Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 11-12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US 2021/0281139) and in view of Kim (KR 20200032566).
As to claim 1, Lim discloses a motor (Paragraph 0044), comprising: a stator (Fig. 2) formed by coupling a plurality of split cores (310; Fig. 2) including a tooth part (312; Fig. 2) and a yoke part (311; Fig. 2); and a housing (100; Fig. 2) receiving the stator and having a plurality of inner grooves (130; Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) formed in an inner surface contacting the yoke part.
Lim fails to disclose wherein one or more outer grooves are formed on an outer surface of the yoke part, the inner grooves and the outer grooves are circumferentially spaced apart so as not to overlap in a radial direction, a space if formed between the outer surface of the yoke part and the inner grooves, and a space is formed between the inner surface of the housing and the outer grooves.
Kim, however, discloses wherein one or more outer grooves are formed on an outer surface of the yoke part (Fig. 3), the inner grooves and the outer grooves are circumferentially spaced apart so as not to overlap in a radial direction (Fig. 3), a space is formed between the outer surface of the yoke part and the inner grooves, and a space is formed between the inner surface of the housing and the outer grooves (Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the motor of Lim with one or more outer grooves are formed on an outer surface of the yoke part, the inner grooves and the outer grooves are circumferentially spaced apart so as not to overlap in a radial direction, a space if formed between the outer surface of the yoke part and the inner grooves, and a space is formed between the inner surface of the housing and the outer grooves, as disclosed by Kim, to provide spacing between the yoke and the housing.
As to claim 3, the combination of Lim and Kim discloses the motor of claim 1, wherein the housing and the stator are press fitted to each other (Paragraph 0061 of Lim).
As to claim 4, the combination of Lim and Kim discloses the motor of claim 1, wherein the inner grooves are circumferentially arranged in the inner surface of the housing (Fig. 2 of Lim).
As to claim 5, the combination of Lim and Kim discloses the motor of claim 1, wherein each of the inner grooves is extended from one end to another end of the housing in an axial direction of the housing (Fig. 4 of Lim).
As to claim 6, the combination of Lim and Kim discloses the motor of claim 1, wherein the inner grooves formed in the inner surface of the housing are in a rectangular shape (Fig. 3 of Lim).
As to claim 7, the combination of Lim and Kim discloses the motor of claim 1, wherein the inner grooves formed in the inner surface of the housing are in a polygonal shape (Fig. 3 of Lim).
As to claim 11, the combination of Lim and Kim discloses the motor of claim 1, wherein the outer grooves are shaped as rectangular grooves (Fig. 3 of Kim).
As to claim 12, the combination of Lim and Kim discloses the motor of claim 1, wherein the
outer grooves are shaped as a polygonal groove (Fig. 3 of Kim).
As to claim 17, the combination of Lim and Kim discloses the motor of claim 1, wherein the outer grooves are shaped as a polygonal groove (Fig. 3 of Kim).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim, Kim and in view of Brinkhaus (US 2024/0284631).
As to claim 2, the combination of Lim and Kim discloses the motor of claim 1.
Lim fails to disclose the housing comprises steel.
Brinkhaus, however, discloses the housing comprises steel (Paragraph 0017).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the motor of Lim with the housing comprises steel,
as disclosed by Brinkhaus, in order to make the housing more stable and lighter (Paragraph 0017).
Claims 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim, Kim, and in view of Kim564 (US 2022/0376564).
As to claim 9, the combination of Lim and Kim discloses the motor of claim 1.
Lim fails to disclose a notch is formed in a central portion of the outer surface of the yoke part, and wherein the outer grooves are provided on two opposite sides of the notch.
Kim564, however, discloses a notch (313; Fig. 4 of Kim) is formed in a central portion of the outer surface of the yoke part of the stator, and between the outer grooves formed in the outer surface of the yoke part of the stator (Fig. 4 of Kim).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the motor of Lim with a notch is formed in a central portion of the outer surface of the yoke part, and wherein the outer grooves are provided on two opposite sides of the notch, as disclosed by Kim564, to improve the motor structure.
Claim 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim, Kim and in view of Wang (US 2005/0212378).
As to claim 13, the combination of Lim and Kim discloses the motor of claim 1.
Lim fails to disclose a chamfered portion is formed on the outer surface of the yoke part of the
stator.
Wang, however, discloses a chamfered portion is formed on the outer surface of the yoke part
of the stator (Fig. 3a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the motor of Lim with a chamfered portion is
formed on the outer surface of the yoke part of the stator, as disclosed by Wang, to provide space
between the yoke and the housing (Paragraph 0120).
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim and in view of Wang.
As to claim 21, the combination of Lim discloses a motor comprising: a stator formed by coupling a plurality of split cores including a tooth part and a yoke part (Fig. 2); and a housing receiving the stator (Fig. 2) and having a plurality of inner grooves formed on an inner surface contacting the yoke part (Fig. 3).
Lim fails to disclose wherein a chamfered portion is formed on an outer surface of the yoke part,
and at least one inner groove is disposed in a radial direction of the chamfered portion.
Wang, however, discloses a chamfered portion is formed on an outer surface of the yoke part (Fig. 3a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the motor of Lim with a chamfered portion is
formed on the outer surface of the yoke part of the stator, as disclosed by Wang, to provide space
between the yoke and the housing (Paragraph 0120).
The combination of Lim and Wang discloses at least one inner groove is disposed in a radial direction of the chamfered portion.
As to claim 22, the combination of Lim and Wang discloses the motor of claim 21, wherein two opposite ends of the yoke part are supported by the housing (Fig. 14 of Wang), and the portion between the two opposite portions supported by the housing are spaced apart from the housing (Fig. 14 of Wang), so that the contact area between the housing and the stator is reduced.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to ETHAN N VO whose telephone number is (571)270-7593. The examiner can
normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:30am - 5pm.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Christopher M Koehler can be reached on 571 272 3560. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199
(IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ETHAN NGUYEN VO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834