DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Wu has the drive device move the main ejection assembly and does not teach that the ejection assembly is moved by the central ejection assembly. However, as the spring goes from an uncompressed state in Fig 2 to a fully compressed state in Fig 3, the force of the drive device would be transferred via the central ejection assembly through the spring to the main ejection assembly’s restriction surface.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Claim 2 recites “the drive device is separated from the main ejection assembly in response to the central ejection assembly lifting the main ejection assembly.” In other words, the drive device is in contact with the main ejection assembly and then the central ejection assembly separates the drive device and the main ejection assembly. However, the drive device (91-93) is never in contact with the main ejection assembly (81), see Figs 1-3 of instant application. Therefore, this feature must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 2 recites “the drive device is separated from the main ejection assembly in response to the central ejection assembly lifting the main ejection assembly.” In other words, the drive device is in contact with the main ejection assembly and then the central ejection assembly separates the drive device and the main ejection assembly. However, the drive device (91-93) is never in contact with the main ejection assembly (81), see Figs 1-3 of instant application. The examiner was unable to locate anywhere within the specification this feature is described.
For purposes of examination, the examiner has interpreted this claim as requiring that the pressing surface of the drive device does not contact the main ejection assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu (KR 101600500).
As to claim 1, Wu teaches an injection molding apparatus, comprising: a first mold module (bottom mold);a second mold module (top mold), disposed on the first mold module, wherein when the second mold module contacts the first mold module, an injection chamber (sprue channel segment approximate to 14 and 16) and a product chamber (12, 242, 142) are formed between the first mold module and the second mold module; an ejection mechanism, comprising: a main ejection assembly (160); a main ejection rod (340) mounted to the main ejection assembly, and passing through the first mold module; a central ejection assembly (310, 312, 332, 320, 330) disposed in the main ejection assembly; and a central ejection rod (310, 330) mounted to the central ejection assembly, and passing through the first mold module; and a drive device (300) configured to move the central ejection assembly, wherein after plastic in the injection chamber and the product chamber are cooled, a plastic product and an injection part (the sprue product 16, 14) connected to the plastic product are formed, and when the second mold module is separated from the first mold module, the drive device lifts the central ejection assembly to a predetermined position to separate the injection part from the plastic product by the central ejection rod [Fig 3], and after the drive device lifts the central ejection assembly to the predetermined position, the central ejection assembly lifts the main ejection assembly to remove the injection part from the first mold module by the central ejection rod, and to remove the plastic product from the first mold module by the main ejection rod [Fig 3]. Wu teaches the main ejection assembly (160 and the top plate) comprises a bottom surface (the top plate above 160), a first restriction hole formed on the bottom surface (the same size hole of 160 and its top plate), and a second restriction hole (smaller hole occupied by 330), the central ejection assembly (310, 312, 332, 320, 330) is movably disposed in the first restriction hole and the second restriction hole, and the central ejection assembly comprising a lifting portion (312) movably in the first restriction hole, and after the drive device lifts the central ejection assembly to the predetermined position, the lifting portion pushes a restriction surface (indirectly via the spring 320) so that the central ejection assembly lifts the main ejection assembly (the 2 plates are bolted together so continued pressing would lift the entire assembly) [Fig 3]. The lifting being in response to the product chamber being below a preset temperature is just an intended use of the apparatus, which Wu would be structurally capable of performing. The manner of operating a device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, see MPEP 2114 II.
As to claim 3, Wu teaches a base comprising a receiving space (110, 120), wherein the ejection mechanism is disposed in the receiving space; a first mold (140) disposed on the base, and comprising a first receiving groove (the gap in 140), wherein the first mold module is disposed in the first receiving groove [Fig 3]; and a second mold disposed on the first mold, and comprising a second receiving groove the gap within (240), wherein the second mold module is disposed in the second receiving groove [Fig 2].
As to claim 4, Wu teaches the base further comprises a position groove that is in communication with the receiving space, the drive device comprises a pushing block (310) connected to the central ejection assembly, and when the ejection mechanism is at an initial position, the pushing block is in the position groove (112 as its bottom end appears to overlap in the entrance to 11) [Fig 2], and when the ejection mechanism is at the predetermined position, the pushing block protrudes over the position groove [Fig 3].
As to claim 6, Wu teaches the main ejection assembly comprises: a first ejection plate (160); and a second ejection plate (plate atop 160) detachably affixed (via the unmarked bolt) to the first ejection plate, and movably in a vertical direction in the receiving space, wherein the main ejection rod (340) passes through the second ejection plate, and the main ejection rod is affixed to the first ejection plate by the second ejection plate [Fig 2, 3].
As to claim 7, Wu teaches the central ejection assembly comprises: a first ejection block (312); a second ejection block (320) detachably affixed to the first ejection block (332), and movably in a vertical direction in the receiving space; and a lifting portion (side surface of 312) disposed on a side wall of the first ejection block, wherein the central ejection rod (330, 320) passes through the second ejection block, and the central ejection rod is affixed to the first ejection block by the second ejection block, and after the drive device lifts the central ejection assembly to the predetermined position, the lifting portion lifts the main ejection assembly [Fig 3].
As to claim 12, Wu teaches an injection device configured to inject the plastic into the injection chamber and the product chamber [0036].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (KR 101600500) in view of Park (US 2022/0305711).
As to claim 2, Wu does not explicitly state the drive device is separated from the main ejection assembly in response to the central ejection assembly lifting the main ejection assembly.
For purposes of examination, the examiner has interpreted this claim as requiring that the pressing surface of the drive device does not contact the main ejection assembly.
Park teaches a molding system [Abstract] wherein the drive device ( R ) is not in contact with the main ejection assembly (110) [Fig 9, 0154-0157] and notes that the drive device’s diameter is sized to match or be smaller than a diameter of a central ejection assembly (121) I order to further press than the rod in the ejection direction further than main ejection assembly [0157, 0177-0179, 0208]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Wu and had the drive rod be sized such that is was smaller than a diameter of the central ejection portion and not in contact with the main ejection assembly, as suggested by Park, in order to allow for the capability of extending the central ejection assembly further than the main ejection assembly.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (KR 101600500) in view of Aiba (US 2019/0315033).
As to claim 5, the drive device further comprises: a drive rod (300), wherein the pushing block (310) is placed on the drive rod (300); and notes a controlling device the drive rod moving in a vertical direction [0039]. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably surmise that this control device would be inclusive of a motor.
Additionally, Aiba teaches an injection molding apparatus [Abstract] wherein ejection means remove the sprue from the molding device and notes that the drive for these means “is not limited to a pneumatic or hydraulic fluid pressure cylinder, and various driving devices such as an electric motor, e.g. a motor, may be used” [0026]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Wu and utilized a motor to motivate the drive rod, as suggested by Aiba, as a motor had demonstrated success for this purpose and was not critical to successful operation relative to other driving means.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (KR 101600500) in view of Yuan (CN 206884078) .
As to claim 8, Wu teaches the two ends of the injection channel are respectively in communication with the injection chamber and the product chamber [Fig 2, 3] but does not explicitly state a channel module, wherein the first mold module comprises a slot, the channel module is disposed in the slot, and the channel module comprises an injection channel.
Yuan teaches an injection molding machine [Abstract] including a channel module, wherein the first mold module comprises a slot (where slot 34 is located), the channel module (34) is disposed in the slot, and the channel module comprises an injection channel [Fig 2]. Yuan notes this design has the advantages of “simple structure, high efficiency, smoother demolding, and no breakage of the sprue” [0013]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Wu and utilized a channel module, wherein the first mold module comprises a slot, the channel module is disposed in the slot, and the channel module comprises an injection channel, as suggested by Yuan, as this configuration allowed for “simple structure, high efficiency, smoother demolding, and no breakage of the sprue.”
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (KR 101600500) in view of Yuan (CN 206884078), as applied to claim 8 above, and in further view of Wu (CN 114683491) referred to as Wu II.
As to claim 9, The combination of Wu and Yuan teach the channel module further comprises a first outer surface and a second outer surface as explained above. Having one surface be inclined relative to the other, amounts to a mere change in size or shape, which is generally regarded as obvious, see MPEP 2144.04 IV.
Additionally, Wu II teaches a method of injection molding wherein at least a surface 4261 is inclined relative to the other outer surface [Fig 8A, 8B] and notes its use in an injection system that lessens the required ejection force to remove the part [0003, 0004]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Wu and utilized a channel module having one surface inclined relative to the other, as suggested by Wu II, as this feature had demonstrated success within injection molding machines and allowed for smaller ejection force to remove the formed part.
As to claim 10, Wu does not explicitly state the channel module further comprises a notch, the first mold module further comprises an extension portion in the notch, and the product chamber extends into the extension portion.
Yuan teaches an injection molding machine [Abstract] including a channel module, wherein the first mold module comprises a slot (where slot 34 is located), the channel module (34) is disposed in the slot, and the channel module comprises an injection channel; state the channel module further comprises a notch (groove approximate 31), the first mold module further comprises an extension portion in the notch (the inward jutting portion above 31), and the product chamber extends into the extension portion [Fig 2]. Yuan notes this design has the advantages of “simple structure, high efficiency, smoother demolding, and no breakage of the sprue” [0013]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Wu and utilized a channel module, wherein the first mold module comprises a slot, the channel module is disposed in the slot, and the channel module comprises an injection channel, as suggested by Yuan, as this configuration allowed for “simple structure, high efficiency, smoother demolding, and no breakage of the sprue.”
Additionally, Wu II teaches a method of injection molding wherein the product chamber extends into the extension portion within the notch [Fig 5] and notes its use in an injection system that lessens the required ejection force to remove the part [0003, 0004]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Wu and had the product chamber extend into the extension portion of the notch, as suggested by Wu II, as this feature had demonstrated success within injection molding machines and allowed for smaller ejection force to remove the formed part.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (KR 101600500) in view of Yuan (CN 206884078), as applied to claims 8 above, and in further view of Zeng (CN 208410604).
As to claim 11, Wu does not explicitly state the content of claim 11.
Zeng teaches an injection molding machine [Abstract] wherein the channel module further comprises: a first insertion module (11) comprising a first top surface (115, 1151, 1152), a first connection surface connected to the first top surface (112), and a first injection groove (113) formed on the first connection surface [Fig 2]; and a second insertion module comprising a second top surface, a second connection surface connected to the second top surface, and a second injection groove formed on the second connection surface as another insertion module as a mirror of the half module depicted in Fig 2 is utilized in conjunction with it to form a full module [Fig 1], wherein ends of the first injection groove are in communication with the first top surface, and ends of the second injection groove are in communication with the second top surface, and when the first connection surface attaches to the second connection surface, the injection channel is formed by the first injection groove and the second injection groove [Fig 1, 2]. Zeng notes this configuration allow for removal of the sprue without effecting the appearance of the part [Abstract]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Wu and utilized first and 2nd channel modules in this configuration, as suggested by Zeng, as this configuration had demonstrated success at removing the sprue without effecting the end part.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARMAND MELENDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759