DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to claims filed on 03/30/2026. Claims 1-6, 8-12 and 14-19 are pending for evaluation.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 03/30/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 8 and 14 have been amended; Claims 7, 13 and 20 have been canceled. Claims 1-6, 8-12 and 14-19 remain pending for evaluation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1-6, 8-12 and 14-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, and 14 objected to because of the following informalities: The word “of” should be inserted between the words “sequence” and whether” in the limitation “wherein whether the target HARQ-ACK bit block is skipped is based on a sequence whether the target monitoring occasion is before or after the reference change occasion.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-12, 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi et al. (US 2024/0057108, previously presented), Yi hereinafter, in view of Zhou et al. (US 2021/0243763), Zhou hereinafter, and Yang et al. (US 2024/0056908).
Regarding Claim 14, Yi teaches a method for a user equipment (UE) in wireless communications, the method comprising (Fig. 22; Para. [0283]; Fig. 23; Paras. [0284-0288]; Fig. 24; Paras. [0289-0315]; Fig. 25; Paras. [0316-0324]; Fig. 26; Paras. [0325-0336]):
monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) associated with a configured serving cell in a target monitoring occasion, (Fig. 22; Para. [0282] - For example, a wireless device may determine a set of PDCCH monitoring occasions for one or more DCI format that may schedule a PDSCH reception or a SPS PDSCH release. The set of PDCCH monitoring occasions may comprise one or more monitoring occasions based on one or more search spaces of an active DL BWPs of configured serving cells. The one or more monitoring occasions may be indexed in an ascending order of a start time of a search space associated or determining a PDCCH monitoring occasion. A cardinality of the set of PDCCH monitoring occasions may be defined as a total number M of the one or more monitoring occasions. A value of a counter DAI field in one or more DCI formats may represent an accumulative number of {serving cell, PDCCH monitoring occasion}-pair(s) where PDSCH reception or SPS PDSCH release associated with the one or more DCI formats up to a current PDCCH monitoring occasion. A counter DAI value may be updated for each PDCCH monitoring occasion to indicate accumulative number of PDSCH receptions and/or SPS PDSCH release up to the each PDCCH monitoring occasion. When a wireless device may support more than a PDSCH reception per each PDCCH monitoring occasion (e.g., PDSCH-Numerber-perMOperCell is larger than 1), the wireless device may order one or more PDSCH reception starting time for a same {serving cell, PDCCH monitoring occasion} pair. The wireless device may then order PDCCH monitoring occasion or PDSCH receptions based on a serving cell index. The wireless device may then order PDCCH monitoring occasion index (based on a starting time of PDCCH monitoring occasion). When a wireless device is provided with ACKNACKFeedbackMode = JointFeedback, a first coreset pool index may be ordered first than a second coreset pool index for a same serving cell; See also Figs. 23-26, 28, 30-31 and Paras. [0283-0285, 0316, 0325-0327, 0340-0344, 0348, 0357, 0358]);
and transmitting a target hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ)-acknowledgment (ACK) bit block (Fig. 22; Para. [0283] - The wireless device may generate HARQ feedback bits for 3 bits, a first bit corresponding to the first DCI, a second bit for the second DCI and a third bit for the third DCI. The wireless device may transmit the HARQ feedback bits via the PUCCH; See also Figs. 23-26, 28, 30-31 and Paras. [0284-0288, 0289-0315, 0316-0324, 0325-0336]);
Yet, Yi does not expressly teach wherein a network energy saving configuration change comprises switching among multiple frequency-band resources within a same active bandwidth part (BWP) and wherein are reference change occasion comprises time occupied by the network energy saving configuration change.
However, Zhou teaches
wherein a network energy saving configuration change comprises switching among multiple frequency-band resources within a same active bandwidth part (BWP) (Para. [0453] - In an example, a wireless device may switch from a normal function mode to a power saving mode in response to receiving a power saving signal/channel. The power saving signal/channel may be a reference signal (SSB/CSI-RS/DMRS), a DCI via a downlink control channel. In the power saving mode, compared with the normal function mode, the wireless device may employ operations comprising: reducing time duration of PDCCH monitoring; reducing search spaces sets/control resource sets of PDCCH monitoring; adapting DRX configuration parameters; transitioning SCell(s)/BWP(s) into dormant state; and/or reducing bandwidth of an active BWP (e.g., BWP switching) by one or more example embodiments of FIG. 21A, FIG. 21B, FIG. 21C, FIG. 26A, FIG. 26B, FIG. 27, FIG. 28 and/or FIG. 29. In the power saving mode, a base station and/or the wireless device may employ reduced number of antenna port(s)/layers/TRPs/panels for DL/UL data transmission, compared with the normal function mode; Fig. 28, Para. [0441-0447] - [0441] FIG. 28 shows an example embodiment of power saving mechanism. A base station (e.g., gNB in FIG. 28) may transmit to a wireless device (e.g., UE in FIG. 28), one or more RRC messages comprising first configuration parameters of a power saving (e.g., PS in FIG. 28) mode. [0442] In an example, the first configuration parameters may indicate one or more PS parameters of a plurality of power saving modes. The one or more PS parameters of a first power saving mode (e.g., PS mode 1 as shown in FIG. 28) may indicate at least one of: one or more first search spaces and/or one or more first control resource sets (e.g., SS1/CORESET1 in FIG. 28); one or more first DCI formats (e.g., DCI format 0-0, 1-0, or any other DCI format); and/or one or more first PS signal parameters (e.g., PS signal format; periodicity; time/frequency location). The one or more PS parameters of a second power saving mode (e.g., PS mode 2 as shown in FIG. 28) may indicate at least one of: one or more second search spaces and/or one or more second control resource sets (e.g., SS1/CORESET1 and SS2/CORESET2 as shown in FIG. 28); one or more second DCI formats; and/or one or more second PS signal parameters. [0443] In an example, the one or more RRC messages may further comprise second configuration parameters indicating one or more third search spaces and one or more third control resource sets (e.g., SS1/CORESET1, SS2/CORSET2 . . . , and SSn/CORESETn as shown in FIG. 28); one or more third DCI formats…[0445] As shown in FIG. 28, the wireless device may communicate with the base station in the full function mode. The base station may transmit to the wireless device, a first DCI (e.g., 1.sup.st DCI in FIG. 28) indicating enabling a first power saving mode (e.g., PS mode 1 as shown in FIG. 28), e.g., when a data service is suitable for the first PS mode, or the wireless device may work in the first PS mode. The first DCI may be transmitted with a first DCI format (e.g., one of DCI formats 0-0/0-1, 1-0/1-1, or 2-0/2-1/2-2/2-3 already defined in 3GPP NR specifications) or a second DCI format (e.g., a new DCI format to be defined in future). In response to receiving the first DCI, the wireless device may enable (or activate) the first PS mode and/or switch to the first PS mode from the full function mode. In an example, as shown in FIG. 28, in the first PS mode, the wireless device may monitor a first PDCCH for at least one DCI with the one or more first DCI formats, on the one or more first search spaces of the one or more first control resource sets (e.g., SS1/CORESET1 as shown in FIG. 28). In the first PS mode, the wireless device may monitor the PS signal according to the one or more first PS signal parameters. In the first PS mode, the wireless device may not monitor PDCCHs on the one or more second search spaces of the one or more second control resource sets. In the first PS mode, the wireless device may not monitor PDCCHs on the one or more third search spaces of the one or more third control resource sets. [0446] Similarly, as shown in FIG. 28, the base station may transmit to the wireless device, a second DCI (e.g., 2.sup.nd DCI in FIG. 28) indicating enabling (or activating) a second PS mode. (e.g., PS mode 2 as shown in FIG. 28). In response to receiving the second DCI, the wireless device may enable (or activate) the second PS mode and/or switch to the second PS mode from the first PS mode. In an example, as shown in FIG. 28, in the second PS mode, the wireless device may monitor a second PDCCH for at least one DCI with the one or more second DCI formats, on the one or more second search spaces of the one or more second control resource sets (e.g., SS1/CORESET1, SS2/CORESET2 as shown in FIG. 28). In the second PS mode, the wireless device may monitor the PS signal according to the one or more second PS signal parameters. In the second PS mode, the wireless device may not monitor PDCCHs on the one or more first search spaces of the one or more first control resource sets. In the second PS mode, the wireless device may not monitor PDCCHs on the one or more third search spaces of the one or more third control resource sets; See Also Fig. 10, Para. [0276-0289]; Fig. 21A-C, Para. [0360-0370]; Fig. 22, Para. [0371-0385]; Fig. 23, Para. [0386-0404]; Fig. 24, Para. [0405-0426]; Fig. 25, Para. [0427-0428]; Fig. 26A-B, Para. [0429-0433]; Fig. 27, Para. [0434-0440]; Fig. 28, Para. [0441-0447]; Fig. 29, Para. [0448-0460]; Fig. 30, Para. [0461-0465]; Fig. 31, Para. [0466-0468]; Fig. 32, Para. [0469-0470]; Fig. 33, Para. [0471-0473]; Fig. 34, Para. [0474-0479]; Fig. 35, Para. [0480-0484]; Fig. 36, Para. [0485]; Fig. 37, Para. [0486-0496]; Fig. 38, Para. [0497-0498]; Fig. 39A-C, Para. [0499-0501]; Fig. 40, Para. [0502])
Examiner’s Note: Zhou teaches the claimed switching among multiple frequency-band resources within the same active BWP because Zhou configures different power-saving modes with different PDCCH monitoring search spaces/CORESETs, e.g., PS mode 1 using SS1/CORESET1 and PS mode 2 using SS1/CORESET1 and SS2/CORESET2 (Fig. 28, Para. [0441-446]). Zhou further teaches that CORESETs/search spaces are configured within an active DL BWP (Fig. 10, Para. [0276-282]. Thus, switching between Zhou’s power-saving modes changes the PDCCH frequency-domain monitoring resources within the same active BWP.
wherein are reference change occasion comprises time occupied by the network energy saving configuration change (Fig. 28, Para. [0441-0447]; See Also Fig. 10, Para. [0276-0289]; Fig. 21A-C, Para. [0360-0370]; Fig. 22, Para. [0371-0385]; Fig. 23, Para. [0386-0404]; Fig. 24, Para. [0405-0426]; Fig. 25, Para. [0427-0428]; Fig. 26A-B, Para. [0429-0433]; Fig. 27, Para. [0434-0440]; Fig. 28, Para. [0441-0447]; Fig. 29, Para. [0448-0460]; Fig. 30, Para. [0461-0465]; Fig. 31, Para. [0466-0468]; Fig. 32, Para. [0469-0470]; Fig. 33, Para. [0471-0473]; Fig. 34, Para. [0474-0479]; Fig. 35, Para. [0480-0484]; Fig. 36, Para. [0485]; Fig. 37, Para. [0486-0496]; Fig. 38, Para. [0497-0498]; Fig. 39A-C, Para. [0499-0501]; Fig. 40, Para. [0502])
Examiner’s Note: Zhou teaches that a base station configures power-saving parameters for a plurality of power-saving modes, and that DCIs may switch the UE from a full function mode into PS mode 1 and PS mode 2, each associated with different PDCCH monitoring search spaces/CORESETs. As shown in Fig. 28, the UE operates in each power-saving mode over a corresponding time interval before being switched to another mode or to full function mode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yi’s invention of methods for transmitting DCI indicating resources of a plurality of cells and receiving corresponding feedback bits (Yi §Abstract) with Zhou’s invention of “a wireless device applying a confirmation mechanism for a reception of a DCI via the power saving signal/channel, in response to determining that the DCI indicates a power saving operation based on the DCI being of an existing DCI format with one or more fields being set to a predefined value” (Zhou Para. [0458]) because Zhou’s invention provides solutions such that “a base station and/or a wireless device may control power consumption appropriately according to whether the wireless device is working in power saving mode or in full function mode” (Zhou Para. [0452]) and “may improve signaling overhead of the base station and/or reduce power saving of state transition(s) and processing complexity of the wireless device for supporting power saving operation(s)” (Zhou Para. [0456]).
Yet, Yi nor Zhou teach and wherein whether the target HARQ-ACK bit block is skipped is based on a sequence whether the target monitoring occasion is before or after the reference change occasion.
However, Yang teaches
and wherein whether the target HARQ-ACK bit block is skipped is based on a sequence whether the target monitoring occasion is before or after the reference change occasion (Fig. 3, Para. [0120-0130] - [0125] In some examples, the UE may determine whether to include feedback information for a PDSCH 315 received prior to a BWP switch based on a mode of cell switching (e.g., semi-static cell switching or dynamic cell switching). For example, the UE may be configured with dynamic PUCCH cell switching. For a PDSCH 315-a scheduled in slot n (e.g., slot 0) with a corresponding feedback message scheduled in slot n+K1 (e.g., slot 7), if there is a BWP switch in a cell X (e.g., another cell 310) after slot n and before slot n+K1, then the UE may not include the feedback information corresponding to the PDSCH 315-a in the feedback transmission if the feedback transmission is scheduled on cell X. In other words, whether the UE includes the feedback information corresponding to the PDSCH in the feedback transmission only depends on whether there is an uplink cell switch on a target PUCCH cell (e.g., the cell 310-b) for the PUCCH transmission (e.g., but does not depend on whether there is an uplink cell switch on any other cell 310). In some examples, the UE may determine whether to transmit feedback information based on whether the BWP switch occurs on the PCell or the SCell, whether the feedback message is scheduled on the PCell or the SCell, or both (e.g., if the UE is configured with dynamic scheduled cell switching). In an examples, the UE may drop feedback information from a feedback codebook if the uplink BWP switch occurs on the same cell as the target PUCCH cell (e.g., the cell on which the PUCCH is scheduled); See Also Fig. 2, Para. [0113-0119]; Fig. 3, Para. [0120-0130]; Fig. 4, Para. [0131-0137]; Fig. 5, Para. [0138-0144]; Fig. 6, Para. [0145-0154]; Fig. 15, Para. [0240-0243]; Fig. 16, Para. [0244-0248]; Fig. 17, Para. [0249-0252]; Fig. 18, Para. [0253-0257]; Para. [0258-0311] ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide and wherein whether the target HARQ-ACK bit block is skipped is based on a sequence whether the target monitoring occasion is before or after the reference change occasion as taught by Yang, in the combined system of Yi/Zhou, so that it would provide “improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support feedback codebook construction for control channel carrier switching” (Yang Para. [0003]).
Regarding Claim 1, Yi teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communications, comprising (Fig. 1B, elements 156A and 156B; Para. [0058]; Fig. 15, element 1502; Paras. [0208-0216]):
a receiver (Fig. 15, element 1522; Paras. [0212, 0214]),
configured to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) associated with a configured serving cell in a target monitoring occasion, t (Fig. 22; Para. [0282]; See also Figs. 23-26, 28, 30-31 and Paras. [0284-0285, 0316, 0325-0327, 0340-0344, 0348, 0357, 0358]);
and a transmitter (Fig. 15, element 1520; Paras. [0211, 0214]),
configured to transmit a target a hybrid automated request (HARQ)-acknowledgement (ACK) bit block (Fig. 22; Para. [0283]; See also Figs. 23-26, 28, 30-31 and Paras. [0284-0288, 0289-0315, 0316-0324, 0325-0336]);
Yet, Yi does not expressly teach wherein a network energy saving configuration change comprises switching among multiple frequency-band resources within a same active bandwidth part (BWP) and wherein are reference change occasion comprises time occupied by the network energy saving configuration change.
However, Zhou teaches
wherein a network energy saving configuration change comprises switching among multiple frequency-band resources within a same active bandwidth part (BWP) (Para. [0453]; Fig. 28, Para. [0441-0447]; See Also Fig. 10, Para. [0276-0289]; Fig. 21A-C, Para. [0360-0370]; Fig. 22, Para. [0371-0385]; Fig. 23, Para. [0386-0404]; Fig. 24, Para. [0405-0426]; Fig. 25, Para. [0427-0428]; Fig. 26A-B, Para. [0429-0433]; Fig. 27, Para. [0434-0440]; Fig. 28, Para. [0441-0447]; Fig. 29, Para. [0448-0460]; Fig. 30, Para. [0461-0465]; Fig. 31, Para. [0466-0468]; Fig. 32, Para. [0469-0470]; Fig. 33, Para. [0471-0473]; Fig. 34, Para. [0474-0479]; Fig. 35, Para. [0480-0484]; Fig. 36, Para. [0485]; Fig. 37, Para. [0486-0496]; Fig. 38, Para. [0497-0498]; Fig. 39A-C, Para. [0499-0501]; Fig. 40, Para. [0502])
wherein are reference change occasion comprises time occupied by the network energy saving configuration change (Fig. 28, Para. [0441-0447]; See Also Fig. 10, Para. [0276-0289]; Fig. 21A-C, Para. [0360-0370]; Fig. 22, Para. [0371-0385]; Fig. 23, Para. [0386-0404]; Fig. 24, Para. [0405-0426]; Fig. 25, Para. [0427-0428]; Fig. 26A-B, Para. [0429-0433]; Fig. 27, Para. [0434-0440]; Fig. 28, Para. [0441-0447]; Fig. 29, Para. [0448-0460]; Fig. 30, Para. [0461-0465]; Fig. 31, Para. [0466-0468]; Fig. 32, Para. [0469-0470]; Fig. 33, Para. [0471-0473]; Fig. 34, Para. [0474-0479]; Fig. 35, Para. [0480-0484]; Fig. 36, Para. [0485]; Fig. 37, Para. [0486-0496]; Fig. 38, Para. [0497-0498]; Fig. 39A-C, Para. [0499-0501]; Fig. 40, Para. [0502])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yi’s invention of methods for transmitting DCI indicating resources of a plurality of cells and receiving corresponding feedback bits (Yi §Abstract) with Zhou’s invention of “a wireless device applying a confirmation mechanism for a reception of a DCI via the power saving signal/channel, in response to determining that the DCI indicates a power saving operation based on the DCI being of an existing DCI format with one or more fields being set to a predefined value” (Zhou Para. [0458]) because Zhou’s invention provides solutions such that “a base station and/or a wireless device may control power consumption appropriately according to whether the wireless device is working in power saving mode or in full function mode” (Zhou Para. [0452]) and “may improve signaling overhead of the base station and/or reduce power saving of state transition(s) and processing complexity of the wireless device for supporting power saving operation(s)” (Zhou Para. [0456]).
Yet, Yi nor Zhou teach and wherein whether the target HARQ-ACK bit block is skipped is based on a sequence whether the target monitoring occasion is before or after the reference change occasion.
However, Yang teaches
and wherein whether the target HARQ-ACK bit block is skipped is based on a sequence whether the target monitoring occasion is before or after the reference change occasion (Fig. 3, Para. [0120-0130]; See Also Fig. 2, Para. [0113-0119]; Fig. 3, Para. [0120-0130]; Fig. 4, Para. [0131-0137]; Fig. 5, Para. [0138-0144]; Fig. 6, Para. [0145-0154]; Fig. 15, Para. [0240-0243]; Fig. 16, Para. [0244-0248]; Fig. 17, Para. [0249-0252]; Fig. 18, Para. [0253-0257]; Para. [0258-0311] ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide and wherein whether the target HARQ-ACK bit block is skipped is based on a sequence whether the target monitoring occasion is before or after the reference change occasion as taught by Yang, in the combined system of Yi/Zhou, so that it would provide “improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support feedback codebook construction for control channel carrier switching” (Yang Para. [0003]).
Regarding Claim 8, Yi teaches a base station for wireless communications, comprising (Fig. 1B, elements 160A and 160B; Paras. [0063-0066]; Fig. 15, element 1504; Paras. [0208-0216]):
a transmitter (Fig. 15, element 1510; Paras. [0211, 0214]),
configured to transmit a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) associated with a target serving cell in a target monitoring occasion, (Fig. 22; Para. [0282]; See also Figs. 23-26, 28, 30-31 and Paras. [0284-0285, 0316, 0325-0327, 0340-0344, 0348, 0357, 0358]);
and a receiver (Fig. 15, element 1512; Paras. [0212, 0214]),
configured to receive a target hybrid automated repeat request (HARQ)-acknowledgment (ACK) bit block (Fig. 22; Para. [0283]; See also Figs. 23-26, 28, 30-31 and Paras. [0284-0288, 0289-0315, 0316-0324, 0325-0336]);
Yet, Yi does not expressly teach wherein a network energy saving configuration change comprises a change in frequency-band resources within a same active bandwidth part (BWP) and wherein a reference change occasion comprises time occupied by the network energy saving configuration change.
However, Zhou teaches
wherein a network energy saving configuration change comprises switching among multiple frequency-band resources within a same active bandwidth part (BWP) (Para. [0453]; Fig. 28, Para. [0441-0447]; See Also Fig. 10, Para. [0276-0289]; Fig. 21A-C, Para. [0360-0370]; Fig. 22, Para. [0371-0385]; Fig. 23, Para. [0386-0404]; Fig. 24, Para. [0405-0426]; Fig. 25, Para. [0427-0428]; Fig. 26A-B, Para. [0429-0433]; Fig. 27, Para. [0434-0440]; Fig. 28, Para. [0441-0447]; Fig. 29, Para. [0448-0460]; Fig. 30, Para. [0461-0465]; Fig. 31, Para. [0466-0468]; Fig. 32, Para. [0469-0470]; Fig. 33, Para. [0471-0473]; Fig. 34, Para. [0474-0479]; Fig. 35, Para. [0480-0484]; Fig. 36, Para. [0485]; Fig. 37, Para. [0486-0496]; Fig. 38, Para. [0497-0498]; Fig. 39A-C, Para. [0499-0501]; Fig. 40, Para. [0502])
wherein are reference change occasion comprises time occupied by the network energy saving configuration change (Fig. 28, Para. [0441-0447]; See Also Fig. 10, Para. [0276-0289]; Fig. 21A-C, Para. [0360-0370]; Fig. 22, Para. [0371-0385]; Fig. 23, Para. [0386-0404]; Fig. 24, Para. [0405-0426]; Fig. 25, Para. [0427-0428]; Fig. 26A-B, Para. [0429-0433]; Fig. 27, Para. [0434-0440]; Fig. 28, Para. [0441-0447]; Fig. 29, Para. [0448-0460]; Fig. 30, Para. [0461-0465]; Fig. 31, Para. [0466-0468]; Fig. 32, Para. [0469-0470]; Fig. 33, Para. [0471-0473]; Fig. 34, Para. [0474-0479]; Fig. 35, Para. [0480-0484]; Fig. 36, Para. [0485]; Fig. 37, Para. [0486-0496]; Fig. 38, Para. [0497-0498]; Fig. 39A-C, Para. [0499-0501]; Fig. 40, Para. [0502])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yi’s invention of methods for transmitting DCI indicating resources of a plurality of cells and receiving corresponding feedback bits (Yi §Abstract) with Zhou’s invention of “a wireless device applying a confirmation mechanism for a reception of a DCI via the power saving signal/channel, in response to determining that the DCI indicates a power saving operation based on the DCI being of an existing DCI format with one or more fields being set to a predefined value” (Zhou Para. [0458]) because Zhou’s invention provides solutions such that “a base station and/or a wireless device may control power consumption appropriately according to whether the wireless device is working in power saving mode or in full function mode” (Zhou Para. [0452]) and “may improve signaling overhead of the base station and/or reduce power saving of state transition(s) and processing complexity of the wireless device for supporting power saving operation(s)” (Zhou Para. [0456]).
Yet, Yi nor Zhou teach and wherein whether the target HARQ-ACK bit block is skipped is based on a sequence whether the target monitoring occasion is before or after the reference change occasion.
However, Yang teaches
and wherein whether the target HARQ-ACK bit block is skipped is based on a sequence whether the target monitoring occasion is before or after the reference change occasion (Fig. 3, Para. [0120-0130]; See Also Fig. 2, Para. [0113-0119]; Fig. 3, Para. [0120-0130]; Fig. 4, Para. [0131-0137]; Fig. 5, Para. [0138-0144]; Fig. 6, Para. [0145-0154]; Fig. 15, Para. [0240-0243]; Fig. 16, Para. [0244-0248]; Fig. 17, Para. [0249-0252]; Fig. 18, Para. [0253-0257]; Para. [0258-0311] ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide and wherein whether the target HARQ-ACK bit block is skipped is based on a sequence whether the target monitoring occasion is before or after the reference change occasion as taught by Yang, in the combined system of Yi/Zhou, so that it would provide “improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support feedback codebook construction for control channel carrier switching” (Yang Para. [0003]).
Figure 1: Fig. 22 from Yi et al. (US 2024/0057108)
Regarding Claims 2 and 9, Yi in view of Zhou and Yang teaches Claims 1 and 8.
Yi also teaches
wherein a process of determining the target HARQ-ACK bit block includes skipping a generation of HARQ-ACK bit(s) corresponding to the target serving cell based on the sequence between the target monitoring occasion and the reference change occasion (Para. [0283] - The wireless device may determine a missed DCI (e.g. the second DCI) based on a DAI value of the third DCI. The wireless device may generate NACK for a third PDSCH or a third SPS PDSCH release based on the second DCI as the wireless device may not receive the third PDSCH or the third SPS PDSCH release; Para. [0328] - For example, when the wireless device misses the first multi-cell DCI in FIG. 26, the wireless device may skip generating one or more HARQ-ACK bits corresponding to the first multi-cell DCI. The wireless device may generate 1 HARQ-ACK bit corresponding to the first DCI and then generate 1 HARQ-ACK bit corresponding to the second DCI. The wireless device may generate two NACK bits corresponding to the first cell as the C-DAI/DAI value of the second DCI is 3. When the wireless device misses the multi-cell DCI, the wireless device may not differentiate whether the wireless device misses a multi-cell DCI or two single-cell DCIs scheduling resources for the first cell. The wireless device may generate two NACKs correspondingly).
Regarding Claim 15, Yi in view of Zhou and Yang teaches Claim 14.
Yi also teaches
determining the target HARQ-ACK bit block[[:]] including, for the target monitoring occasion, determining whether to skip generating HARQ- ACK bit(s) corresponding to the target serving cell based on the sequence between the target monitoring occasion and the reference change occasion (Para. [0283]).
Regarding Claim 6, Yi in view of Zhou and Yang teaches Claim 2.
Yi also teaches
wherein the first receiver is further configured to receive an Information Element (IE) BWP-Downlink to configure the same active BWP or, receive an IE BWP-Uplink to configure the same active BWP (Paras. [0124-0127] - [0124] For a downlink BWP in a set of configured downlink BWPs on a primary cell (PCell), a base station may configure a UE with one or more control resource sets (CORESETs) for at least one search space. A search space is a set of locations in the time and frequency domains where the UE may find control information. The search space may be a UE-specific search space or a common search space (potentially usable by a plurality of UEs). For example, a base station may configure a UE with a common search space, on a PCell or on a primary secondary cell (PSCell), in an active downlink BWP. [0125] For an uplink BWP in a set of configured uplink BWPs, a BS may configure a UE with one or more resource sets for one or more PUCCH transmissions. A UE may receive downlink receptions (e.g., PDCCH or PDSCH) in a downlink BWP according to a configured numerology (e.g., subcarrier spacing and cyclic prefix duration) for the downlink BWP. The UE may transmit uplink transmissions (e.g., PUCCH or PUSCH) in an uplink BWP according to a configured numerology (e.g., subcarrier spacing and cyclic prefix length for the uplink BWP). [0126] One or more BWP indicator fields may be provided in Downlink Control Information (DCI). A value of a BWP indicator field may indicate which BWP in a set of configured BWPs is an active downlink BWP for one or more downlink receptions. The value of the one or more BWP indicator fields may indicate an active uplink BWP for one or more uplink transmissions. [0127] A base station may semi-statically configure a UE with a default downlink BWP within a set of configured downlink BWPs associated with a PCell. If the base station does not provide the default downlink BWP to the UE, the default downlink BWP may be an initial active downlink BWP. The UE may determine which BWP is the initial active downlink BWP based on a CORESET configuration obtained using the PBCH).
The examiner interprets a PDCCH as an information element within a BWP downlink.
Regarding Claims 12 and 19, Yi in view of Zhou and Yang teaches Claims 9 and 15.
Yi also teaches
wherein an information element (IE) BWP-Downlink or an IE BWP-Uplink are used to configure the same active BWP (Paras. [0124-0127]).
Regarding Claim 3, Yi in view of Zhou and Yang teaches Claim 1.
Yi also teaches
wherein when the sequence comprises that the target monitoring occasion is before the reference change occasion; a generation of HARQ-ACK bit(s) corresponding to the target serving cell is skipped (Para. [0328] - For example, when the wireless device misses the first multi-cell DCI in FIG. 26, the wireless device may skip generating one or more HARQ-ACK bits corresponding to the first multi-cell DCI. The wireless device may generate 1 HARQ-ACK bit corresponding to the first DCI and then generate 1 HARQ-ACK bit corresponding to the second DCI. The wireless device may generate two NACK bits corresponding to the first cell as the C-DAI/DAI value of the second DCI is 3. When the wireless device misses the multi-cell DCI, the wireless device may not differentiate whether the wireless device misses a multi-cell DCI or two single-cell DCIs scheduling resources for the first cell. The wireless device may generate two NACKs correspondingly).
Regarding Claim 16, Yi in view of Zhou and Yang teaches Claim 14.
Yi also teaches
determining the target HARQ-ACK bit block[[:]] for the target monitoring occasion, including skipping [[a]] generation of HARQ- ACK bit(s) corresponding to the target serving cell (Para. [0328] - For example, when the wireless device misses the first multi-cell DCI in FIG. 26, the wireless device may skip generating one or more HARQ-ACK bits corresponding to the first multi-cell DCI. The wireless device may generate 1 HARQ-ACK bit corresponding to the first DCI and then generate 1 HARQ-ACK bit corresponding to the second DCI. The wireless device may generate two NACK bits corresponding to the first cell as the C-DAI/DAI value of the second DCI is 3. When the wireless device misses the multi-cell DCI, the wireless device may not differentiate whether the wireless device misses a multi-cell DCI or two single-cell DCIs scheduling resources for the first cell. The wireless device may generate two NACKs correspondingly).
Regarding Claim 10, Yi in view of Zhou and Yang teaches Claim 8.
Yi also teaches
wherein when the sequence comprises that the target monitoring occasion is before the reference change occasion generation of HARQ-ACK bit(s) corresponding to the target serving cell is skipped; (Para. [0328] - For example, when the wireless device misses the first multi-cell DCI in FIG. 26, the wireless device may skip generating one or more HARQ-ACK bits corresponding to the first multi-cell DCI. The wireless device may generate 1 HARQ-ACK bit corresponding to the first DCI and then generate 1 HARQ-ACK bit corresponding to the second DCI. The wireless device may generate two NACK bits corresponding to the first cell as the C-DAI/DAI value of the second DCI is 3. When the wireless device misses the multi-cell DCI, the wireless device may not differentiate whether the wireless device misses a multi-cell DCI or two single-cell DCIs scheduling resources for the first cell. The wireless device may generate two NACKs correspondingly).
Regarding Claim 4, Yi in view of Zhou and Yang teaches Claim 1.
Yi also teaches
wherein a first condition set comprises the sequence that the target monitoring occasion is before the reference change occasion, and a second condition set comprises at least one condition related to the target monitoring occasion; wherein, in a process of determining the target HARQ-ACK bit block: for the target monitoring occasion: if the first condition set is satisfied or any condition in the second condition set is satisfied the process includes skipping a generation of HARQ-ACK bit(s) corresponding to the target serving cell, otherwise the process includes generating at least one HARQ-ACK bit corresponding to the target serving cell (Para. [0283] - In an example, a value of a total DAI may denote/represent a total number of {serving, PDCCH monitoring occasion}-pair(s) up to a current PDCCH monitoring occasion across one or more serving cells. FIG. 22 illustrates an example of a counter-DAI (C-DAI or DAI) and a total DAI (T-DAI) when a wireless device is configured with a single serving cell. For example, the wireless device may determine a first monitoring occasion (a left box), a second monitoring occasion (a middle box) and a third monitoring occasion (a right box) in FIG. 22. The wireless device may be scheduled/received DCI(s) based on one or more DCI formats via monitoring occasions (e.g., the first monitoring occasion, the second monitoring occasion, the third monitoring occasion). For example, the wireless device may receive a first DCI (DCI 1) via the first monitoring occasion where the first DCI indicates a DAI=1 and a T-DAI=1. The wireless device may receive a third DCI (DCI 3) via the third monitoring occasion where the third DCI indicates a DAI=3 and a T-DAI=3. The first DCI and the third DCI may indicate a same PUCCH resource for HARQ feedback. The wireless device may generate a first HARQ feedback bit for a PDSCH or a SPS PDSCH release scheduled by the first DCI. The wireless device may generate a third HARQ feedback bit for a second PDSCH or a second SPS PDSCH release by the third DCI. The wireless device may not receive successfully a second DCI via the second monitoring occasion. The wireless device may determine a missed DCI (e.g. the second DCI) based on a DAI value of the third DCI. The wireless device may generate NACK for a third PDSCH or a third SPS PDSCH release based on the second DCI as the wireless device may not receive the third PDSCH or the third SPS PDSCH release. The wireless device may generate HARQ feedback bits for 3 bits, a first bit corresponding to the first DCI, a second bit for the second DCI and a third bit for the third DCI. The wireless device may transmit the HARQ feedback bits via the PUCCH).
The examiner interprets the UE reception of DCI as a condition for generation of a HARQ-ACK bit.
Regarding Claim 17, Yi in view of Zhou and Yang teaches Claim 14.
Yi also teaches
determining the target HARQ -ACK bit block for the target monitoring occasion based on a first condition and a second condition set; wherein [[a]] the first condition comprises that the target monitoring occasion is before the reference change occasion, and wherein the [[a]] second condition set comprises at least one condition related to the target monitoring occasion; and wherein if first condition is satisfied or any condition in the second condition set is satisfied, the determination includes skipping [[a]] generation of HARQ-ACK bit(s) corresponding to the target serving cell, otherwise generating at least one HARQ-ACK bit corresponding to the target serving cell. (Para. [0283] - In an example, a value of a total DAI may denote/represent a total number of {serving, PDCCH monitoring occasion}-pair(s) up to a current PDCCH monitoring occasion across one or more serving cells. FIG. 22 illustrates an example of a counter-DAI (C-DAI or DAI) and a total DAI (T-DAI) when a wireless device is configured with a single serving cell. For example, the wireless device may determine a first monitoring occasion (a left box), a second monitoring occasion (a middle box) and a third monitoring occasion (a right box) in FIG. 22. The wireless device may be scheduled/received DCI(s) based on one or more DCI formats via monitoring occasions (e.g., the first monitoring occasion, the second monitoring occasion, the third monitoring occasion). For example, the wireless device may receive a first DCI (DCI 1) via the first monitoring occasion where the first DCI indicates a DAI=1 and a T-DAI=1. The wireless device may receive a third DCI (DCI 3) via the third monitoring occasion where the third DCI indicates a DAI=3 and a T-DAI=3. The first DCI and the third DCI may indicate a same PUCCH resource for HARQ feedback. The wireless device may generate a first HARQ feedback bit for a PDSCH or a SPS PDSCH release scheduled by the first DCI. The wireless device may generate a third HARQ feedback bit for a second PDSCH or a second SPS PDSCH release by the third DCI. The wireless device may not receive successfully a second DCI via the second monitoring occasion. The wireless device may determine a missed DCI (e.g. the second DCI) based on a DAI value of the third DCI. The wireless device may generate NACK for a third PDSCH or a third SPS PDSCH release based on the second DCI as the wireless device may not receive the third PDSCH or the third SPS PDSCH release. The wireless device may generate HARQ feedback bits for 3 bits, a first bit corresponding to the first DCI, a second bit for the second DCI and a third bit for the third DCI. The wireless device may transmit the HARQ feedback bits via the PUCCH).
The examiner interprets the UE reception of DCI as a condition for generation of a HARQ-ACK bit.
Regarding Claim 5, Yi in view of Zhou and Yang teaches Claim 1.
Yi also teaches
wherein the target HARQ-ACK bit block includes at least one HARQ-ACK bit if the at least one HARQ-ACK bit is generated for the target monitoring occasion in [[the]] a process of determining the target HARQ-ACK bit block (Para. [0283] - In an example, a value of a total DAI may denote/represent a total number of {serving, PDCCH monitoring occasion}-pair(s) up to a current PDCCH monitoring occasion across one or more serving cells. FIG. 22 illustrates an example of a counter-DAI (C-DAI or DAI) and a total DAI (T-DAI) when a wireless device is configured with a single serving cell. For example, the wireless device may determine a first monitoring occasion (a left box), a second monitoring occasion (a middle box) and a third monitoring occasion (a right box) in FIG. 22. The wireless device may be scheduled/received DCI(s) based on one or more DCI formats via monitoring occasions (e.g., the first monitoring occasion, the second monitoring occasion, the third monitoring occasion). For example, the wireless device may receive a first DCI (DCI 1) via the first monitoring occasion where the first DCI indicates a DAI=1 and a T-DAI=1. The wireless device may receive a third DCI (DCI 3) via the third monitoring occasion where the third DCI indicates a DAI=3 and a T-DAI=3. The first DCI and the third DCI may indicate a same PUCCH resource for HARQ feedback. The wireless device may generate a first HARQ feedback bit for a PDSCH or a SPS PDSCH release scheduled by the first DCI. The wireless device may generate a third HARQ feedback bit for a second PDSCH or a second SPS PDSCH release by the third DCI. The wireless device may not receive successfully a second DCI via the second monitoring occasion. The wireless device may determine a missed DCI (e.g. the second DCI) based on a DAI value of the third DCI. The wireless device may generate NACK for a third PDSCH or a third SPS PDSCH release based on the second DCI as the wireless device may not receive the third PDSCH or the third SPS PDSCH release. The wireless device may generate HARQ feedback bits for 3 bits, a first bit corresponding to the first DCI, a second bit for the second DCI and a third bit for the third DCI. The wireless device may transmit the HARQ feedback bits via the PUCCH).
Regarding Claim 11, Yi in view of Zhou and Yang teaches Claim 8.
Yi also teaches
wherein [[if]] at least one HARQ-ACK bit corresponding to the target serving cell is generated or skipped for the target monitoring occasion based on the sequence (Para. [0283] - In an example, a value of a total DAI may denote/represent a total number of {serving, PDCCH monitoring occasion}-pair(s) up to a current PDCCH monitoring occasion across one or more serving cells. FIG. 22 illustrates an example of a counter-DAI (C-DAI or DAI) and a total DAI (T-DAI) when a wireless device is configured with a single serving cell. For example, the wireless device may determine a first monitoring occasion (a left box), a second monitoring occasion (a middle box) and a third monitoring occasion (a right box) in FIG. 22. The wireless device may be scheduled/received DCI(s) based on one or more DCI formats via monitoring occasions (e.g., the first monitoring occasion, the second monitoring occasion, the third monitoring occasion). For example, the wireless device may receive a first DCI (DCI 1) via the first monitoring occasion where the first DCI indicates a DAI=1 and a T-DAI=1. The wireless device may receive a third DCI (DCI 3) via the third monitoring occasion where the third DCI indicates a DAI=3 and a T-DAI=3. The first DCI and the third DCI may indicate a same PUCCH resource for HARQ feedback. The wireless device may generate a first HARQ feedback bit for a PDSCH or a SPS PDSCH release scheduled by the first DCI. The wireless device may generate a third HARQ feedback bit for a second PDSCH or a second SPS PDSCH release by the third DCI. The wireless device may not receive successfully a second DCI via the second monitoring occasion. The wireless device may determine a missed DCI (e.g. the second DCI) based on a DAI value of the third DCI. The wireless device may generate NACK for a third PDSCH or a third SPS PDSCH release based on the second DCI as the wireless device may not receive the third PDSCH or the third SPS PDSCH release. The wireless device may generate HARQ feedback bits for 3 bits, a first bit corresponding to the first DCI, a second bit for the second DCI and a third bit for the third DCI. The wireless device may transmit the HARQ feedback bits via the PUCCH).
Regarding Claim 18, Yi in view of Zhou and Yang teaches Claim 14.
Yi also teaches
wherein if at least one HARQ-ACK bit corresponding to the target serving cell is generated for the target monitoring occasion in the process of determining the target HARQ-ACK bit block, the target HARQ-ACK bit block comprises the at least one HARQ-ACK bit corresponding to the target serving cell for the target monitoring occasion (Para. [0283] - In an example, a value of a total DAI may denote/represent a total number of {serving, PDCCH monitoring occasion}-pair(s) up to a current PDCCH monitoring occasion across one or more serving cells. FIG. 22 illustrates an example of a counter-DAI (C-DAI or DAI) and a total DAI (T-DAI) when a wireless device is configured with a single serving cell. For example, the wireless device may determine a first monitoring occasion (a left box), a second monitoring occasion (a middle box) and a third monitoring occasion (a right box) in FIG. 22. The wireless device may be scheduled/received DCI(s) based on one or more DCI formats via monitoring occasions (e.g., the first monitoring occasion, the second monitoring occasion, the third monitoring occasion). For example, the wireless device may receive a first DCI (DCI 1) via the first monitoring occasion where the first DCI indicates a DAI=1 and a T-DAI=1. The wireless device may receive a third DCI (DCI 3) via the third monitoring occasion where the third DCI indicates a DAI=3 and a T-DAI=3. The first DCI and the third DCI may indicate a same PUCCH resource for HARQ feedback. The wireless device may generate a first HARQ feedback bit for a PDSCH or a SPS PDSCH release scheduled by the first DCI. The wireless device may generate a third HARQ feedback bit for a second PDSCH or a second SPS PDSCH release by the third DCI. The wireless device may not receive successfully a second DCI via the second monitoring occasion. The wireless device may determine a missed DCI (e.g. the second DCI) based on a DAI value of the third DCI. The wireless device may generate NACK for a third PDSCH or a third SPS PDSCH release based on the second DCI as the wireless device may not receive the third PDSCH or the third SPS PDSCH release. The wireless device may generate HARQ feedback bits for 3 bits, a first bit corresponding to the first DCI, a second bit for the second DCI and a third bit for the third DCI. The wireless device may transmit the HARQ feedback bits via the PUCCH).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468