DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 8/25/2025 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1 and 11 have been amended.
Claims 1-18 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-9, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santhanam et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US20230319657A1) and further in view of Sha et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US20250168847A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Santhanam et al. discloses An enhanced NodeB (eNB) (Santhanam et al. teaches that a BS 110 is an entity that communicates with user equipment (UEs) and also may be referred to as a base station, a Node B, an LTE evolved Node B (eNB) (para. [0042]; FIG. 1)) comprising: a first interface configured to communicate with user equipment (UE) (Santhanam et al. teaches that the base station 110 may include T antennas and R antennas that communicates with UE (para. [0057]; FIG. 2). The wireless communication apparatus may be a component of the UE that communicates with a BS of the wireless communication network (para. [0032]); UE includes a wireless communication interface (para. [0032]); and a control circuit coupled to the first interface (Santhanam et al. teaches that the base station 110 may include a processor 240, where it is connected to T and R antennas (FIG. 2)), receive B1 reports from UE according to an interval specified by the eNB (Santhanam et al. teaches that the UE 120 determines to generate and transmit a handover measurement report, the BS 110 may use the signal quality measurements included in the handover measurement report to initiate a handover of the UE 120 from the 5G serving cell to one of the 5G neighbor cells (para. [0081]); measurement report includes B1 events, (para. [0082]). Event B1 triggers a measurement report when a neighboring inter-RAT cell becomes better than a threshold (para. [0082])) and determine that a handover between cells is appropriate based on the B1 reports (Santhanam et al. teaches that the UE 120 determines to generate and transmit a handover measurement report, the BS 110 may use the signal quality measurements included in the handover measurement report to initiate a handover of the UE 120 from the 5G serving cell to one of the 5G neighbor cells (para. [0081]); measurement report includes B1 events (para. [0082]). Event B1 triggers a measurement report when a neighboring inter-RAT cell becomes better than a threshold (para. [0082])); and initiate handover of the user equipment from a first cell to a second cell (Santhanam et al. teaches that the BS 110 may use the signal quality measurements included in the handover measurement report to initiate a handover of the UE 120 from the 5G serving cell to one of the 5G neighbor cells (para. [0081])).
Although teaching that the UE transmits measurement reports to the eNB (para. [0081], [0083], [0084]; FIG. 4) Santhanam et al. does not explicitly disclose the control circuit configured to: receive B1 reports from UE according to an interval specified by the eNB. Sha et al. discloses such a limitation,
Sha et al. is directed to Communication Method and Apparatus, Storage Medium, and Chip System. More specifically, Sha et al. discloses that the measurement configuration information may be carried in the configuration information in step 301. For the periodic measurement reporting, a periodic reporting interval may be further configured in the preset measurement reporting condition. For the event-triggered measurement reporting, the preset measurement reporting condition may further include a configuration of a preset event (for example, one or more of an event A1, an event A2, an event A3, an event A4, an event A5, an event A6, an event B1, or an event B2, where the preset event may further include another event, and this is only an example herein). Configuration information of the preset event may include a signal quality threshold, a signal quality range, a hysteresis parameter, trigger time, and the like that correspond to the event (para. [0145]). Correspondingly, the network device receives the measurement report (para. [0147]). The measurement report is a periodically triggered measurement report (para. [0148]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Santhanam et al. so that the UE was configured to send B1 reports according to an interval, as taught by Sha et al. The modification would have allowed for reduced signaling overhead and power savings since the network can avoid activating a carrier with weak signal strength and high bit error rates (see Sha et al., para. [0032]).
Regarding Claim 6, the combined teachings of Santhanam et al. and Sha et al. disclose The eNB of claim 1, where the control circuit is configured to configure the user equipment to provide B1 reports (Santhanam et al. teaches that either or both of the BS 111 or the BS 110 may provide a measurement configuration to the UE 120 such as the Event A3, Event A4, Event A5, Event B1, and Event B2 (para. [0082])).
Regarding Claim 7, the combined teachings of Santhanam et al. and Sha et al. disclose The eNB of claim 6, wherein the control circuit is further configured to set a threshold for the UE (Santhanam et al. teaches that a measurement reporting event occurs when a corresponding reporting criterion is satisfied for a time period. Event B1 triggers a measurement report when a neighboring inter-RAT cell becomes better than a threshold (para. [0082])), wherein the threshold is used by the UE to determine whether to generate a B1 report (Santhanam et al. teaches that the UE 120 may determine whether to generate and transmit a handover measurement report based on the serving cell and neighbor cell measurements (para. [0074]); Event B1 triggers a measurement report when a neighboring inter-RAT cell becomes better than a threshold (para. [0082])).
Regarding Claim 8, the combined teachings of Santhanam et al. and Sha et al. disclose The eNB of claim 1, further comprising a second interface configured to communicate with a core subsystem (Santhanam et al. teaches that the BS 110 communicates with a core network of the wireless communication system (para. [0065]; FIG. 3). The EPC 330 is just one example of a core network (para. [0067]; FIG. 3)).
Regarding Claim 9, the combined teachings of Santhanam et al. and Sha et al. disclose The eNB of claim 8, wherein the second interface is configured to operate according to a 4G cellular protocol (Santhanam et al. teaches that the BS110 communicates with a core network of the wireless communication system. (para. [0065]; FIG. 3); LTE RAN and NR RAN utilize the same EPC of the wireless communication system (para. [0067], indicating that 4G cellular protocol is used).
Regarding Claim 11, Santhanam et al. discloses A method of controlling handovers, comprising: at an enhanced nodeB (eNB) (Santhanam et al. teaches that a BS 110 is an entity that communicates with user equipment (UEs) and also may be referred to as a base station, a Node B, an LTE evolved Node B (eNB) (para. [0042]; FIG. 1)), receiving B 1 reports from user equipment (UE) according to an interval specified by the eNB (Santhanam et al. teaches that UE transmitting measurement reports are sent to the eNBs 110 (para. [0081] [0083] [0084]; FIG. 4). Some of the measurement reporting events are described in several examples of this disclosure, such as the Event A3, Event A4, Event A5, Event B1 (para. [0082])); determining, at the eNB, that a handover between cells is appropriate based on the B1 reports; (Santhanam et al. teaches that the UE 120 determines to generate and transmit a handover measurement report, the BS 110 may use the signal quality measurements included in the handover measurement report to initiate a handover of the UE 120 from the 5G serving cell to one of the 5G neighbor cells (para. [0081]); measurement report includes B1 events (para. [0082]). Event B1 triggers a measurement report when a neighboring inter-RAT cell becomes better than a threshold (para. [0082])); and initiating handover of the UE from a first cell to a second cell (Santhanam et al. teaches that the BS 110 may use the signal quality measurements included in the handover measurement report to initiate a handover of the UE 120 from the 5G serving cell to one of the 5G neighbor cells (para. [0081])).
Although teaching that the UE transmits measurement reports to the eNB (para. [0081], [0083], [0084]; FIG. 4) Santhanam et al. does not explicitly disclose receiving B 1 reports from user equipment (UE) according to an interval specified by the eNB. Sha et al. discloses such a limitation,
More specifically, Sha et al. discloses that the measurement configuration information may be carried in the configuration information in step 301. For the periodic measurement reporting, a periodic reporting interval may be further configured in the preset measurement reporting condition. For the event-triggered measurement reporting, the preset measurement reporting condition may further include a configuration of a preset event (for example, one or more of an event A1, an event A2, an event A3, an event A4, an event A5, an event A6, an event B1, or an event B2, where the preset event may further include another event, and this is only an example herein). Configuration information of the preset event may include a signal quality threshold, a signal quality range, a hysteresis parameter, trigger time, and the like that correspond to the event (para. [0145]). The terminal device stops measurement on the first carrier, and the terminal device sends a measurement report to the network device. Correspondingly, the network device receives the measurement report (para. [0147]). The measurement report is a periodically triggered measurement report (para. [0148]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Santhanam et al. so that the UE was configured to send B1 reports according to an interval, as taught by Sha et al. The modification would have allowed for reduced signaling overhead and power savings since the network can avoid activating a carrier with weak signal strength and high bit error rates (see Sha et al., para. [0032]).
Regarding Claim 12, the combined teachings of Santhanam et al. and Sha et al. disclose The method of claim 11, further comprising configuring B1 thresholds for the UE (Santhanam et al. teaches that a measurement reporting event occurs when a corresponding reporting criterion is satisfied for a time period. Event B1 triggers a measurement report when a neighboring inter-RAT cell becomes better than a threshold (para. [0082][0192])).
Regarding Claim 13, the combined teachings of Santhanam et al. and Sha et al. disclose The method of claim 11, further comprising configuring the UE to report B1 readings to the eNB (Santhanam et al. teaches that the UE 120 may determine whether to generate and transmit a handover measurement report based on the serving cell and neighbor cell measurements (para. [0074]); BS provides a measurement configuration to the UE, and that Event B1 triggers a measurement report when a neighboring inter-RAT cell becomes better than a threshold (para. [0082])).
Claims 2-3, 5, 15-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santhanam et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0319657 A1), Sha et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US20250168847A1) and further in view Agyapong et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0345224 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, the combined teachings of Santhanam et al. and Sha et al. disclose The eNB of claim 1, and although teaching that the macro BS controls and communicates with the small cells (see FIG. 1), the references do not teach wherein the control circuit is further configured to communicate with an originating gNB as part of the handover. Agyapong et al. teaches such a limitation.
Agyapong et al. is directed to macro-cell assisted small cell discovery and resource activation. More specifically, Agyapong et al. teaches that at step 302 the macro base station 100 requests one or more small cell base stations 104.sub.1 to transmit specific beacons on candidate resources (para. [0101]; FIG. 3). Further, Agyapong et al. teaches that the macro base station selects another small cell in a situation when the handover is failed (para. [0065]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Santhanam et al. and Sha et al. so that the eNB communicates through the gNB to an originating cell, as taught by Agyapong et al. The modification would have allowed the macro cell coordinates not only the beacon transmission of a single small cell base station but also controls a plurality of other small cell base stations so that dependent on the knowledge about the other small cell base stations the beacon format and beacon transmission configuration can be configured in a way that takes into consideration also other possible transmission made by other small cell base stations (see Agyapong et al., para. [0052]).
Regarding Claim 3, the combined teachings of Santhanam et al., Sha et al. and Agyapong et al. teach The eNB of claim 2, and further, the references teach wherein the control circuit is further configured to communicate with a target gNB as part of the handover (Agyapong et al. teaches that the macro base station 100 requests from the candidate small cell 104.sub.1 (para. [0081]; FIG. 3). The identified small cells are referred to as “candidate” small cells (para. [0092]). The macro base station 100, at step 506, may transmit to a selected small cell, for example for configuration for operation with a specific user equipment, for example during a handover (para. [0117]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Santhanam et al., and Sha et al. so that the eNB communicates with a target gNB as part of a handover, as taught by Agyapong et al. The modification would have allowed the macro cell coordinates not only the beacon transmission of a single small cell base station but also controls a plurality of other small cell base stations so that dependent on the knowledge about the other small cell base stations the beacon format and beacon transmission configuration can be configured in a way that takes into consideration also other possible transmission made by other small cell base stations (see Agyapong et al., para. [0052]).
Regarding Claim 5, the combined teachings of Santhanam et al., Sha et al. and Agyapong et al. teach the eNB of claim 3, and further, the references teach wherein the originating gNB is different than the target gNB (Agyapong et al. teaches that at step 302 the macro base station 100 requests one or more small cell base stations 104.sub.1 to transmit specific beacons on candidate resources (para. [0101]; FIG. 3). The interfering or neighboring small cell 104.sub.2 receives at step 404 information from the base station 100 (para. [0110]; FIG. 3). Further, Agyapong et al. teaches that the macro base station selects another small cell in a situation when the handover is failed (para. [0065]), indicating reselected small cell is different than the original small cell).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Santhanam et al., and Sha et al. so that the eNB communicates to a cell that is not the originating cell, as taught by Agyapong et al. The modification would have allowed the macro cell coordinates not only the beacon transmission of a single small cell base station but also controls a plurality of other small cell base stations so that dependent on the knowledge about the other small cell base stations the beacon format and beacon transmission configuration can be configured in a way that takes into consideration also other possible transmission made by other small cell base stations (see Agyapong et al., para. [0052]).
Regarding Claim 15, the combined teachings of Santhanam et al. and Sha et al. disclose The method of claim 11, and although teaching that the macro BS controls the small cells (see FIG. 1), the references do not teach wherein initiating handover comprises communicating with an originating gNB. Agyapong et al. teaches such a limitation.
More specifically, Agyapong et al. teaches that at step 302 the macro base station 100 requests one or more small cell base stations 104.sub.1 to transmit specific beacons on candidate resources (para. [0101]; FIG. 3). Further, Agyapong et al. teaches that the macro base station can select another small cell in a situation when the handover is failed (para. [0065]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Santhanam et al. and Sha et al. so that the eNB communicates through the gNB to an originating cell, as taught by Agyapong et al. The modification would have allowed the macro cell coordinates not only the beacon transmission of a single small cell base station but also controls a plurality of other small cell base stations so that dependent on the knowledge about the other small cell base stations the beacon format and beacon transmission configuration can be configured in a way that takes into consideration also other possible transmission made by other small cell base stations (see Agyapong et al., para. [0052]).
Regarding Claim 16, the combined teachings of Santhanam et al. Sha et al. and Agyapong et al. teach The method of claim 15, and further, the references disclose wherein initiating handover further comprises communicating with a target gNB (Agyapong et al. teaches that the macro base station 100 requests from the candidate small cell 104.sub.1 (para. [0081]; FIG. 3). The identified small cells are referred to as “candidate” small cells (para. [0092]). The macro base station 100, at step 506, may transmit to a selected small cell, for example for configuration for operation with a specific user equipment, for example during a handover (para. [0117])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Santhanam et al., and Sha et al. so that the eNB communicates with a target gNB as part of a handover, as taught by Agyapong et al. The modification would have allowed the macro cell coordinates not only the beacon transmission of a single small cell base station but also controls a plurality of other small cell base stations so that dependent on the knowledge about the other small cell base stations the beacon format and beacon transmission configuration can be configured in a way that takes into consideration also other possible transmission made by other small cell base stations (see Agyapong et al., para. [0052]).
Regarding Claim 18, the combined teachings of Santhanam et al. Sha et al. and Agyapong et al. teach The method of claim 16, and further, the references teach wherein the originating gNB and the target gNB are different devices (Agyapong et al. teaches that at step 302 the macro base station 100 requests one or more small cell base stations 104.sub.1 to transmit specific beacons on candidate resources (para. [0101]; FIG. 3). The interfering or neighboring small cell 104.sub.2 receives at step 404 information from the base station 100 (para. [0110]; FIG. 3). Further, Agyapong et al. teaches that the macro base station can select another small cell in a situation when the handover is failed (para. [0065]), indicating reselected small cell is different than the original small cell).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Santhanam et al. and Sha et al. so that the eNB communicates to a cell that is not the originating cell, as taught by Agyapong et al. The modification would have allowed the macro cell coordinates not only the beacon transmission of a single small cell base station but also controls a plurality of other small cell base stations so that dependent on the knowledge about the other small cell base stations the beacon format and beacon transmission configuration can be configured in a way that takes into consideration also other possible transmission made by other small cell base stations (see Agyapong et al., para. [0052]).
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santhanam et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0319657 A1), Sha et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US20250168847A1), Agyapong et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0345224 A1) and further in view Purkayastha et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0250825 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, the combined teachings of Santhanam et al., Sha et al. and Agyapong et al. discloses the eNB of claim 3, however, the references do not teach wherein the originating gNB is the target gNB. Purkayastha et al. teaches such a limitation.
Purkayastha et al. is directed to method for handover for wireless communication. More specifically, Purkayastha et al. teaches that the source gNB 504 starts the handover procedure by initiating the Handover Required procedure. In this case, to induce the Target eNB 506 to select the Source gNB 504 as the target SN (para. [0106]; FIG. 5).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Santhanam et al., Sha et al. and Agyapong et al. so that the originating gNB is the target gNB, as taught by Purkayastha et al. The modification would have allowed the UE to save power (see Purkayastha et al., para. [104]).
Regarding Claim 17, the combined teachings of Santhanam et al., Sha et al. and Agyapong et al. disclose The method of claim 16, however, the references do not teach wherein the originating gNB is the target gNB. Purkayastha et al. teaches such a limitation.
More specifically, Purkayastha et al. teaches that the source gNB 504 starts the handover procedure by initiating the Handover Required procedure. In this case, to induce the Target eNB 506 to select the Source gNB 504 as the target SN (para. [0106]; FIG. 5).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Santhanam et al., Sha et al. and Agyapong et al. so that the originating gNB is the target gNB, as taught by Purkayastha et al. The modification would have allowed the UE to save power (see Purkayastha et al., para. [104]).
Claims 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santhanam et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0319657 A1), Sha et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US20250168847A1) and further in view of Zhang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0129782 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, the combined teachings of Santhanam et al. and Sha et al. discloses The eNB of claim 1, however, the references do not teach wherein the B1 report contains a signal strength indication. Zhang et al. teaches such a limitation.
Zhang et al. is directed to method for communication related to handover. More specifically, Zhang et al. teaches that an event configuration for event B1 and event B2 may only configure RSRP threshold values. The UE may transmit, to a first base station, a measurement report that indicates the RSRP (para. [0080]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Santhanam et al. and Sha et al. so that B1 reports include signal strength indicators, as taught by Zhang et al. The modification would have the allowed the eNB to handover the UE to cells associated with good RSRP (see Zhang et al., para. [5]).
Regarding Claim 14, the combined teachings of Santhanam et al. and Sha et al. disclose The method of claim 11, however, the references do not teach wherein receiving B1 reports comprises receiving signal strength indications in the B1 reports. Zhang et al. teaches such a limitation.
Zhang et al. is directed to method for communication related to handover. More specifically, Zhang et al. teaches that an event configuration for event B1 and event B2 may only configure RSRP threshold values. The UE may transmit, to a first base station, a measurement report that indicates the RSRP (para. [0080]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Santhanam et al. and Sha et al. so that B1 reports include signal strength indicators, as taught by Zhang et al. The modification would have the allowed the eNB to handover the UE to cells associated with good RSRP (see Zhang et al., para. [5]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.R.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417