DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 1, filed 5/26/2026, with respect to the specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the specification has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1 and 2, filed 5/26/2026, with respect to the 35 USC 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-18 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 3-6, filed 5/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-18 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sen et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0334229). As noted by the applicant in their remarks, the independent claims were amended to further clarify the invention. Namely, the preambles recite that the evolved NodeB is a Master evolved NodeB (MeNB), which the UE is connected. Further, the preambles define that a secondary gNB (SgNB) is involved with the claimed features. Notably, Sen et al. teaches these new features, where a UE sends B1 measurement reports (including two PCI values, see ¶ 0044) to a MeNB. As noted in Fig. 4, the MeNB determines the SgNB has the best RSRP value and then sends an addition request to the SgNB to complete the handover (see ¶s 0045-0047). Further discussion of the reference and new prior art rejection is outlined below.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2 should recite “a user equipment (UE)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: line10 should recite “the UE”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim is directed toward an enhanced eNB (see line 1), where the eNB is further defined as a Master evolved NodeB (MeNB) (see line 2, preamble). The claim then uses these two acronyms interchangeably (see lines 8, 11, and 12) For the sake of consistency, appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 14 should recite the acronym, UE. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sen et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0334229) in view of ETSI (NPL, which was cited on the PTO-892 dated 2/26/2026).
As per claim 1, Sen et al. teach an enhanced NodeB (eNB), wherein the eNB is a master evolved NodeB (MeNB) in a wireless communication system [Sen, fig. 4, element 104] in which user equipment (UE) [Sen, fig. 4, element 102] is connected to the MeNB and a secondary gNB (SgNB) [Sen, fig. 4, element 106, See dual connectivity, ¶ 0002, and 5G NR NSA (non-stand alone, see ¶ 0003).], comprising:
a first interface configured to communicate the UE [Sen, Fig. 11 shows the structure of a MeNB, where the MeNB contains a receiving module for receiving measurement reports from the UE (see element 1102, ¶ 102).]; and
a control circuit coupled to the first interface [Sen, Fig. 11 shows the structure of a MeNB, where the MeNB contains a processing unit for performing the functions of the MeNB (see element 1110, ¶ 103).], the control circuit configured to:
configure at least one B1 parameter, including at least one threshold [Sen, ¶ 0004, “1. UE 102 sends a NR B1 Measurement Report to MeNB 104. The NR B1 Measurement Report contains NR cells satisfying a particular B1 threshold where this B1 threshold was previously sent by the MeNB 104 to UE 102 during the configuration of B1 measurement. Upon receipt of the NR B1 Measurement Report, the MeNB 104 prepares for Data Radio Bearer (DRB) reconfiguration and chooses a NR cell having the best RSRP (Reference Symbol Received Power or Reference Signal Received Power) to establish a SCG bearer”, Before a UE sends a B1 measurement report over an RRC connection, a MeNB will send a RRC connection configuration message, including a B1 threshold, to the UE for performing the measurements.]…
set the UE to report Event B1 NR readings to the eNB [Sen, ¶ 0004, “1. UE 102 sends a NR B1 Measurement Report to MeNB 104. The NR B1 Measurement Report contains NR cells satisfying a particular B1 threshold where this B1 threshold was previously sent by the MeNB 104 to UE 102 during the configuration of B1 measurement. Upon receipt of the NR B1 Measurement Report, the MeNB 104 prepares for Data Radio Bearer (DRB) reconfiguration and chooses a NR cell having the best RSRP (Reference Symbol Received Power or Reference Signal Received Power) to establish a SCG bearer”, Before a UE sends a B1 measurement report over an RRC connection, a MeNB will send a RRC connection configuration message, including a B1 threshold, to the UE for performing the measurements.];
receive event B1 NR reports from UE [Sen, ¶ 0045, “1. UE 102 sends B1 measurement report for two NR cells with Physical-layer Cell Identity (PCI) 9 and 10 to MeNB 104. These 2 NR cells are probable candidates for SgNB addition as RSRP level for these NR cells is above b1 threshold which is set to −109 dBm in the network which has been taken as a reference”, The UE sends B1 measurement reports, including RSRP levels and PCI (Physical Cell IDs) for two NR cells (see fig 4, step 1). See ¶ 0047 for description of the steps repeated.];
determine, at the MeNB, that a handover between cells is appropriate based on the Event B1 NR reports [Sen, ¶ 0046, “2. MeNB 104 sends SgNB addition request to SgNB 106 NR cell with PCI 10 as it is having best RSRP”, The MeNB selects the PCI with the best RSRP, as reported in the B1 measurement report. The SgNB addition request initiates the handover request. See ¶ 0047 for description of the steps repeated.]; and
initiate handover of the user equipment from a first cell to a second cell [Sen, ¶ 0046, “2. MeNB 104 sends SgNB addition request to SgNB 106 NR cell with PCI 10 as it is having best RSRP”, The MeNB selects the PCI with the best RSRP, as reported in the B1 measurement report. The SgNB addition request initiates the handover request. See ¶ 0047 for description of the steps repeated. As noted in claim 4, the interpretation may include an originating gNB and a target gNB being the same, so the single second base station (as gNB) will suffice to teach the claim.].
Sen et al. do not explicitly teach at least one B1 parameter, including at least one threshold and hysteresis, along with a report interval… receive B1 reports from UE according to an interval specified by the eNB.
However, in an analogous art, ETSI teaches at least one B1 parameter, including at least one threshold and hysteresis, along with a report interval…receive B1 reports from UE according to an interval specified by the eNB. [ETSI, pg. 804, eventB1, The ReportConfigInterRAT information element contains an eventB1. The eventB1 further includes a b1-ThresholdEUTRA parameter (or threshold), a hysteresis parameter, and an interval parameter (timeToTrigger). The threshold is used to determine whether to generate a measurement report, and the timeToTrigger is an interval to perform the measurement over for comparison to the threshold (see pg. 910). The ReportConfigInterRAT configures measurement reports (see pg. 806). See also section 5.5.4.8, pg. 207. Event B1 monitors for the condition where a neighbor becomes better than an absolute threshold (see pg. 803).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the B1 event definition of ETSI into Sen et al. One would have been motivated to do this because incorporating standard definitions of a B1 measurement report as taught by ETSI into a reference that utilizes the B1 measurement report messages can facilitate operations for handover from a MeNB to a SgNB (see Sen, ¶ 0002) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 2, Sen et al. in view of ETSI teach the eNB of claim 1. Sen et al. also teach wherein the control circuit is further configured to communicate with an originating gNB as part of the handover [Sen, ¶ 0046, “2. MeNB 104 sends SgNB addition request to SgNB 106 NR cell with PCI 10 as it is having best RSRP”, The MeNB selects the PCI with the best RSRP, as reported in the B1 measurement report. The SgNB addition request initiates the handover request. See ¶ 0047 for description of the steps repeated. As noted in claim 4, the interpretation may include an originating gNB and a target gNB being the same, so the single second base station (as gNB) will suffice to teach the claim.].
As per claim 3, Sen et al. in view of ETSI teach the eNB of claim 2. Sen et al. also teach wherein the control circuit is further configured to communicate with a target gNB as part of the handover [Sen, ¶ 0046, “2. MeNB 104 sends SgNB addition request to SgNB 106 NR cell with PCI 10 as it is having best RSRP”, The MeNB selects the PCI with the best RSRP, as reported in the B1 measurement report. The SgNB addition request initiates the handover request. See ¶ 0047 for description of the steps repeated. As noted in claim 4, the interpretation may include an originating gNB and a target gNB being the same, so the single second base station (as gNB) will suffice to teach the claim.].
As per claim 4, Sen et al. in view of ETSI teach the eNB of claim 3. Sen et al. also teach wherein the originating gNB is the target gNB [Sen, ¶ 0046, “2. MeNB 104 sends SgNB addition request to SgNB 106 NR cell with PCI 10 as it is having best RSRP”, The MeNB selects the PCI with the best RSRP, as reported in the B1 measurement report. The SgNB addition request initiates the handover request. See ¶ 0047 for description of the steps repeated. As noted in claim 4, the interpretation may include an originating gNB and a target gNB being the same, so the single second base station (as gNB) will suffice to teach the claim.].
As per claim 6, Sen et al. in view of ETSI teach the eNB of claim 1. Sen et al. also teach where the control circuit is configured to configure the user equipment to provide B1 reports [Sen, ¶ 0004, “1. UE 102 sends a NR B1 Measurement Report to MeNB 104. The NR B1 Measurement Report contains NR cells satisfying a particular B1 threshold where this B1 threshold was previously sent by the MeNB 104 to UE 102 during the configuration of B1 measurement. Upon receipt of the NR B1 Measurement Report, the MeNB 104 prepares for Data Radio Bearer (DRB) reconfiguration and chooses a NR cell having the best RSRP (Reference Symbol Received Power or Reference Signal Received Power) to establish a SCG bearer”, Before a UE sends a B1 measurement report over an RRC connection, a MeNB will send a RRC connection configuration message, including a B1 threshold, to the UE for performing the measurements.].
As per claim 7, Sen et al. in view of ETSI teach the eNB of claim 6. Sen et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the control circuit is further configured to set a threshold for the UE, wherein the threshold is used by the UE to determine whether to generate a B1 report.
However, in an analogous art, ETSI teaches wherein the control circuit is further configured to set a threshold for the UE, wherein the threshold is used by the UE to determine whether to generate a B1 report [ETSI, pg. 804, eventB1, The ReportConfigInterRAT information element contains an eventB1. The eventB1 further includes a b1-ThresholdEUTRA parameter (or threshold), a hysteresis parameter, and an interval parameter (timeToTrigger). The threshold is used to determine whether to generate a measurement report, and the timeToTrigger is an interval to perform the measurement over for comparison to the threshold (see pg. 910). The ReportConfigInterRAT configures measurement reports (see pg. 806). See also section 5.5.4.8, pg. 207. Event B1 monitors for the condition where a neighbor becomes better than an absolute threshold (see pg. 803).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the B1 event definition of ETSI into Sen et al. One would have been motivated to do this because incorporating standard definitions of a B1 measurement report as taught by ETSI into a reference that utilizes the B1 measurement report messages can facilitate operations for handover from a MeNB to a SgNB (see Sen, ¶ 0002) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 8, Sen et al. in view of ETSI teach the eNB of claim 1. Sen et al. also teach further comprising a second interface configured to communicate with a core subsystem [Sen, ¶ 0164, “Each base station 1712a, 1712b, 1712c is connectable to core network 1714 over a wired or wireless connection 1715”, Fig. 17 shows a wireless communication network, including base stations connected to a core network.].
As per claim 9, Sen et al. in view of ETSI teach the eNB of claim 8. Sen et al. also teach wherein the second interface is configured to operate according to a 4G cellular protocol [Sen, ¶ 0164, “Each base station 1712a, 1712b, 1712c is connectable to core network 1714 over a wired or wireless connection 1715”, Fig. 17 shows a wireless communication network, including base stations connected to a core network. The backhaul may be wired or wireless, and a MeNB (by virtue of its very name) would communicate with the core network according to the 4G standard.].
As per claim 10, Sen et al. in view of ETSI teach the eNB of claim 1. Sen et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the B1 report contains a signal strength indication.
However, in an analogous art, ETSI teaches wherein the B1 report contains a signal strength indication [ETSI, pg. 804, eventB1, The ReportConfigInterRAT information element contains an eventB1. The eventB1 further includes a b1-ThresholdEUTRA parameter (or threshold), a hysteresis parameter, and an interval parameter (timeToTrigger). The threshold is used to determine whether to generate a measurement report, and the timeToTrigger is an interval to perform the measurement over for comparison to the threshold (see pg. 910). The ReportConfigInterRAT configures measurement reports (see pg. 806). See also section 5.5.4.8, pg. 207. Event B1 monitors for the condition where a neighbor becomes better than an absolute threshold (see pg. 803).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the B1 event definition of ETSI into Sen et al. One would have been motivated to do this because incorporating standard definitions of a B1 measurement report as taught by ETSI into a reference that utilizes the B1 measurement report messages can facilitate operations for handover from a MeNB to a SgNB (see Sen, ¶ 0002) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 11, Sen et al. teach a method of controlling handovers, comprising:
at an enhanced nodeB (eNB), wherein the eNB is a master evolved NodeB (MeNB) in a wireless communication system [Sen, fig. 4, element 104] in which user equipment (UE) [Sen, fig. 4, element 102] is connected to the MeNB and a secondary gNB (SgNB) [Sen, fig. 4, element 106, See dual connectivity, ¶ 0002, and 5G NR NSA (non-stand alone, see ¶ 0003).], comprising:
configuring at least one B1 parameter, including at least one threshold [Sen, ¶ 0004, “1. UE 102 sends a NR B1 Measurement Report to MeNB 104. The NR B1 Measurement Report contains NR cells satisfying a particular B1 threshold where this B1 threshold was previously sent by the MeNB 104 to UE 102 during the configuration of B1 measurement. Upon receipt of the NR B1 Measurement Report, the MeNB 104 prepares for Data Radio Bearer (DRB) reconfiguration and chooses a NR cell having the best RSRP (Reference Symbol Received Power or Reference Signal Received Power) to establish a SCG bearer”, Before a UE sends a B1 measurement report over an RRC connection, a MeNB will send a RRC connection configuration message, including a B1 threshold, to the UE for performing the measurements.]…
setting the UE to report Event B1 NR readings to the eNB [Sen, ¶ 0004, “1. UE 102 sends a NR B1 Measurement Report to MeNB 104. The NR B1 Measurement Report contains NR cells satisfying a particular B1 threshold where this B1 threshold was previously sent by the MeNB 104 to UE 102 during the configuration of B1 measurement. Upon receipt of the NR B1 Measurement Report, the MeNB 104 prepares for Data Radio Bearer (DRB) reconfiguration and chooses a NR cell having the best RSRP (Reference Symbol Received Power or Reference Signal Received Power) to establish a SCG bearer”, Before a UE sends a B1 measurement report over an RRC connection, a MeNB will send a RRC connection configuration message, including a B1 threshold, to the UE for performing the measurements.];
receiving event B1 NR reports from UE [Sen, ¶ 0045, “1. UE 102 sends B1 measurement report for two NR cells with Physical-layer Cell Identity (PCI) 9 and 10 to MeNB 104. These 2 NR cells are probable candidates for SgNB addition as RSRP level for these NR cells is above b1 threshold which is set to −109 dBm in the network which has been taken as a reference”, The UE sends B1 measurement reports, including RSRP levels and PCI (Physical Cell IDs) for two NR cells (see fig 4, step 1). See ¶ 0047 for description of the steps repeated.];
determining, at the eNB, that a handover between cells is appropriate based on the Event B1 NR reports [Sen, ¶ 0046, “2. MeNB 104 sends SgNB addition request to SgNB 106 NR cell with PCI 10 as it is having best RSRP”, The MeNB selects the PCI with the best RSRP, as reported in the B1 measurement report. The SgNB addition request initiates the handover request. See ¶ 0047 for description of the steps repeated.]; and
initiate handover of the UE from a first cell to a second cell [Sen, ¶ 0046, “2. MeNB 104 sends SgNB addition request to SgNB 106 NR cell with PCI 10 as it is having best RSRP”, The MeNB selects the PCI with the best RSRP, as reported in the B1 measurement report. The SgNB addition request initiates the handover request. See ¶ 0047 for description of the steps repeated. As noted in claim 4, the interpretation may include an originating gNB and a target gNB being the same, so the single second base station (as gNB) will suffice to teach the claim.].
Sen et al. do not explicitly teach at least one B1 parameter, including at least one threshold and hysteresis, along with a report interval… receive B1 reports from UE according to an interval specified by the eNB.
However, in an analogous art, ETSI teaches at least one B1 parameter, including at least one threshold and hysteresis, along with a report interval…receive B1 reports from UE according to an interval specified by the eNB. [ETSI, pg. 804, eventB1, The ReportConfigInterRAT information element contains an eventB1. The eventB1 further includes a b1-ThresholdEUTRA parameter (or threshold), a hysteresis parameter, and an interval parameter (timeToTrigger). The threshold is used to determine whether to generate a measurement report, and the timeToTrigger is an interval to perform the measurement over for comparison to the threshold (see pg. 910). The ReportConfigInterRAT configures measurement reports (see pg. 806). See also section 5.5.4.8, pg. 207. Event B1 monitors for the condition where a neighbor becomes better than an absolute threshold (see pg. 803).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the B1 event definition of ETSI into Sen et al. One would have been motivated to do this because incorporating standard definitions of a B1 measurement report as taught by ETSI into a reference that utilizes the B1 measurement report messages can facilitate operations for handover from a MeNB to a SgNB (see Sen, ¶ 0002) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 12, Sen et al. in view of ETSI teach the method of claim 11. Sen et al. do not explicitly teach further comprising configuring B1 thresholds for the UE.
However, in an analogous art, ETSI teaches configuring B1 thresholds for the UE [ETSI, pg. 804, eventB1, The ReportConfigInterRAT information element contains an eventB1. The eventB1 further includes a b1-ThresholdEUTRA parameter (or threshold), a hysteresis parameter, and an interval parameter (timeToTrigger). The threshold is used to determine whether to generate a measurement report, and the timeToTrigger is an interval to perform the measurement over for comparison to the threshold (see pg. 910). The ReportConfigInterRAT configures measurement reports (see pg. 806). See also section 5.5.4.8, pg. 207. Event B1 monitors for the condition where a neighbor becomes better than an absolute threshold (see pg. 803).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the B1 event definition of ETSI into Sen et al. One would have been motivated to do this because incorporating standard definitions of a B1 measurement report as taught by ETSI into a reference that utilizes the B1 measurement report messages can facilitate operations for handover from a MeNB to a SgNB (see Sen, ¶ 0002) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 13, Sen et al. in view of ETSI teach the method of claim 11. Sen et al. also teach further comprising configuring the UE to report B1 readings to the eNB [Sen, ¶ 0004, “1. UE 102 sends a NR B1 Measurement Report to MeNB 104. The NR B1 Measurement Report contains NR cells satisfying a particular B1 threshold where this B1 threshold was previously sent by the MeNB 104 to UE 102 during the configuration of B1 measurement. Upon receipt of the NR B1 Measurement Report, the MeNB 104 prepares for Data Radio Bearer (DRB) reconfiguration and chooses a NR cell having the best RSRP (Reference Symbol Received Power or Reference Signal Received Power) to establish a SCG bearer”, Before a UE sends a B1 measurement report over an RRC connection, a MeNB will send a RRC connection configuration message, including a B1 threshold, to the UE for performing the measurements.].
As per claim 14, Sen et al. in view of ETSI teach the method of claim 11. Sen et al. also teach wherein receiving B1 reports comprises receiving signal strength indications in the B1 reports [Sen, ¶ 0045, “1. UE 102 sends B1 measurement report for two NR cells with Physical-layer Cell Identity (PCI) 9 and 10 to MeNB 104. These 2 NR cells are probable candidates for SgNB addition as RSRP level for these NR cells is above b1 threshold which is set to −109 dBm in the network which has been taken as a reference”, The UE sends B1 measurement reports, including RSRP levels (or signal strengths) and PCI (Physical Cell IDs) for two NR cells (see fig 4, step 1). See ¶ 0047 for description of the steps repeated.].
As per claim 15, Sen et al. in view of ETSI teach the method of claim 11. Sen et al. also teach wherein initiating handover comprises communicating with an originating gNB [Sen, ¶ 0046, “2. MeNB 104 sends SgNB addition request to SgNB 106 NR cell with PCI 10 as it is having best RSRP”, The MeNB selects the PCI with the best RSRP, as reported in the B1 measurement report. The SgNB addition request initiates the handover request. See ¶ 0047 for description of the steps repeated. As noted in claim 4, the interpretation may include an originating gNB and a target gNB being the same, so the single second base station (as gNB) will suffice to teach the claim.].
As per claim 16, Sen et al. in view of ETSI teach the method of claim 15. Sen et al. also teach wherein initiating handover further comprises communicating with a target gNB [Sen, ¶ 0046, “2. MeNB 104 sends SgNB addition request to SgNB 106 NR cell with PCI 10 as it is having best RSRP”, The MeNB selects the PCI with the best RSRP, as reported in the B1 measurement report. The SgNB addition request initiates the handover request. See ¶ 0047 for description of the steps repeated. As noted in claim 4, the interpretation may include an originating gNB and a target gNB being the same, so the single second base station (as gNB) will suffice to teach the claim.].
As per claim 17, Sen et al. in view of ETSI teach the method of claim 16. Sen et al. also teach wherein the originating gNB is the target gNB [Sen, ¶ 0046, “2. MeNB 104 sends SgNB addition request to SgNB 106 NR cell with PCI 10 as it is having best RSRP”, The MeNB selects the PCI with the best RSRP, as reported in the B1 measurement report. The SgNB addition request initiates the handover request. See ¶ 0047 for description of the steps repeated. As noted in claim 4, the interpretation may include an originating gNB and a target gNB being the same, so the single second base station (as gNB) will suffice to teach the claim.].
Claims 5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sen et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0334229) in view of ETSI (NPL, which was cited on the PTO-892 dated 2/26/2026) and Awada et al. WO 2024/078974).
As per claim 5, Sen et al. in view of ETSI teach the eNB of claim 3. Sen et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the originating gNB is different than the target gNB.
However, in an analogous art, Awada et al. teach wherein the originating gNB is different than the target gNB [Awada, 6, lines 20-30, “Any suitable parameter or parameters 232 can be adjusted. For example, any suitable parameter or parameters 232 configured to control a measurement event at a UE 168 that triggers preparation of at least one PSCell of a target SN 166 for conditional access by the UE 168 can be adjusted.For example, the parameter(s) can comprise offset, hysteresis, threshold(s), and/or TTT and so on.In examples, the measurement event at a UE 168 that triggers preparation of the at least one PSCell can comprise any suitable measurement event. For example, the measurement event can comprise an A3, A4, A5 and/or B1 measurement event and so on”, Fig. 2 shows a UE with a source MN (element 172), Source SN (element 170), and target SN (element 166). The parameters (see fig. 2, element 232) may be used as part of a B1 measurement event to determine whether a UE will connect to the target SN. The target SN may be a gNB (see pg. 12, lines 19-24).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the network structure of Sen et al. to include further gNBs as taught by Awada et al. One would have been motivated to do this because cellular network infrastructure in real world deployment contains many base stations and implementing the methods of Sen et al. in an environment as taught by Awada et al. would provide improved communications with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 18, Sen et al. in view of ETSI teach the method of claim 16. Sen et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the originating gNB and the target gNB are different devices.
However, in an analogous art, Awada et al. teach wherein the originating gNB is different than the target gNB [Awada, 6, lines 20-30, “Any suitable parameter or parameters 232 can be adjusted. For example, any suitable parameter or parameters 232 configured to control a measurement event at a UE 168 that triggers preparation of at least one PSCell of a target SN 166 for conditional access by the UE 168 can be adjusted.For example, the parameter(s) can comprise offset, hysteresis, threshold(s), and/or TTT and so on.In examples, the measurement event at a UE 168 that triggers preparation of the at least one PSCell can comprise any suitable measurement event. For example, the measurement event can comprise an A3, A4, A5 and/or B1 measurement event and so on”, Fig. 2 shows a UE with a source MN (element 172), Source SN (element 170), and target SN (element 166). The parameters (see fig. 2, element 232) may be used as part of a B1 measurement event to determine whether a UE will connect to the target SN. The target SN may be a gNB (see pg. 12, lines 19-24).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the network structure of Sen et al. to include further gNBs as taught by Awada et al. One would have been motivated to do this because cellular network infrastructure in real world deployment contains many base stations and implementing the methods of Sen et al. in an environment as taught by Awada et al. would provide improved communications with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Paul H. Masur/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2417