configured to travel along the travel path (T, Figure 1, the light-reflecting tape is the travel path), and wherein the gas supply vehicle comprises:
a holding section (See Annotated Figure 1 below) configured to detachably hold a gas tank (10, Figure 1) filled with the inactive gas (Page 4, Last Paragraph, First Sentence, the gas tank contains nitrogen gas); and
a second supply device (See Annotated Figure 1 below) configured to supply the inactive gas from the gas tank (10, Figure 1) held by the holding section to the supply section (12, Figure 1, the electromagnetic on-off valve is the supply section).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takada and Motoori to include a gas supply vehicle configured to supply the inactive gas to the container, the gas supply vehicle is further configured to travel along the travel path, a holding section configured to detachably hold a gas tank filled with the inactive gas, and a second supply device configured to supply the inactive gas from the gas tank held by the holding section to the supply section as taught by Hayashi with the motivation to control the flow of gas into the container based on the pressure to prevent pressure variations that could damage the objects.
Through the combination of Takada, Motoori, and Hayashi, the gas supply system of Hayashi would be similar to the gas supply vehicle of Motoori where it is connected to a rail on the ceiling where it would provide gas to the transport vehicle of Takada.
Hayashi, Figure 1
(Annotated by Examiner)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest pieces of prior art are Takada (US 20160133492 A1) in view of Motoori (US 20220375774 A1) in further view of Hayashi (JPS 61196856 A).
Regarding Claim 2:
Claim 2 depends from claim 1 where Takada, Motoori, and Hayashi teach the gas supply system.
Hayashi teaches the second supply device (See Annotated Figure 1 above) is connected to the gas tank (10, Figure 1) held by the holding section, (See Annotate Figure 1 above and Page 4, First Paragraph, last sentence, the gas tank is detachably provided).
An additional reference is needed to further teach the limitations “in response to a change from a non-holding state, in which the holding section is not holding the gas tank, to a holding state, in which the holding section is holding the gas tank” seen in the last 3 lines of claim 2. The reference would cause hindsight as it would further modify both Motoori and Hayashi. The limitations in view of all other limitations of claims 1 and 2 are found to be allowable in view of the prior art.
Regarding Claim 6:
Claim 6 depends from claim 1 where Takada, Motoori, and Hayashi teach the gas supply system.
An additional reference is needed to further teach the limitations “a gas tank storage configured to store the gas tank, and wherein the gas supply vehicle further comprises a transfer device configured to transfer the gas tank between a body of the gas supply vehicle and the gas tank storage” seen in lines 1-6 of claim 6. The reference would cause hindsight as it would further modify Hayashi. The limitations in view of all other limitations of claims 1 and 6 are found to be allowable in view of the prior art.
Claims 7-8 are objected to as being dependent on claim 6.
The closest pieces of prior art are Takada (US 20160133492 A1) in view of Motoori (US 20220375774 A1) in further view of Hayashi (JPS 61196856 A) and Lee (KR 101691607 B1).
Regarding Claim 3:
Claim 3 depends from claim 1 where Takada, Motoori, and Hayashi teach the gas supply system.
Takada discloses a supply section (27, Figure 4).
Motoori teaches a supply receiving section (Figure 1 and Paragraph [0031], the gas supply tube part connected to the outlet (34a) of the tank (34) receives the inactive gas).
Lee teaches a wafter container transferring apparatus comprising the supply receiving section (410, Figure 1) protrudes from a body of the transport vehicle (100, Figure 1) toward a second side (Figure 1, the port is on the second side).
An additional reference is needed to further teach the limitations “the supply section protrudes from a body of the gas supply vehicle toward a first side in a traveling direction extending along the travel path, the supply receiving section protrudes from a body of the transport vehicle toward a second side in the traveling direction, at least either the supply section or the supply receiving section is provided with an electromagnet, and connection and disconnection of the supply section and the supply receiving section are controlled based on whether or not the electromagnet is energized” seen in lines 1-10 of claim 3. The reference would cause hindsight as it would further modify Takada, Motoori and Lee . The limitations in view of all other limitations of claims 1 and 3 are found to be allowable in view of the prior art.
Claims 4-5 are objected to as being dependent on claim 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yoshida (US 8231324 B2) teaches an article storage facility comprising a container, a transport vehicle and a predetermined travel path.
Oguro (US 8245647 B2) teaches a switching facility comprising a container, a transport vehicle and a predetermined travel path.
Jang (US 9412631 B2) teaches a ceiling storage device comprising a supply receiving section, a supply section and containers.
Sugita (US 5332013 A) teaches an unmanned conveying device comprising a container and a transport vehicle.
/STEPHANIE A SHRIEVES/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/KENNETH RINEHART/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753