DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 13 objected to because of the following informalities: In line 3, it appears “re-quest” should be “request”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23-24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Relative to claim 23, it is not clear as to whether the claim is intended to independent or dependent. It appears that the claim(s) is/are intended to be independent claim(s) that incorporates the limitations of claims 12. The claim has been interpreted as independent. If Applicant intends the claim(s) to be an independent claim, Applicant should revise lines 2 to replace “according to claim 12” with the limitations of claim 12 listed out.
Relative to claim 24, it is not clear as to whether the claim is intended to independent or dependent. It appears that the claim(s) is/are intended to be independent claim(s) that incorporates the limitations of claims 1. The claim has been interpreted as independent. If Applicant intends the claim(s) to be an independent claim, Applicant should revise line 1 to replace “according to claim 1” with the limitations of claim 1 listed out.
Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 9-10, 12-13, 15-17, and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vogl (US PG. Pub. 2008/0047783). Relative to claims 1-2, 4-6, 9-10, Vogl discloses:
claim 1) an apparatus for managing a maintenance of a conveyor system (Para. 0009), the apparatus configured to:
receive data indicative of an access right to perform the maintenance of a sub-system of the conveyor system (elevator)(Para. 0016-0017),
generate, in response to a detection of an access right to perform the maintenance of the sub-system, a signal to switch the elevator control to a maintenance mode of the elevator car to be serviced, stopping normal travel of the car to move the car to a predetermined stop position (Para. 0022; after mechanic has been granted access to open the landing door, the elevator control switches to maintenance mode, inhibiting travel of the car), and
generate, in response to a receipt of an acknowledgement signal indicative of a predefined state of the maintenance, a signal to switch the elevator control of the serviced car to a normal mode to resume normal operations (the mechanic closes the landing door after maintenance is finished, and elevator control switches the car to normal mode, and/or the mechanic inputs closing identification pattern to switch to normal mode upon leaving the serviced elevator car to allow the car to resume normal operations; Para. 0030-0031);
claim 2) the apparatus further configured to: receive, prior to the receipt of data indicative of the access right to perform the maintenance of the sub-system (car) of the conveyor system, a request to perform a maintenance of the conveyor system (before the mechanic enters information or the predetermined identification signal is received, a call button may be pushed and a request is made to access car ceiling to perform maintenance, Para. 0036; 0050);
claim 4) the apparatus is configured to determine the sub-system subject to the maintenance from one of: the request to perform a maintenance of the conveyor system (system determines which car to perform maintenance based on a call button, Para. 0020; 0037-0038, the mechanic is able to open or unlock the corresponding landing floor where the maintenance is to be performed, and which is in maintenance mode, Para. 0039); the data indicative of the access right;
claim 5) the apparatus is configured to determine the maintenance task of the sub-system from one of: the request to perform a maintenance of the conveyor system; the data indicative of the access right (Para. 0043, 0041; machinery, drive unit, ropes of the determined level is to be inspected or maintained, the determined floor is based on the landing call);
claim 6) the apparatus further configured to generate control signal to switch to maintenance mode includes one of: generating the control signal to a respective interface to disable the respective interface; generating the control signal to data center to request disabling of the interface; generating the control signal to disable a service executed by the sub-system (Para. 0050); generating the control signal to disable a sub-system level operation (Para. 0050)(elevator control is switched to maintenance mode preventing the elevator car from traveling or acting normally).
claim 9) the apparatus is further configured to generate a signal to data center, the signal comprising data providing at least one definition in relation to the maintenance (Para. 0042-0043); and
claim 10) the apparatus is configured to generate the acknowledgement signal in response to a receipt of data indicative of an access right to perform the maintenance of the sub-system of the conveyor system (Para. 0015-0016).
Vogl does not expressly disclose: the elevator control switching to maintenance mode upon receiving data indicative of an access right to perform the maintenance of a sub-system of the conveyor system includes generating a first control signal to disable communicatively reaching the sub-system; or the elevator control switching to a normal mode upon a receipt of an acknowledgement signal indicative of a predefined state of the maintenance, included generating a second control signal to enable communicatively reaching the sub-system.
Vogl teaches: the elevator control switching to maintenance mode upon receiving data indicative of an access right to perform the maintenance of a sub-system of the conveyor system includes generating a first control signal to disable communicatively reaching the sub-system; or the elevator control switching to a normal mode upon a receipt of an acknowledgement signal indicative of a predefined state of the maintenance, included generating a second control signal to enable communicatively reaching the sub-system as an obvious matter of design choice.
The switching the elevator control of the elevator car 5 to maintenance mode during which travel is limited or stopped implies that a control signal is sent to the car 5 to disable normal communications between the control and the car thereby limiting travel of the car. The disclosure also implies that in a normal mode, another control signal is sent to the car to enable normal communications between the elevator control and the serviced car 5 upon the mechanic leaving the car after the repair is complete, or upon the mechanic inputting the identification information to exit the car upon completion of the work. See MPEP §2144.01
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the system of Vogl with so that the elevator control switching to maintenance mode includes generating a first control signal to disable communicatively reaching the sub-system; and the elevator control switching to a normal mode include generating a second control signal to enable communicatively reaching the sub-system, as a matter of design choice, since the generation of the control signals is implied.
Claim(s) 12-13, 15-17, and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vogl. Relative to claims 12-13, 15-17, and 20-21, Vogl discloses:
claim 12) A method for managing a maintenance of a conveyor system (Fig. 1) the method, performed by an apparatus, comprises:
receiving data indicative of an access right to perform the maintenance of a sub-system of the conveyor system (Para. 0016-0017),
generating, in response to a detection of an access right to perform the maintenance of the sub-system (Para. 0016), a signal to switch the elevator control to a maintenance mode of the elevator car to be serviced, stopping normal travel of the car to move the car to a predetermined stop position (Para. 0022; after mechanic has been granted access to open the landing door, the elevator control switches to maintenance mode, inhibiting travel of the car); and
generating, in response to a receipt of an acknowledgement signal indicative of a predefined state of the maintenance, a signal to switch the elevator control of the serviced car to a normal mode to resume normal operations (the mechanic closes the landing door after maintenance is finished, and elevator control switches the car to normal mode, and/or the mechanic inputs closing identification pattern to switch to normal mode upon leaving the serviced elevator car to allow the car to resume normal operations; Para. 0030-0031);
claim 13) receiving, prior to the receipt of data indicative of the access right to perform the maintenance of the sub-system (elevator car) of the conveyor system, a request to perform a maintenance of the conveyor system (before the mechanic enters information or the predetermined identification signal is received, a call button may be pushed and a request is made to access car ceiling to perform maintenance, Para. 0036; 0050);
claim 15) the sub-system subject to the maintenance is determined from one of: the request to perform a maintenance of the conveyor system (system determines which car to perform maintenance based on a call button, Para. 0020; 0037-0038, the mechanic is able to open or unlock the corresponding landing floor where the maintenance is to be performed, and which is in maintenance mode, Para. 0039); the data indicative of the access right;
claim 16) the maintenance task of the sub-system is determined from one of: the request to perform a maintenance of the conveyor system; the data indicative of the access right (Para. 0043, 0041; machinery, drive unit, ropes of the determined level is to be inspected or maintained, the determined floor is based on the landing call); and
claim 17) generating the control signal to switch to maintenance mode includes one of: generating the control signal to a respective interface to disable the respective interface; generating the control signal to data center to request disabling of the interface; generating the control signal to disable a service executed by the sub-system (Para. 0050); generating the control signal to disable a sub-system level operation (Para. 0050)(elevator control is switched to maintenance mode preventing the elevator car from traveling or acting normally);
claim 20) generating a signal to data center, the signal comprising data providing at least one definition in relation to the maintenance (Para. 0042-0043); and
claim 21) the acknowledgement signal is generated in response to a receipt of data indicative of an access right to perform the maintenance of the sub-system of the conveyor system (Para. 0015-0016).
Vogl does not expressly disclose: the elevator control switching to maintenance mode upon receiving data indicative of an access right to perform the maintenance of a sub-system of the conveyor system includes generating a first control signal to disable communicatively reaching the sub-system; or the elevator control switching to a normal mode upon a receipt of an acknowledgement signal indicative of a predefined state of the maintenance, included generating a second control signal to enable communicatively reaching the sub-system.
Vogl teaches: the elevator control switching to maintenance mode upon receiving data indicative of an access right to perform the maintenance of a sub-system of the conveyor system includes generating a first control signal to disable communicatively reaching the sub-system; or the elevator control switching to a normal mode upon a receipt of an acknowledgement signal indicative of a predefined state of the maintenance, included generating a second control signal to enable communicatively reaching the sub-system as an obvious matter of design choice.
The switching the elevator control of the elevator car 5 to maintenance mode during which travel is limited or stopped implies that a control signal is sent to the car 5 to disable normal communications between the control and the car thereby limiting travel of the car. The disclosure also implies that in a normal mode, another control signal is sent to the car to enable normal communications between the elevator control and the serviced car 5 upon the mechanic leaving the car after the repair is complete, or upon the mechanic inputting the identification information to exit the car upon completion of the work. See MPEP §2144.01
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the system of Vogl with so that the elevator control switching to maintenance mode includes generating a first control signal to disable communicatively reaching the sub-system; and the elevator control switching to a normal mode include generating a second control signal to enable communicatively reaching the sub-system, as a matter of design choice, since the generation of the control signals is implied.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vogl. Relative to claims 23, Vogl discloses: a computer program (included in elevator control system) comprising computer readable program code configured to cause performing of a method for managing a maintenance of a conveyor system (Fig. 1) the method, performed by an apparatus, comprises:
receiving data indicative of an access right to perform the maintenance of a sub-system of the conveyor system (Para. 0016-0017),
generating, in response to a detection of an access right to perform the maintenance of the sub-system (Para. 0016), a signal to switch the elevator control to a maintenance mode of the elevator car to be serviced, stopping normal travel of the car to move the car to a predetermined stop position (Para. 0022; after mechanic has been granted access to open the landing door, the elevator control switches to maintenance mode, inhibiting travel of the car); and
generating, in response to a receipt of an acknowledgement signal indicative of a predefined state of the maintenance, a signal to switch the elevator control of the serviced car to a normal mode to resume normal operations (the mechanic closes the landing door after maintenance is finished, and elevator control switches the car to normal mode, and/or the mechanic inputs closing identification pattern to switch to normal mode upon leaving the serviced elevator car to allow the car to resume normal operations; Para. 0030-0031).
Vogl does not expressly disclose: the elevator control switching to maintenance mode upon receiving data indicative of an access right to perform the maintenance of a sub-system of the conveyor system includes generating a first control signal to disable communicatively reaching the sub-system; or the elevator control switching to a normal mode upon a receipt of an acknowledgement signal indicative of a predefined state of the maintenance, included generating a second control signal to enable communicatively reaching the sub-system.
Vogl teaches: the elevator control switching to maintenance mode upon receiving data indicative of an access right to perform the maintenance of a sub-system of the conveyor system includes generating a first control signal to disable communicatively reaching the sub-system; or the elevator control switching to a normal mode upon a receipt of an acknowledgement signal indicative of a predefined state of the maintenance, included generating a second control signal to enable communicatively reaching the sub-system as an obvious matter of design choice.
The switching the elevator control of the elevator car 5 to maintenance mode during which travel is limited or stopped implies that a control signal is sent to the car 5 to disable normal communications between the control and the car thereby limiting travel of the car. The disclosure also implies that in a normal mode, another control signal is sent to the car to enable normal communications between the elevator control and the serviced car 5 upon the mechanic leaving the car after the repair is complete, or upon the mechanic inputting the identification information to exit the car upon completion of the work. See MPEP §2144.01
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the system of Vogl with so that the elevator control switching to maintenance mode includes generating a first control signal to disable communicatively reaching the sub-system; and the elevator control switching to a normal mode include generating a second control signal to enable communicatively reaching the sub-system, as a matter of design choice, since the generation of the control signals is implied.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vogl. Relative to claims 24, Vogl discloses: a conveyor system comprising the apparatus comprising: an apparatus for managing a maintenance of a conveyor system (Para. 0009), the apparatus configured to:
receive data indicative of an access right to perform the maintenance of a sub-system of the conveyor system (elevator)(Para. 0016-0017),
generate, in response to a detection of an access right to perform the maintenance of the sub-system, a signal to switch the elevator control to a maintenance mode of the elevator car to be serviced, stopping normal travel of the car to move the car to a predetermined stop position (Para. 0022; after mechanic has been granted access to open the landing door, the elevator control switches to maintenance mode, inhibiting travel of the car), and
generate, in response to a receipt of an acknowledgement signal indicative of a predefined state of the maintenance, a signal to switch the elevator control of the serviced car to a normal mode to resume normal operations (the mechanic closes the landing door after maintenance is finished, and elevator control switches the car to normal mode, and/or the mechanic inputs closing identification pattern to switch to normal mode upon leaving the serviced elevator car to allow the car to resume normal operations; Para. 0030-0031).
Vogl does not expressly disclose: the elevator control switching to maintenance mode upon receiving data indicative of an access right to perform the maintenance of a sub-system of the conveyor system includes generating a first control signal to disable communicatively reaching the sub-system; or the elevator control switching to a normal mode upon a receipt of an acknowledgement signal indicative of a predefined state of the maintenance, included generating a second control signal to enable communicatively reaching the sub-system.
Vogl teaches: the elevator control switching to maintenance mode upon receiving data indicative of an access right to perform the maintenance of a sub-system of the conveyor system includes generating a first control signal to disable communicatively reaching the sub-system; or the elevator control switching to a normal mode upon a receipt of an acknowledgement signal indicative of a predefined state of the maintenance, included generating a second control signal to enable communicatively reaching the sub-system as an obvious matter of design choice.
The switching the elevator control of the elevator car 5 to maintenance mode during which travel is limited or stopped implies that a control signal is sent to the car 5 to disable normal communications between the control and the car thereby limiting travel of the car. The disclosure also implies that in a normal mode, another control signal is sent to the car to enable normal communications between the elevator control and the serviced car 5 upon the mechanic leaving the car after the repair is complete, or upon the mechanic inputting the identification information to exit the car upon completion of the work. See MPEP §2144.01
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the system of Vogl with so that the elevator control switching to maintenance mode includes generating a first control signal to disable communicatively reaching the sub-system; and the elevator control switching to a normal mode include generating a second control signal to enable communicatively reaching the sub-system, as a matter of design choice, since the generation of the control signals is implied.
Claim(s) 3 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vogl in view of Ginsberg et al (US PG. Pub. 2019/0292013). Relative to claims 3 and 14, Vogl discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose: the apparatus is configured to generate a request to provide data indicative of the access right to perform the maintenance; or a request to provide data indicative of the access right to perform the maintenance is generated.
Ginsberg teaches: the apparatus is configured to generate a request to provide data indicative of the access right to perform the maintenance (Para. 0050); and a request to provide data indicative of the access right to perform the maintenance is generated (Para. 0050), for the purpose of providing equipment service tools with data capture and replay for accessing equipment controllers that provides mechanics with the ability to see what is actively happening at a given moment based on data provided by the equipment controller (Para. 0002).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the system of Vogl with the generating a request to provide data indicative of the access right to perform the maintenance taught in Ginsberg, for the purpose of providing equipment service tools with data capture and replay for accessing equipment controllers that provides mechanics with the ability to see what is actively happening at a given moment based on data provided by the equipment controller.
Claim(s) 7-8, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vogl in view of Park (US Patent No. 5,952,627). Relative to claims 7-8, and 18-19, Vogl discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose: the first control signal comprises data providing at least one definition in relation to the disabling communicatively reaching the sub-system; and the at least one definition defines at least an estimation of a duration of the disabling.
Park teaches: the first control signal comprises data providing at least one definition in relation to the disabling communicatively reaching the sub-system (control signal include automatic repair and malfunction detection mode interrupt request signal AIR; Col. 6, lines 37-42); and the at least one definition defines at least an estimation of a duration of the disabling (Col. 6, lines 60-67), for the purpose of providing an improved apparatus and method for detecting malfunctions of a plurality of car-related hall fixtures in an automated manner, that minimizes manual labor, performs malfunction detection operation easily and promptly, and improves customer trust (Col. 1, lines 7-28; Col. 1, lines 55-61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the device of Vogl with the first control signal comprises data providing at least one definition in relation to the disabling communicatively reaching the sub-system, as taught in Park, for the purpose of providing an improved apparatus and method for detecting malfunctions of a plurality of car-related hall fixtures in an automated manner, that minimizes manual labor, performs malfunction detection operation easily and promptly, and improves customer trust.
Claim(s) 11 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vogl in view of Wos et al (US PG. Pub. 2020/0087111). Relative to claims 11 and 22, Vogl discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose: the apparatus further configured to generate a third control signal to cause an execution of a testing procedure with respect to the sub-system of the conveyor system subject to the maintenance.
Wos teaches: the apparatus further configured to generate a third control signal to cause an execution of a testing procedure with respect to the sub-system of the conveyor system subject to the maintenance (controller 115 communicates with sensors to detect operating conditions of the elevator system including an elevator car 103; Para. 0014; 0035; 0038, see also shutdowns, low speed, Para. 0046), for the purpose of providing an elevator system using a sensor-based shutdown detection such that maintenance personnel can easily determine the current state of the elevator system (Para. 0002).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the device of Vogl with the apparatus further configured to generate a third control signal to cause an execution of a testing procedure taught in Wos, for the purpose of providing an elevator system using a sensor-based shutdown detection such that maintenance personnel can easily determine the current state of the elevator system.
Conclusion
/YOLANDA R CUMBESS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651