DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to Applicant’s response submitted 29 January 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0324628 to Ye.
In regards to claim 1, Ye recites an adapter assembly (10; Figure 2) for use in an extender port for coupling a first fiber optic connector and a second fiber optic connector, the adapter assembly comprising: an adapter comprising an adapter body (30) defining: a first passageway (13) for receiving the first fiber optic connector and a second passageway (15) for receiving the second fiber optic connector [0043]; and an integrated sleeve holder (32) positioned between the first passageway and the second passageway of the adapter [0044-0045]; a sleeve holder insert (42) disposed within the second passageway of the adapter body and adjacent to the integrated sleeve holder; and a sleeve (44) disposed within a passageway formed by the integrated sleeve holder and the sleeve holder insert [0048].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0324628 to Ye as applied to claim 1 and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 20202/0057222 to Dannoux et al.
In regards to claim 3, Ye recites the adapter comprises a first circumferential groove at a first end and a second circumferential groove at a second end (at sleeve openings 244; shown in Figures 5, 5A & 5B). But Ye fails to expressly recite a first O-ring within the first circumferential groove, and a second O-ring in the second circumferential groove. However, Dannoux also teaches an optical adapter assembly comprising passageways for optical fiber connectors, a sleeve insert and sleeve for aligning the optical connectors. Dannoux further teaches the inclusion of O-rings in the grooves of the housing for the purpose of sealing and weatherproofing the internal components of the device. [0076] Since Ye and Dannoux are both from the same field of endeavor and Dannoux further teaches the optical inclusion of O-rings for the purpose of sealing and weatherproofing, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the device of Ye to include a first O-ring within the first circumferential groove, and a second O-ring in the second circumferential groove.
Claim(s) 4and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0324628 to Ye as applied to claim 1.
In regards to claim 4, although Ye does not expressly recite the adapter comprises a plurality of radial fins, Applicant discloses the radial fins to be used to mate the optical components of the adapter assembly. Ye recites guiding portions of the first housing inserted into recesses/insertion portion of the second housing and locking portions of the first housing inserted into locking portions of the second housing to mate the optical components of the adapter assembly. Since Ye teaches elements used to mate the optical components of the adapter assembly and the elements provide the same functionality as the radial fins, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have chosen any mating elements capable of securing the optical components of the adapter assembly such as radial fins or the elements disclosed by Ye as a matter of obvious design choice.
In regards to claim 5, Ye recites each of a first end and a second end of the adapter comprises an alignment protrusion (see Figures 2 and 4; interior walls, perimeter walls). Although Ye does not expressly recite the alignment protrusion to be operable to be disposed within an alignment notch of a push-button securing member, the alignment protrusion must inherently be provided within an alignment notch in order to provide the securement and necessary alignment as part of the desired functionality. Furthermore, the recitation that the alignment protrusion is operable to be disposed within an alignment notch of a push-button securing member is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138 Since the alignment protrusion of Ye would necessarily be disposed in an alignment notch and since the operation of the notch is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the device of Ye to have included an alignment protrusion operable to be disposed within an alignment notch.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest the sleeve holder insert comprises at least one flexible extension; an interior surface of the second passageway of the adapter comprises a groove; and the at least one flexible extension is disposed within the groove to secure the sleeve holder insert within the adapter in addition to the accompanying features of the independent claim.
Claims 6-32 are allowed for the reasons set forth in the previous Office action mailed 29 October 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TINA WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874