DETAILED ACTION
This is a first office action on the merits. Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending in the case and are discussed on the merits below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over US 2022/0080458 Palit et al (hereinafter Palit) in view of US 2018/0243804 Magee et al. (hereinafter Magee).
With regard to claim 1, Palit discloses:
An apparatus comprising: machine-readable instructions; and programmable circuitry configured to at least one of instantiate or execute the machine-readable instructions (fig. 1 and 2, [0026]” Control processes 212 may be embodied in executable code…”) to:
receive burst excitation information including a burst start frequency, a burst stop frequency, and a burst duration, the burst start frequency and the burst stop frequency defining a range of frequencies of the burst excitation information (see at least [0031] describing using a series or range of frequencies, a duration for each wave form and for the whole cleaning cycle);
generate first and second sub burst excitation information based on the burst excitation information, the first and second sub burst excitation information including a sub burst duration based on the burst duration, a temperature sense interval, and a temperature sense duration, the temperature sense interval being a time between temperature measurements, the temperature sense duration being a time of a temperature measurement (see figs. 3A and 3B; [0031], [0039], [0040], [0047], [0050] discussing outputting different waveforms at various times and determining impedance and temperature as RX feedback and utilizing the feedback to adjust future waveforms); and
generate an excitation signal responsive to the first and second sub burst excitation information and impedance measurements, the excitation signal having frequencies of the range of frequencies of the burst excitation information (see [0031], [0040], [0047], [0050]).
Palit does not explicitly disclose that the execution signal is responsive to … temperature measurements. Rather, Palit discussing measuring voltage and current to determin a measurement of impendence and adjusting the waveform based on the impendence. However, Palit does teach that temperature can be determined from the processed voltage and current, detecting temperature as potential feedback information as well as detecting if overheating is occurring (see [0047], [00501).
However, Magee, in the same field of endeavor, teaches that the impedance and temperature of a transducer system are related linearly (see fig. 5 and [0039] – [0040]). Additionally, Magee also teaches detecting the temperature of a transducer from the measured impedance and adjusting the output of the signal based on the temperature, including deactivating the waveform out put for a period of time if the temperature has reached a threshold in order to prevent damage from overheating (see fig. 6; [[0051], [0053] “the example transducer is deactivated if the temperature indicates that the example lens cover system has an operating temperature that approaches a self-damaging temperature. The computing device 100 deactivates the example transducer when the comparison at operation 640 indicates that the estimated temperature exceeds half of the Curie temperature (in degrees Celsius) of the example transducer.”; see also [0054] the computing device 100 may limit the length of a periodic interval (e.g., fixed period) of time during which the example transducer is activated, in order to periodically reperform the process 600 and thereby limit the accumulation of heat that results from activation of the example transducer. The computing device 100 deactivates the example transducer in response to expiration of a fixed period of time during which the example transducer is activated. The computing device 100 selects the length of time for limiting activation of the example transducer, in view of the rate of accumulation of heat during operation at the selected operating frequency and the relative sizes of safety margins. Accordingly, the computing device 100 controllably limits the rise of temperature of the example lens cover system, below levels that are likely to permanently (e.g., without repair) damage the example transducer (e.g., without incurring the space, cost and reliability considerations otherwise encountered by coupling a thermocouple to the example transducer).
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the impedance of Palit is a proxy for temperature. Additionally, it would have been obvious to utilize the impedance/temperature measurement to adjust the excitation signal so as to prevent to limit the heat accumulation in the transducer and thereby prevent damage from overheating.
With regard to claim 2, modified Palit already has:
wherein the programmable circuitry is configured to determine the sub burst duration to be the temperature sense interval minus the temperature sense duration (see fig. 3A and 3B; [0031], [0040], [0047], [0050]).
With regard to claim 3, modified Palit already has:
wherein the programmable circuitry is configured to:
generate temperature burst excitation information including a temperature start frequency, a temperature stop frequency, and the temperature sense duration (see fig. 3A and 3B; [0031], [0040], [0047], [0050] discussing how the frequencies and durations are also used to determine impedance which is temperature as modified above); and
generate the excitation signal responsive to the first and second sub burst excitation information and the temperature burst excitation information, the excitation signal having a first portion and a second portion, the first portion responsive to the temperature burst excitation information, the second portion responsive to the first sub burst excitation information (see [0031], [0040], [0047], [0050]).
With regard to claim 4, modified Palit already has:
wherein the excitation signal further having a third portion and a fourth portion, the third portion responsive to the temperature burst excitation information (see Palit fig. 3A and 3B), the programmable circuitry is configured to: determine a temperature of a transducer responsive to the third portion of the excitation signal; generate the fourth portion of the excitation signal using the second sub burst excitation information responsive to the temperature of the transducer being less than a threshold; and generate the fourth portion of the excitation signal using the temperature burst excitation information after a cool down duration responsive to the temperature of the transducer being greater than the threshold (see the cited and incorporated portions of Magee in claim 1 above as well as the modification logic).
With regard to claim 5, modified Palit already has:
wherein the programmable circuitry is configured to:
generate temperature burst excitation information including the temperature sense duration (see at least fig. 3A and 3B);
generate the excitation signal responsive to the temperature burst excitation information (see [0031], [0040], [0047], [0050]).;
receive currents and voltages of the excitation signal responsive to the temperature burst excitation information ([0031] sampling voltage and current. Which as modified by Magee in claim 1 determines temperature); and
determine Fourier Transform responsive to the currents and voltages of the excitation signa (see [0040], [0046] and [0047] performing a DFT on the samples to determine impedance and temperature; see also [0050]).
With regard to claim 6, modified Palit already has:
wherein the programmable circuitry is configured to: determine an impedance of a transducer that receives the excitation signal responsive to the Fourier Transform (see [0040], [0046] and [0047] performing a DFT on the samples to determine impedance and temperature; see also [0050]) ; generate a temperature measurement value as a multiplication of the impedance by a slope constant; add an offset value to the temperature measurement value, the offset value based on a material of the transducer; and compare the temperature measurement value to possible temperature measurement values to determine a temperature of the transducer (see the cited and incorporated portion of Magee in claim 1 above discussing the linear relationship and transform between impedance and temperature such as [0040] – [0041] and fig. 5).
With regard to claim 7, modified Palit already has:
wherein the burst excitation information further includes a frequency step to specify intervals between the frequency of the excitation signal between the burst start frequency and the burst stop frequency, and the first sub burst excitation information further including the frequency step, a sub burst start frequency, and a sub burst stop frequency, the sub burst start frequency and the sub burst stop frequency are between or equal to the burst start frequency and the burst stop frequency (see figs. 3A and 3B; [0031], [0039], [0040], [0047], [0050] discussing outputting different waveforms at various times and frequencies; see also fig. 3A and 3B).
With regard to claims 8 – 13 the claims are directed toward “At least one non-transitory computer readable storage medium”. The cited portions of Palit and Magee used in the rejection of claims 2, 3 – 7 teach at least one non-transitory computer readable storage medium as well as the elements claimed elements. Therefore, claims 8 – 13 are rejected under the same rationales used in the rejection of claims 2, 3 – 7 respectively.
With regard to claim 14, Palit discloses:
An apparatus comprising:
temperature regulation circuitry (fig. 1 and 2) configured to:
generate impedance burst excitation information ([0031]);
sequencing circuitry (fig. 1 and 2) configured to:
receive burst excitation information including a burst start frequency and a burst stop frequency (see at least [0031] describing using a series or range of frequencies, a duration for each wave form and for the whole cleaning cycle); and
generate first and second sub burst excitation information based on the burst excitation information, the first and second sub burst excitation information including a sub burst start frequency and a sub burst stop frequency, the sub burst start and stop frequencies to define a range of frequencies (see figs. 3A and 3B; [0031], [0039], [0040], [0047], [0050] discussing outputting different waveforms at various times and determining impedance and temperature as RX feedback and utilizing the feedback to adjust future waveforms);; and
signal generation circuitry (fig. 1 and 2) configured to:
generate an excitation signal responsive to the see [0031], [0040], [0047], [0050]).
Palit does not explicitly disclose that the execution signal is responsive to … temperature burst information. Rather, Palit discussing measuring voltage and current to determine a measurement of impendence and adjusting the waveform based on the impendence. However, Palit does teach that temperature can be determined from the processed voltage and current, detecting temperature as potential feedback information as well as detecting if overheating is occurring (see [0047], [00501).
However, Magee, in the same field of endeavor, teaches that the impedance and temperature of a transducer system are related linearly (see fig. 5 and [0039] – [0040]). Additionally, Magee also teaches detecting the temperature of a transducer from the measured impedance and adjusting the output of the signal based on the temperature, including deactivating the waveform out put for a period of time if the temperature has reached a threshold in order to prevent damage from overheating (see fig. 6; [[0051], [0053] “the example transducer is deactivated if the temperature indicates that the example lens cover system has an operating temperature that approaches a self-damaging temperature. The computing device 100 deactivates the example transducer when the comparison at operation 640 indicates that the estimated temperature exceeds half of the Curie temperature (in degrees Celsius) of the example transducer.”; see also [0054] the computing device 100 may limit the length of a periodic interval (e.g., fixed period) of time during which the example transducer is activated, in order to periodically reperform the process 600 and thereby limit the accumulation of heat that results from activation of the example transducer. The computing device 100 deactivates the example transducer in response to expiration of a fixed period of time during which the example transducer is activated. The computing device 100 selects the length of time for limiting activation of the example transducer, in view of the rate of accumulation of heat during operation at the selected operating frequency and the relative sizes of safety margins. Accordingly, the computing device 100 controllably limits the rise of temperature of the example lens cover system, below levels that are likely to permanently (e.g., without repair) damage the example transducer (e.g., without incurring the space, cost and reliability considerations otherwise encountered by coupling a thermocouple to the example transducer).
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the impedance of Palit is a proxy for temperature. Additionally, it would have been obvious to utilize the impedance/temperature measurement to adjust the excitation signal so as to prevent to limit the heat accumulation in the transducer and thereby prevent damage from overheating.
With regard to claim 15, modified Palit already has:
wherein the signal generation circuitry is further configured to: generate a first portion of the excitation signal responsive to the temperature burst excitation information; excitation information; generate a third portion of the excitation signal responsive to the temperature burst excitation information; and generate a fourth portion of the excitation signal responsive to the second sub burst excitation information (see fig. 3A and 3B; [0031], [0040], [0047], [0050]).
With regard to claim 16, modified Palit already has:
wherein the temperature regulation circuitry is further configured to: determine a temperature of a transducer responsive to the first and third portions of the excitation signal; and compare the temperature to a temperature threshold to determine if a cooldown is needed (see the cited and incorporated portions of Magee in claim 1 above as well as the modification logic such as fig. 6; [[0051], [0053] “the example transducer is deactivated if the temperature indicates that the example lens cover system has an operating temperature that approaches a self-damaging temperature. The computing device 100 deactivates the example transducer when the comparison at operation 640 indicates that the estimated temperature exceeds half of the Curie temperature (in degrees Celsius) of the example transducer.”; see also [0054] the computing device 100 may limit the length of a periodic interval (e.g., fixed period) of time during which the example transducer is activated, in order to periodically reperform the process 600 and thereby limit the accumulation of heat that results from activation of the example transducer).
With regard to claim 17, modified Palit already has:
further including impedance determination circuitry configured to:
receive currents and voltages of the excitation signal responsive to the temperature burst excitation information ([0031] sampling voltage and current. Which as modified by Magee in claim 1 determines temperature);
determine a Fourier Transform responsive to the currents and voltages of the excitation signal; and determine an impedance of a transducer that receives the excitation signal responsive to the Fourier Transform (see [0040], [0046] and [0047] performing a DFT on the samples to determine impedance and temperature; see also [0050]).
.
With regard to claim 18, modified Palit already has:
wherein the temperature regulation circuitry is configured to: generate a temperature measurement value as a multiplication of the impedance by a slope constant; add an offset value to the temperature measurement value, the offset value based on a material of the transducer; and compare the temperature measurement value to possible temperature measurement values to determine a temperature of the transducer (see the cited and incorporated portion of Magee in claim 1 above discussing the linear relationship and transform between impedance and temperature such as [0040] – [0041] and fig. 5; see also [0042] discussing using a lookup table to determine the temperature and comparing to a threshold).
With regard to claim 19, modified Palit already has:
wherein the burst excitation information further includes a frequency step to specify intervals between the frequency of the excitation signal between the burst start frequency and the burst stop frequency, and the first sub burst excitation information further including the frequency step, a sub burst start frequency, and a sub burst stop frequency, the sub burst start frequency and the sub burst stop frequency are between or equal to the burst start frequency and the burst stop frequency (see figs. 3A and 3B; [0031], [0039], [0040], [0047], [0050] discussing outputting different waveforms at various times and frequencies; see also fig. 3A and 3B).
With regard to claim 20, modified Palit already has:
wherein the sequencing circuitry is further configured to determine a sub burst duration of the first and second sub burst excitation information based on a temperature sense interval and a temperature sense duration, the temperature sense interval being a time between temperature measurements, the temperature sense duration being a time of a temperature measurement (see figs. 3A and 3B; [0031], [0039], [0040], [0047], [0050]).
Conclusion
/ADAM R MOTT/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657